Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Share this page

Self-Care for Caregivers

 
Self-Care for Caregivers
PDF Format 70 KB - 7 Pages

Responding to Stressful Events: Self-Care for Caregivers

Self-Care for Caregivers

Natural or human-caused disasters such as earthquakes, health emergencies, terrorist attacks or acts of war can engage caregivers (physicians, psychologists, social workers, nurses, psychiatrists, teachers, counsellors, and other health workers) in working long hours helping people of all ages to understand and manage the many reactions, feelings and challenges triggered by these stressful circumstances.

The massive effort put forth by caregivers in response to the psycho-social effects of catastrophic events is a critical contribution to their community's recovery. However, caregivers sometimes need to be reminded that a sustained response can also lead to physical and emotional wear and tear. Without conscious attention to self-care, caregivers' effectiveness and ultimately their health will suffer.

Common Sources of Stress for Caregivers

Here are common sources of stress that caregivers may be faced with:

  • Trying to live up to their clients' high expectations and/or their own
  • Intensive caring for others at the expense of self-care
  • Inability to set appropriate boundaries
  • Pushing themselves too hard
  • Mental and physical demands
  • Heavy workloads
  • Long hours on the job
  • Time pressures
  • Limited resources
  • Competing priorities
  • Media requests
  • Political and organizational pressures

Be on the Alert for Signs of Stress

Caregivers are usually alert to the stresses of people they help. They are not, however, always as alert to the stress and fatigue that can slowly surface in their own lives, and need to be reminded of normal stresses that may affect them.

Common Physical/Behavioural Reactions:
fatigue, loss of appetite, difficulty falling asleep, restlessness, headaches, changes in sleeping, increased blood pressure, changes in eating habits, increased susceptibility to colds, flu, infection, change in libido, changes in smoking habits, changes in alcohol and drug consumption.
Common Emotional Reactions:
feeling helpless, overwhelmed, inadequate, fragile, vulnerable, unable to cope or go on, increased mood swings, decreased motivation, feeling burned out, crying more frequently and easily, isolation, changes in communication patterns and other relationship dynamics, withdrawal.
Common Cognitive Reactions:
confusion, difficulty making decisions, difficulty problem solving, memory blanks, having ambiguous feelings, questioning why this happened in a world that is supposed to be safe, difficulty concentrating or paying attention.

Caregivers are not immune to the above reactions and need to remind themselves that these are normal human responses to stressful circumstances. Although many of the underlying stresses cannot be prevented, you can increase your resistance by taking care of yourself and staying healthy. It is important to pace yourself and know your limits so you can continue to be available to your clients and your community.

Here are some stress-relieving activities:

  • Go for a 15-minute walk during a lunch or coffee break. Take other opportunities to be physically active.
  • Eat sensibly. Avoid excessive use of caffeine and alcohol. Drink plenty of water and juices.
  • Know and respect your limits. If you feel exhausted and need time off, take it. Respect commitment for regularly scheduled time off.
  • Spend time with family and friends. Talk to them. Listen to their stories. Listen to them if they become concerned with your health and well-being.
  • As much as possible, continue to participate in previous social and recreational activities.
  • Get some rest. If you have trouble sleeping, get up and do something relaxing or enjoyable.
  • Be on the lookout for any changes in your habits, attitudes and moods.
  • Share your own and clients' reactions and issues with colleagues. Don't hesitate to ask others for advice.
  • Include yourself on the list of people you are taking care of. Take some time to do something just for yourself every day. Taking care of yourself will put you in better shape to give care to others.
  • Be self-nurturing and don't forget to laugh.

Delayed Stress Reactions

Past experiences have shown that after tragic events, it may take several weeks to adjust to "regular" routines. This is normal. Following the tips on self-care given above will help you deal with delayed reactions.

Family Needs

One of the most difficult challenges for caregivers is to maintain some kind of balance between the demands of the emergency work and the needs of their own families. Keep the lines of communication open. You and your partner may find it helpful to read the other pamphlets in this series:

When to Seek Help

The information offered in this brochure is a reference point to help you to understand some of the stress reactions you or other family members or friends may experience. If, at any time, you feel overwhelmed and unable to cope it is important to seek out additional assistance. Here are some circumstances which indicate that it is time to get help by speaking to a health professional such as a psychologist, family doctor, psychiatrist, social worker or nurse:

  • Can't return to a normal routine
  • Feeling extremely helpless
  • Having thoughts of hurting yourself or others
  • Using alcohol and drugs excessively

Resources which may be available in your community to call for help:

  • Distress or crisis centres
  • Hospital in your community
  • Family service agency
  • Bereavement group
  • Leader of your faith community
  • Include family and friends you can call to talk things over.

Acknowledgments

This document was revised by the Mental Health Support Network of Canada, a network of professional and voluntary associations concerned about mental health and the stress arising from extreme stressors.

Much of the information in this document was developed following the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks on the United States using information put together by Health Canada with input from the Canadian Medical Association, Canadian Psychological Association, Canadian Psychiatric Association and the Canadian Public Health Association.

Mental Health Support Network of Canada, Members:

  • Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists
  • Canadian Association of Social Workers
  • Canadian Healthcare Association
  • Canadian Medical Association
  • Canadian Mental Health Association
  • Canadian Nurses Association
  • Canadian Paediatric Society
  • Canadian Pharmacists Association
  • Canadian Psychiatric Association
  • Canadian Psychological Association
  • Canadian Public Health Association
  • Canadian Red Cross
  • The College of Family Physicians of Canada
  • Public Health Agency of Canada

Coping Resources in Your Community

Please use this space to list the names and telephone numbers of key resources and programs in your community (including friends and family you can call to talk things over).

Name:
Phone:
___________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________

This pamphlet has been published by the Public Health Agency of Canada, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0K9.

It can be reproduced freely for non-profit educational purposes or as part of a public awareness initiative, provided that full acknowledgment of the source is made. For more information about the psychosocial dimension of emergency preparedness, see the Personal Services manual at: Emergency Response Services)

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

Comment prendre soin de soi comme intervenant

Comment prendre soin de soi comme intervenant
78 KB - 8 pages en format PDF

Comment prendre soin de soi comme intervenant

Faire face aux événements stressants : Comment prendre soin de soi comme intervenant

Les catastrophes d'origine naturelle ou humaine, comme les tremblements de terre, les urgences sanitaires, les attentats terroristes ou les actes de guerre, peuvent obliger les soignants (médecins, psychologues, travailleurs sociaux, membres du personnel infirmier, psychiatres, enseignants, conseillers et autres travailleurs de la santé) à travailler de longues heures pour aider des gens de tous âges à comprendre et à gérer les réactions, émotions et problèmes nombreux que ces circonstances stressantes provoquent.

L'immense effort déployé par les soignants pour réagir aux effets psychosociaux de ces événements constitue une contribution cruciale au rétablissement de leur collectivité. Toutefois, il faut parfois rappeler aux soignants que de tels efforts soutenus peuvent mener à de la fatigue physique et émotive. S'ils ne font pas attention aux soins qu'ils se dispensent à euxmêmes, leur efficacité et, au bout du compte, leur propre santé pourrait en souffrir.

Sources de stress courantes pour les soignants

Voici certaines sources de stress courantes auxquelles les soignants peuvent être exposés :

  • Attentes élevées des clients et de soi-même
  • Soins intensifs apportés aux autres à ses dépens
  • Incapacité de fixer des limites adéquates aux efforts déployés
  • Surmenage
  • Exigences mentales et physiques
  • Lourde charge de travail
  • Longues heures de travail
  • Pression liée au facteur temps
  • Ressources limitées
  • Priorités conflictuelles
  • Demandes des médias
  • Pressions politiques et organisationnelles

Signes de stress à surveiller

Les soignants sont habituellement conscients du stress des gens qu'ils aident. Ils ne sont pourtant pas toujours aussi conscients du stress et de la fatigue qui peuvent lentement se manifester dans leur vie, et il faut leur rappeler qu'ils peuvent être touchés par le stress.

Réactions physiques et comportementales courantes :
Fatigue; perte d'appétit; difficulté à s'endormir; agitation; maux de tête; changements de rythme du sommeil; augmentation de la tension artérielle; changements dans les habitudes alimentaires; sensibilité accrue au rhume, à la grippe, aux infections; changement de la libido; changements dans les habitudes de consommation du tabac, de l'alcool ou de drogues
Réactions émotionnelles courantes :
Sentiment d'être impuissant, dépassé par les événements, incompétent, fragile, vulnérable, incapable de faire face à la situation ou d'aller de l'avant; changements d'humeur accrus; manque de motivation; sentiment de surmenage; pleurs plus fréquents et plus faciles; isolement; changement des habitudes de communication et des autres dynamiques interpersonnelles; repli sur soi
Réactions cognitives courantes :
Confusion, difficulté à prendre des décisions, difficulté à résoudre des problèmes, trous de mémoire, sentiments ambivalents, questionnement à savoir pourquoi une telle chose a pu se produire dans un monde censé être sûr, difficulté à se concentrer et à être attentif

Les soignants ne sont pas à l'abri des réactions susmentionnées et ils doivent se souvenir que ces réactions sont normales dans des situations stressantes. Même si bon nombre des sources de stress sont inévitables, on peut accroître sa capacité de résistance en prenant soin de soi et de sa santé. Il est donc important d'avoir un rythme de vie soutenable et de connaître ses limites pour continuer à pouvoir servir ses clients et sa collectivité.

Quelques activités pour soulager le stress

  • Faire une promenade de 15 minutes pendant la pause de midi ou la pause café. Saisissez d'autres occasions de faire de l'activité physique.
  • S'alimenter sainement. Évitez la consommation excessive de caféine ou d'alcool. Buvez beaucoup d'eau et de jus.
  • Connaître et respecter ses limites. Si vous êtes épuisé et que vous avez besoin de vous reposer, faites-le. Respectez les pauses et les congés prévus.
  • Passer du temps avec sa famille et ses amis. Parlez avec eux, écoutez ce qu'ils ont à raconter. Écoutez-les s'ils s'inquiètent de votre santé et de votre bien-être.
  • Autant que possible, continuez à participer aux activités sociales et récréatives habituelles.
  • Prendre le temps de se reposer. Si vous avez de la difficulté à dormir, levez-vous et faites quelque chose qui vous aidera à vous relaxer ou qui vous sera agréable.
  • Être attentif à toute modification de ses habitudes, de ses attitudes, de son humeur.
  • Partager ses réactions et les réactions et problèmes de ses clients avec des collègues. N'hésitez pas à demander conseil aux autres.
  • Ajouter son nom à la liste des gens dont on s'occupe. Chaque jour, prenez le temps de faire quelque chose juste pour vousmême. En prenant soin de vous, vous serez mieux en mesure d'aider les autres.
  • Se réconforter et s'encourager. N'oubliez pas de rire.

Réactions de stress après l'événement

Les expériences passées ont démontré qu'après de tragiques événements, il faut parfois plusieurs semaines avant de pouvoir reprendre ses activités régulières. Cela est normal. Les conseils présentés ci-dessus vous aideront à gérer les réactions qui surviennent après coup.

Besoins de la famille

L'un des défis les plus difficiles à relever pour les soignants est de conserver une sorte d'équilibre entre les besoins du travail d'urgence et les besoins de leur propre famille. Maintenez les liens de communication. Votre conjoint et vous trouverez peut-être utile la lecture des autres dépliants de cette série :

Quand demander deN l'aide

Ce dépliant est une source de référence pour vous aider à comprendre certaines des réactions de stress que vous, les autres membres de votre famille ou vos amis peuvent connaître. Si vous vous sentez dépassés et incapables de faire face à la situation à n'importe quel moment, il est important d'aller chercher plus d'aide. Voici quelques signes qui indiquent qu'il est temps de faire appel à un professionnel de la santé, comme un psychologue, un médecin de famille, un psychiatre, un travailleur social ou un membre du personnel infirmier :

  • Être incapable de retourner à la routine normale
  • Se sentir complètement impuissant
  • Penser à se blesser soi-même ou à blesser les autres
  • Consommer trop d'alcool ou de drogues

Ressources d'aide de la collectivité auxquelles on peut faire appel

  • Centre de détresse ou centre de crise
  • Hôpital
  • Agence de services à la famille
  • Groupe de soutien aux personnes en deuil
  • Chef de communauté religieuse
  • Aussi, les parents et amis qu'on peut appeler pour parler

Remerciements

Le présent document a été révisé par le Réseau canadien de soutien pour la santé mentale, dont les membres sont des associations de professionnels ou de bénévoles qui s'intéressent à la santé mentale et au stress engendré par les situations traumatisantes.

Le contenu du texte a été élaboré en grande partie après les attentats terroristes du 11 septembre 2001 aux États-Unis, à partir de données réunies par Santé Canada et dont certaines provenaient de l'Association médicale canadienne, de la Société canadienne de psychologie, de l'Association des psychiatres du Canada et de l'Association canadienne de santé publique.

Réseau canadien de soutien pour la santé mentale, Membres :

  • Association canadienne des ergothérapeutes
  • Association canadienne des travailleuses et travailleurs sociaux
  • Association canadienne des soins de santé
  • Association médicale canadienne
  • Association canadienne pour la santé mentale
  • Association des infirmières et infirmiers du Canada
  • Société canadienne de pédiatrie
  • Association des pharmaciens du Canada
  • Association des psychiatres du Canada
  • Société canadienne de psychologie
  • Association canadienne de santé publique
  • Croix-Rouge canadienne
  • Le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada
  • Agence de la santé publique du Canada

Ressources d'aide dans votre localité

Écrivez les noms et numéros de téléphone des ressources et des programmes offerts dans votre localité (y compris vos amis et parents avec qui vous pouvez parler).

Nom :
Téléphone :
___________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________

Le présent dépliant a été publié par l'Agence de santé publique du Canada, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0K9.

Son contenu peut être reproduit sans frais à des fins éducatives sans but lucratif, ou dans le cadre d'une initiative de sensibilisation, en autant que sa provenance soit reconnue dans sa totalité. Pour plus de renseignements concernant l'aspect psychosocial des préparatifs aux situations d'urgence, veuillez consulter le manuel Services personnels à l'adresse: Services d'interventions d'urgence