Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

Age-Friendly Communities

Canada's senior population is growing. This makes it more important than ever to support the health and well-being of older Canadians. This way, seniors can lead healthy and active lives and stay involved in their communities. Making communities "age-friendly" is believed to be one of the best ways to do this.

What is an age-friendly community?

In an age-friendly community, the policies, services and structures related to the physical and social environment are designed to help seniors "age actively." In other words, the community is set up to help seniors live safely, enjoy good health and stay involved.

For example, in an age-friendly community:

  • sidewalks are well lit and kept in good shape.
  • buildings have automatic door openers and elevators.
  • seniors take part in all sorts of community activities, such as visiting museums or libraries, taking courses or volunteering for charities or civic duties.

An age-friendly community:

  • recognizes that seniors have a wide range of skills and abilities.
  • understands and meets the age-related needs of seniors.
  • respects the decisions and lifestyle choices of seniors.
  • protects those seniors who are vulnerable.
  • recognizes that seniors have a lot to offer their community.
  • recognizes how important it is to include seniors in all areas of community life.

What does an age-friendly community look like?

In an age-friendly community:

  • outdoor areas and public buildings are pleasant, safe and accessible.Footnote *
  • housing is affordable, safe and well designed for seniors.
  • roads and walkways are accessibleFootnote * and kept in good shape.
  • public transportation is affordable and accessible.Footnote *
  • neighbourhoods are safe.
  • relationships are respectful.
  • health and community support services are available.
  • opportunities for seniors to be socially active exist.
  • seniors can take part in volunteer, political and employment positions.
  • information is easy to find and easy to understand.

What is the history of the Age-Friendly Communities initiative?

In 2006, the World Health Organization (WHO) developed the Global Age-Friendly Cities Project. This project brought together cities from around the world that were interested in supporting healthy aging by becoming more age-friendly. These cities gathered information from seniors, senior-care providers and other groups and individuals with an interest in age-friendly communities. This information helped to identify eight key areas of community life in which communities can become more age-friendly. These areas are:

  • outdoor spaces and buildings
  • transportation
  • housing
  • social participation
  • respect and social inclusion
  • civic participation and employment
  • communication and information
  • community support and health services

Thirty-three cities took part in this project, including four Canadian cities: Saanich (BC), Portage la Prairie (MB), Sherbrooke (QC), and Halifax (NS). The document Global Age-friendly Cities: A Guide External Link was published to share the reports of what makes a city age-friendly.

In 2007, the Federal, Provincial, Territorial Age-Friendly Rural and Remote Communities Initiative used the same method as the WHO Global Age-Friendly Cities Project but focused on Canadian communities with populations under 5,000. In total, ten communities across eight provinces participated. These communities were:

  • Alert Bay, BC
  • Lumby, BC
  • High Prairie, AB
  • Turtleford, SK
  • Gimli, MB
  • Bonnechere, ON
  • Port Hope Simpson, NL
  • Clarenville, NL
  • Alberton, PEI
  • Guysborough, NS

As a result of this initiative, in 2007 the Federal, Provincial and Territorial Ministers Responsible for Seniors endorsed the report Age-Friendly Rural and Remote Communities: A Guide reflecting Canadian views and circumstances.

What is the Government of Canada's role in the Age-Friendly Communities Network ?

The Government of Canada, through the Public Health Agency of Canada and in partnership with the provinces and territories, has played a lead role in the development and promotion of the Age-Friendly Communities initiative across Canada.

As part of this initiative, the Pan-Canadian Age-Friendly Communities Network was created by the Agency, provinces and territories, and other key partners. Coordinated through the Agency, the Network allows community groups or individuals to exchange and share ideas, experiences, promising practices and resources with other community groups or individuals across the country who are also interested in making their communities more age-friendly.

The Government of Canada continues to encourage the uptake of the Age-Friendly Communities initiative across Canada to help make our communities better, safer and healthier places for Canadians to live and thrive as they age.

How can I join the Pan-Canadian Age-Friendly Communities Network?
Members of the Pan-Canadian Age-Friendly Communities Network receive age-friendly community-related information, such as:

  • publications, information and resources
  • promising practices for implementing the Age-Friendly Communities model
  • shared experiences from communities across Canada who are making their communities more age-friendly
  • invitations to free, interactive, online webinars (when available)

Enter your e-mail address to become a member of the
Pan-Canadian Age-Friendly Communities Network

Your e-mail address will be used to send you information related to age-friendly communities.

By entering your e-mail address below, you are giving permission for PHAC to share your e-mail address with a reputable third-party who, at PHAC's request, will use it to coordinate webinar invitations. If you do not want your e-mail address shared with a third party, please DO NOT provide your e-mail address in the box below.

All individuals who have provided their e-mail address will be sent a Welcome to the Pan-Canadian Age-Friendly Communities Network! message. If you have already received a welcome message, you are already a member and there is no need for you to provide your e-mail address below.

Your e-mail address is personal information. You have the right to know how this information is being collected, used and stored. Before submitting your information, please read the privacy notice.

 

Which provinces and territories are promoting age-friendly community initiatives?

To date, eight provinces are promoting age-friendly community initiatives in Canada. Visit the Web sites of these provinces to find out what is being done:

Other provinces and territories are also interested in age-friendly community initiatives and are in various stages of development.

How can Canadian communities become more age-friendly?

Becoming an age-friendly community is an ongoing process. To help communities with this process, the Public Health Agency of Canada in collaboration with key partners developed the Pan-Canadian Age-Friendly Communities Milestones (Milestones). These milestones describe the steps a community needs to follow to successfully apply the Age-Friendly Communities model in Canada. They recognize that communities have different needs and available resources to take action in the eight areas of community life. By adopting a "milestones approach" that focuses on the process, communities can successfully become more age-friendly.

These are the Pan-Canadian Age-Friendly Communities Milestones:

  • Establish an advisory committee that includes the active engagement of older adults.
  • Secure a local municipal council resolution to actively support, promote and work towards becoming age-friendly.
  • Establish a robust and concrete plan of action that responds to the needs identified by older adults in the community.
  • Demonstrate commitment to action by publicly posting the action plan.
  • Commit to measuring activities, reviewing action plan outcomes and reporting on them publicly.

Age-Friendly Communities in Canada: Community Implementation Guide and Toolbox

How are Canadian communities recognized as being engaged in the Pan-Canadian Age-Friendly Communities Milestones Process?

Where provincial/territorial recognition programs exist, communities that have demonstrated that they have met at least the first three age-friendly communities milestones can be recognized by their province or territory as officially on the road to becoming age-friendly.

Provinces or territories may seek additional recognition for their communities from the Public Health Agency of Canada. This pan-Canadian recognition from the Agency facilitates a connection to resources, tools and the Pan-Canadian Age-Friendly Communities Network. Recognition from the Agency would also facilitate entry for Canadian communities into the World Health Organization's Global Network of Age-Friendly Cities©.

For more information on making your community more age-friendly, please contact your provincial or territorial ministry responsible for seniors.

You can also visit the Web site of the World Health OrganizationExternal Link.

What information is available?

To learn more about age-friendly communities, take a look at the following publications.

Public Health Agency of Canada:

Others:


* What does accessible mean?
When something is accessible, this means it is easy to get to and can be used by everyone. This includes people who use assistive devices such as walkers and wheelchairs. It could also include people who have visual or hearing impairments. An example of an accessible intersection would be one with sloped curbs to allow wheelchairs to travel without difficulties. It could also include a cross walk with an audible signal. This way someone with a visual impairment will know when it is safe to cross the street. For more information about accessibility, please visit the Web site for the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with DisabilitiesExternal Link.

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

Collectivités-amies des aînés

La population des aînés au Canada s'accroît. Il est donc important plus que jamais de soutenir la santé et le mieux-être des aînés canadiens. Ainsi, les aînés peuvent mener une vie saine et active et continuer à s’impliquer dans leur collectivité. On estime que l'une des meilleures façons d'y arriver est de créer des collectivités-amies des aînés.

Qu'est-ce qu'une collectivité-amie des aînés?

Au sein d'une collectivité-amie des aînés, les politiques, les services et les structures liés à l'environnement physique et social sont conçus de façon à aider les personnes âgées à vieillir en restant actives, c'est-à-dire de façon à ce qu'elles puissent vivre en sécurité, bénéficier d'une bonne santé et continuer à participer à la société.

Par exemple, au sein d'une collectivité-amie des aînés :

  • les trottoirs sont bien éclairés et entretenus;
  • les immeubles sont pourvus d'ouvre-portes automatiques et d'ascenseurs;
  • les aînés participent à toutes sortes d'activités communautaires, comme visiter des musées ou aller à la bibliothèque, participer à des cours, ou être bénévole pour un organisme de bienfaisance ou dans le cadre d’activités communautaires.

Une collectivité-amie des aînés :

  • reconnaît la vaste gamme de compétences et d'habiletés propres aux aînés;
  • connaît les besoins des aînés liés au vieillissement et y répond;
  • respecte les décisions et les choix de vie des aînés;
  • protège les aînés vulnérables;
  • sait que les aînés ont beaucoup à offrir à leur collectivité;
  • reconnaît l'importance de la participation des aînés à tous les volets de la vie communautaire.

À quoi ressemble une collectivité-amie des aînés?

Au sein d'une collectivité-amie des aînés :

  • les espaces extérieurs et les édifices publics sont plaisants, sécuritaires et accessibles Note de bas de page 1;
  • les logements sont abordables, sécuritaires et bien conçus pour les aînés;
  • les rues et les trottoirs sont accessibles Note de bas de page 1 et maintenus en bon état;
  • le système de transport en commun est abordable et accessible Note de bas de page 1;
  • les quartiers sont sécuritaires;
  • les relations sont fondées sur le respect;
  • des services de santé et de soutien communautaire sont disponibles;
  • les aînés ont des occasions d'être actifs sur le plan social;
  • les aînés ont des occasions d'occuper des fonctions bénévoles, politiques et professionnelles;
  • l’information est facile à trouver et facile à comprendre.

D'où vient l'initiative des collectivités-amies des aînés?

En 2006, l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) a mis au point le Projet mondial des villes-amies des aînés. Le projet a réuni des villes du monde entier intéressées à promouvoir le vieillissement en santé en améliorant leur convivialité envers les aînés. Ces villes ont recueilli de l'information auprès des personnes âgées, des fournisseurs de soins aux aînés et d'autres groupes et personnes ayant un intérêt pour les collectivités-amies des aînés. Grâce aux renseignements recueillis, on a pu identifier huit domaines de la vie communautaire dans lesquels les collectivités peuvent améliorer leur convivialité envers les aînés. Voici les domaines :

  • espaces extérieurs et bâtiments;
  • transports;
  • logement;
  • participation au tissu social;
  • respect et inclusion sociale;
  • participation citoyenne et emploi;
  • communication et information;
  • soutien communautaire et services de santé.

Trente-trois villes ont participé au projet, parmi lesquelles quatre villes canadiennes : Saanich (C.-B.), Portage La Prairie (Man.), Sherbrooke (Qc) et Halifax (N.-É.). Le document Guide mondial des villes-amies des aînés (Documnet PDF) a été publié pour faire découvrir ce qui rend une ville accueillante pour les aînés.

En 2007, l'Initiative fédérale, provinciale et territoriale des collectivités rurales et éloignées amies des aînés a inclus des collectivités canadiennes comptant moins de 5 000 habitants, en se basant sur la même méthodologie que celle du Projet mondial des villes-amies des aînés de l'OMS. En tout, dix collectivités dans huit provinces ont participé, à savoir :

  • Alert Bay (C.-B.);
  • Lumby (C.-B.);
  • High Prairie (Alb.);
  • Turtleford (Sask.);
  • Gimli (Man.);
  • Bonnechere (Ont.);
  • Port Hope Simpson (T.-N.-L.);
  • Clarenville (T.-N.-L.);
  • Alberton (Î.-P.-É.);
  • Guysborough (N.-É.).

À la suite de cette initiative, en 2007, les ministres fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux responsables des aînés ont approuvé le rapport Initiative des collectivités rurales et éloignées amies des aînés : un guide, qui reflète les points de vue et circonstances propres au Canada.

Quels provinces et territoires font la promotion d’initiatives de collectivité-amie des aînés?

À ce jour, dix provinces du Canada font la promotion d'initiatives de collectivité-amie des aînés. Visitez le site Web de chaque province pour découvrir les activités réalisées :

Comment les collectivités canadiennes peuvent-elles devenir plus accueillantes et conviviales pour les aînés?

Devenir une collectivité-amie des aînés est un processus continu. Pour aider les collectivités, l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada et des partenaires clés ont collaboré à l'élaboration des jalons pancanadiens des collectivités-amies des aînés (jalons). Les jalons décrivent les étapes qu'une collectivité doit suivre pour appliquer efficacement le modèle des collectivités-amies des aînés au Canada. Ils tiennent compte du fait que les collectivités n'ont pas toutes les mêmes besoins ni les mêmes ressources pour intervenir dans les huit domaines de la vie communautaire. En adoptant une méthode reposant sur des jalons et axée sur le processus, les collectivités peuvent réussir à devenir plus accueillantes et conviviales pour les aînés.

Voici les jalons pancanadiens des collectivités-amies des aînés :

  • Établir un comité consultatif auquel des aînés participent activement;
  • Faire adopter une résolution par le conseil municipal dont le but est de soutenir et de promouvoir activement les mesures visant à mettre la collectivité en voie de devenir amie des aînés;
  • Établir un plan d'action robuste et concret qui correspond aux besoins exprimés par les aînés dans la collectivité;
  • Rendre public le plan d'action pour montrer qu'il y a une volonté d'agir;
  • S'engager à mesurer les activités, ainsi qu'à examiner et à rendre publics les résultats du plan d'action.

Comment sont reconnues les collectivités canadiennes qui prennent part au processus de jalons pancanadiens des collectivités-amies des aînés?

Dans les provinces et les territoires qui ont un programme de reconnaissance, les collectivités capables de démontrer qu'elles ont atteint les trois premiers jalons des collectivités-amies des aînés peuvent être reconnues par leur province ou territoire comme étant officiellement en voie de devenir des « collectivités-amies des aînés ».

Les provinces et les territoires peuvent obtenir une reconnaissance additionnelle de leurs collectivités auprès de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada et de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS).

Pour en savoir plus sur les collectivités-amies des aînés


Note de bas de page 1
On qualifie d'« accessible » toute chose pouvant être approchée facilement par quiconque. Cela comprend les personnes à mobilité réduite se servant d'appareils fonctionnels tels que des déambulateurs et des fauteuils roulants, et celles ayant des troubles visuels ou auditifs. Par exemple, une intersection accessible offrirait des bordures de trottoirs inclinées ou arrondies afin de permettre le passage facile des fauteuils roulants. Celle-ci pourrait également fournir un passage pour piétons muni de signaux sonores afin de permettre à ceux ayant des troubles visuels de traverser la rue en sécurité. Pour obtenir des renseignements additionnels, veuillez consulter le site Web de l'Organisation des Nations Unies décrivant la Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées.