Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

Canada Communicable Disease Report

Volume: 34S2
March 2008

Supplement

PDF Version PDF version
56 Pages - 316 KB

[Next]

Final Report of Outcomes from the National Consensus Conference for Vaccine-Preventable Diseases in Canada

June 2005

Table of Contents


Acknowledgements

We would like to thank the national and international experts and program specialists who participated in the consensus conference, the conference co-chairs, the planning committee members, those who donated their time to ensure the evidence presented in the discussion guides was the most current and relevant, and the staff of the Immunization and Respiratory Infections Division of the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC) for making the conference a success.

Introductory Remarks

Since its inception in 2003, the National Immunization Strategy (NIS) has facilitated a cohesive approach towards immunization program planning in Canada and has assisted in bringing immunization issues to the forefront of the Canadian public health agenda. The Canadian Immunization Committee (CIC), within the Pan-Canadian Public Health Network, is responsible for overseeing its implementation. The 2003 Federal Budget provided $45 million over 5 years to assist in the continued pursuit of the National Immunization Strategy.

To further support the implementation of the NIS, the federal government provided $300 million over 3 years to the provinces and territories to support the introduction of four newly recommended childhood and adolescent vaccines. Following the 2004 funding announcement, a significant number of provinces and territories launched new publicly funded programs for these vaccines which have enabled Canada to move toward harmonization of immunization programs across the country.

A key component of the NIS is the development of national goals for all vaccine-preventable diseases (VPDs) and their recommendation for endorsement by all federal, provincial and territorial (FPT) governments, where appropriate. The purpose of having national goals for immunization programs is to support reductions in all VPDs, improve immunization coverage, measure progress and evaluate programs. Official F/P/T endorsement of national goals for VPDs is a complex process because of differing priorities and funding levels for immunization programs within each jurisdiction. Currently, the goal to eliminate measles by the year 2005 is the only official national goal that has been endorsed by the FPT Council of Deputy Ministers of Health (1995).

In 2005, a National Consensus Conference for Vaccine-Preventable Diseases (NCC-VPD) was held in Quebec City. The purpose of the conference was to review and assess the current status of the existing disease reduction goals and immunization coverage targets for six selected VPDs, to achieve consensus on the recommendations and to outline the essential requirements to facilitate national adoption and implementation of the recommendations. The 2005 national goals and recommendations were agreed to while acknowledging that provinces and territories would need to develop their own programmatic objectives.

The CIC has reviewed the 2005 national goals and recommendations and has approved their publication and has forwarded the goal to eliminate indigenously transmitted cases of rubella and congenital rubella syndrome (CRS) from Canada by 2010 to the Pan-Canadian Public Health Network for national endorsement. CIC believes that the recommendations from the conference establish a national vision and at the jurisdictional level provide a standard towards which to strive. The World Health Organization (WHO) in collaboration with UNICEF has created similar guidelines for immunization coverage, summarised in the Global Immunization Vision and Strategy (2006-2015)(1). This document outlines goals which countries should aim for, but which are not enforceable. National goals and recommendations also serve to create a measurement against which future improvements of immunization programs can be evaluated. The 2005 national goals and recommendations will be re-evaluated in 2010.

The CIC recommended that all jurisdictions assess the relevance of 2005 national goals and recommendations based upon jurisdictional capacity and priorities. Provincial and territorial responses were reviewed to assess the feasibility, measurability and priority of each goal and recommendation in order to gain a jurisdictional perspective of their impact on immunization program delivery. Several limitations were noted, among which were inadequate surveillance data, and the lack of resources available to develop new data collection tools and monitoring systems. Respondents also suggested changes to recommended targets concerning dates and rates, which were thought to be unrealistic within the given time frame. The limitations noted by each province and territory will affect their ability to fully implement the 2005 national goals and recommendations. They can therefore only act as guidelines for the PTs to use as deemed appropriate.

Despite these current limitations, there are benefits at the jurisdictional level of adopting the 2005 national recommendations. As provinces and territories aspire towards the national vision, their immunizations programs will invariably improve resulting in increased coverage; these improvements can in turn be used to justify additional funding for immunization programs as well. Establishing national goals and recommendations provides a method of accountability at the jurisdictional level.

Based on the process developed for the 2005 consensus conference, future conferences are planned to review, develop and update recommendations for national goals for immunization coverage and disease reduction for all vaccine-preventable diseases.

Drs. T. Tam and G. Hammond
Co-Chairs of the Canadian Immunization Committee
April, 2006

[Next]

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

Relevé des maladies transmissibles au Canada

Volume : 34S2
Mars 2008

Supplément

Version PDF PDF version
64 Pages - 361 KB

Rapport final sur les résultats de la Conférence nationale de concertation sur les maladies évitables par la vaccination au Canada

Juin 2005

Table des matières


Haut de la page

Remerciements

Nous souhaitons remercier les experts nationaux et internationaux et les spécialistes du programme qui ont participé à la conférence de concertation, les coprésidents de la conférence, les membres du comité de planification, toutes les personnes qui ont donné de leur temps pour faire en sorte que les données présentées dans les guides de discussion soient les plus pertinentes et les plus à jour possible, ainsi que le personnel de la Division de l'immunisation et des infections respiratoires de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC) grâce à vous, la conférence a été une réussite.

Préambule

Depuis son lancement en 2003, la Stratégie nationale d'immunisation (SNI) défend une approche cohésive en faveur de la planification de programmes d'immunisation au Canada et contribue à faire inscrire les questions connexes en tête des priorités des responsables de la santé publique au Canada. Le Comité canadien sur l'immunisation (CCI), dans le cadre du Réseau pancanadien de santé publique, est responsable de superviser sa mise en oeuvre. Le budget fédéral de 2003 a prévu 45$ millions sur 5 ans pour que la Stratégie nationale d'immunisation se poursuive.

Pour favoriser davantage la mise en oeuvre de la SNI, le gouvernement fédéral a accordé aux provinces et aux territoires 300$ millions sur 3 ans afin de favoriser l'implantation de quatre vaccins récemment recommandés pour les enfants et les adolescents. Après l'annonce des fonds obtenus en 2004, un nombre important de provinces et de territoires ont lancé des programmes de vaccination financés par les fonds publics, ce qui a permis au Canada de progresser vers l'harmonisation des programmes d'immunisation partout au pays.

Une composante clé de la SNI est l'établissement de buts nationaux pour toutes les maladies évitables par la vaccination (MEV) et leur recommandation par tous les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux (FPT), au besoin. L'objectif visé en ayant des buts nationaux pour les programmes d'immunisation est de réduire toutes les MEV, d'améliorer la couverture vaccinale, de mesurer les progrès réalisés et d'évaluer les programmes. L'endossement officiel FPT des buts nationaux concernant les MEV est un processus complexe en raison des priorités et des niveaux de financement des programmes de vaccination variables d'une province ou d'un territoire à l'autre. Actuellement, l'objectif d'éliminer la rougeole d'ici 2005 est le seul but national officiel approuvé par le Conseil FPT des sous ministres de la Santé (1995).

En 2005, la Conférence nationale de concertation sur les maladies évitables par la vaccination (CNC MEV) s'est tenue à Québec. L'objectif de cette conférence était d'examiner et d'évaluer où en étaient les buts existants en matière de réduction des maladies et les cibles de couverture vaccinale pour six MEV choisies, en vue d'atteindre un consensus sur les recommandations et d'établir les exigences essentielles pour faciliter l'adoption et la mise en oeuvre à l'échelle nationale de ces recommandations. Les recommandations et les buts nationaux de 2005 ont été approuvés, et il a été reconnu que les provinces et les territoires auraient besoin de fixer leurs propres objectifs de programme.

Le CCI a examiné les recommandations et les buts nationaux de 2005, les a approuvés pour publication et a fait parvenir le but d'éliminer les cas de transmission indigène de la rubéole et du syndrome de rubéole congénitale (SRC) du Canada d'ici 2010 au Réseau pancanadien de santé publique pour qu'il l'endosse à l'échelle nationale. Le CCI croit que les recommandations issues de la conférence établissent une vision nationale de même qu'une norme à l'échelle des provinces et des territoires vers laquelle tendre. L'Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS), en collaboration avec les Fonds des Nations Unies pour l'enfance (UNICEF), a élaboré des lignes directrices semblables concernant la couverture vaccinale, résumées dans le document intitulé Global Immunization Vision and Strategy (2006 2015)(1). Ce document présente les buts que les pays devraient cibler, mais ils ne sont pas exécutoires. Les recommandations et les buts nationaux constituent également un instrument de mesure permettant d'évaluer les progrès futurs des programmes d'immunisation. Ils feront l'objet d'une réévaluation en 2010.

Le CCI a recommandé que toutes les instances évaluent la pertinence des recommandations et des buts nationaux de 2005 en fonction de leur capacité et de leurs priorités. Les réponses des provinces et des territoires ont été examinées pour évaluer la faisabilité, le caractère mesurable et la priorité de chaque recommandation et de chaque but pour avoir le point de vue des provinces et des territoires pour ce qui est de leurs répercussions sur la prestation des programmes de vaccination. Plusieurs limites sont ressorties, parmi lesquelles les données de surveillance inadaptées et l'absence de ressources disponibles pour créer de nouveaux outils et de nouveaux systèmes de surveillance. Les répondants ont également suggéré de modir les cibles recommandées pour ce qui est des dates et des taux, car ils les ont considérés comme irréalistes. Les limites qu'ont relevées chaque province et chaque territoire influeront sur leur capacité de mettre en oeuvre pleinement les recommandations et les buts nationaux de 2005. Par conséquent, ils ne pourront servir que de lignes directrices pour aider les provinces et les territoires qui s'en serviront de la façon la plus appropriée.

En dépit de ces restrictions, il existe des avantages à adopter les recommandations nationales de 2005 à l'échelle des instances provinciales et territoriales. Comme ils s'inspirent de la vision nationale, leurs programmes d'immunisation s'amélioreront invariablement, ce qui se traduira par une couverture accrue, et ces améliorations pourront être utilisées pour justir les fonds supplémentaires accordés aux programmes d'immunisation, ce qui confirmera que les recommandations et les buts nationaux constituent une méthode de responsabilisation pour les instances.

Le processus mis en oeuvre pour la conférence de concertation de 2005 servira à organiser les futures conférences prévues pour réexaminer, élaborer et mettre à jour des recommandations de buts nationaux pour ce qui est de la couverture vaccinale et de la réduction de toutes les maladies évitables par la vaccination.

Drs Theresa Tam et Greg Hammond
Coprésidents du Comité canadien sur l'immunisation
Avril 2006