Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

ARCHIVED - Because Life Goes On... Helping Children and Youth Live With Separation and Divorce

Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of CanadaExternal link, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

A Guide for Parents

Table of Contents

Audio Format

Please note that this document was published by Health Canada prior to the announcement of the establishment of the Public Health Agency of Canada on September 24, 2004. Any reference to Health Canada should be assumed to be to the Public Health Agency of Canada.

For additional copies, please contact:

Publications
Public Health Agency of Canada
Postal locator 0913A
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0K9
Telephone: (613) 954-5995
Fax: (613) 941-5366

It can be made available on computer disquette or audiocassette, in large print or braille on request.

Published by authority of the Minister of Health © Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Public Works and Government Services Canada, 2000

Reprint 1996, 2000
Cat. H39-293/1994E
ISBN 0-662-21513-3

Acknowledgements

"Because Life Goes On... Helping Children and Youth Live with Separation and Divorce" is a Health Canada publication intended to reach out to Canadian families in need of information and resources to help their children to live through the process of separation and divorce. This booklet is also designed to assist professionals in such fields as social services, health, justice and education, in their work with children and their parents.

Health Canada is very proud to provide this 3rd edition of "Because Life Goes On..." in response to an overwhelming demand from Canadian families and professionals. Although the core content of the booklet has remained the same, certain sections have been updated to better address some of the current issues related to separation and divorce.

Health Canada is very grateful to all individuals who have contributed to the creation of this booklet, in particular to its authors:

Natacha Joubert, PhD, Mental Health Promotion Unit
Kathleen Guy, President of Guy Associates

Special thanks are due to those who provided their passion, commitment, and knowledge on the subject area or skills in research, writing, editing, translation and design. The Department expresses its appreciation to the following individuals and organizations for their assistance and collaboration, and to the many others, including our readers, who provided their ideas, suggestions and support:

BC Council for Families
Marilyn Bongaard,
Karen Bron & Barbara Grocholski-Stewart, Child Support Team, Justice Canada Joyce Borenstein, Illumination Magique Inc.
Michelle Décarie, Editor
Rhonda Freeman, Families in Transition, Family Service Association of Metropolitan Toronto
Liza Goulet, Consultant
Nancy Johnson, Johnson Associates
Orysia Z. Kostiuk, Parent Education, For the Sake of the Children Project, Province of Manitoba
Senator Landon Pearson, Senate of Canada
Stephanie Pelot and Lloyd Pelot, Pentafolio Multimedia
Marie-Josée Rosset, Translator
Suzanne Sabourin, Mental Health Promotion Unit
Annie Thibault, Cover Illustration
Gaby Vieira, Katalin Kennedy and Joanne Lacroix, Family Violence Prevention, Health Canada
Judith Whitehead, Vankellers Writing and Editing Services

Health Canada is also grateful to Justice Canada for their financial contribution to the printing of the booklet.

The quotations of young people included in this booklet are from the film video One Divided By Two: Kids and Divorce. Permission to reproduce these quotes was provided by the film's producer, Illumination Magique Inc. Refer to the Resources section for more information.

Table of Contents

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

ARCHIVÉ - Parce que la vie continue...Aider les enfants et les adolescents à vivre la séparation et le divorce

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du CanadaLien externe, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

Un guide à l’intention des parents

Table des matières

Format Audio

Veuillez prendre note que le présent document a été publié par Santé Canada avant l'annonce de la création de l'Agence de santé publique du Canada le 24 septembre 2004. Toute référence à Santé Canada devrait être acheminée à l'Agence de santé publique du Canada.

On peut obtenir des exemplaires supplémentaires en s'adressant à :

Publications
Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Indice de l'adresse 0913A
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0K9
Téléphone : (613) 954-5995
Télécopieur : (613) 941-5366

On peut obtenir, sur demande, la présente publication sur disquette, sur bande sonore, en gros caractères ou en braille.

Publication autorisée par le ministre de la Santé. Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre des Approvisionnements et Services Canada, 2000

Réimpression 1996, 2000
Cat. H39-293/1994F
ISBN 0-662-98987-2

Remerciements

« Parce que la vie continue... aider les enfants et les adolescents à vivre la séparation et le divorce» est une publication de Santé Canada qui veut offrir aux familles canadiennes divers renseignements, suggestions et conseils pratiques afin qu'elles puissent aider leurs enfants à traverser le processus de la séparation et du divorce. Elle vise également à aider les professionnels des domaines des services sociaux, de la santé, de la justice et de l'éducation dans leur travail auprès des enfants et de leurs parents.

Santé Canada est très fier de vous présenter cette troisième édition de la brochure « Parce que la vie continue... », faisant écho à la forte demande provenant des familles et des professionnels canadiens. Si le contenu principal de la brochure est demeuré sensiblement le même, certaines sections ont été mises à jour afin de mieux cerner plusieurs questions relatives à la séparation et au divorce.

Santé Canada tient à remercier chaleureusement toutes les personnes et organismes qui ont contribué à la création de l'ouvrage, et en particulier ses auteures :

Natacha Joubert, Ph.D., Unité de la promotion de la santé mentale
Kathleen Guy, présidente de Guy Associates

Le ministère remercie également tous ceux et celles qui ont mis à profit leur passion, leur engagement et leurs connaissances dans ce domaine ou leurs compétences en matière de recherche, rédaction, révision, traduction et conception graphique. Un grand merci aux personnes suivantes pour leur assistance et leur collaboration ainsi qu'à bien d'autres encore, notamment nos lecteurs et lectrices, qui ont offert idées, suggestions et soutien :

BC Council for Families
Marilyn Bongaard, Karen Bron et Barbara Grocholski-Stewart, Équipe sur les pensions alimentaires pour enfants, ministère de la Justice du Canada
Joyce Borenstein, Illumination Magique Inc.
Michelle Décarie, réviseure
Rhonda Freeman, Families in Transition, Family Service Association of Metropolitain Toronto
Liza Goulet, consultante
Nancy Johnson, Johnson Associates
Orysia Z. Kostiuk, soutien parental, programme Pour l'amour des enfants, Province du Manitoba
La sénatrice Landon Pearson, sénat du Canada
Stephanie Pelot et Lloyd Pelot, Pentafolio Multimedia
Marie-Josée Rosset, traductrice
Suzanne Sabourin, Unité de la promotion de la santé mentale
Annie Thibault, illustration de la page couverture
Gaby Vieira, Katalin Kennedy et Joanne Lacroix, Prévention de la violence familiale
Judith Whitehead, Vankellers Writing and Editing Services

Santé Canada exprime sa reconnaissance au ministère de la Justice du Canada pour sa collaboration financière grâce à laquelle l'impression de la présente brochure a été rendue possible.

Les témoignages présentés en marge sont extraits du film « One Divided By Two: Kids and Divorce » avec l'autorisation du réalisateur, Illumination Magique Inc. Le genre masculin utilisé dans ce document désigne aussi bien les femmes que les hommes.

Table des matière