Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Share this page


Highlights:

  • In the 2007 Canadian Community Health Survey, the self-reported rate of adult obesity (age 18+) was 17%.Footnote i
  • The actual rate of obesity is likely much higher, closer to 25%.
  • Across Canada, self-reported rates of obesity have increased from 2003 to 2005 and again in 2007.
  • Obesity rates for both men and women increase with age, starting at age 20 and continuing until age 65.
  • After age 65, obesity rates decline.
  • In 2005, the measured rate of obesity for youth 12 to 17 was 9.4%, almost two times higher than the self-reported rate (4.9%).
  • Self-reported data from 2002/03 suggest that obesity rates are high among First Nations adults (36.0%), youth (14.0%) and children (36.2%).
  • In 2007, the self-reported obesity rate among off-reserve Aboriginal adults was 24.8%, compared to 16.6% for non-Aboriginal adults.
  • Unlike other health issues such as mortality or life expectancy, for which there is a clear disadvantage for those with lower income, the relationship between income and obesity is not clear.
  • In 2005, obesity-related chronic conditions accounted for $4.3 billion in direct ($1.8 billion) and indirect ($2.5 billion) costs – a figure that may be an underestimation of the total costs of excess weight in Canada.


Over the past several years, Canada has experienced an alarming increase in obesity rates among adults, children and youth.Footnote 1, Footnote 2 Obesity (defined as a Body Mass Index or BMI of >30 kg/m2) is an important individual and population health issue, as it is a contributor to a wide variety of chronic diseases, such as diabetes, cardiovascular disease, hypertension and liver disease, as well as breast, colon and prostate cancer.Footnote 3, Footnote 4

The current paper provides a snapshot of obesity in Canada using data analyzed by the Public Health Agency of Canada. A more detailed report is being developed in collaboration with the Canadian Population Health Initiative of the Canadian Institute for Health Information. This report will provide the latest information about how obesity is distributed in the Canadian population to healthcare providers, health promotion specialists and decision makers, thus building the understanding required for a population health approach to obesity.

Trends Over Time

At the national level, data from the Canadian Community Health Survey (CCHS) and others show a steady increase over time in the prevalence of obesity. Estimates of obesity in Canada are often based on self-reported heights and weights, though measured data have been collected a few times. As shown in Figure 1, both measured and self-reported data show increases in the prevalence of obesity among Canadian adults aged 18 or older.

Self-reported data underestimate the extent of obesity in Canada. In 2005, the proportion of the male population 12 years or older who were obese, based on measured data, was approximately nine percentage points higher than the estimate from self-reported data; for the female population, the prevalence was approximately six percentage points higher.Footnote 5 Extrapolating from self-reported and measured data collected over time, it is estimated that the rate of obesity among adults in Canada in 2007 may actually be about 25%.

Figure 1: Percentage of the population age 18+ years who were obese (measured and self-reported), by year, Canada, 1978-2007

Figure 1

Text Equivalent - Figure 1

Source: Chronic Disease Surveillance Division, Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Control, Public Health Agency of Canada, using the following data sources:
Measured - 1978/79 Canada Health Survey; 1989 Canadian Heart Health Surveys (ages 18-74); 2004 Canadian Community Health Survey; Nutrition; 2005 Canadian Community Health Survey. Self-reported - 1985 and 1990 Health Promotion Survey; 1994/95, 1996/97, 1998/99 National Population Health Survey; 2000/01, 2003, 2005, 2007 Canadian Community Health Survey. Note: This analysis excludes the territories. The percentages exclude non-response.

Provincial Variation in Obesity

Several provinces have had an increase in their obesity rates from 2003 to 2007, while others may be leveling off or have decreased slightly in 2007. More in-depth analysis examining the significance of these differences and patterns among men and women will be provided in our full report.

Figure 2: Prevalence of Self-Reported Obesity among People 18 Years and Older, by Province, and Year

Figure 2

Text Equivalent - Figure 2

Source: Chronic Disease Surveillance Division, Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Control, Public Health Agency of Canada, using data from the Canadian Community Health Survey (Statistics Canada). Note: the percentages exclude non-response.

Many Factors Influence Prevalence of Obesity

Obesity is influenced by numerous individual-level and environmental factors, such as age, sex, income and place of residence.Footnote 6 As shown in Figure 3, self-reported obesity rates for both men and women seem to increase until age 65, after which they start to decline. Rates are slightly lower for women than men at all ages, except for those aged 75 years or older.

Figure 3: Prevalence of Self-Reported Obesity among Males and Females 18 Years and Older, by Age Group, 2007

Figure 3: Prevalence of Self-Reported Obesity among Males and Females 18 Years and Older, by Age Group, 2007

Text Equivalent - Figure 3

Source: Chronic Disease Surveillance Division, Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Control, Public Health Agency of Canada, using data from the Canadian Community Health Survey (Statistics Canada). Note: the percentages exclude non-response.

Income is often used as a measure of socio-economic status (SES), a well-established determinant of health. However, while higher-income women have lower obesity rates than lower-income women, this association is not seen among men (Figure 4). A recent analysis suggests that the lack of a clear social gradient may reflect differences in food consumption patterns and smoking rates.Footnote 7 The data presented here reinforce the importance of not relying solely on aggregate analysis but undertaking further exploration of the differential effect of SES for men and women. In our forthcoming report, an innovative, new model will be used to estimate the population attributable risk (PAR) of obesity for different social determinants and behavioural factors, as well as the number at risk at the population level (population impact number or PIN).

Figure 4: Prevalence of Self-Reported Obesity among People 18 Years and Older, by Income Decile, Canada, 2007

Figure 4

Text Equivalent - Figure 4

Source: Chronic Disease Surveillance Division, Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Control, Public Health Agency of Canada, using data from the Canadian Community Health Survey (Statistics Canada).

Children Are At Risk

In the 2007 CCHS, self-reported rates of obesity among youth aged 12 to 17 years were 6.8% for boys and 2.9% for girls. Given that 2005 measured rates were higher than those from self-reported data (for boys 12.7% vs. 5.9%; for girls 6.0% vs. 3.7%), it is likely that the actual prevalence of adolescent obesity in 2007 is much higher than suggested by self-reported rates. Childhood obesity is of concern because it not only increases the risk of obesity in adulthood,Footnote 8 but can contribute to the early development of serious health conditions such as type 2 diabetes, heart disease and high blood pressureFootnote 9.

Figure 5: Prevalence of Measured Obesity Among Children 2 to 11 Years, and Youth 12 to 17 Years, Canada, 2004

Figure 5

Text Equivalent - Figure 5

Source: Chronic Disease Surveillance Division, Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Control, Public Health Agency of Canada, using data from the Canadian Community Health Survey (Statistics Canada).

Aboriginal People in Canada

Obesity is an important health issue among First Nations, Inuit and Métis populations. Self-reported data from 2007 show that obesity rates are higher among off-reserve Aboriginal adults compared to non-Aboriginal people (24.8% vs. 16.6%). Indeed, self-reported data from the 2002/03 First Nations Regional Longitudinal Health Survey demonstrate that prevalence of obesity is particularly high among on-reserve First Nations people: 31.8% of adult men, 41.1% of adult women, 14.0% of youth and 36.2% of children were considered obese.Footnote 10

The Economic Cost of Obesity

The most recent Economic Burden of Illness in Canada (EBIC) study shows that the total cost of illness reached $202 billion (2005 dollars) in 2000.Footnote 11 In a recent analysis, the total cost of obesity has been estimated to be $4.3 billion (2005 dollars); $1.8 billion in direct healthcare costs and $2.5 billion in indirect costs.Footnote 12 This figure is suggested to underestimate the overall economic cost of excess weight in Canada as it does not include the costs for those who are overweight, but not obese. Further, it only includes costs of adult obesity and costs associated with eight chronic diseases.


Acknowledgements

This Snapshot was developed by the Strategic Initiatives and Innovations Directorate at the Public Health Agency of Canada. Thanks are extended to Margaret de Groh, Alan Diener, Robert Hawes, Ian Janssen, Howard Morrison, Amanda Shane and Peter Walsh for data analysis, expert advice and reviews of previous drafts.


Footnote 1
Tjepkema M. Measured Obesity. Adult obesity in Canada: Measured height and weight. Statistics Canada Cat. No. 82-620-MWE2005001
Footnote 2
Shields, M. Measured Obesity. Overweight Canadian children and adolescents. Statistics Canada Cat. No. 82-620-MWE2005001
Footnote 3
Morrison KM, Chanoine JP. 8. Clinical evaluation of obese children and adolescents. CMAJ 2007;187(8): online-45-online-49
Footnote 4
Hramiak I et al. 6. Assessment of obesity and its complications in adults. CMAJ 2007;176(8): online 36-49.
Footnote 5
Shields M, Gorber SC, Tremblay MS. Estimates of obesity based on self-report versus direct measures. Health Reports. Statistics Canada. Cat. No. 82-0030-X, May 2008
Footnote 6
Craig CL et al. Socio-demographic and lifestyle correlates of obesity – technical report on the secondary analyses using the 2000-2001 Canadian Community Health Survey. Canadian Institute for Health Information;2005: Ottawa, CIHI
Footnote 7
Kuhle S, Veugelers PJ. Why does the social gradient in health not apply to overweight? Health Reports. Statistics Canada Cat. No. 92-003-X
Footnote 8
Singh AS, Mulder C, Twisk JW, van Mechelen W, Chinapaw MJ. Tracking of childhood overweight into adulthood: a systematic review of the literature. Obes Rev 2008;9(5):474-88
Footnote 9
Morrison KM, Chanoine JP. 8. Clinical evaluation of obese children and adolescents. CMAJ 2007;187(8): online-45-online-49
Footnote 10
First Nations Regional Longitudinal Health Survey (RHS) 2002/03. Results for Adults, Youth and Children Living in First Nations Communities. Assembly of First Nations/First National Information Governance Committee. Ottawa, March 2007.
Footnote 11
Public Health Agency of Canada. Economic Burden of Illness in Canada, 2000. Ottawa, 2009 (in press)
Footnote 12
Janssen I, Diener A. Economic Burden of Obesity in Canada in 2005 (forthcoming)

Footnote i
Given a change in data collection methodology for the CCHS, this snapshot is based on half of the total sample for the 2007/08 cycle.

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

Obésité au Canada - Aperçu

Table des matières

Points Saillants :

  • Dans l'Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes de 2007, le taux d'obésité auto-déclarée chez les adultes (18 ans et plus) était de 17 % Note de bas de page i.
  • Le taux réel d'obésité est probablement beaucoup plus élevé et doit approcher de 25 %.
  • Au Canada, les taux d'obésité auto-déclarée ont augmenté entre 2003 et 2005 ainsi qu'en 2007.
  • Les taux d'obésité chez les hommes et les femmes augmentent avec l'âge, à compter de 20 ans et jusqu'à 65 ans. Après 65 ans, les taux d'obésité diminuent.
  • En 2005, le taux d'obésité mesurée chez les jeunes de 12 à 17 ans était de 9,4 %, presque deux fois plus élevé que le taux d'obésité auto-déclarée (4,9 %).
  • Les données auto-déclarées de 2002-2003 semblent indiquer que les taux d'obésité sont plus élevés chez les adultes v(36,0 %), les jeunes (14,0 %) et les enfants (36,2 %) des Premières nations.
  • En 2007, le taux d'obésité auto-déclarée chez les adultes autochtones vivant hors réserve était de 24,8 %, comparé à 16,6 % chez les adultes non autochtones.
  • Contrairement à d'autres questions de santé, comme la mortalité ou l'espérance de vie, où les personnes ayant un faible revenu sont clairement désavantagées, la relation entre le revenu et l'obésité n'est pas manifeste.
  • En 2005, les maladies chroniques liées à l'obésité représentaient 4,3 milliards de dollars en coûts directs (1,8 milliard) et indirects (2,5 milliards) – il s'agit peut-être d'une sous-estimation des coûts totaux associés à l'excès de poids au Canada.

Au cours des dernières années, le Canada a enregistré une augmentation alarmante des cas d'obésité chez les adultes, les enfants et les jeunesNote de bas de page 1, Note de bas de page 2. L'obésité (définie comme un indice de masse corporelle ou IMC de > 30 kg/m2) est un important problème de santé individuelle et de la population, car il contribue à diverses maladies chroniques, comme le diabète, les maladies cardiovasculaires, l'hypertension, les maladies du foie et les cancers du sein, du côlon et de la prostate. Note de bas de page 3, Note de bas de page 4

Le présent document donne un aperçu de l'obésité au Canada au moyen de données analysées par l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada. Un rapport plus détaillé sera établi en collaboration avec l'Initiative sur la santé de la population canadienne de l'Institut canadien d'information sur la santé. Le rapport fournira l'information la plus récente sur la répartition de l'obésité au sein de la population canadienne aux fournisseurs de soins, aux spécialistes de la promotion de la santé et aux décideurs, et permettra de poser le fondement nécessaire à une approche axée sur la santé de la population pour lutter contre l'obésité.

Tendances au fil du temps

À l'échelle nationale, les données des diverses cycles de l'Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes (ESCC) et d'autres montrent une augmentation constante des cas d'obésité au fil des ans. Le nombre de cas d'obésité au Canada est souvent estimé à partir du poids et de la taille déclarés par les gens, bien que des données mesurées soient parfois recueillies. À la figure 1, les données mesurées et auto-déclarées montrent une augmentation de la prévalence de l'obésité chez les adultes de 18 ans et plus.

Les données auto-déclarées donnent une sous-estimation de l'étendue de l'obésité au Canada. En 2005, la proportion d'hommes de douze ans et plus obèses, fondée sur les données mesurées, dépassait de neuf points de pourcentage l'estimation obtenue au moyen des données auto-déclarées, tandis que chez les femmes, la différence était d'environ six pointsNote de bas de page 5. Par extrapolation à partir des données mesurées et auto-déclarées recueillies au fil du temps, on estime que le taux d'obésité chez les adultes au Canada en 2007 serait plutôt de 25 % environ.

Figure 1 : Pourcentage de la population de 18 ans et plus qui était obèse (données mesurées et auto-déclarées), par année, Canada, 1978-2007.

Figure 1

Équivalent textuel - Figure 1

Sources : Division de la surveillance des maladies chroniques, Centre de prévention et de contrôle des maladies chronique, Agence de la santé publique du Canada, au moyen des sources de données suivantes : Mesurées – Enquête santé Canada, 1978-1979; Enquêtes sur la santé cardiovasculaire, 1989 (de 18 à 74 ans); Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes – nutrition, 2004; Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes, 2005. Données auto-déclarées – Enquête sur la promotion de la santé, 1985 et 1990; Enquête nationale sur la santé de la population, 1994-1995, 1996-1997 et 1998-1999; Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes, 2000/2001, 2003, 2005 et 2007. Nota : L'analyse exclut les territoires. Les pourcentages excluent les non-réponses.

Variation entre les provinces concernant les cas d'obésité

Dans plusieurs provinces, le taux d'obésité a augmenté de 2003 à 2007, tandis qu'ailleurs, il a plafonné ou légèrement diminué en 2007. Une analyse approfondie de l'importance de ces différences et des tendances chez les hommes et les femmes figurera dans le rapport complet.

Figure 2 : Taux de prévalence des cas auto-déclarés d'obésité chez les 18 ans et plus, par province et par année.

Figure 2

Équivalent textuel - Figure 2

Source : Division de la surveillance des maladies chroniques, Centre de prévention et de contrôle des maladies chroniques, Agence de la santé publique du Canada, au moyen des données de l'Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes (Statistique Canada). Nota : les pourcentages excluent les non-réponses.

Prévalence de l'obésité : nombreux facteurs

L'obésité dépend de nombreux facteurs individuels et environnementaux, comme l'âge, le sexe, le revenu et le lieu de résidenceNote de bas de page 6. Comme on peut le constater à la figure 3, les taux d'obésité auto-déclarée chez les hommes et les femmes semblent augmenter jusqu'à 65 ans, pour ensuite commencer à diminuer. Les taux sont légèrement moins élevés chez les femmes que chez les hommes pour la plupart des groupes d'âge, à l'exception du groupe des 75 ans et plus.

Figure 3 : Taux de prévalence des cas d'obésité auto-déclarés chez les hommes et les femmes de 18 ans et plus, par groupe d'âge, 2007.

Figure 3

Équivalent textuel - Figure 3

Source : Division de la surveillance des maladies chroniques, Centre de prévention et de contrôle des maladies chroniques, Agence de la santé publique du Canada, au moyen des données de l'Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes (Statistique Canada). Nota : les pourcentages excluent les non-réponses.

Le revenu est souvent utilisé pour mesurer le statut socio-économique (SSE), déterminant de la santé bien établi. Cependant, si les femmes ayant un revenu élevé ont un taux d'obésité plus faible que celui des femmes ayant un faible revenu, il n'y a pas de telle association chez les hommes (figure 4). Selon une analyse récente, l'absence d'une association évidente entre le gradient social peut être attribuable à des différences dans les habitudes alimentaires et les taux de tabagismeNote de bas de page 7. Les données présentées viennent renforcer le fait qu'il ne faut pas se fier uniquement aux analyses globales, mais qu'il faut aussi étudier l'effet différentiel du SSE chez les hommes et les femmes. Dans le rapport que nous rédigerons, un nouveau modèle novateur servira à estimer la fraction étiologique du risque d'obésité pour différents déterminants sociaux et facteurs comportementaux ainsi que le nombre de personnes à risque au sein de la population.

Figure 4 : Taux de prévalence des cas d'obésité auto-déclarés chez les 18 ans et plus, par décile de revenu, Canada, 2007.

Figure 4

Équivalent textuel - Figure 4

Source : Division de la surveillance des maladies chroniques, Centre de prévention et de contrôle des maladies chroniques, Agence de la santé publique du Canada, au moyen des données de l'Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes (Statistique Canada).

Risque pour les enfants

Dans l'ESCC de 2007, les taux d'obésité auto-déclarée chez les jeunes de 12 à 17 ans étaient de 6,8 % pour les garçons et de 2,9 % pour les filles. Étant donné que les taux mesurés de 2005 étaient plus élevés que les taux associés à des données autodéclarés (garçons : 12,7 % par rapport à 5,9 %; filles : 6,0 % par rapport à 3,7 %), il est probable que le taux réel d'obésité chez les adolescents en 2007 est beaucoup plus élevé que ce que les taux auto-déclarés donnent à penser. L'obésité chez les enfants est préoccupante non seulement parce qu'elle augmente le risque d'obésité à l'âge adulteNote de bas de page 8, mais aussi parce qu'elle peut contribuer à l'apparition précoce de maladies graves, comme le diabète de type 2, les maladies cardiovasculaires et l'hypertensionNote de bas de page 9.

Figure 5 : Taux de prévalence de l'obésité mesurée chez des enfants âgés de 2 à 11 ans et des jeunes âgés de 12 à 17 ans, Canada, 2004.

Figure 2

Équivalent textuel - Figure 5

Source : Division de la surveillance des maladies chroniques, Centre de prévention et de contrôle des maladies chroniques, Agence de la santé publique du Canada, au moyen des données de l'Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes (Statistique Canada).

Autochtones au Canada

L'obésité est un important problème de santé chez les Premières nations, les Inuits et les Métis. Les données auto-déclarées de 2007 montrent que les taux d'obésité sont plus élevés chez les Autochtones adultes vivant à l'extérieur des réserves que chez les non-Autochtones (24,8 % par rapport à 16,6 %). En effet, selon les données auto-déclarées de l'Enquête régionale longitudinale sur la santé des Premières nations de 2002-2003, le nombre de cas d'obésité est effectivement particulièrement élevé chez les Premières nations vivant dans des réserves : 31,8 % des hommes adultes, 41,1 % des femmes adultes, 14,0 % des jeunes et 36,2 % des enfants étaient considérés obèsesNote de bas de page 10.

Coût économique de l'obésité

D'après la plus récente version du Fardeau économique de la maladie au Canada, le coût total de la maladie avait atteint 202 milliards de dollars en 2000Note de bas de page 12 (en fonction de la valeur du dollar en 2005). Dans une récente analyse, le coût total de l'obésité a été estimé à 4,3 milliards de dollarsNote de bas de page 12 (en fonction de la valeur du dollar en 2005), soit 1,8 milliard de dollars en coûts directs de soins de santé et 2,5 milliards de dollars en coûts indirects. Il s'agirait d'une sous-estimation du coût économique global associé à l'excès de poids au Canada, car ce montant n'inclut pas les coûts liés aux personnes qui ont un excédent de poids, mais qui ne sont pas obèses. De plus, il inclut seulement les coûts de l'obésité chez les adultes et les coûts associés à huit maladies chroniques.

Remerciements

Le présent aperçu a été élaboré par la Direction des initiatives stratégiques et des innovations, de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada, qui remercie Margaret de Groh, Alan Diener, Robert Hawes, Ian Janssen, Howard Morrison, Amanda Shane et Peter Walsh pour leur analyse des données, leurs conseils éclairés et leur examen des versions provisoires précédentes.


Note de bas de page 1
Tjepkema, M. Obésité mesurée : L'obésité chez les adultes au Canada : Poids et grandeur mesurés. No 82 620 MWF2005001 au catalogue de Statistique Canada.
Note de bas de page 2
Shields, M. Obésité mesurée : L'embonpoint chez les enfants et les adolescents au Canada. No 82 620 MWF2005001 au catalogue de Statistique Canada.
Note de bas de page 3
Morrison, K. M., J. P. Chanoine. 8. « Clinical evaluation of obese children and adolescents ». Journal de l'Association médicale canadienne 2007;187(8): en ligne p. 45-49.
Note de bas de page 4
Hramiak, I. et coll. 6. « Assessment of obesity and its complications in adults ». Journal de l'Association médicale canadienne 2007;176(8): en ligne p. 36-49.
Note de bas de page 5
Shields, M., S. C. Gorber, M. S. Tremblay. « Estimations de l'obésité fondées sur des mesures autodéclarées et sur des mesures directes ». Rapports sur la santé. No 82-0030-X, mai 2008, au catalogue de Statistique Canada.
Note de bas de page 6
Craig, C. L. et coll. Socio-demographic and lifestyle correlates of obesity – technical report on the secondary analyses using the 2000-2001 Canadian Community Health Survey. Institut canadien d'information sur la santé;2005: Ottawa, ICIS
Note de bas de page 7
Kuhle, S., P. J. Veugelers. « Pourquoi le gradient social de santé ne s'applique-t-il pas à l'embonpoint? » Rapports sur la santé. No 92-003-X au catalogue de Statistique Canada.
Note de bas de page 8
Singh, A. S., C. Mulder, J. W. Twisk, W. van Mechelen, M. J. Chinapaw. « Tracking of childhood overweight into adulthood: a systematic review of the literature ». Obesity Reviews 2008;9(5):474-88
Note de bas de page 9
Morrison, K. M., J. P. Chanoine. 8. « Clinical evaluation of obese children and adolescents ». Journal de l'Association médicale canadienne 2007;187(8): online-45-49
Note de bas de page 10
Enquête régionale longitudinale sur la santé des Premières nations (ERS) 2002-2003. Résultats de l'enquête sur les enfants, les jeunes et les adultes dans les communautés des Premières nations. Assemblée des Premières nations et Comité sur la gouvernance de l'information des Premières nations. Ottawa, mars 2007.
Note de bas de page 11
Agence de la santé publique du Canada. Le fardeau économique de la maladie au Canada, 2000. Ottawa, 2009 (sous presse).
Note de bas de page 12
Janssen, I., A. Diener. Economic Burden of Obesity in Canada in 2005 (à venir).

Note de bas de page i
Compte tenu d'un changement dans la méthode de collecte de données de l'ESCC, l'aperçu est fondé sur la moitié de l'échantillon total établi pour le cycle 2007-2008.