Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

Public Health Notice: Middle East Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus (MERS-CoV)

Updated 6 November 2014
Information is reviewed on a regular basis and updated as required.

Why you should take note

Since April 2012, cases of the Middle East Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus (MERS-CoV) have been identified in the following countries: Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Jordan, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Oman, Kuwait, Yemen, Lebanon, Iran, Algeria, the United Kingdom (UK), France, Italy, Greece, Germany, the Netherlands, Austria, Tunisia, Egypt, Malaysia, Turkey and the United States of America (USA).

The initial cases in France, Italy, Tunisia and the UK were linked to travel to the Middle East. Limited transmission in the countries of Europe and North Africa has occurred in close contacts of people who had travelled to the Middle East. All the European, North African, Southeast Asian, and North American cases have either visited the Middle East or been in contact with someone who had.

Coronaviruses are the cause of the common cold, but can also be the cause of more severe illnesses with flu-like symptoms, including Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS), with some cases resulting in death. This new virus is not the SARS virus.

The symptoms of this MERS-CoV are similar to severe pneumonia: sudden and serious respiratory illness with fever, cough, and shortness of breath and breathing difficulties. Since MERS-CoV was first identified serious illness and death have been seen in patients with underlying medical conditions and/or in older individuals. The illness has been milder in younger, healthy people.

As of November 6, 2014, the World Health Organization (WHO) has reported 909 human cases, including 331 deaths. Additional cases of this new strain of coronavirus are expected.

Risk to Canadians

The risk to Canadians is low. This virus does not appear to spread easily from person to person and the risk of exposure seems to be only in the affected Middle Eastern countries.

At the same time, we do not yet fully understand exactly how people become infected with MERS-CoV. There is growing evidence that contact with live camels or camel based products (eg. milk or meat) may play a role in the transmission of the virus. Experts are still investigating its source and how it spreads.

In the known cases where it has appeared to have spread between people, those cases involved close contacts: family members, co-workers, fellow patients and healthcare workers. Recently, there has been an increasing number of infections among healthcare workers, indicating the importance of following strict infection control practices in health care settings.

Federal and provincial laboratories are able to detect the virus, and have been testing specimens. There are currently no cases in Canada.

Canadians can help protect themselves against these types of viruses by following some general measures:

  • Avoid close contact with anyone showing signs of illness (such as coughing and sneezing);
  • Cough and sneeze in your arm rather than your hand;
  • Wash your hands often and thoroughly;
  • Stay at home when sick.

Travel information

While the Agency is not advising any travel restrictions related to this event at this time, a Travel Health NoticeExternal site has been posted to provide advice to Canadian travellers. The Agency has also posted advice External site for travellers planning pilgrimages to Saudi Arabia for the Hajj or Umrah. We will continue to monitor this situation very closely and advise Canadians as appropriate.

What the Public Health Agency of Canada is doing

The Public Health Agency of Canada works with its national and international partners, including the World Health Organization, to monitor and share information. Through Canada's national surveillance system, the Agency tracks the spread of flu and flu-like illnesses in Canada. We also monitor outbreaks of flu around the world.

The Agency assesses the risk, on an ongoing basis, of viruses being transmitted from an ill traveller to Canadians. We do this by working with our partners, including the Canada Border Services Agency, to support screening and detection and if necessary put in place additional measures to safeguard the travelling public.

Additional information

Media Contact

Public Health Agency of Canada
Media Relations
(613) 957-2983

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

Avis de santé publique : Coronavirus du syndrome respiratoire du Moyen-Orient (MERS-CoV)

Mis à jour le 27 janvier 2015
Les renseignements sont régulièrement examinés et mis à jour au besoin.

Pourquoi tenir compte du présent avis

Depuis avril 2012, des cas d'infection à coronavirus du syndrome respiratoire du Moyen-Orient (MERS-CoV) ont été détectés dans les pays suivants : Arabie saoudite, Qatar, Jordanie, Émirats arabes unis, Oman, Koweït, Yémen, Liban, Iran, Algérie, Algeria, Royaume-Uni, France, Italie, Grèce, Allemagne, Pays-Bas, Autriche, Tunisie, Égypte, Malaisie, Turquie et États-Unis d'Amérique.

Les premiers cas en France, en Italie, en Tunisie et au Royaume-Uni étaient liés à des voyages au Moyen-Orient. Une transmission limitée dans des pays d'Europe et du nord de l'Afrique a touché des personnes ayant eu des contacts étroits avec des personnes qui s'étaient récemment rendues au Moyen-Orient. Tous les cas de l'Europe, de l'Afrique du Nord, de l'Asie du Sud-Est et de l'Amérique du Nord ont visité le Moyen-Orient ou été en contact avec une personne ayant visité cette région.

Les coronavirus causent le rhume, mais aussi des maladies à symptômes pseudogrippaux plus graves, dont le syndrome respiratoire aigu sévère (SRAS), qui peuvent dans certains cas entraîner la mort. Ce nouveau virus n'est pas le virus du SRAS.

Les symptômes d'une infection à MERS-CoV sont similaires à ceux d'une pneumonie grave : soudaine maladie respiratoire grave accompagnée de fièvre, de toux, d'un essoufflement et de difficultés à respirer. Depuis la première identification du MERS-CoV, des cas graves et des décès ont été observés chez les patients qui avaient des problèmes de santé sous-jacents et les patients âgés. La maladie a moins gravement touché les jeunes patients qui étaient autrement en bonne santé.

Au 27 janvier 2015, l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé avait recensé 956 cas humains, dont 351 décès. D'autres cas d'infection à cette nouvelle souche de coronavirus sont attendus.

Risque pour les Canadiens

Le risque pour la population canadienne est faible. Le virus ne semble pas se transmettre facilement d'une personne à une autre, et le risque d'exposition semble présent seulement dans les pays du Moyen-Orient touchés.

Nous ne comprenons cependant pas encore tout à fait comment le MERS-CoV infecte les gens. Les données donnent de plus en plus à penser que la transmission se fait par contact avec des dromadaires vivants ou par ingestion de produits provenant des dromadaires (lait, viande). Des experts font toujours enquête pour découvrir la source et le mode de transmission du virus.

Dans les cas connus où le virus semble s'être transmis d'une personne à une autre, il s'agissait de contacts étroits : membres de la famille, collègues de travail, autres patients et travailleurs de la santé. Le nombre d'infections chez les travailleurs de la santé a récemment augmenté, ce qui rappelle l'importance d'appliquer de rigoureuses pratiques de lutte contre les infections dans les milieux de soins.

Les laboratoires fédéraux et provinciaux sont en mesure de détecter le virus et soumettent des échantillons à des tests. Il n'y a pas de cas d'infection au Canada à l'heure actuelle.

Les Canadiens peuvent se protéger contre ces types de virus en prenant des précautions générales :

  • éviter les contacts étroits avec toute personne présentant des signes de maladie (p. ex. toux et éternuements);
  • tousser et éternuer dans leur bras plutôt que dans leurs mains;
  • se laver les mains souvent et soigneusement;
  • rester à la maison s'ils sont malades.

Information à l'intention des voyageurs

Bien qu'à l'heure actuelle l'Agence n'impose aucune restriction de voyage relative à cette situation, des conseils de santé aux voyageursLien externe ont été affichés pour guider les voyageurs canadiens. Nous continuerons de surveiller la situation de très près et tiendrons les Canadiens au courant comme il convient.

Ce que fait l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada

L'Agence de la santé publique du Canada travaille avec ses partenaires nationaux et internationaux, dont l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS), pour surveiller la situation et échanger de l'information. Au moyen du système national de surveillance du Canada, l'Agence surveille la transmission de la grippe et de maladies pseudogrippales au Canada. Elle surveille aussi les éclosions de grippe à l'échelle mondiale.

L'Agence évalue en tout temps le risque de transmission de virus d'un voyageur malade aux Canadiens en travaillant avec ses partenaires, dont l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, pour appuyer le dépistage et la détection, et pour mettre en place d'autres mesures, au besoin, afin de protéger les voyageurs.

Renseignements additionnels

Personne-ressource pour les médias

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Relations avec les médias
613-957-2983

-->