Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

Ottawa Charter for Health Promotion: An International Conference on Health Promotion

November 17-21, 1986
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

This charter is also available for downloading or viewing:
Ottawa Charter for Health Promotion (PDF document - 192 KB - 5 pages)

The first International Conference on Health Promotion, meeting in Ottawa this 21st day of November 1986, hereby presents this CHARTER for action to achieve Health for All by the year 2000 and beyond.

This conference was primarily a response to growing expectations for a new public health movement around the world. Discussions focused on the needs in industrialized countries, but took into account similar concerns in all other regions. It built on the progress made through the Declaration on Primary Health Care at Alma Ata, the World Health Organization's Targets for Health for All document, and the recent debate at the World Health Assembly on intersectoral action for health.

Health Promotion

Health promotion is the process of enabling people to increase control over, and to improve, their health. To reach a state of complete physical, mental and social well-being, an individual or group must be able to identify and to realize aspirations, to satisfy needs, and to change or cope with the environment. Health is therefore, seen as a resource for everyday life, not the objective of living. Health is a positive concept emphasizing social and personal resources, as well as physical capacities. Therefore, health promotion is not just the responsibility of the health sector, but goes beyond healthy life-styles to well-being.

Prerequisites for Health

The fundamental conditions and resources for health are peace, shelter, education, food, income, a stable eco-system, sustainable resources, social justice and equity. Improvement in health requires a secure foundation in these basic prerequisites.

Advocate

Good health is a major resource for social, economic and personal development and important dimension of quality of life. Political, economic, social cultural, environmental, behavioural and biological factors can all favour health or be harmful to it. Health promotion action aims at making these conditions favourable through advocacy for health.

Enable

Health promotion focuses on achieving equity in health. Health promotion action aims at reducing differences in current health status and ensuring equal opportunities and resources to enable all people to achieve their fullest health potential. This includes a secure foundation in a supportive environment, access to information, life skills and opportunities for making healthy choices. People cannot achieve their fullest health potential unless they are able to take control of those things which determine their health. This must apply equally to women and men.

Mediate

The prerequisites and prospects for health cannot be ensured by the health sector alone. More importantly, health promotion demands coordinated action by all concerned: by governments, by health and other social and economic sectors, by non-governmental and voluntary organizations, by local authorities, by industry and by the media. People in all walks of life are involved as individuals, families and communities. Professional and social groups and health personnel have a major responsibility to mediate between differing interests in society for the pursuit of health.

Health promotion strategies and programmes should be adapted to the local needs and possibilities of individual countries and regions to take into account differing social, cultural and economic systems.

Health Promotion action means:

Build healthy public policy

Health promotion goes beyond health care. It puts health on the agenda of policy makers in all sectors and at all levels, directing them to be aware of the health consequences of their decisions and to accept their responsibilities for health.

Health promotion policy combines diverse but complementary approaches including legislation, fiscal measures, taxation and organizational change. It is coordinated action that leads to health, income and social policies that foster greater equity. Joint action contributes to ensuring safer and healthier goods and services, healthier public services, and cleaner, more enjoyable environments.

Health promotion policy requires the identification of obstacles to the adoption of healthy public policies in non-health sectors, and ways of removing them. The aim must be to make the healthier choice the easier choice for policy makers as well.

Create supportive environments

Our societies are complex and interrelated. Health cannot be separated from other goals. The inextricable links between people and their environment constitutes the basis for a socio-ecological approach to health. The overall guiding principle for the world, nations, regions and communities alike, is the need to encourage reciprocal maintenance - to take care of each other, our communities and our natural environment. The conservation of natural resources throughout the world should be emphasized as a global responsibility.

Changing patterns of life, work and leisure have a significant impact on health. Work and leisure should be a source of health for people. The way society organizes work should help create a healthy society. Health promotion generates living and working conditions that are safe, stimulating, satisfying and enjoyable.

Systematic assessment of the health impact of a rapidly changing environment - particularly in areas of technology, work, energy production and urbanization - is essential and must be followed by action to ensure positive benefit to the health of the public. The protection of the natural and built environments and the conservation of natural resources must be addressed in any health promotion strategy.

Strengthen community action

Health promotion works through concrete and effective community action in setting priorities, making decisions, planning strategies and implementing them to achieve better health. At the heart of this process is the empowerment of communities, their ownership and control of their own endeavours and destinies.

Community development draws on existing human and material resources in the community to enhance self-help and social support, and to develop flexible systems for strengthening public participation and direction of health matters. This requires full and continuous access to information, learning opportunities for health, as well as funding support.

Develop personal skills

Health promotion supports personal and social development through providing information, education for health and enhancing life skills. By so doing, it increases the options available to people to exercise more control over their own health and over their environments, and to make choices conducive to health.

Enabling people to learn throughout life, to prepare themselves for all of its stages and to cope with chronic illness and injuries is essential. This has to be facilitated in school, home, work and community settings. Action is required through educational, professional, commercial and voluntary bodies, and within the institutions themselves.

Reorient health services

The responsibility for health promotion in health services is shared among individuals, community groups, health professionals, health service institutions and governments. They must work together towards a health care system which contributes to the pursuit of health.

The role of the health sector must move increasingly in a health promotion direction, beyond its responsibility for providing clinical and curative services. Health services need to embrace an expanded mandate which is sensitive and respects cultural needs. This mandate should support the needs of individual and communities for a healthier life, and open channels between the health sector and broader social, political, economic and physical environmental components.

Reorienting health services also requires stronger attention to health research as well as changes in professional education and training. This must lead to a change of attitude and organization of health services, which refocuses on the total needs of the individual as a whole person.

Moving into the future

Health is created and lived by people within the settings of their everyday life; where they learn, work, play and love. Health is created by caring for oneself and others, by being able to take decisions and have control over one's life circumstances, and by ensuring that the society one lives in creates conditions that allow the attainment of health by all its members.

Caring, holism and ecology are essential issues in developing strategies for health promotion. Therefore, those involved should take as a guiding principle that, in each phase of planning, implementation and evaluation of health promotion activities, women and men should become equal partners.

Comitment to health promotion
The participants in this conference pledge:

  • To move into the arena of healthy public policy, and to advocate a clear political commitment to health and equity in all sectors;

  • To counteract the pressures towards harmful products, resource depletion, unhealthy living conditions, and environments, and bad nutrition; and to focus attention on public health issues such as pollution, occupational hazards, housing and settlements;

  • To respond to the health gap within and between societies, and to tackle the inequities in health produced by the rules and practices of these societies

  • To acknowledge people as the main health resource; to support and enable them to keep themselves, their families and friends healthy through financial and other means, and to accept the community as the essential voice in matters of its health, living conditions and well-being;

  • To reorient health services and their resources towards the promotion of health; and to share power with other sectors, other disciplines and most importantly with people themselves;

  • To recognize health and its maintenance as a major social investment and challenge; and to address the overall ecological issue of our ways of living.

The conference urges all concerned to join them in their commitment to a strong public health alliance.

Call for international action

The conference calls on the World Health Organization and other international organizations to advocate the promotion health in all appropriate forums and to support countries insetting up strategies and programmes for health promotion.

The Conference is firmly convinced that if people in all walks of life, nongovernmental and voluntary organizations, governments, the World Health Organization and all other bodies concerned join forces in introducing strategies for health promotion, in line with the moral and social values that form the basis of this CHARTER, Health for All by the year 2000 will become a reality.

This CHARTER for action was developed and adopted by an international conference, jointly organized by the World Health Organization, Health and Welfare Canada and the Canadian Public Health Association. Two hundred and twelve participants from 38 countries met from November 17 to 21, 1986, in Ottawa, Canada to exchange experiences and share knowledge of health promotion.

The Conference stimulated an open dialogue among lay, health and other professional workers, among representatives of governmental, voluntary and community organizations, and among politicians, administrators, academics and practitioners. Participants coordinated their efforts and came to a clearer definition of the major challenges ahead. They strengthened their individual and collective commitment to the common goal of Health for All by the Year 2000.

This CHARTER for action reflects the spirit of earlier public charters through which the needs of people were recognized and acted upon. The CHARTER presents fundamental strategies and approaches for health promotion which the participants considered vital for major progress. The conference report develops the issues raised, gives concrete examples and practical suggestions regarding how real advances can be achieved, and outlines the action required of countries and relevant groups.

The move towards a new public health is now evident worldwide. This was reaffirmed not only be the experiences but by the pledges of Conference participants who were invited as individuals on the basis of their expertise. The following countries were represented: Antigua, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Eire, England, Finland, France, German Democratic Republic, Federal Republic of Germany, Ghana, Hungary, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, St. Kitts-Nevis, Scotland, Spain, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Union of Soviet Socialist Republic, United States of America, Wales and Yugoslavia.

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

Charte d'Ottawa pour la promotion de la santé : Une conférence internationale pour la promotion de la santé

Vers une nouvelle santé publique
17-21 novembre 1986, Ottawa (Ontario) Canada

Cette chartre peut également être téléchargée ou visualisée :
Charte d'Ottawa pour la promotion de la santé (Document PDF - 470 ko - 5 pages)

La première Conférence internationale pour la promotion de la santé, réunie à Ottawa en ce 21e jour de novembre 1986, émet la présente CHARTE pour l'action, visant la Santé pour tous d'ici l'an 2000 et au-delà.

Cette conférence était avant tout une réaction à l'attente, de plus en plus manifeste, d'un nouveau mouvement de santé publique dans le monde. Les discussions se sont concentrées sur les besoins des pays industrialisés, tout en tenant compte des problèmes de toutes les autres régions. La Conférence a pris comme base de départ les progrès accomplis grâce à la Déclaration d'Alma Ata sur les soins primaires, au document "Les buts de la Santé pour tous", et au récent débat sur l'action intersectorielle pour la santé, dans le cadre de l'Assemblée mondiale de la Santé.

Promotion de la santé

La promotion de la santé est le processus qui confère aux populations les moyens d'assurer un plus grand control sur leur propre santé, et d'améliorer celle-ci. Cette démarche relève d'un concept définissant la "santé" comme la mesure dans laquelle un groupe ou un individu peut d'une part, réaliser ses ambitions et satisfaire ses besoins et, d'autre part, évoluer avec le milieu ou s'adapter à celui-ci. La santé est donc perçue comme une ressource de la vie quotidienne, et non comme le but de la vie; il s'agit d'un concept positif mettant en valeur les ressources sociales et individuelles, ainsi que les capacités physiques. Ainsi donc, la promotion de la santé ne relève pas seulement du secteur sanitaire : elle dépasse les modes de vie sains pour viser le bien-être.

Conditions préalables à la santé

Les conditions et ressources préalables sont, en matière de santé : la paix, un abri, de la nourriture et un revenu. Toute amélioration du niveau de santé est nécessairement solidement ancrée dans ces éléments de base.

Promouvoir l'idée

Une bonne santé est une ressource majeure pour le progrès social, économique et individuel, tout en constituant un aspect important de la qualité de la vie. Les facteurs politiques, économiques, sociaux, culturels, environnementaux, comportementaux et biologiques peuvent tous intervenir en faveur ou au détriment de la santé. La démarche de promotion de la santé tente de rendre ces conditions favorables par le biais de la promotion des idées.

Conférer les moyens

La promotion de la santé vise l'égalité en matière de santé. Ses interventions ont pour but de réduire les écarts actuels caractérisant l'état de santé, et d'offrir à tous les individus les mêmes ressources et possibilités pour réaliser pleinement leur potentiel santé. Cela comprend une solide fondation dans un milieu apportant son soutien, l'information, les aptitudes et les possibilités permettant de faire des choix sains. Les gens ne peuvent réaliser leur potentiel de santé optimal s'ils ne prennent pas en charge les éléments qui déterminent leur état de santé. En outre, cela doit s'appliquer également aux hommes et aux femmes.

Servir de médiateur

Seul, le secteur sanitaire ne saurait offrir ces conditions préalables et ces perspectives favorables à la santé. Fait encore plus important, la promotion de la santé exige l'action concertée de tous les intervenants : les gouvernements, le secteur de la santé et les domaines sociaux et économiques connexes, les organismes bénévoles, les autorités régionales et locales, l'industrie et les médias. Les gens de tous milieux interviennent en tant qu'individus, familles et communautés. Les groupements professionnels et sociaux, tout comme les personnels de santé, sont particulièrement responsable de la médiation entre les intérêts divergents, en faveur de la santé.

Les programmes et stratégies de promotion de la santé doivent être adaptés aux besoins et possibilités locaux des pays et régions, et prendre en compte les divers systèmes sociaux, culturels et économiques.

L'intervention en promotion de la santé signifie que l'on doit :

Élaborer une politique publique saine

La promotion de la santé va bien au-delà des soins. Elle inscrit la santé à l'ordre du jour des responsables politiques des divers secteurs en les éclairant sur les conséquences que leurs décisions peuvent avoir sur la santé, et en leur faisant admettre leur responsabilité à cet égard.

Une politique de promotion de la santé combine des méthodes différentes mais complémentaires, et notamment : la législation, les mesures fiscales, la taxation et les changements organisationnels. Il s'agit d'une action coordonnée qui conduit à la santé, et de politiques fiscales et sociales favorisant une plus forte égalité. L'action commune permet d'offrir des biens et services plus sains et moins dangereux, des services publics favorisant davantage la santé, et des milieux plus hygiéniques et plus plaisants.

La politique de promotion de la santé suppose l'identification des obstacles gênant l'adoption des politiques publiques saines dans les secteurs non sanitaires, ainsi que la détermination des solutions. Le but doit être de rendre les choix sains les plus faciles pour les auteurs des politiques également.

Créer des milieux favorables

Nos sociétés sont complexes et interreliées, et l'on ne peut pas séparer la santé des autres objectifs.

Le lien qui unit de façon inextricable les individus et leur milieu constitue la base d'une approche socio-écologique de la santé. Le grand principe directeur menant le monde, les régions, les nations et les communautés est le besoin d'encourager les soins mutuels, de veiller les uns sur les autres, de nos communautés et de notre milieu naturel. Il faut attirer l'attention sur la conservation des ressources naturelles en tant que responsabilité mondiale.

L'évolution des schèmes de la vie, du travail et des loisirs doit être une source de santé pour la population, et la façon dont la société organise le travail doit permettre de la rendre plus saine. La promotion de la santé engendre des conditions de vie et de travail sûres, stimulantes, plaisantes et agréables.

L'évaluation systématique des effets du milieu sur la santé - et plus particulièrement dans les domaines de la technologie, de l'énergie et de l'urbanisation, qui évoluent rapidement - est indispensable; de plus, elle doit être suivie d'une intervention garantissant le caractère positif de ces effets. La protection des milieux naturels et artificiels et la conservation des ressources naturelles doivent recevoir une attention majeure dans toute stratégie de promotion de la santé.

Renforcer l'action communautaire

La promotion de la santé procède de la participation effective et concrète de la communauté à la fixation des priorités, à la prise des décisions et à l'élaboration des stratégies de planification, pour atteindre un meilleur niveau de santé.

La promotion de la santé puise dans les ressources humaines et physiques de la communauté pour stimuler l'indépendance de l'individu et le soutien social, et pour instaurer des systèmes souples susceptibles de renforcer la participation et le contrôle du public dans les questions sanitaires. Cela exige l'accès illimité et permanent aux informations sur la santé, aux possibilités de santé et à l'aide financière.

Acquérir des aptitudes individuelles

La promotion de la santé soutient le développement individuel et social en offrant des informations, en assurant l'éducation pour la santé et en perfectionnant les aptitudes indispensables à la vie. Ce faisant, elle permet aux gens d'exercer un plus grand contrôle sur leur propre santé, et de faire des choix favorables à celle-ci.

Il est crucial de permettre aux gens d'apprendre pendant toute leur vie et de se préparer à affronter les diverses étapes de cette dernière. Cette démarche doit être accomplie à l'école, dans les foyers, au travail et dans le cadre communautaire, par les organismes professionnels, commerciaux et bénévoles, et dans les institutions elles-mêmes.

Réorienter les services de santé

Dans le cadre des services de santé, la tâche de promotion est partagée entre les particuliers, les groupes communautaires, les professionnels de la santé, les institutions offrant les services, et les gouvernements. Tous doivent oeuvrer ensemble à la création d'un système de soins servant les intérêts de la santé.

Le rôle du secteur sanitaire doit abonder de plus en plus dans le sens de la promotion de la santé, au-delà du mandat exigeant la prestation des soins médicaux. Ce secteur doit se doter d'un nouveau mandat comprenant le plaidoyer pour une politique sanitaire multisectorielle, ainsi que le soutien des individus et des groupes dans l'expression de leurs besoins de santé et dans l'adoption de modes de vie sains.

La réorientation des services de santé exige également une attention accrue à l'égard de la recherché sanitaire, ainsi que des changements au niveau de l'éducation et de la formation professionnelles. Ceci doit mener à un changement d'attitude et d'organisation au sein des services de santé, recentrés sur l'ensemble des besoins de l'individu perçu globalement.

Entrer dans l'avenir

La santé est engendrée et vécue dans les divers cadres de la vie quotidienne : là où l'on apprend, où l'on travaille, où l'on joue et où l'on aime. Elle résulte des soins que l'on s'accorde et que l'on dispense aux autres, de l'aptitude à prendre des décisions et à contrôler ses conditions de vie, et de l'assurance que la société dans laquelle on vit offre à tous ses membres la possibilité de jouir d'un bon état de santé.

L'intérêt pour autrui, l'approche holistique et l'écologie sont des éléments indispensables à la conceptualisation et à l'élaboration des stratégies de promotion de la santé. Ainsi donc, les auteurs des ces stratégies doivent adopter comme principe directeur le fait que, à tous les niveaux de la planification, de la mise en oeuvre et de l'évaluation de la promotion de la santé, hommes et femmes sont des associés égaux.

L'engagement face à la promotion de la santé

Les participants de cette conférence s'engagent :

  • À intervenir dans le domaine des politiques publiques saines et à plaider en faveur d'un engagement politique clair en ce qui concerne la santé et l'égalité dans tous les secteurs;

  • À contrer les pressions exercées en faveur des produits dangereux, des milieux et conditions de vie malsains ou d'une nutrition inadéquate; ils s'engagent également à attirer l'attention sur les questions de santé publique telles que la pollution, les risques professionnels, le logement et les peuplements;

  • À combler les écarts de niveau de santé dans les sociétés et à lutter contre les inégalités produites dans ce domaine par les règles et pratiques des sociétés;

  • À reconnaître que les individus constituent la principale ressource sanitaire, à les soutenir et à leur donner les moyens de demeurer en bonne santé, eux, leurs familles et leurs amis; ils s'engagent également à accepter la communauté comme le principal porte-parole en matière de santé, de conditions de vie et de bien-être;

  • À réorienter les services de santé et leurs ressources au profit de la promotion de la santé, et à partager leur pouvoir avec d'autres secteurs, d'autres disciplines et, ce qui est encore plus important, avec la population elle-même;

  • À reconnaître que la santé et son maintien constituent un investissement social majeur, et à traiter la question écologique globale que représentent nos modes de vie.

Les participants de la Conférence prient instamment toutes les personnes intéressées de se joindre à eux dans leur engagement en faveur d'une puissante alliance pour la santé publique.

Appel pour une action internationale

La Conférence demande à l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé et aux autres organismes internationaux de plaider en faveur de la promotion de la santé, dans le cadre de tous les forums appropriés, et d'aider les pays à établir des programmes et stratégies de promotion de la santé.

Les participants de la conférence sont fermement convaincus que si les gens de tous milieux, les organismes non gouvernementaux, les associations bénévoles, les gouvernements, l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé et toutes les autres instances concernées s'unissent pour lancer des stratégies de promotion de la santé conformes aux valeurs morales et sociales inhérentes à cette CHARTE, la Santé pour tous d'ici l'an 2000 deviendra une réalité

Cette CHARTE pour l'action a été élaborée et adoptée par une conférence internationale organisée conjointement par l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé, le Ministère canadien de la Santé et du Bien-être social et l'Association canadienne de santé publique. Deux cent douze délégués de 38 pays se sont rencontrés du 17 au 21 novembre 1986 à Ottawa (Canada) pour échanger connaissances et expériences en promotion de la santé.

La Conférence a stimulé un dialogue ouvert entre profanes et professionnels de la santé et d'autres secteurs, entre représentants des agences gouvernementales, bénévoles et communautaires, ainsi qu'entre politiciens, administrateurs, universitaires et praticiens. Les participants ont eu l'occasion de coordonner leurs efforts et de mieux définir les grands problèmes, tout en renouvelant leur engagement individuel et collectif face à l'objectif commun de la Santé pour tous d'ici l'an 2000.

Cette CHARTE pour l'action reflète l'esprit de celles qui l'ont précédée, dans lesquelles on reconnaissait et traitait les besoins des populations. Elle présente les stratégies et méthodes fondamentales de promotion de la santé que les participants considèrent indispensables à l'accomplissement de progrès majeurs. Le rapport de la Conférence traite en détail les questions soulevées, offre des exemples concrets et des suggestions pratiques sur la façon dont nous pouvons faire de réels progrès, et précise l'engagement exigé des nations et des groupes concernés.

La démarche vers une nouvelle santé publique est désormais évidente dans le monde entier. Elle a d'ailleurs été confirmée non seulement par les expériences, mais aussi par les engagements des participants de la Conférence; ceux-ci, qui étaient invités à titre individuel en fonction de leur spécialisation, représentaient les pays suivants : Angleterre, Antigua, Australie, Autriche, Belgique, Bulgarie, Canada, Danemark, Écosse, Espagne, États-Unis, Finlande, France, Ghana, Hongrie, Islande, Israël, Italie, Japon, Malte, Nouvelle-Zélande, Norvège, Pays-Bas, Pays de Galles, Pologne, Portugal, République démocratique allemande, République fédérale allemande, République d'Irlande, Roumanie, St. Kitts-Nevis, Soudan, Suède, Suisse, Tchécoslovaquie, Ulster, Union des Républiques Socialistes Soviétiques et Yougoslavie.