Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

Chronic Diseases and Injuries in Canada

Volume 32, no. 2, March 2012

[Previous page] [Table of Contents] [Next page]

News – A new knowledge synthesis method that is applicable to public policies

F. Morestin

Author reference

National Collaborating Centre for Healthy Public Policy, Montréal, Quebec, Canada

Correspondence : Florence Morestin, National Collaborating Centre for Healthy Public Policy, Institut national de santé publique du Québec, 190 Crémazie Est, Montréal, QC H2P 1E2; Tel.: (514) 864-1600 ext. 3633; Fax.: (514) 864-5180; Email: florence.morestin@inspq.qc.ca

The National Collaborating Centre for Healthy Public Policy (NCCHPP) has developed a method for synthesizing knowledge about public policies. This may be of interest to public health actors tackling chronic disease who are expected to provide comprehensive and contextualized evidence in order to inform policy making.

Some of the array of causes of chronic diseases have to be addressed through public policies. In this context, public health actors are called upon to produce knowledge syntheses in order to inform policy makers. But studying public policies raises specific challenges. Drawing inspiration from literature on the concept of evidence in public health, criteria involved in policy making, policy evaluation, deliberative processes as a means of collecting contextual knowledge, and methods proposed by established knowledge synthesis groups (such as the Community Preventive Services Task Force affiliated with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in the United States, the Cochrane Public Health Group in Australia, the National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence in the United Kingdom), the NCCHPP has developed a method that is applicable to public policies.

This method guides rigorous knowledge syntheses on six dimensions relevant to the study of public policies (Figure 1): their effectiveness at preventing disease, their unintended effects, their equity-related issues (distribution of effects on different population groups), and their costs, feasibility and acceptability—three kinds of implementation issues of concern to policy makers.

Figure 1. Relationships between the six dimensions for analyzing public policies

Figure 1

Text equivalent - Figure 1

In order to gather knowledge on these different aspects in the most comprehensive and contextually relevant ways, the proposed process involves constructing the logic model of the policy under study, reviewing the scientific and grey literatures, and organizing deliberative processes that bring together relevant stakeholders to gather contextual information regarding the potential local implementation of this policy (Figure 2).

Figure 2. Steps in the knowledge synthesis process

Figure 2

Text equivalent - Figure 2

The NCCHPP has produced a guide that presents the method step-by-step and incorporates questions to ask oneself, practical advice, and several tools for facilitating data collection and synthesis. The NCCHPP has also published a synthesis produced using this method, Public Policies on Nutrition Labelling: Effects and Implementation Issues - A Knowledge Synthesis; this document provides a concrete overview of how to use the proposed method and the kind of results that it can produce.

These documents are available in English and in French on the NCCHPP’s website: National Collaborating Centre for Healthy Public Policy External Link. The NCCHPP also offers training material, workshops and methodological support to those who are interested in using this method.

[Previous page] [Table of Contents] [Next page]

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Partagez cette page

Maladies chroniques et blessures au Canada

Volume 32, no. 2, mars 2012

[Page précédente] [Table des matières] [Page suivante]

Nouvelles – Une nouvelle méthode de synthèse de connaissances adaptée aux politiques publiques

F. Morestin

Rattachement de l’auteur

Centre de collaboration nationale sur les politiques publiques et la santé, Montréal (Québec), Canada

Correspondance : Florence Morestin, Centre de collaboration nationale sur les politiques publiques et la santé, Institut national de santé publique du Québec, 190 Crémazie Est, Montréal (Québec) H2P 1E2; tél. : 514-864-1600, poste 3633; téléc. : 514-864-5180; courriel : florence.morestin@inspq.qc.ca

Le Centre de collaboration nationale sur les politiques publiques et la santé (CCNPPS) a développé une méthode pour synthétiser les connaissances sur les politiques publiques qui est susceptible d’intéresser les acteurs de la santé publique luttant contre les maladies chroniques et devant fournir des données probantes complètes et contextualisées afin d’éclairer la prise de décisions politiques.

Certaines causes des maladies chroniques doivent être ciblées au moyen de politiques publiques. Dans ce contexte, les acteurs de la santé publique sont appelés à réaliser des synthèses de connaissances pour éclairer les décideurs politiques. Mais l’étude des politiques publiques soulève des défis particuliers. En s’inspirant de la littérature sur le concept de données probantes en santé publique, sur les critères importants lors de la prise de décisions politiques, sur l’évaluation des politiques publiques, sur les processus délibératifs comme moyen de recueillir des connaissances contextuelles ainsi que sur les méthodes proposées par des groupes reconnus spécialisés dans la production de synthèses de connaissances (comme le Community Preventive Services Task Force rattaché aux Centers for Disease Control and Prevention des États-Unis, le Cochrane Public Health Group basé en Australie, le National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence du Royaume-Uni), le CCNPPS a développé une méthode adaptée aux politiques publiques.

Cette méthode guide la réalisation de synthèses de connaissances rigoureuses documentant six dimensions des politiques publiques étudiées (figure 1) : leur efficacité à prévenir la maladie, leurs effets non recherchés, leur équité (distribution des effets sur différents groupes de population) ainsi que leurs coûts, leur faisabilité et leur acceptabilité – trois types de défis liés à la mise en œuvre qui préoccupent les décideurs politiques.

Figure 1 – Relations entre les six dimensions d’analyse des politiques publiques

Figure 1

Équivalent texte - Figure 1

Afin de rassembler des connaissances aussi complètes et contextuelles que possible sur ces différents aspects, la démarche proposée inclut la construction du modèle logique de la politique étudiée, la réalisation d’une revue des littératures scientifique et grise, et l’organisation de processus délibératifs réunissant les parties prenantes concernées pour recueillir de l’information contextuelle en vue d’une possible application locale de la politique étudiée (figure 2).

Figure 2 – Étapes du processus de synthèse de connaissances

Figure 2

Équivalent texte - Figure 2

Le CCNPPS a produit un guide qui présente la méthode étape par étape et rassemble les questions à se poser, des conseils pratiques et des outils pour accompagner la collecte et la synthèse des données. Le CCNPPS a aussi publié une synthèse produite en utilisant cette méthode, Effets et enjeux d’application des politiques publiques d’affichage nutritionnel : Une synthèse de connaissances; ce document donne un aperçu concret des modalités d’utilisation de la méthode proposée et des résultats qu’elle permet d’obtenir.

Ces documents sont disponibles en français et en anglais sur le site web du CCNPPS : Centre de collaboration nationale sur les politiques publiques et la santé Lien externe

Le CCNPPS offre aussi des supports pédagogiques, des ateliers de formation et du soutien méthodologique aux personnes intéressées à utiliser cette méthode.

[Page précédente] [Table des matières] [Page suivante]