Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

Canadian Incidence Study of Reported Child Abuse and Neglect Final Report

Canadian Incidence Study of Reported Child Abuse and Neglect - imagePrepared by:
Nico Trocmé
Bruce MacLaurin
Barbara Fallon
Joanne Daciuk
Diane Billingsley
Marc Tourigny
Micheline Mayer
John Wright
Ken Barter
Gale Burford
Joe Hornick
Richard Sullivan
Brad McKenzie

PDF version PDF
(1,745 KB) in PDF Format

Table Of Contents

Executive Summary

  1. Introduction
    • Background
    • Objectives and Scope of the CIS
    • Child Welfare Services in Canada
    • Definitional Framework for the CIS
      • Categories and Forms of Maltreatment . . .
      • Level of Harm
      • Timeframe
      • Unit of Analysis
      • Case Duplication
      •  Level of Case Identification
    • Summary of CIS Definitional Framework
    • Organization of Report
  2. Methodology
    • Study Organization
      • Funding
      • National Consultation
      • Study Timeframe
      • Project Management Structure
    • Instruments
      • Maltreatment Assessment Form
      • Worker Information Form
      • Pilot Testing
    • Sampling
    • Case Selection and Processing
      • Data Verification and Data Entry
      • Participation and Item Completion Rates
      • Weighting
      • Duplication
    • Sampling Error Estimation
    • Data Presentation Format
  3. Incidence Of Abuse And Neglect
    • Definition of Classifications of Maltreatment
    • Definition of Levels of Substantiation
    • Calculation of Substantiation Rates in Cases Involving Several
    • Forms of Maltreatment
    • Total Child Investigations and Overall Rates of Substantiation
    • Total Family Investigations and Overall Rates of Substantiation
    • Categories of Maltreatment
    • Single and Multiple Categories of Maltreatment
    • Physical Abuse
    • Sexual Abuse
    • Neglect
    • Emotional Maltreatment
  4. Characteristics Of Maltreatment
    • Physical Harm
    • Nature of Physical Harm
    • Medical Treatment for Physical Harm
    • Emotional Harm
    • Duration of Maltreatment
    • Alleged Perpetrator
  5. Investigation Outcomes
    • Ongoing Child Welfare Services
    • Child and Family Referrals
    • Out-of-Home Placement
    • Child Welfare Court Involvement
    • Police Involvement and Criminal Charges
  6. Child Characteristics
    • Age and Sex of Investigated Children
    • Child Functioning
  7. Household Characteristics
    • Parents and Caregivers in the Home
    • Age of Primary Caregiver(s)
    • Number of Siblings in the Household
    • Number of Siblings Investigated
    • Source of Income
    • Housing
    • Aboriginal Heritage of Parents
    • Caregiver Functioning and Family Stressors
  8. Referral And Agency Characteristics
    • Source of Referral/Allegation
    • Malicious Referrals
    • Previous Case Openings
    • Agency/Office Size
    • Urban and Rural Service Area
    • Worker Position, Experience, and Education
  9. Conclusions And Future Directions
    • Summary of Major Findings
      • Incidence of Abuse and Neglect
      • Characteristics of Maltreatment
      • Outcomes of Investigations
      • Child Characteristics
      • Household Characteristics
      • Referral and Agency Characteristics
    • Comparative Analysis
      • Canadian Data on Investigated Maltreatment
      • International Data on Investigated Maltreatment
    • Further Research
  1. CIS Site Directors/Research Associates
  2. National Advisory Committee and Health Canada Staff
  3. Glossary of Terms
  4. Maltreatment Assessment Form
  5. CIS Study Guide Book
  6. Case Vignettes
  7. Worker Information Form
  8. Variance Estimates and Confidence Intervals
  9. Supporting Data for Additional Report Findings



The 1998 Canadian Incidence Study of Reported Child Abuse and Neglect (CIS) reflects a truly national effort by a group of over 700 child welfare service providers, researchers and policy makers committed to improving services for abused and neglected children through research. Health Canada provided core funding for the study, with additional funds provided by the provinces of Newfoundland, Quebec, Ontario, and British Columbia and by the Bell Canada Child Welfare Research Unit. In addition to its financial contribution, Health Canada, through the Child Maltreatment Section (CMS) of the Bureau of Health Surveillance and Epidemiology, provided a critical organizational infrastructure for the study, with the active support of the CMD Chief, Gordon Phaneuf, Sharon Bartholomew, Lil Tonmyr, and the Director of the Bureau, Catherine McCourt. The National Advisory Committee to the CIS (see Appendix B) provided key input into the design of the study and in supporting implementation. I would particularly like to acknowledge the contributions of Sandra Scarth (Committee Chair), who has championed this project for many years, and of Harriet MacMillan and David Wolfe, who provided constructive feedback and support throughout the project.

The CIS was conducted by a large team of researchers who demonstrated an exceptional ability to keep focused on the objectives of this collective effort while bringing to bear their own expertise. In addition to the report authors, special acknowledgement should go to site-based researchers who played a critical role in presenting the study and generating support while maintaining high standards for case selection. These include Janet Douglas, Ralph Bodor, Avery Calhoun, Jairo Ortiz, Warren Helfrich, Julie Thompson, Joanne Boucher, Marie-Claude Larrivée, Sonia Hélie, Chantal Lavergne, Marie Jacob, Brian Kenny, Julia Foran, and Brenda Romans (see Appendix A for institutional affiliations) . In addition to the formal members of the research team particular thanks must go to Mike Boyle, McMaster University, who assisted with the design of the study, and Tim Daciuk, who provided many useful data processing tips.

The child welfare social workers and managers who participated in the study deserve special recognition for finding the time and the interest to participate in the study while juggling their ever-increasing child protection responsibilities. Although for reasons of confidentiality we cannot list their names, on behalf of the CIS Research Team I thank the child welfare professionals who participated in the CIS.

Nico Trocmé
CIS Principal Investigator
June 2000


This report is dedicated to the children and families who are served by Canadian child welfare workers. It is our sincere hope that the study contributes to improving their well-being.

In memory of Paul Steinhauer, a champion for Canada's children.



The Canadian Incidence Study of Reported Child Abuse and Neglect (CIS) provides, for the first time, national estimates of child abuse and neglect reported to, and investigated by, child welfare services in Canada. These data will strengthen our understanding of the extent of child maltreatment in Canada while also guiding our policy, program, and research responses to the problem. In addition to examining the incidence rates of child maltreatment, the study explored the characteristics of the children, youth and families who were the subject of child welfare investigations for alleged child abuse and neglect. The CIS also examined selected key determinants of health to better understand their relationship to the incidence of child maltreatment.

In January 1995, the Child Welfare League of Canada, with financial support from Health Canada, conducted an expert consultation, which affirmed the feasibility of developing a study to generate national estimates of the extent of child abuse and neglect in Canada. The consultation also underscored the importance of securing the support of the provincial, territorial, and federal governments for this effort. In 1996, Health Canada conducted bilateral consultations with senior provincial/territorial child welfare officials, native child welfare leaders, and key informants from the academic, research and non-government communities. The results corroborated the consensus view from the expert consultation that there was strong support for an initiative that would strengthen the national knowledge base on the incidence and characteristics of child abuse and neglect.

After a national request for proposals competition, Health Canada, through the Child Maltreatment Section, awarded a 3-year contract to a consortium of researchers led by Nico Trocmé of the University of Toronto to develop the Canadian Incidence Study of Reported Child Abuse and Neglect. Each of the provincial and territorial governments contributed materially to the realization of the study, most commonly by furnishing in-kind donations, which served to facilitate the participation of child welfare workers in the respective data collection sites. Four provinces (Newfoundland, Quebec, Ontario, and British Columbia) elected to provide additional resources to the study to allow for over-sampling in their jurisdictions.

To help ensure that the study was both relevant to those who provide help and support to children and youth, and methodologically rigorous, a multi-disciplinary National Advisory Committee was established to provide advice and counsel to the study. Expertise drawn from many disciplines was represented on the Committee, including child advocacy, child protection, native child welfare, children's mental health, public health, social work, and forensic medicine.

The Canadian Incidence Study of Reported Child Abuse and Neglect constitutes the foundation for a national surveillance system on child maltreatment. The data collection and analysis undertaken within the CIS complements existing Health Canada child-related surveillance systems, including those addressing child injury and perinatal health. The study's descriptive analysis will be supplemented by in-depth secondary analysis, which will be pursued collaboratively with the academic, professional, and governmental sectors. The potential contribution of the CIS to the advancement of our understanding of child maltreatment is best appreciated within the context of a core system of periodic data collection, analysis and interpretation, and communication of information for action. The CIS provides the baseline against which future cycles of the study can be compared, thus allowing for the generation of trend analysis and the identification of patterns in the incidence and reporting of child maltreatment. The population health approach reflected in the child health surveillance activities of Health Canada has helped to guide the design and implementation of the CIS. Similarly, the evidence base that the study has established will serve to enrich program and policy development work on children's issues while providing the knowledge and data to strengthen child advocacy efforts and direct future targeted research.

This report and the companion document Child Maltreatment in Canada: Selected Results from the Canadian Incidence Study of Reported Child Abuse and Neglect, which was developed to make the results of the study easily accessible to a wide readership, provide descriptive data from the CIS data set. The study was based on child welfare workers' professional judgements about cases of reported child maltreatment that they had investigated. As such, it is truly the view from the "frontline " of child protection. The study only addressed cases that had been reported to child welfare services; therefore, unreported cases of alleged abuse and neglect are not included in the CIS. This constraint and other methodologic limitations of the study are carefully described in both reports.

The study used a tri-level substantiation format. Child welfare workers were asked to classify investigated cases of child abuse and neglect into one of three categories: unsubstantiated, suspected, or substantiated. By including both suspected and substantiated cases the study has furnished a wide range of child welfare case classifications. This will facilitate future research into the factors that affect case determination, case planning, duration of service, and related issues.

Many people have worked diligently to ensure the realization of this study. The more than 700 child welfare workers from across the country who have participated directly in the study, the child welfare administrators at the local level, and the provincial/territorial directors of child welfare have all helped to ensure its success. The national research team and research associates, who are listed in Appendix A, have all demonstrated an unflagging commitment to the study. The National Advisory Committee (see Appendix B for a list of members) , which is chaired by Sandra Scarth, Executive Director Emeritus of the Child Welfare League of Canada, has provided valuable direction and guidance. Gratitude is due as well to the Child Welfare League of Canada, which has been an ardent champion of the study.

The CIS demonstrates the value and importance of collaborative work within the child maltreatment prevention community. The model of partnerships formed across sectors, which draw different disciplines together with a common focus to improve efforts to prevent abuse, should inform future initiatives in this area.

Gordon Phaneuf
Child Maltreatment Section
Health Canada

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

Étude canadienne sur l'incidence des signalements de cas de violence et de négligence envers les enfants (EIC) : Rapport final

Étude canadienne sur l'incidence des signalements de cas de violence et de négligence envers les enfants (EIC) : Rapport final - image

Auteurs :
Nico Trocmé
Bruce MacLaurin
Barbara Fallon
Joanne Daciuk
Diane Billingsley
Marc Tourigny
Micheline Mayer
John Wright
Ken Barter
Gale Burford
Joe Hornick
Richard Sullivan
Brad McKenzie

(2,519 KB) en format PDF

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
    • Contexte
    • Objectifs et portée de l'ECI
    • Les services de protection de l'enfance au Canada
    • Cadre définitionnel de l'ECI
      • Catégories et formes de mauvais traitements
      • Degrés de sévices
      • Période de référence
      • Unité d'analyse
      • Double compte des cas
      • Niveau d'identification des cas
    • Résumé du cadre définitionnel de l'ECI
    • Structure du rapport
  2. Méthodologie
    • Structure de l'étude
      • Financement
      • Consultation nationale
      • Déroulement de l'étude
      • Structure de gestion du projet
    • Instruments
      • Formulaire d'évaluation des mauvais traitements
      • Formulaire d'information sur les travailleurs
      • Essai pilote
    • Échantillonnage
    • Sélection des cas et traitement des formulaires
      • Vérification et saisie des données
      • Taux de participation et de réponse aux questions
      • Pondération
      • Double compte
    • Estimation des erreurs d'échantillonnage
    • Présentation des données
  3. Incidence de la violence et de la n égligence
    • Définition de la classification des mauvais traitements
    • Définition des degrés de corroboration
    • Calcul des taux de corroboration dans les cas comportant plusieurs formes de mauvais traitements
    • Nombre total d'enquêtes axées sur l'enfant et taux globaux de corroboration
    • Nombre total d'enquêtes axées sur la famille et taux globaux de corroboration
    • Catégories de mauvais traitements
    • Catégories uniques et multiples de mauvais traitements
    • Violence physique
    • Abus sexuel
    • Négligence
    • Violence psychologique
  4. Caractéristiques de la maltraitance
    • Sévices physiques
    • Nature des sévices physiques
    • Soins médicaux pour les sévices physiques
    • Violence psychologique
    • Durée des mauvais traitements
    • Auteur présumé
  5. Issue des enquêtes
    • Maintien des services de protection de l'enfance
    • Orientation des enfants et des familles
    • Placement
    • Intervention des tribunaux de la jeunesse
    • Intervention de la police et accusations au criminel
  6. Profil de l'enfant
    • Âge et sexe des enfants ayant fait l'objet d'une enquête
    • Fonctionnement de l'enfant
  7. 7. Profil du ménage
    • Parents et autres personnes s'occupant de l'enfant à la maison
    • Âge des personnes qui prennent soin de l'enfant
    • Nombre de frères et sours dans le ménage
    • Nombre de frères et sours faisant l'objet d'une enquête
    • Source de revenu
    • Logement
    • Parents d'ascendance autochtone
    • Fonctionnement des personnes s'occupant des enfants et facteurs de stress familiaux
  8. 8. Profil des signalements et des agences
    • Source du signalement ou des allégations
    • Signalements malveillants
    • Dossiers antérieurs
    • Taille de l'agence ou du bureau
    • Secteurs de services ruraux et urbains
    • Nature du poste, expérience et instruction du travailleur
  9. Conclusions et orientations futures
    • Résumé des principales conclusions
      • Incidence des signalements de cas de violence et de négligence
      • Caractéristiques de la maltraitance
      • Issue des enquêtes
      • Profil de l'enfant
      • Profil du ménage
      • Profil des signalements et des agences
    • Analyse comparative
      • Données canadiennes sur les cas de maltraitance enquêtés
      • Données internationales sur les cas de maltraitance enquêtés
    • Études complémentaires
Annexes
  1. Directeurs des centres/attachés de recherche de l'ECI
  2. Membres du Comité consultatif national et personnel de Santé Canada
  3. Glossaire
  4. Formulaire d'évaluation des mauvais traitements
  5. Guide pratique de l'ECI
  6. Vignettes de cas
  7. Formulaire d'information sur les travailleurs
  8. Estimations de la variance et intervalles de confiance
  9. Données à l'appui d'autres conclusions du Rapport

haut de la page


Remerciements

L'Étude canadienne sur l'incidence (ECI) des signalements de cas de violence et de négligence envers les enfants de 1998 est le fruit du travail d'un groupe national de plus de 700 fournisseurs de services de protection de l'enfance, chercheurs et décideurs soucieux d'améliorer par la recherche les services offerts aux enfants maltraités et négligés. Santé Canada a assuré le financement de base de l'étude, et un financement additionnel a été obtenu des provinces de Terre-Neuve, du Québec, de l'Ontario et de la Colombie-Britannique ainsi que de la Bell Canada Child Welfare Research Unit. Outre sa contribution financière, Santé Canada a, par l'entremise de la Section de la violence envers les enfants (SVE) du Bureau de la surveillance de la santé et de l'épidémiologie, assuré une infrastructure organisationnelle très importante pour l'exécution de l'étude, avec l'appui actif du chef de la DVE, Gordon Phaneuf, de Sharon Bartholomew, de Lil Tonmyr et de la directrice du Bureau, Catherine McCourt. Le Comité consultatif national de l'ECI (voir l'annexe B) a grandement contribué à la conception de l'étude et soutenu la mise en ouvre du projet. J'aimerais tout particulièrement remercier Sandra Scarth (présidente du Comité), qui a vaillamment défendu cette étude pendant bien des années, ainsi que Harriet MacMillan et David Wolfe, dont les commentaires constructifs et l'appui ont pu être appréciés tout au cours du projet.

L'ECI a été menée par une imposante équipe de chercheurs qui se sont montrés exceptionnellement aptes à maintenir le cap sur les objectifs de cette entreprise commune, tout en mettant à contribution leur propre expertise. Je souhaite remercier tout spécialement les auteurs du rapport, mais aussi tous les chercheurs des différents centres qui ont joué un rôle crucial dans la présentation de l'étude et ont recueilli les appuis nécessaires tout en respectant des normes élevées dans la sélection des cas. Je pense notamment à Janet Douglas, Ralph Bodor, Avery Calhoun, Jairo Ortiz, Warren Helfrich, Julie Thompson, Joanne Boucher, Marie-Claude Larrivée, Sonia Hélie, Chantal Lavergne, Marie Jacob, Brian Kenny, Julia Foran et Brenda Romans (voir à l'annexe A les organismes auxquels ces personnes sont associées). En plus des membres officiels de l'équipe de recherche, je remercierais tout particulièrement Mike Boyle, de l'Université McMaster, qui a aidé à concevoir l'étude et Tim Daciuk, qui a bien souvent fourni de précieux conseils concernant le traitement des données.

Les travailleurs sociaux et gestionnaires des services de protection de l'enfance qui ont participé à l'étude méritent une reconnaissance toute spéciale pour le temps qu'ils y ont consacré et l'intérêt qu'ils ont manifesté, malgré leurs responsabilités toujours plus lourdes envers les enfants. Pour des raisons de confidentialité, je ne peux fournir leurs noms, mais, au nom de l'équipe de chercheurs de l'ECI, je tiens à les remercier d'avoir participé à l'ECI.

Nico Trocmé
Chercheur principal, EIC
Juin 2000


Dédicace

Ce rapport est dédié aux enfants et familles auprès desquels travaillent les services canadiens de protection de l'enfance. Nous souhaitons sincèrement que l'étude contribuera à améliorer leur sort.

À la mémoire de Paul Steinhauer, défenseur des droits des enfants canadiens.


Avant-propos

L'Étude canadienne sur l'incidence (ECI) des signalements de cas de violence et de négligence envers les enfants fournit, pour la première fois au Canada, des estimations nationales de l'incidence des signalements de cas de violence et de négligence envers les enfants. Les données recueillies nous aideront à mieux saisir l'ampleur du problème de la maltraitance des enfants au Canada ainsi qu'à orienter les politiques, programmes et projets de recherche adoptés pour y faire face. En plus d'examiner l'incidence de la maltraitance d'enfants, on explore dans cette étude les caractéristiques des enfants, des adolescents et des familles qui ont fait l'objet d'enquêtes des services de protection de l'enfance pourde la présumée violence et négligence. L'ECI a également permis d'examiner des déterminants clés de la santé, en vue de mieux comprendre leur effet sur l'incidence de la maltraitance d'enfants.

En janvier 1995, la Ligue pour le bien-être de l'enfance du Canada, avec l'appui financier de Santé Canada, a consulté des experts et pu ainsi déterminer qu'il était possible de concevoir une étude qui fournirait des estimations nationales de l'ampleur du problème de la violence et de la négligence envers les enfants. La consultation a également fait ressortir l'importance d'obtenir l'appui des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux pour ce projet. En 1996, Santé Canada a mené des consultations bilatérales avec de hauts dirigeants des services provinciaux et territoriaux de protection de l'enfance, des chefs autochtones responsables de la protection de l'enfance et des informateurs clés choisis parmi les universitaires, les chercheurs et les organisations non gouvernementales. Les résultats ont corroboré ceux de la consultation d'experts selon lesquels les répondants étaient très favorables à une initiative destinée à développer la base de connaissances nationale sur l'incidence et les caractéristiques de la violence et de la négligence envers les enfants.

Après le lancement d'un appel de propositions national, la Section de la violence envers les enfants de Santé Canada a octroyé un contrat de 3 ans à un consortium d'universités dirigé par Nico Trocmé de l'Université de Toronto, pour l'élaboration de l'Étude canadienne sur l'incidence des signalements de cas de violence et de négligence envers les enfants. Chaque gouvernement provincial et territorial a apporté une contribution matérielle à la réalisation de l'étude, le plus souvent sous forme de dons en nature, qui a permis de faciliter la participation de travailleurs des services de protection de l'enfance dans les différents centres de collecte de données. Quatre provinces (Terre-Neuve, Québec, Ontario et Colombie-Britannique) ont choisi d'offrir une contribution additionnelle afin d'obtenir un suréchantillonnage répondant à leurs besoins particuliers.

Pour s'assurer que l'étude atteigne les deux objectifs visés, soit celui d'être utile aux personnes qui offrent aide et soutien aux enfants et aux adolescents et celui d'être rigoureuse sur le plan méthodologique, on a créé un Comité consultatif national multidisciplinaire qui était appelé à fournir des conseils dans le cadre de cette étude. Le Comité réunissait des experts de bon nombre de domaines, notamment la défense des droits des enfants, la protection de l'enfance, les services de protection des enfants autochtones, la santé mentale des enfants, la santé publique, le travail social et la médecine légale.

L'Étude canadienne sur l'incidence des signalements de cas de violence et de négligence envers les enfants constitue le fondement d'un système national de surveillance des mauvais traitements infligés aux enfants. La collecte et l'analyse des données entreprises dans le cadre de l'ECI viennent également compléter des systèmes de surveillance de Santé Canada se rapportant aux enfants, dont ceux qui s'intéressent aux traumatismes subis par les enfants et à la santé périnatale. L'analyse descriptive de l'étude sera accompagnée d'une analyse secondaire approfondie qui sera effectuée en collaboration avec les secteurs universitaires, professionnels et gouvernementaux. La contribution potentielle de l'ECI à l'avancement de nos connaissances sur la maltraitance des enfants se mesure particulièrement bien dans le contexte d'un système fondamental de collecte, d'analyse et d'interprétation périodiques de données ainsi que de communication de l'information à des fins d'intervention. L'ECI fournit la base à laquelle pourront se comparer les futurs cycles de l'étude, ce qui permettra de produire des analyses des tendances et de déceler les particularités de l'incidence et du signalement de la maltraitance d'enfants. L'approche de la santé de la population intégrée aux activités de surveillance de la santé des enfants à Santé Canada a servi de guide dans la conception et l'exécution de l'ECI. De même, la base de données probantes qu'a permis de constituer l'étude servira à enrichir le travail d'élaboration de programmes et de politiques sur les enfants, en fournissant les connaissances et données nécessaires pour renforcer la défense des droits des enfants et cibler les recherches futures.

Ce rapport et le document qui l'accompagne, Maltraitance des enfants au Canada : Quelques résultats de l'Étude canadienne sur l'incidence des signalements de cas de violence et de négligence envers les enfants, lequel a été conçu pour rendre les résultats de l'étude plus accessibles à un grand nombre de lecteurs, fournissent des données descriptives provenant de l'ensemble de données de l'ECI. L'étude était fondée sur les jugements professionnels portés par les travailleurs des services de protection de l'enfance sur les cas de maltraitance d'enfants ayant fait l'objet d'une enquête. À ce titre, elle représente véritablement le point de vue des travailleurs de première ligne dans le domaine de la protection de l'enfance. On n'a tenu compte que des cas signalés aux services de protection de l'enfance; les cas de violence et de négligence présumés qui n'ont pas été signalés n'ont donc pas été inclus dans l'échantillon. Cette contrainte et d'autres limitations méthodologiques de l'étude sont soigneusement décrites dans les deux rapports.

On a eu recours, pour l'étude, à une formule de corroboration à trois degrés. On a demandé aux travailleurs des services de protection de l'enfance de classer les enquêtes sur la violence et la négligence dans l'une des trois catégories suivantes : cas non corroborés, cas présumés et cas corroborés. La saisie de données sur les cas présumés et corroborés a mené à une vaste gamme de classifications des cas de protection de l'enfance. Ceci facilitera l'étude future des facteurs qui agissent sur la détermination des cas, la planification des cas, la durée des services et d'autres questions connexes.

Bon nombre de personnes ont travaillé assidûment à la réalisation de cette étude. Les quelque 700 travailleurs de la protection de l'enfance des différentes régions du pays qui ont participé directement à l'étude, les administrateurs des services de protection de l'enfance à l'échelon local ainsi que les directeurs provinciaux et territoriaux de la protection de l'enfance ont tous aidé à garantir le succès de cette entreprise. L'équipe de recherche nationale et les attachés de recherche qui sont nommés à l'annexe A, ont tous manifesté un engagement indéfectible envers ce projet. Le Comité consultatif national (dont les membres sont nommés à l'annexe B) présidé par Sandra Scarth, directrice exécutive émérite de la Ligue pour le bien-être de l'enfance du Canada, a offert à l'équipe de précieux conseils. Nous sommes également reconnaissants à la Ligue pour le bien-être de l'enfance du Canada qui a été un ardent défenseur de l'étude.

L'ECI illustre la valeur et l'importance de la collaboration dans le domaine de la prévention de la violence envers les enfants. Les partenariats entre les secteurs, qui ont réuni des disciplines différentes dans la poursuite d'un but commun, soit l'amélioration des mesures de prévention de la maltraitance, devraient servir de modèle pour les futurs projets dans ce domaine.

Gordon Phaneuf
Section de la violence envers les enfants
Santé Canada