Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

Canada Communicable Disease Report CCDR

ISSN 1481-8531 (On-line)


CCDR: Volume 40-8, April 17, 2014

[Table of Contents]

CATMAT correction on its Statement on Pregnancy and Travel - CCDR 2010:36:ACS-2

Correction

The Statement on Pregnancy and Travel by the Committee to Advise on Tropical Medicine and Travel (CATMAT) Footnote 1 published in March 2010, contained incorrect information. It suggested in the text that Diclectin - a doxylamine-pyridoxine delayed release combination pill - had been studied in over 200,000 pregnant women and, in Table 4, indicated there was good evidence to support its use for motion sickness in pregnant women.

In the text under the sub-heading of Motion Sickness, it should have noted: "Diclectin has not been shown to increase the risk of teratogencity. Its use for motion sickness is off-label and based on expert opinion." Likewise in Table 4, the recommendation "Diclectin can be used during pregnancy to prevent and treat motion sickness." should be given a Category C for strength of evidence (i.e. poor evidence to support a recommendation for or against use) and a Grade III for quality of evidence (i.e. Evidence from opinions of respected authorities on the basis of clinical experience, descriptive studies, or reports of expert committees).

In a further paragraph in the motion sickness section, a statement regarding the lack of teratogenicity of various H1 antagonists and phenothiazines was incorrectly attributed to the Motherisk Program at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto and an incorrect reference was used. The attribution should be removed and the correct reference for this sentence is Mazzotta P, & Magee LA. A risk-benefit assessment of pharmacological and nonpharmacological treatments for nausea and vomiting of Pregnancy. Drugs. 2000;59 (4): 781-800.

Reference

Footnote 1
Committee to Advise on Tropical Medicine and Travel. Statement on Pregnancy and Travel. Can Comm Dis Rep 2010:36:ACS-2.

Citation

Committee to Advise on Tropical Medicine and Travel. CATMAT correction on its Statement on Pregnancy and Travel. CCDR 2010:36: ACS-2. CCDR 2014; 9:159.

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Partagez cette page

Relevé des maladies transmissibles au Canada (RMTC)

ISSN 1719-3109 (En direct)


RMTC : Volume 40-8, 17 avril 2014

[Table des matières]

Correction du CCMTMV : Déclaration relative à la voyageuse enceinte - RMTC 2010:36:ACS-2

Correction

La Déclaration relative à la voyageuse enceinte du Comité consultatif de la médecine tropicale et de la médecine des voyages (CCMTMV) Note de bas de page 1, publiée en mars 2010, contenait de faux renseignements. Il était indiqué dans le texte que Diclectin, un comprimé à action retardée combinant la doxylamine et la pyridoxine, a été étudié auprès de plus de 200 000 femmes enceintes; et dans le Tableau 4 qu'il existe des données suffisantes pour recommander son utilisation pour traiter le mal des transports chez les femmes enceintes.

Dans le texte sous-titré Mal des transports, il aurait fallu écrire : « Il n'a pas été démontré que Diclectin augmente le risque de tératogénicité. Son utilisation pour le mal des transports est une indication non approuvée, mais basée sur l'opinion d'experts. » De même dans le Tableau 4, il faudrait attribuer la catégorie C pour la recommandation « Diclectin peut être utilisé pendant la grossesse pour la prévention et le traitement du mal des transports » en raison du poids des preuves (c.-à-d. des preuves insuffisantes pour recommander ou déconseiller l'utilisation) et la classe III pour la qualité des preuves (c.-à-d. des preuves fondées sur des opinions d'experts respectés et reposant sur l’expérience clinique, des études descriptives ou des rapports de comités d’experts).

Dans un autre paragraphe de la section Mal des transports traitant du manque de teratogénicité de divers antagonistes H1 et phénothiazines, on a cité le Motherisk Program de l'Hospital for Sick Children, à Toronto, et utilisé une référence non appropriée. Il faudrait retirer la mention de ce programme et ajouter la référence suivante pour cette phrase : Mazzotta P et Magee LA. A risk-benefit assessment of pharmacological and nonpharmacological treatments for nausea and vomiting of Pregnancy. Drugs. 2000;59 (4): 781-800.

Référence

Note de bas de page 1
Comité consultatif de la médecine tropicale et de la médecine des voyages. Déclaration relative à la voyageuse enceinte. Can Comm Dis Rep 2010:36:ACS-2.

Citation

Comité consultatif de la médecine tropicale et de la médicine des voyages. Correction du CCMTMV : Déclaration relative à la voyageuse enceinte. RMTC 2010:36:ACS-2. RMTC 2014;9:177