Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

SASKATCHEWAN: Yorkton Active Transportation Collaboration – A variety of sectors are mobilizing to promote community and recreational cycling and walking within Yorkton

“Out of the initial workshop came a philosophy, a commitment, a plan, and an educated group to move it forward”

[Previous] [Table of Contents] [Next]

Lead Organization:
Yorkton in motion

Key Partners:
Sunrise Health Region, Yorkton in motion, Yorkton Business Improvement District, Saskatchewan Government Insurance (SGI), RCMP, Society for the Involvement of Good Neighbours (SIGN), non-profit organizations, community champions

Community:
Yorkton, Saskatchewan

Population of Community:
15,038

Setting:
Urban

Target Group:
General Population

Project Focus:
To enhance the health of local residents through active transportation

Implementation Level:
Local

Stage of Development:
Ongoing

Background

In 2006, a community committee called “Yorkton in motion” sponsored a series of workshops focused on active transportation with support from Saskatchewan in motion. The workshops included a talk by internationally renowned walking expert Mark Fenton, and an “Active Transportation Workshop” with Go for Green’s Active Transportation Coordinator, Michael Haynes. Participants went on a walkabout and assessed the “walkability” and “bikeability” of Yorkton. The workshop explored ways to create conditions necessary for physical activity, and the group created a local vision for active transportation. At this time, a spark was lit.

Sunrise Health Region

Just as Yorkton in motion began mobilizing around active transportation, an important change was taking place at the Sunrise Health Region (SHR). Their latest Health Status Report indicated that only 36% of the population in Yorkton was active, compared to 52% of other regions in Saskatchewan. The Medical Health Officer put a priority on getting people active, and the Health Region decided to shift their internal mandate away from “telling”, toward “building” relationships with the public. Active transportation represented a great segue for the Health Region to start building relationships with the local community about health and physical activity.

Partnerships

Invitations to participate in the Yorkton Active Transportation Workshop were sent through the Mayor’s office to key groups identified by the Yorkton in motion Committee. Yorkton in motion organizers felt that invitations from the Mayor would draw attention and generate a positive response. They were right. The key partners all responded positively to the request and a broad range of sectors attended including: the City of Yorkton, the SHR, Yorkton in motion, the Yorkton Business Improvement District, Saskatchewan Government Insurance (SGI), the RCMP, NGOs, and community members who have a passion for active transportation. Out of this workshop session, the Yorkton Active Transportation Collaboration was born.

Early on, the Collaboration decided to steer away from a traditional “committee” approach and adopted a Task Force or project team approach. This meant that everybody at the table had a clear role to play through their task to complete. The Task Force created an 11-point Action Plan, and members each took on a task. In this way, everyone took on a leadership role to ensure that their task was completed. The Task Force currently meets bi-annually to update each other on progress made. This approach has worked exceptionally well – especially with members of the business community who have limited time to spend on committees, but have a lot to contribute to the project. Each partner can commit to specific projects within a defined timeline.

Everyone around the table has stayed engaged and has used their passion and skills for their task. For example, the business association started the “Walk-A-Mile” project to revitalize the downtown, and encourage people to park and walk. The City of Yorkton assisted with the Cycling Network Plan, as their support was required to receive grant money to fund the study. If a task required expertise that was not around the table, the partners used their networks to find the right person.

Yorkton Business Improvement District Walk-A-Mile
Yorkton Business Improvement District Walk-A-Mile
Photo Credit: Yorkton in motion

Generating Buy-In

While there was a lot of buy-in by those around the table (especially people who had attended the active transportation workshops) there was not necessarily buy-in at the board level of partner organizations. The Task Force had to make a case to gain support from senior management. They did this by building a business case and tailoring their message to show each group “what was in it for them.” For the City, they identified opportunities for economic development. For the Health Region, the support came based on their new priority on active living. For the business community, the rationale was to increase foot traffic downtown. The Task Force built its evidence, and then made presentations to key decision-makers to make them aware of the importance of active transportation. The business case became both a strategic exercise and an educational tool.

A turning point occurred when the Mayor of Yorkton observed the committee’s second update meeting. When he heard what the group had achieved and the compelling health implications of their work, he made a move to push walking, cycling trail connections and play structures as priorities in the City’s budget.

Planning & Implementation

The Active Transportation workshops were the biggest influence for the Task Force and provided the initial vision to move the group forward. Similarly, Mark Fenton’s philosophy about how to change your community has been a good fit. From a health perspective, the group was influenced by the work of Kim Bergeron at Queen’s University, who developed a checklist for planners to design active communities. Louise Bélanger, SHR’s representative on the task force, attended a webinar on Bergeron’s work and then brought this data back to the group. Every partner did some research and brought it to the table.

Public consultation was also a part of the process. At the Yorkton Exhibition/Fair they set up a survey booth to get feedback on residents’ preferred routes and destinations. They then hosted a “Ride-A-Long” with key community leaders to select and refine the preferred route options on their bikes. Engagement has taken many forms, with an emphasis on getting people out in the community.

Lessons Learned

Key lessons learned include:

  • Hosting the initial active transportation workshops was the single most important driver. Out of these workshops came a philosophy, a commitment, a plan, and an educated group to move it forward;
  • Using the “11 Point” action plan really worked. It allowed partners to choose their level of involvement, and kept people engaged;
  • Having invitations come from the Mayor added credibility and garnered a lot of attention;
  • Participating in some form of audit can really bring home the message. Those who took part in the walkability and bikeability audits realized that while Yorkton is a small city, it can be difficult to get from point A to point B without a car;
  • Educating officials and executives was most successful when the Task Force promoted “what is in it for them”; and
  • Using published Canadian research helped to build the case.

From a health perspective, the relationship of partner organizations with the Health Region has been strengthened. Partners on the Task Force had to learn a lot about each other, including how to speak a common language. The health sector had to learn to frame the “population health” message so it makes sense to the other stakeholders, in a language that they can use. The project was an opportunity for the health partners to educate public officials about the role of public health and health promotion, and show them that it is not just about immunization. “It has opened up a realm of understanding about the role of public health.”

Now if another project comes up, the Community Health Educator can make a phone call to partners and ask if there is anything the Health Region can do to help. The project has created an extended network that partners can go back to.

One unanticipated spin-off was an invitation to the SHR to attend a developer’s charrette. This was the first time in Yorkton that health was invited to sit at the table with developers. SHR is now working with the developer of a new sub-division who has agreed to incorporate standards for designing active communities. The project has also spurred an annual Sidewalk Clearing Contest – a local business has decided to give away a prize to the person in the community who kept their sidewalk clear all year.

Next steps for the Task Force may include:

  • Developing a three-year Strategic Education Awareness Plan;
  • Preparing a demonstration site (painting trial bike lanes on a street) and hosting on-site education sessions for cycling safety; and
  • Advocating for the appointment of the Active Transportation Task Force to the City of Yorkton Planning and Development Commission, to ensure active living principles are considered in every new development in the City.

Advice to Other Communities

The process developed by the Task Force is not complicated: the walkabouts, audits and presentations can be replicated at any scale. The Task Force intends to package their process and take it to outlying communities within the SHR.

Their advice to other communities is to start with a high visibility project that requires low effort, and then work up from there. The Walk-A-Mile project developed by the Yorkton Business Improvement District was an example of an action that required little work and funding, and had a huge impact.

Ride-A-Long
Ride-A-Long.
Photo Credit: Yorkton in motion

Evaluation and Impact

The group now has plans to do a follow-up community “Ride-A-Long” to ensure signage is in place and cycling routes are being maintained as called for in the Cycling Network Plan. There are also plans to engage the community to submit their walking and cycling stories – these will posted on a web-based forum such as Facebook or a website. The Health Region will be using data collected by the RCMP and Sunrise Emergency in order to track cycling injuries over time. The group is starting to put the foundations in place to measure health outcomes over the long term. Physical inactivity will be one of the key categories in the next update of the Health Status Report, and health outcomes will begin to be documented there. From an observational standpoint, more people are out walking and cycling, including people riding their bikes in the snow.

The project has involved a great deal of ongoing education and creating awareness to get to this phase. As the Cycling Network Plan is implemented, the network will continue to grow.

Contact

Louise Bélanger
Community Health Educator
Sunrise Health Region
Public Health
170 Independent Street,
Yorkton, SK S3N 0S7
Telephone: 306-786-0627
E-mail: Louise.Belanger@shr.sk.ca

Resources

[Previous] [Table of Contents] [Next]

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

SASKATCHEWAN : Yorkton Active Transportation Collaboration – Divers secteurs se mobilisent pour promouvoir le cyclisme et la marche communautaires et récréatifs à Yorkton

« Du premier atelier sont nés une philosophie, un engagement, un plan et un groupe informé pour le faire avancer »

[Précédente] [Table des matières] [Prochaine]

Organisation responsable:
Yorkton in motion

Partenaires principaux:
Sunrise Health Region, Yorkton in motion, Yorkton Business Improvement District, Saskatchewan Government Insurance (SGI), GRC, Society for the Involvement of Good Neighbours (SIGN), organismes sans but lucratif, défenseurs de la collectivité

Collectivité:
Yorkton (Saskatchewan)

Population de la collectivité:
15 038

Milieu:
Urbain

Groupe cible:
Population générale

Élément central du projet:
Améliorer la santé des résidents de la localité au moyen du transport actif

Niveau de mise en œuvre:
Local

Étape du développement:
En cours

Contexte

En 2006, un comité de la collectivité appelé « Yorkton in motion » a parrainé une série d’ateliers portant sur le transport actif avec le soutien de Saskatchewan in motion. Les ateliers comprenaient une allocution faite par un expert internationalement reconnu en marche, Mark Fenton, et un « atelier sur le transport actif » avec le coordonnateur de transport actif à Vert l’action, Michael Haynes. Les participants ont pris part à une visite informelle et ont évalué les possibilités des déplacements à pied et des déplacements à vélo de Yorkton. L’atelier a exploré les façons de créer les conditions nécessaires pour l’activité physique, et le groupe a créé une vision locale pour le transport actif. À ce moment, une lumière a été allumée.

Sunrise Health Region

Au moment où Yorkton in motion commençait à  se mobiliser autour du transport actif, un changement important a eu lieu à la Sunrise Health Region (SHR). Son plus récent rapport sur l’état de santé indiquait que seulement 36 % de la population à Yorkton était active, comparativement à 52 % des autres régions de la Saskatchewan. Le médecin conseil en santé publique a mis comme priorité de rendre les gens actifs, et la Health Region a décidé de faire passer son mandat interne des « paroles », à l’« établissement » de liens avec le public. Le transport actif représentait une grande transition pour la Health Region afin de commencer à établir des liens avec la collectivité locale à propos de la santé et de l’activité physique.

Partenariats

Des invitations à participer à l’atelier sur le transport actif à Yorkton ont été envoyées par l’entremise du bureau du maire à des groupes clés relevés par le Comité Yorkton in motion. Les organisateurs de Yorkton in motion pensaient que les invitations du maire attireraient l’attention et généreraient une réaction positive. Ils avaient raison. Les principaux partenaires ont tous répondu positivement à la demande, et une grande panoplie de secteurs y ont assisté, notamment : la Ville de Yorkton, la SHR, Yorkton in motion, le Yorkton Business Improvement District, la Saskatchewan Government Insurance (SGI), la GRC, des ONG et des membres de la collectivité qui sont passionnés par le transport actif. De cet atelier est née la Yorkton Active Transportation Collaboration.

Très tôt, la collaboration a décidé de changer de direction en passant d’une démarche de « comité » traditionnelle à une démarche de groupe de travail ou d’équipe de projet. Cela signifiait que tous les participants à la table avaient un rôle clair à jouer au moyen de leur tâche à accomplir. Le groupe de travail a créé un plan d’action en 11 points, et les membres ont tous accepté une tâche. De cette façon, tous ont accepté un rôle de leadership pour veiller à ce que leur tâche ait été complétée. Le groupe de travail se rencontre actuellement deux fois par année pour tenir tout le monde au fait des progrès accomplis. Cette démarche a exceptionnellement bien fonctionné – particulièrement avec des membres du milieu des affaires qui ont du temps limité à consacrer aux comités, mais qui ont beaucoup à offrir au projet. Chaque partenaire peut s’engager envers des projets précis dans un délai défini.

Tous les participants à la table ont maintenu leur engagement et ils ont utilisé leur passion et leurs compétences pour accomplir leur tâche. Par exemple, l’association commerciale a commencé le projet « Walk-A-Mile » pour revitaliser le centre-ville et encourager les gens à se stationner et à marcher. La Ville de Yorkton a contribué au plan du réseau cyclable, puisque son appui était nécessaire pour recevoir des fonds d’aide gratuite afin de financer l’étude. Si une tâche avait besoin d’experts qui n’étaient pas autour de la table, les partenaires avaient recours à leurs réseaux pour trouver la bonne personne.

Yorkton Business Improvement District Walk-A-Mile
Yorkton Business Improvement District Walk-A-Mile
Source de la photo: Yorkton in motion

Stimuler la participation

Bien qu’il y ait beaucoup de participants parmi les personnes autour de la table (particulièrement les personnes qui avaient assisté aux ateliers sur le transport actif), il n’y avait pas forcément de participation au niveau du conseil des organisations partenaires. Le groupe de travail devait exposer un point de vue pour obtenir l’appui de la haute direction. Il l’a fait en élaborant une analyse de rentabilisation et en personnalisant son message pour montrer à chaque groupe « ce qu’il leur réservait ». Pour la Ville, le groupe a relevé des débouchés de développement économique. Pour la Health Region, le soutien a été obtenu en fonction de sa nouvelle priorité sur la vie active. Pour le milieu des affaires, le motif consistait à accroître la circulation de piétons au centre‑ville. Le groupe de travail a acquis ses preuves, et a ensuite fait des présentations aux principaux décideurs pour les informer de l’importance du transport actif. L’analyse de rentabilisation est devenue un exercice stratégique et un outil pédagogique.

Un point tournant est survenu lorsque le maire de Yorkton a observé la deuxième réunion de mise à jour du comité. Lorsqu’il a entendu les réalisations du groupe et les répercussions convaincantes sur la santé de leur travail, le maire a pris des initiatives pour faire passer les liaisons des sentiers piétonniers et des pistes cyclables ainsi que les structures de jeux parmi les priorités dans le budget de la Ville.

Planification et mise en œuvre

Les ateliers sur le transport actif ont été la plus grande influence pour le groupe de travail et ils ont fourni la première vision pour faire avancer le groupe. Dans le même ordre d’idées, la philosophie de Mark Fenton au sujet de la façon de changer une collectivité a été une bonne adéquation. D’une perspective de la santé, le groupe a été influencé par le travail de Kim Bergeron de l’Université Queen’s, qui a élaboré une liste de contrôle pour les planificateurs afin de concevoir des collectivités actives. Louise Bélanger, la représentante de la SHR dans le groupe de travail, a assisté à un séminaire en ligne sur le travail de Mme Bergeron et elle a ensuite ramené ces données au groupe. Chaque partenaire a fait des recherches et les a présentées à la table.

Les consultations publiques ont également fait partie du processus. À l’exposition/foire de Yorkton, ils ont installé un comptoir de sondage pour obtenir des commentaires sur les destinations et les itinéraires préférés des résidents. Ils ont ensuite été l’hôte de l’activité « Ride-A‑Long » avec les principaux dirigeants de la collectivité pour sélectionner et mettre au point les options d’itinéraires cyclables privilégiées. L’engagement a pris de nombreuses formes, mais il priorisait la sortie des gens dans la collectivité.

Leçons tirées

Les principales leçons tirées incluent les suivantes:

  • Le fait d’être l’hôte des premiers ateliers sur le transport actif a été le facteur le plus important. De ces ateliers sont nés une philosophie, un engagement, un plan et un groupe informé pour le faire avancer;
  • L’utilisation du plan d’action en « 11 points » a vraiment fonctionné. Il a permis aux partenaires de choisir leur niveau de participation, et il a maintenu l’engagement des gens;
  • Les invitations du maire ont ajouté de la crédibilité et ont obtenu beaucoup d’attention;
  • La participation à une certaine forme de vérification peut vraiment faire comprendre le message. Ceux qui ont pris part aux vérifications des déplacements à pied et des déplacements à vélo ont réalisé que bien que Yorkton soit une petite ville, il peut être difficile de se rendre du point A au point B sans voiture;
  • L’information des agents responsables et des cadres a le mieux réussi lorsque le groupe de travail a fait la promotion de ce qu’« elle leur réserve »; et
  • L’utilisation des recherches canadiennes publiées a aidé à faire valoir le cas.

D’une perspective de la santé, le lien des organisations partenaires avec la Health Region a été renforcé. Les partenaires du groupe de travail devaient en apprendre beaucoup à propos de chacun, notamment comment parler une langue commune. Le secteur de la santé devait apprendre à concevoir le message de la « santé de la population » afin qu’il soit sensé pour les autres intervenants, dans une langue qu’ils peuvent utiliser. Le projet permettait aux partenaires de la santé d’informer les fonctionnaires au sujet du rôle de la santé publique et de la promotion de la santé, ainsi que de leur montrer qu’il n’a pas seulement trait à l’immunisation. « Il a ouvert un domaine de connaissance au sujet du rôle de la santé publique. »

Maintenant, si un autre projet est présenté, l’éducateur en santé communautaire peut appeler les partenaires et leur demander si Health Region peut les aider. Le projet a créé un réseau élargi auquel les partenaires peuvent revenir.

Un résultat imprévu a été une invitation à la SHR à assister à la charrette d’un aménageur. C’était la première fois à Yorkton que des représentants du milieu de la santé étaient invités à siéger à la table avec les aménageurs. Les SHR travaillent maintenant avec l’aménageur d’une nouvelle sous-division qui a convenu d’intégrer les normes pour concevoir des collectivités actives. Le projet a également encouragé un concours annuel de déblaiement de trottoirs – une entreprise locale a décidé de décerner un prix à la personne de la collectivité qui gardait son trottoir dégagé toute l’année.

Les prochaines étapes pour le groupe de travail peuvent inclure les suivantes:

  • Élaboration d’un plan triennal de sensibilisation stratégique;
  • Préparation d’un site de démonstration (peinture de voies cyclables à l’essai sur une rue) et présentation de séances d’information sur place pour la sécurité à vélo; et
  • Défense de la nomination du groupe de travail sur le transport actif à la commission de la planification et du développement de la Ville de Yorkton, pour s’assurer que les principes d’une vie active sont pris en considération dans chaque nouveau développement de la Ville.

Conseils aux autres collectivités

Le processus élaboré par le groupe de travail n’est pas compliqué : les visites informelles, les vérifications et les présentations peuvent être répétées à n’importe quelle échelle. Le groupe de travail souhaite présenter son processus et l’amener aux collectivités éloignées de la SHR.

Leurs conseils aux autres collectivités consistent à commencer par un projet bien en vue qui exige de faibles efforts, et ensuite à développer à partir de celui‑ci. Le projet « Walk‑A‑Mile » élaboré par le Yorkton Business Improvement District était un exemple d’une mesure qui exigeait peu de travail et de fonds tout en ayant une très grande incidence.

Co-patrouille
Co-patrouille.
Source de la photo: Yorkton in motion

Évaluation et incidence

Le groupe a maintenant des plans pour faire une « co‑patrouille » communautaire de suivi afin d’assurer que la signalisation soit en place et que les pistes cyclables soient entretenues comme le demande le plan du réseau cyclable. Il y a également des plans visant à engager la collectivité à soumettre ses histoires de marche et de vélo – celles‑ci seront affichées sur un forum sur le Web tel que Facebook ou un site Web. La Health Region utilisera les données recueillies par la GRC et Sunrise Emergency afin d’assurer le suivi des blessures subies à vélo au fil du temps. Le groupe commence à mettre les bases en place pour mesurer les résultats pour la santé à long terme. L’inactivité physique sera l’une des principales catégories dans la prochaine mise à jour du rapport sur l’état de santé, et les résultats pour la santé commenceront à y être documentés. D’un point de vue observationnel, davantage de gens marchent et font du vélo, notamment des gens qui se déplacent à vélo dans la neige.

Le projet a nécessité beaucoup d’information continue et une sensibilisation pour se rendre à cette phase. À mesure que le plan du réseau cyclable sera mis en œuvre, le réseau continuera de prendre de l’expansion.

Coordonnées

Louise Bélanger
Éducatrice en santé communautaire
Sunrise Health Region
Public Health
170, rue Independent
Yorkton (Saskatchewan) S3N 0S7
Téléphone: 306-786-0627
Courriel: Louise.Belanger@shr.sk.ca

Ressources

[Précédente] [Table des matières] [Prochaine]