Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

Chronic Diseases in Canada

Volume 31, no. 2, March 2011

Symposium report: The role of science journals in Population Health Intervention Research

M. Tracy, MA (1); S. Viehbeck, PhD (c) (2); E. Cohen, MSc (2)
1. Public Health Agency of Canada
2. Canadian Institutes of Health Research - Institute of Population and Public Health

Symposium overview

On November 29 and 30, 2010, the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) - Institute of Population and Public Health (IPPH) and partners held an international symposium on Accelerating Population Health Intervention Research to Promote Health and Health Equity (the Symposium) in Toronto, Ontario. Over 130 participants came from the federal and provincial governments, universities, Canadian and international research funding agencies, and non-governmental organizations, including the National Aboriginal Health Organization and the Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives. This event also engaged international representatives from the Prevention Research Centers of the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the US National Cancer Institute, as well as from the UK’s Medical Research Council - Population Health Sciences Research Network, Australia’s National Health and Medical Research Council, and France’s Institut National du Cancer.

The purpose of the Symposium was to foster discussion and ultimately advance the understanding of Population Health Intervention Research (PHIR) from the point of view of researchers, policy makers and science editors. Editorial staff from Chronic Diseases in Canada (CDIC) attended the Symposium in order to consider the journal’s role in this field. Over the past three years, CDIC has been undergoing a shift from reporting primarily on epidemiological studies to focusing on publishing research on population health interventions and health promotion.

What is PHIR?

PHIR examines the policies, programs and events that influence the “upstream” determinants of health, including interventions designed for another primary purpose that also impact health. PHIR emphasizes disease prevention and suggests solutions to health inequities.

While the study of population health interventions is not necessarily new, relatively little of this research exists, particularly in comparison to more descriptive research. A review of public health research in the United Kingdom found that less than 0.4% of such research was related to interventions.1 Similar patterns have been found in prominent areas of chronic disease prevention.2 The establishment of the Population Health Intervention Research Initiative for Canada (PHIRIC) by the CIHR’s Institute of Population and Public Health and other partners places a new emphasis on the importance of this type of research—as was witnessed at the Symposium—by trying to build capacity to fund, conduct and use PHIR. While the Institute of Population and Public Health and the Institute of Nutrition, Metabolism and Diabetes champion this type of research through PHIRIC, other CIHR Institutes, health charity partners, and federal government departments also play a role. Indeed, as Ms. Marie DesMeules of the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC) mentioned in her Symposium presentation, “Shifting Gears: Accelerating Innovative and Promising Interventions,” PHIR requires us to have uncluttered mechanisms to work across governments and departments.

Examples of PHIR

The Symposium offered researchers many opportunities to demonstrate different aspects of current PHIR. For example, Dr. Geoffrey Fong presented on the International Tobacco Control Policy Evaluation Project, which involves 20 countries and 16 funding models. The project is testing policies to see if they actually close the existing equity gap in terms of tobacco control. On a different scale, Dr. Evelyn Forget discussed a study that compared two communities in the 1970s in Manitoba—one that received a guaranteed minimum income and one that did not. In the community with the guaranteed income, hospitalizations for accidents, injuries and mental illness dropped, suggesting that interventions from outside of the health sector can have positive health impacts.

The study of “natural experiments,” in which researchers do not have control over the timing and nature of the intervention or to the allocation of those exposed to the intervention,3 present unique opportunities for PHIR. Dr. Patricia Martens contended that natural experiments are powerful stories that capture the imaginations of policy makers. They may be studied through a range of research designs; however, the appropriateness (or lack thereof) of randomized control trial (RCT) designs for their study was discussed at length on both days of the Symposium. Some panellists discussed that while RCTs have internal validity, they may be less suited to capturing the interactions between interventions and the contexts in which they are implemented. In PHIR, the context of social determinants of health is pre-eminent. For example, Dr. Jim Dunn presented three examples of natural experiments from housing and health research, including the Toronto-based Regent Park housing redevelopment study. A multidisciplinary team of researchers, community groups, tenants, and government agencies are working together to study this natural experiment as it unfolds.

Peer review guidelines

PHIR spans a variety of possible study designs, methodological approaches, and disciplines, and can be conducted at different stages of a policy or program’s development or implementation. As such, reviewers need guidelines on what criteria to apply to assess excellence in PHIR, and how to apply these criteria. CIHR’s Institute of Population and Public Health is developing peer review guidelines as a tool for grant reviewers. A reviewer may need to assess, for instance, whether or not the researchers have considered questions of knowledge transfer, policy maker involvement and cost effectiveness. Ethical conduct of PHIR, as well as the ethics of population health interventions, including principles of equity, need also be considered.

The role of peer-reviewed journals in PHIR

Public health journals play an important role in translating and exchanging knowledge by facilitating the peer-reviewing and publishing of PHIR. Articles published by peer-reviewed journals are usually indexed; thus the information therein can be lifted out of “grey literature,” making research findings more readily available. The guidelines that the CIHR’s Institute of Population and Public Health is developing as a tool for its grant reviewers could be adapted by scientific journals for their peer review process. (The current list of questions given to CDIC peer reviewers, for example, provides little or no guidance regarding the unique criteria that should be considered when assessing PHIR papers.) Thus, journals can further support PHIR by recruiting editors skilled at assessing PHIR papers, by identifying capable peer reviewers, and by adopting peer reviewer guidelines that assist in judging PHIR manuscripts. Thanks to PHIRIC and a continued collaboration with the CIHR-Institute of Population and Public Health, CDIC is in an excellent position to fulfill this role.


  1. ^Milward L, Kelly M, Nutbeam D. Public health intervention research: the evidence. London: Health Development Agency; 2001.
  2. ^Sanson-Fisher RW, Campbell EM, Htun AT, Bailey LJ, Millar C. We are what we do: Research outputs for public health. Am J Prev Med. 2008; 3:280-5.
  3. ^Petticrew M, Cummins S, Ferrell C, Findlay A, Higgins C, Hoy C, et al. Natural experiments: an underused tool for public health? Public Health. 2005;119:751-7.

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

Maladies chroniques au Canada

Volume 31, no 2, mars 2011

Compte-rendu de colloque : Rôle des revues scientifiques dans la recherche interventionnelle en santé des populations

M. Tracy, M.A. (1); S. Viehbeck, Ph. D. (c) (2); E. Cohen, M. Sc. (2)
1. Agence de la santé publique du Canada
2. Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada – Institut de la santé publique et des populations

Aperçu du colloque

Les 29 et 30 novembre 2010 à Toronto (Ontario), l’Institut de la santé publique et des populations (ISPP) des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) et ses partenaires ont tenu un colloque international sur l’avancement de la recherche interventionnelle en santé des populations, dans le but de promouvoir la santé et l’égalité en matière de santé. Cette rencontre a rassemblé plus de 130 participants venant des gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux, d’universités, d’organismes de financement de la recherche canadiens et internationaux ainsi que d’organisations non gouvernementales comme l’Organisation nationale de la santé autochtone et le Centre canadien de politiques alternatives. Ont assisté aussi à la rencontre des représentants venus des États-Unis (US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, US National Cancer Institute), du Royaume-Uni (Population Health Sciences Research Network du Medical Research Council), d’Australie (National Health and Medical Research Council) et de France (Institut National du Cancer).

L’objectif du colloque était de favoriser les discussions et d’approfondir la compréhension de la recherche interventionnelle en santé des populations en réunissant chercheurs, décideurs et rédacteurs scientifiques de revues. C’est à ce titre que des membres de l’équipe de rédaction de Maladies chroniques au Canada (MCC) ont assisté au colloque, afin de clarifier le positionnement de la revue dans ce domaine. En effet, depuis trois ans, MCC élargit son champ de publication, allant des recherches épidémiologiques pures à des recherches sur les interventions en santé des populations et la promotion de la santé.

Qu’est-ce que la recherche interventionnelle en santé des populations?

La recherche interventionnelle en santé des populations analyse les politiques, les programmes et les activités qui influent sur les déterminants « en amont » du secteur de la santé, y compris des interventions conçues à d’autres fins et ayant une incidence sur la santé. Elle privilégie la prévention de la maladie et propose des solutions pour résorber les inégalités en matière de santé.

Même si l’étude des interventions en santé des populations n’est pas véritablement nouvelle, elle a suscité relativement peu de publications, surtout comparativement à la recherche descriptive. Selon une étude effectuée au Royaume-Uni, moins de 0,4 % de la recherche en santé publique se rapportait à des interventions1. Une situation similaire a été constatée dans des domaines importants de la prévention des maladies chroniques2. Avec la mise sur pied de l’Initiative de recherche interventionnelle en santé des populations du Canada (IRISPC), l’ISPP des IRSC et ses partenaires tentent de renforcer l’importance de ce type de recherche – ce dont le colloque a rendu compte – en essayant d’accroître la capacité de financement, de réalisation et d’utilisation de projets dans ce domaine. Non seulement l’ISPP et l’Institut de la nutrition, du métabolisme et du diabète prennent fait et cause pour ce type de recherche par l’intermédiaire de l’IRISPC, mais d’autres instituts des IRSC, des institutions caritatives œuvrant en santé et certains ministères fédéraux sont également partie prenante. Comme Marie DesMeules de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC) l’a mentionné lors de son intervention, intitulée Shifting Gears: Accelerating Innovative and Promising Interventions, la recherche interventionnelle en santé des populations nécessite des relations de travail efficaces entre gouvernements et ministères.

Exemples de recherche interventionnelle en santé des populations

Ce colloque a donné l’occasion aux chercheurs de présenter différentes facettes de la recherche interventionnelle actuelle en santé des populations. Par exemple, l’intervention de Geoffrey Fong portait sur le Projet international d’évaluation de la lutte antitabac, qui touche 20 pays et inclut 16 modèles de financement. Le projet vise à vérifier si les politiques en matière de lutte antitabac permettent effectivement d’atténuer les inégalités actuelles. À une autre échelle, Evelyn Forget a présenté une étude comparant deux collectivités du Manitoba pendant les années 1970, l’une seulement bénéficiant d’un revenu minimum garanti. Dans cette dernière, les taux d’hospitalisations liées aux accidents, aux blessures et aux maladies mentales ont chuté, ce qui laisse penser que des interventions extérieures au secteur de la santé peuvent avoir des effets positifs sur la santé.

Les « expériences naturelles » – au cours desquelles les chercheurs ne décident ni de la nature de l’intervention, ni du calendrier de sa mise en œuvre, ni des personnes qui y seront exposées3 - offrent des possibilités exceptionnelles pour la recherche interventionnelle en santé des populations. Patricia Martens a affirmé que le récit de ces expériences captive l'imagination des décideurs. Quoiqu'elles puissent être analysées à l'aide de divers modèles conceptuels, il fut surtout discuté au cours des deux journées de colloque de la pertinence (ou de la non pertinence) de recourir à des essais contrôlés randomisés (ECR) pour les étudier. Certains intervenants ont en effet avancé que, malgré leur validité interne, les ECR conviendraient peu à l’étude des interactions entre les interventions et le contexte de leur mise en œuvre. Or, dans les projets de recherche interventionnelle en santé des populations, le contexte des déterminants sociaux de la santé est d’une importance capitale. C’est ce que Jim Dunn a illustré en prenant trois exemples d’expériences naturelles effectuées dans le contexte de la recherche sur le logement et la santé, dont une étude sur la rénovation de logements de Regent Park à Toronto. Une équipe multidisciplinaire de chercheurs, de groupes communautaires, de locataires et d’organismes gouvernementaux travaillent de concert à l’étude de cette expérience naturelle au fur et à mesure de son déroulement.

Lignes directrices relatives à l’examen par les pairs

Les projets de recherche interventionnelle en santé des populations peuvent englober divers modèles conceptuels, méthodologies et disciplines, et être réalisés à différentes étapes de l’élaboration ou de la mise en œuvre d’une politique ou d’un programme. Par conséquent, les évaluateurs ont besoin de lignes directrices spécifiques quant aux critères d’évaluation de ce type de projets, ainsi que de précisions quant à la manière de les appliquer. L’ISPP des IRSC élabore actuellement, à l'intention des évaluateurs de demandes de subventions, des lignes directrices relatives à l'évaluation par les pairs. Un évaluateur peut par exemple être amené à déterminer si les chercheurs ont tenu compte des questions de transfert des connaissances, de participation des décideurs ou de rentabilité. Il doit également s'assurer que la recherche comme les interventions en santé des populations ont respecté les principes d'éthique, dont l'équité.

Le rôle des revues à comité de lecture en recherche interventionnelle en santé des populations

Les revues en santé publique jouent un rôle important dans la diffusion des connaissances en favorisant la publication d’articles de recherche interventionnelle en santé des populations évalués par les pairs. Les articles publiés dans des revues à comité de lecture sont habituellement répertoriés et l’information qui s’y trouve peut donc être repérée dans la « littérature grise », ce qui facilite l’accès aux résultats de recherche. Les lignes directrices élaborées par l’ISPP des IRSC à l'intention des évaluateurs de demandes de subventions pourraient être adaptées par les revues scientifiques à leur propre processus d'évaluation par les pairs. (La liste des questions envoyée aux évaluateurs de MCC n’offre en effet actuellement que peu de directives, voire aucune, à propos de critères spécifiques applicables à l’évaluation d’articles en recherche interventionnelle en santé des populations). Cela permettrait à l’équipe de ces revues de mieux soutenir la recherche interventionnelle en santé des populations, en recrutant des rédacteurs scientifiques capables d’évaluer les articles de recherche de ce type, en choisissant des évaluateurs compétents et en adoptant des lignes directrices spécifiques facilitant l’évaluation des manuscrits par les pairs. Grâce à l’IRISPC et à une collaboration continue avec l’ISPP des IRSC, la revue MCC est très bien placée pour jouer ce rôle.

Références

  1. ^Milward L, Kelly M, Nutbeam D. Public health intervention research: the evidence. London: Health Development Agency; 2001.
  2. ^Sanson-Fisher RW, Campbell EM, Htun AT, Bailey LJ, Millar C. We are what we do: Research outputs for public health. Am J Prev Med. 2008; 3:280-5.
  3. ^Petticrew M, Cummins S, Ferrell C, Findlay A, Higgins C, Hoy C, et al. Natural experiments: an underused tool for public health? Public Health. 2005;119:751-7.