Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

ARCHIVED - Investing In Prevention - The Economic Perspective

Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of CanadaExternal link, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

This synthesis paper summarizes the current state of knowledge and debate about the economic benefits of prevention.  This includes evaluations of specific clinical, health protection, and health promotion interventions, as well as the potential micro- and macro-economic benefits of acting on broader determinants of health (e.g., early childhood development) for health and well-being.

The report

  • highlights the economic potential of prevention,
  • draws on examples of recent economic evaluations in key intervention areas to illustrate general research trends,
  • discusses current gaps in evaluation knowledge, and
  • outlines some of the critical methodological considerations to make when using economic evaluation evidence to inform policy and program decisions.

Consistent with other assessments of the economics of preventive health interventions, this survey of the recent evidence found that some interventions are cost-saving for the health system, and many others are cost-effective. Adopting a broader social determinants of health perspective can increase the likelihood of favourable cost-effectiveness, and potential for cost-savings, for many prevention initiatives.

Table of Contents

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

ARCHIVÉ - Investir en prévention – la perspective économique

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du CanadaLien externe, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

Ce rapport résume l’état actuel des connaissances sur les avantages économiques de la prévention et le débat entourant cette question. On y évalue notamment des interventions cliniques et des interventions dans les domaines de la protection et de la promotion de la santé. On y présente aussi les éventuels avantages micro et macro-économiques de mesures visant les déterminants de la santé généraux (p. ex. le développement des jeunes enfants) pour la santé et le bien-être des gens.

Le rapport :

  • met en évidence le potentiel économique de la prévention;
  • utilise des évaluations économiques récentes de secteurs d’intervention importants pour illustrer les tendances générales en recherche;
  • analyse les lacunes actuelles dans les connaissances;
  • présente des aspects méthodologiques essentiels dont il faut tenir compte quand on utilise des données tirées d’évaluations économiques pour prendre des décisions touchant à des politiques ou à des programmes.

Tout comme d’autres évaluations de l’aspect économique des interventions sanitaires préventives, l’examen révèle que des interventions permettent de faire des économies de coûts tandis que de nombreuses autres sont rentables. Le fait d’élargir les déterminants sociaux de la santé peut accroître la possibilité d’obtenir un bon rapport coût-efficacité et de faire des économies dans le cadre de nombreuses initiatives de prévention.

Table des matières