Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

National Vaccine Storage and Handling Guidelines for Immunization Providers (2007)

Section 4 Vaccine Storage Practices

Contents

4.1 Appropriate Vaccine and Diluent Storage Conditions

Proper vaccine storage and handling procedures include but are not limited to the following:

  • A minimum of twice daily minimum and maximum temperature monitoring of the refrigerator(s) and freezer(s), as well as the room temperature.
  • A minimum of twice daily recording on the temperature logs.
  • Responding to storage temperatures outside the recommended range.
  • Maintaining storage and handling equipment and records.
  • Rotating vaccine stock so that vaccine closer to its expiration date will be used first.
  • Monitoring expiration dates on vaccines and ensuring that expired vaccine is not administered to clients.
  • Ordering vaccines to maintain no more than a one month supply (or quantity sufficient to meet seasonal or outbreak demands).
  • Overseeing proper receipt, storage, and transport of vaccine.

All vaccines should be stored with the caps on in their original boxes until they are needed. Light exposure may cause loss of potency in vaccines and other biologics. Therefore, these products should be protected from light exposure at all times.

Live Vaccines

Certain live vaccines must be stored in a continuously frozen state at -15°C or colder until administration. In Canada, most live vaccines are licenced as refrigerator stable products. However, if the vaccine is received frozen from the vaccine supply source, it may be stored in the freezer. Do not refreeze vaccines. Always refer to the product monograph for the most up-to-date information on storage information.

Inactivated Vaccines

Inactivated vaccines are sensitive to both excessive heat and freezing. They should be stored in a refrigerator at +2°C to +8°C, with a desired average temperature of +5°C (mid-point that allows for ±3°C buffer). Exposure to temperatures outside this range may result in decreased vaccine potency and increased risk of vaccine-preventable diseases.

Lyophilized (Freeze-Dried) Vaccines and Diluents

Diluent that is packaged separately from its corresponding lyophilized (freeze-dried) vaccine can be stored at room temperature or in the refrigerator. To conserve space, these diluents may also be stored in the door of the refrigerator. Use only the diluent accompanying the vaccine for reconstitution as specified by the manufacturer.

Diluent which has been frozen should not be used because of the risk of fractures in the vial that may cause contamination. Appropriate actions should be taken to isolate and dispose of the vials according to your local public health office or immunization programFootnote * recommendations.

4.2 Organizing Your Refrigerator and Freezer

Organization of your refrigerator and freezer must take into account convenience for staff, technical features of the refrigerators, and vaccine requirements. Figure 1 summarizes how your refrigerator should be organized.

Ideally, frozen vaccines should be stored in a separate designated freezer unit. However, for domestic refrigerators having a separate freezer compartment, frozen vaccine may be stored in the middle of the compartment away from the walls, coils, and floor. Vaccines should not be stored in the freezer door. The temperature in the door is not stable because door openings subject products in this location to frequent temperature fluctuations.

Frozen vaccines may be stored in either a manual defrost or a frost-free freezer at -15° C or colder. Vaccine products must not be stacked or placed so closely together that air circulation inside the freezer compartment is impeded.

In the refrigerator, vaccine should be stored in the middle of the compartment away from the coils, walls, floor, and cold-air vent. The temperature near the floor of the refrigerator is not stable and differs from that in the middle of the compartment. For this reason, vaccine should never be stored in the vegetable bins. Vaccines should not be stored in the refrigerator door. The temperature in the door is not stable because door openings subject products in this location to frequent temperature fluctuations. Refrigerated vaccines should always be stored far enough away from the air venting from the freezer compartment to avoid freezing.

Organization of your refrigerator and freezer must take into account convenience for staff, technical features of the refrigerators, and vaccine requirements. In the refrigerator, vaccine should be stored in the middle of the compartment away from the coils, walls, floor, and cold-air vent. In the freezer, vaccine should be stored in the middle of the compartment away from the walls, coils, and peripheral areas.

Figure 5: Organizing the Refrigerator

Organizing the Refrigerator

Text equivalent for figure 5 Organizing the Refrigerator

Know Your Refrigerator

Refrigerator technology can vary, so it is not possible to make generalized statements on how to manage vaccines for all refrigerators. It is important that you "know your refrigerator." The following suggestions are summarized from the Australian Government, Department of Health and Ageing,(Footnote 1)and Grassby(Footnote 2).

Most refrigerators have a temperature gradient, meaning that there is a gradual difference in temperature from one part of the refrigerator to another, for example, from top to bottom, side to side, and front to back. It is important to know each refrigerator's temperature gradients. Do not assume that the top part of the refrigerator is coldest and the bottom part is warmest. The gradients will depend on how the refrigerator is cooled and/or where the plate evaporator is located.

To determine the gradients within your refrigerator, a recording device, such as a data logger, should be placed in each position for a minimum of 24 hours, preferably with at least two other recorders simultaneously placed in other parts of the unit. Depending on the type and number of recorders available, this could take some time and is best done when there is no vaccine in the fridge but with some sort of "cold mass" to simulate a batch of vaccine (e.g. cooled water bottles). Knowing the temperature gradients will help you to place your vaccines properly within the refrigerator.

Temperatures for each location of the refrigerator can also fluctuate at any given time. For frost-free refrigerators, the defrost cycle can affect the temperature. Environmental factors may also affect the temperature, for example, the surrounding room temperature and the location of the refrigerator in reference to windows, heat sources, or air conditioning. It is also important to know what happens when there are changes in the weather, or a decrease or increase in use compared to usual daily activities.

It is important to know your refrigerator. Knowing the temperature gradients will help you to place your vaccines properly within the refrigerator. It is also important to know the factors that affect fluctuations in temperatures in the refrigerator.

Vaccine Spacing

Vaccine should be grouped by product, taking note to place short-dated products near the front of the group for more immediate use and with space between the vaccine and the compartment wall, and with space between each large box, block, or tray of vaccine to allow for cold air circulation around the vaccine. Adequate cold-air circulation helps each vaccine to reach a consistent temperature throughout its mass and is necessary for the storage unit to maintain a consistent temperature inside the compartment. Packing any vaccine storage unit too tightly will affect the temperature. Likewise, packing too much vaccine in one unit will affect the temperature (e.g. during peak flu season). No more than 50% of the internal volume of the refrigeration unit should be filled with vaccine(Footnote 2).

Packing any vaccine storage unit too tightly and/or packing too much vaccine in one unit will affect the temperature.

Vaccine Packaging

Vaccine products that have similar packaging should be stored in different locations to avoid confusion and medication errors. For example, if you have pediatric and adult versions of the same vaccine, storing them in different locations lessens the chance that someone will inadvertently choose the wrong vaccine.

Likewise, vaccines that have similar sounding names should be stored in different locations. For example, DT and Td vaccines might be easily confused, as could Hib and hepatitis B vaccines.

Like antigens of different brands are also best kept separate to avoid administration of an incorrect dose if the dosing schedule or series differs among brands of the same antigen.

4.3 Organizing Vaccine Inventory

The location of each specific vaccine inside the storage unit should be clearly labeled. Storing each vaccine in its own specifically labeled section of the refrigerator or freezer helps decrease the chance that someone will mistakenly select the wrong vaccine.

In addition to labeling the location of vaccines, mark each opened multidose vial with the date it was first punctured. Mark reconstituted vaccine with the date and time it was reconstituted. Dating these vials is important for two reasons.

  1. Some vaccines expire within a certain time after puncturing or after reconstitution. This may not correspond to the expiration date printed on the vial by the manufacturer. Follow manufacturer recommendations or jurisdictional guidelines for use of multidose vials and reconstituted vaccine.
  2. Dating punctured or reconstituted vials helps manage vaccine inventory by identifying vials that should be used first. Whenever possible, use all the vaccine in one multidose vial before opening another vial. Use all the reconstituted vaccine in one vial before reconstituting another vial to reduce vaccine waste.

Store punctured multidose vials in a designated, labeled container so that they are easily recognized. Remember to store these vials in their original boxes to prevent light exposure.

Diluents should be clearly labeled, whether they are stored at room temperature or in the refrigerator. Label the boxes of corresponding vaccines and diluents from the same manufacturer so that they will be used together. This avoids confusion and helps to ensure that you use only the specific diluent provided by the manufacturer for each type of lyophilized (freeze-dried) vaccine. This is particularly important if you store two or more lyophilized vaccines using different diluents.

Diluents should be clearly labeled, whether they are stored at room temperature or in the refrigerator.

4.4 Storage Containers

Vaccine Boxes

Vaccine and diluent should be stored in their original packaging. Storing loose vaccine vials makes inventory management more difficult, administration errors more likely, and exposes the vaccines to light.

Trays and Containers

Trays and containers may be used to organize vaccine boxes. Each tray or container should only store vaccine of the same type. Other medications and biological products, if they must be stored in the vaccine storage unit, must not be stored on the same trays or containers as the vaccines to avoid medication errors. Clearly label trays or containers.

Trays and containers must not be stacked or placed so closely together that air circulation inside the vaccine storage unit compartment is impeded. Trays and containers should be vented to allow air circulation. Never use air-tight containers.

4.5 Storage of Non-Vaccine Products

Never store food or beverages inside vaccine storage units. As well, whenever possible, medications and/or other biological products should not be stored with vaccines. Storing non-vaccine items results in frequent opening of the storage unit door. This results in a greater chance for temperature instability and excessive exposure to light. It may also result in spills and contamination inside the compartment. Introduction of other items also impedes airflow and introduces varying temperatures to the unit.

Never store food or beverages inside vaccine storage units.

Use the Checklist for Safe Vaccine Storage and Handling in the Resources Section to summarize ways to safeguard vaccines.

4.6 References

  • 1 Australian Government, Department of Health and Ageing. National vaccine storage guidelines: strive for 5. 3rd ed. Australia, 2005:3-23.
  • 2 Grassby PF. Safe storage of vaccines: problems and solutions. Pharm J 1993;251:323-327.
  • * Including local, regional, provincial, territorial, or federal health departments, or other jurisdictional immunization programs.

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Partagez cette page

Lignes directrices nationales sur l'entreposage et la manipulation des vaccins pour les vaccinateurs

Section 4 Pratiques d'entreposage des vaccins

Table des matières

4.1 Bonnes conditions d'entreposage des vaccins et des diluants

Les bonnes procédures d'entreposage et de manipulation des vaccins englobent notamment ce qui suit :

  • Au moins deux lectures quotidiennes de la température minimale et maximale du réfrigérateur et du congélateur ainsi que de la température ambiante.
  • Au moins deux écritures quotidiennes dans le registre des températures.
  • Intervention si les températures d'entreposage se situent hors de la plage recommandée.
  • Entretien de l'équipement servant à l'entreposage et à la manipulation et tenue des registres.
  • Rotation des stocks de vaccins de manière à ce que les vaccins dont la date d'expiration est la plus proche soient utilisés en premier.
  • Suivi des dates d'expiration des vaccins pour s'assurer de ne pas administrer de vaccins périmés aux clients.
  • Commande de vaccins pour assurer un stock d'au plus un mois (ou une quantité suffisante pour répondre à la demande selon la saison ou en cas d'éclosion).
  • Supervision de la réception, de l'entreposage et du transport des vaccins.

Tous les vaccins doivent être entreposés avec leur bouchon et dans leur boîte d'origine jusqu'à ce qu'ils soient utilisés. L'exposition à la lumière peut causer une perte de puissance des vaccins et d'autres produits biologiques. Par conséquent, ces produits devraient être protégés de la lumière en tout temps.

Vaccins vivants

Certains vaccins vivants doivent être entreposés en permanence à l'état congelé à -15 °C ou moins jusqu'à ce qu'ils soient administrés. Au Canada, la plupart des vaccins vivants sont homologués comme étant stables lorsqu'ils sont entreposés au réfrigérateur. Cependant, si les vaccins sont envoyés à l'état congelé par le fournisseur, ils peuvent être entreposés au congélateur. Ne recongelez pas les vaccins. Consultez toujours la monographie de produit pour obtenir les renseignements les plus récents sur l'entreposage.

Vaccins inactivés

Les vaccins inactivés sont sensibles à la chaleur excessive et au gel. Ils doivent donc être entreposés au réfrigérateur entre +2 °C et +8 °C, à une température moyenne souhaitée de +5 °C (la valeur médiane qui permet une marge de ±3 °C). L'exposition à des températures hors de cette plage peut causer une diminution de la puissance des vaccins et un risque accru de maladies évitables par la vaccination.

Vaccins lyophilisés et diluants

Les diluants emballés séparément de leurs vaccins lyophilisés peuvent être entreposés à la température de la pièce ou au réfrigérateur. Pour économiser de l'espace, ces diluants peuvent aussi être entreposés dans la porte du réfrigérateur. Pour le processus de reconstitution, utilisez seulement le diluant qui accompagne le vaccin, conformément aux indications du fabricant.

Un diluant qui a gelé ne doit pas être utilisé, en raison du risque de bris de la fiole qui peut causer une contamination. On prendra les mesures nécessaires pour isoler et éliminer les flacons en suivant les recommandations du bureau de santé publique local ou du responsable du programme d'immunisationNote en bas de page *.

4.2 Organisation de votre réfrigérateur et de votre congélateur

Au moment d'organiser votre réfrigérateur et votre congélateur, vous devez tenir compte de l'aspect pratique pour le personnel, des caractéristiques techniques de l'appareil et des exigences relatives aux vaccins. La figure 5 indique comment remplir le réfrigérateur.

Idéalement, les vaccins congelés doivent être entreposés dans leur propre congélateur. Toutefois, si vous avez un réfrigérateur domestique doté d'un congélateur distinct, les vaccins congelés peuvent y être entreposés au milieu du congélateur, à l'écart des parois, des serpentins et du bas du compartiment. Les vaccins ne doivent pas non plus être entreposés dans la porte du congélateur. La température à cet endroit n'est pas stable, car l'ouverture des portes soumet les produits s'y trouvant à de fréquentes variations de température.

Les vaccins congelés peuvent être entreposés soit dans un congélateur à dégivrage manuel, soit dans un congélateur sans givre, à une température de -15 °C ou moins. Les produits vaccinaux ne doivent pas être empilés ni placés très près les uns des autres, pour ne pas empêcher l'air de circuler à l'intérieur du congélateur.

Dans le réfrigérateur, les vaccins doivent être entreposés au milieu du compartiment, loin des serpentins, des parois, du bas et des évents d'aération d'où arrive l'air froid. La température dans le bas du réfrigérateur n'est pas stable, et elle est différente de celle du milieu du compartiment. C'est pourquoi les vaccins ne doivent jamais être entreposés dans les bacs à légumes. Ils ne doivent pas non plus être placés dans la porte du réfrigérateur. La température à cet endroit n'est pas stable, car l'ouverture des portes soumet les produits s'y trouvant à de fréquentes variations de température. Pour éviter le gel, les vaccins réfrigérés doivent toujours être placés loin de l'air provenant du congélateur.

Au moment d'organiser votre réfrigérateur et votre congélateur, vous devez tenir compte de l'aspect pratique pour le personnel, des caractéristiques techniques du réfrigérateur et des exigences relatives aux vaccins. Dans le réfrigérateur, les vaccins doivent être entreposés au milieu du compartiment, loin des serpentins, des parois, du bas et des évents d'aération d'où arrive l'air froid. Dans le congélateur, les vaccins doivent être placés au milieu du compartiment, à l'écart des parois, des serpentins et des zones périphériques.

Figure 5 : Organisation du réfrigérateur

Organisation du réfrigérateur

Équivalent textuel pour la figure 5 Organisation du réfrigérateur

Importance de connaître son réfrigérateur

La technologie utilisée pour chaque réfrigérateur peut varier. En matière de gestion des vaccins, il n'est donc pas possible de formuler des énoncés qui s'appliquent à tous les réfrigérateurs. Il est important que vous appreniez à connaître le vôtre. Voici un résumé de suggestions provenant du ministère de la Santé et du Vieillissement du gouvernement australienNote en bas de page 1 et de l'auteur GrassbyNote en bas de page 2 à ce sujet.

La plupart des réfrigérateurs ont des gradients de température, ce qui signifie qu'il y a une différence graduelle de température entre les différentes zones de l'appareil (p. ex. entre le haut et le bas, d'un côté à l'autre et de l'avant à l'arrière). Il est important de connaître les gradients de température de chaque réfrigérateur. Ne prenez pas pour acquis que le haut du réfrigérateur est la partie la plus froide et que le bas est la partie la plus chaude. Les gradients dépendent de la façon dont le réfrigérateur est refroidi et de l'emplacement de la plaque de refroidissement.

Pour connaître les gradients à l'intérieur de votre réfrigérateur, placez un dispositif d'enregistrement, comme un enregistreur de données, à chaque endroit pendant au moins 24 heures, de préférence avec au moins deux autres dispositifs placés ailleurs dans l'unité. Selon le genre et le nombre de dispositifs d'enregistrement disponibles, l'opération peut prendre un certain temps; il est préférable de procéder quand il n'y a aucun vaccin dans le réfrigérateur, mais que celui-ci contient une quelconque « masse froide » qui simule un lot de vaccins (comme des bouteilles d'eau réfrigérées). Si vous connaissez les gradients de température de votre réfrigérateur, vous serez mieux en mesure d'y ranger les vaccins aux endroits les plus appropriés.

Les températures de chaque zone du réfrigérateur peuvent également varier dans le temps. Dans les réfrigérateurs sans givre, le cycle de dégivrage peut avoir une incidence sur la température. Certains facteurs environnementaux, comme la température ambiante et l'emplacement du réfrigérateur par rapport aux fenêtres, aux sources de chaleur ou à la climatisation, peuvent aussi influer sur la température. De plus, il est important de savoir ce qui se produit en cas de changements des conditions météorologiques ou d'une diminution ou augmentation de l'utilisation quotidienne habituelle de l'appareil.

Il est important de connaître votre réfrigérateur. Si vous connaissez ses gradients de température, vous serez mieux en mesure de ranger les vaccins aux endroits les plus appropriés. Par ailleurs, il est important de connaître les facteurs qui entraînent des fluctuations de température dans le réfrigérateur.

Rangement des vaccins

Regroupez les vaccins par produit, en pensant à placer les produits dont la date d'échéance est proche à l'avant du groupe pour qu'ils soient utilisés plus rapidement et à laisser de l'espace entre les vaccins et la paroi du compartiment ainsi qu'entre chaque grande boîte, groupe ou plateau de vaccins, ce qui assurera une circulation d'air froid alentour. Ainsi, chaque vaccin atteindra une température constante dans l'ensemble de sa masse, et l'unité d'entreposage maintiendra une température uniforme à l'intérieur du compartiment. Le fait de placer les vaccins trop près les uns des autres a une incidence sur la température. De même, la présence d'un trop grand nombre de vaccins dans une unité (comme au pic de la saison grippale) influe sur la température. Les vaccins entreposés dans l'unité de réfrigération ne doivent pas occuper plus de 50 % du volume interne de l'appareilNote en bas de page 2.

Le fait de placer les vaccins trop près les uns des autres ou de mettre trop de vaccins dans une unité d'entreposage influera sur la température.

Emballage des vaccins

Pour éviter toute confusion et les erreurs de médicaments, entreposez à des endroits différents les produits vaccinaux dont l'emballage se ressemble. Si par exemple vous avez une version pour enfants et pour adultes du même vaccin, le fait d'entreposer les deux versions à des endroits différents diminue le risque que quelqu'un choisisse par erreur le mauvais vaccin.

Placez aussi à des endroits différents les vaccins dont les noms se ressemblent. Il est facile de confondre les vaccins DT et dT ou les vaccins anti-Hib et anti-hépatite B, par exemple.

Il est également préférable de conserver séparément les antigènes de marques différentes pour éviter l'administration d'une dose incorrecte si la posologie ou la série diffère d'une marque à l'autre du même antigène.

4.3 Organisation du stock de vaccins

L'emplacement de chaque vaccin à l'intérieur de l'unité d'entreposage doit être clairement étiqueté. L'entreposage de chaque vaccin dans une section précisément étiquetée du réfrigérateur ou du congélateur aide à diminuer le risque que quelqu'un prenne le mauvais vaccin par erreur.

En plus d'étiqueter l'emplacement des vaccins, inscrivez la date de première perforation sur chaque flacon multidose ouvert, et la date et l'heure de reconstitution sur les vaccins reconstitués. Il est important de dater ces flacons pour deux raisons :

  1. Certains vaccins expirent dans un certain délai suivant la perforation ou la reconstitution. Il se peut que ce délai ne corresponde pas à la date d'expiration imprimée sur le flacon par le fabricant. Suivez les recommandations du fabricant ou les lignes directrices de votre administration relativement à l'utilisation des flacons multidoses et des vaccins reconstitués.
  2. La datation des flacons perforés ou reconstitués facilite la gestion des stocks de vaccins, car elle indique les flacons à utiliser en premier. Quand il est possible de le faire, utilisez toutes les doses d'un flacon multidose avant d'ouvrir un autre flacon. Et pour ne pas gaspiller de vaccins, utilisez tout le vaccin reconstitué d'une même fiole avant de reconstituer un autre flacon.

Entreposez les flacons multidoses perforés dans un contenant étiqueté pour pouvoir les repérer facilement. N'oubliez pas d'entreposer ces flacons dans leur boîte d'origine pour ne pas les exposer à la lumière.

Les diluants doivent être clairement étiquetés, qu'ils soient conservés à la température de la pièce ou au réfrigérateur. Étiquetez les boîtes des vaccins et des diluants correspondants provenant du même fabricant pour que les produits soient utilisés ensemble. Vous éviterez ainsi toute confusion et vous vous assurerez d'utiliser seulement le diluant conçu par le fabricant pour chaque type de vaccin lyophilisé. C'est particulièrement important si vous entreposez deux vaccins lyophilisés ou plus utilisant des diluants différents.

Les diluants doivent être clairement étiquetés, qu'ils soient conservés à la température de la pièce ou au réfrigérateur.

4.4 Contenants d'entreposage

Boîtes de vaccins

Entreposez les vaccins et les diluants dans leur emballage d'origine. Si les flacons de vaccin ne sont pas entreposés dans leur boîte, il est plus difficile de gérer les stocks, des erreurs d'administration sont plus susceptibles de se produire, et les vaccins seront exposés à la lumière.

Plateaux et contenants

Les boîtes de vaccins peuvent être regroupées dans des plateaux ou des contenants. Chaque plateau ou contenant doit contenir un seul type de vaccin. Les autres médicaments et produits biologiques, s'ils doivent être conservés dans l'unité d'entreposage des vaccins, ne doivent pas être placés dans les mêmes plateaux ou contenants que les vaccins pour éviter les erreurs de médicaments. Étiquetez clairement les plateaux et contenants.

Les plateaux et les contenants ne doivent pas être empilés ou serrés au point de gêner la circulation de l'air dans le compartiment. De plus, ils doivent être ventilés pour permettre à l'air de circuler entre les boîtes de vaccins. N'utilisez jamais de contenants hermétiques.

4.5 Entreposage des produits non vaccinaux

N'entreposez jamais d'aliments ni de boissons dans les unités d'entreposage des vaccins. Dans la mesure du possible, ne conservez pas de médicaments ni d'autres produits biologiques avec les vaccins. Quand des produits non vaccinaux sont entreposés au même endroit, la porte de l'unité est ouverte plus souvent, ce qui rend les températures instables et augmente le risque d'exposition excessive à la lumière. Cela favorise aussi les déversements accidentels et la contamination à l'intérieur du compartiment. Enfin, cette pratique nuit à la circulation de l'air et fait fluctuer la température dans l'unité.

N'entreposez jamais d'aliments ni de boissons dans les unités d'entreposage des vaccins.

Pour protéger vos vaccins, aidez-vous de la Liste de vérification pour l'entreposage et la manipulation des vaccins à la section Ressources.

4.6 Références

  • 1 Australie. Department of Health and Ageing. National Vaccine Storage Guidelines: Strive for 5, 3e éd., Australie, 2005, 3-23.
  • 2 Grassby, P.F. Safe storage of vaccines: problems and solutions. Pharm J 1993; 251:323-327.
  • * Y compris les services de santé locaux, régionaux, provinciaux, territoriaux ou fédéraux ou d'autres programmes d'immunisation des administrations publiques.