Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

What is the Population Health Approach?

Production of this resource has been made possible through a financial contribution by Health Canada prior to the announcement of the establishment of the Public Health Agency of Canada on September 24, 2004. Any reference to Health Canada should be assumed to be to the Public Health Agency of Canada.

The population health approach is positioned in the Public Health Agency of Canada as a unifying force for the entire spectrum of health system interventions -- from prevention and promotion to health protection, diagnosis, treatment and care -- and integrates and balances action between them. The approach is integral to the Department's broader role of improving the health of Canadians.

In January 1997, the Federal, Provincial and Territorial Advisory Committee on Population Health (ACPH) defined population health as follows: Population health refers to the health of a population as measured by health status indicators and as influenced by social, economic and physical environments, personal health practices, individual capacity and coping skills, human biology, early childhood development, and health services. As an approach, population health focuses on the interrelated conditions and factors that influence the health of populations over the life course, identifies systematic variations in their patterns of occurrence, and applies the resulting knowledge to develop and implement policies and actions to improve the health and well-being of those populations.

-from Toward a Healthy Future, Second Report on the Health of Canadians,

What is Population Health?

Population health is an approach to health that aims to improve the health of the entire population and to reduce health inequities among population groups. In order to reach these objectives, it looks at and acts upon the broad range of factors and conditions that have a strong influence on our health.

See also Focus on the Health of Populations.

Population Health: Defining Health

A population health approach reflects a shift in our thinking about how health is defined. The notion of health as a positive concept, signifying more than the absence of disease, led initially to identifying it as a state of complete physical, mental and social well-being. However, making health synonymous with well-being, human development and quality of life confused health with its determinants and made it unmeasurable as the outcome of action addressing those determinants. Moreover, it became impossible to talk about the contribution of health to social well-being and quality of life - yet their relationship should be seen as reciprocal and (potentially) mutually reinforcing.

The population health approach recognizes that health is a capacity or resource rather than a state, a definition which corresponds more to the notion of being able to pursue one's goals, to acquire skills and education, and to grow. This broader notion of health recognizes the range of social, economic and physical environmental factors that contribute to health. The best articulation of this concept of health is "the capacity of people to adapt to, respond to, or control life's challenges and changes" (Frankish et al., 1996).

- Health Impact Assessment as a Tool for Population Health Promotion and Public Policy by C.J. Frankish et al., Institute of Health Promotion Research, University of British Columbia, Vancouver: 1996


See also What is health? This question was prepared by the Canadian Council on Social Development.

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

The Population Health Template: Key Elements and Actions That Define A Population Health Approach (PDF document 599.01 KB - 46 pages) organizes and consolidates current understandings of population health. The template outlines the procedures and processes required to implement a population health approach. It provides guideposts that help to assess preparedness and capacity to implement population health initiatives. Building on advances in health promotion and public health, the Population Health Template is a resource for people in health and other sectors who strive to improve the health of populations.

The Population Health Template can be used by multiple groups for various purposes:

  • Policy makers and program planners can use the template to guide and direct policy and program development so that initiatives reflect population health key elements.
  • The template supports health educators in the development of training curriculum and materials that reinforce and promote population health approaches.
  • The template can offer evaluators a set of criteria for evaluating health-related programs against population health key elements.
  • Grant reviewers and writers can use the template to assess the degree to which funding proposals align with population health concepts.
  • Among researchers and academics, the template can serve as a testing field for population-health related assumptions and hypotheses (and thereby, advance theory), as well as support the development of population health models and instruments.

The Public Health Agency of Canada has identified population health as a key concept and approach for policy and program development aimed at improving the health of Canadians. The concepts and ideas presented in this paper support the Public Health Agency of Canada's initiative to promote a population health approach in Canada. The overarching aim of this paper is to develop and advance our understanding of a population health approach and to spark debate and discussion about the nature of a population health approach and how it can be implemented. Because the paper sets forth the outside parameters of a population health approach, it is detailed and comprehensive. To support operationalization of a population health approach, an application tool, which summarizes the key concepts of this paper,has also been developed.

History

Population health builds on a long tradition of public health and health promotion. In 1974, the federal government's White Paper, A New Perspect ive on the Health of Canadians (Lalonde Report), proposed that changes in lifestyles or social and physical environments would likely lead to more improvements in health than would be achieved by spending more money on existing health care delivery systems. The Lalonde Report gave rise to a number of highly successful, proactive health promotion programs which increased awareness of the health risks associated with certain personal behaviours and lifestyles (e.g., smoking, alcohol, nutrition, fitness).

More information is available on the history of population health.

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

Qu'est-ce que l'approche axée sur la santé de la population?

La production de cette ressource a été rendue possible grâce à une contribution financière provenant de Santé Canada avant l'annonce de la création de l' Agence de la santé publique du Canada le 24 septembre 2004. Toute référence à Santé Canada devrait être acheminée à l'Agence de santé publique du Canada.

Qu'est-ce que la santé de la population?

L'approche axée sur la santé de la population vise à améliorer l'état de santé d'une population entière et à réduire les inégalités en matière de santé entre différents groupes démographiques. Pour atteindre ce double objectif, cette discipline se penche sur le vaste éventail de facteurs et de conditions exerçant le plus d'incidence sur notre santé, et tente d'influer sur ceux-ci.

Voir aussi Placer la santé des populations au centre des préoccupations

Santé de la population : définir la notion de santé

L'adoption d'une approche axée sur la santé de la population marque une rupture dans notre façon de définir la santé. La notion de santé comme concept positif, au-delà de l'absence de maladie, nous a d'abord menés à l'associer à un état de bien-être physique, mental et social complet. Cependant, considérer la santé comme synonyme de bien-être, de développement humain et de qualité de vie, c'était confondre la santé et ses déterminants, ce qui la rendait impossible à mesurer comme résultat de ces déterminants. Cette vision ne permettait pas non plus de parler de la contribution de la santé au bien-être de la société et à la qualité de vie, bien qu'on doive considérer cette relation comme réciproque et mutuellement favorable.

L'approche axée sur la santé de la population considère la santé comme une capacité ou une ressource, plutôt qu'un état; cette définition correspond davantage à la notion de la capacité de la personne de poursuivre ses objectifs, d'acquérir des compétences et de l'instruction, de se développer. Cette définition plus large tient compte de l'éventail des facteurs liés aux environnements social, économique et physique qui influent sur la santé. La meilleure façon d'expliquer ce concept de santé consiste à le considérer comme « la capacité des gens de s'adapter ou de réagir aux difficultés comme aux changements ou de les contrôler » (Frankish et al. 1996).

- Frankish, C.J. et al., Health Impact Assessment as a Tool for Population Health Promotion and Public Policy (Vancouver, Institute of Health Promotion Research, Université de la Colombie-Britannique, 1996).


Qu’est-ce que la santé? Ces questions et réponses ont été créées pour le Réseau canadien de la santé par le Centre for Health Promotion, de l’Université de Toronto.

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Le modèle de promotion de la santé de la population: Éléments clés et mesures qui caractérisent une approche axée sur la santé de la population (PDF document 904.03 Ko - 52 pages)

sert à ordonner et à regrouper les connaissances actuelles en santé de la population. Le modèle décrit les processus et procédures nécessaires pour mettre en oeuvre une approche axée sur la santé de la population. Il sert de guide pour bien évaluer l'état de préparation et la capacité de mettre sur pied des projets en santé de la population. Parce qu'il s'appuie sur les progrès déjà réalisés en promotion de la santé et en santé publique, le Modèle de promotion de la santé de la population est une ressource précieuse pour ceux qui travaillent dans le domaine de la santé et dans d'autres secteurs et qui se consacrent à l'amélioration de la santé de la population.

Le Modèle de promotion de la santé de la population peut être utilisé par différents groupes à diverses fins

  • Les stratèges et planificateurs de programmes peuvent utiliser le modèle pour orienter et diriger la mise en oeuvre de politiques et de programmes de manière que les projets reflètent les éléments clés en santé de la population.
  • Le modèle aide les éducateurs en matière de santé dans la création de programmes et de matériel de formation qui renforcent et appuient les démarches d'amélioration de la santé de la population.
  • Le modèle peut offrir aux évaluateurs un ensemble de critères destinés à évaluer les programmes de santé par rapport aux éléments clés de la santé de la population.
  • Les personnes qui rédigent ou qui étudient les demandes de subventions peuvent utiliser le modèle pour évaluer à quel point les demandes de financement s'accordent avec les concepts établis en santé de la population.
  • Pour les chercheurs et les professeurs d'université, le modèle peut servir à vérifier les postulats et hypothèses en matière de santé de la population (et donc à faire progresser la théorie) et à soutenir la création de modèles et la mise en oeuvre d'outils en matière de santé de la population.

Santé Canada définit la santé de la population comme une approche et un élément fondamentaux pour l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes visant l'amélioration de la santé des Canadiens et des Canadiennes. Les concepts et les idées proposées dans ce rapport correspondent au projet de Santé Canada consistant à promouvoir une approche axée sur la santé de la population au Canada. Le rapport a comme principal objectif d'enrichir et de faire progresser notre connaissance de l'approche axée sur la santé de la population, ainsi que de susciter la discussion sur la nature de cette approche et sur la façon de la mettre en oeuvre. Étant donné que ce rapport expose les déterminants qui se manifestent à l'extérieur du secteur de la santé dans cette approche axée sur la santé de la population, il est donc détaillé et complet. Pour faciliter l'opérationnalisation d'une approche axée sur la santé de la population, un outil de mise en application qui réunit les concepts clés de ce rapport a également été créé.

Survol historique

Le concept de santé de la population repose sur une longue tradition en matière de santé publique et de promotion de la santé. En 1974, le Livre blanc du gouvernement fédéral, intitulé Nouvelle perspective de la santé des Canadiens (Rapport Lalonde), soutenait qu'en modifiant le mode de vie ou l'environnement physique et social, on arriverait probablement à améliorer davantage la santé que si l'on investissait plus d'argent dans les systèmes existants de prestation de soins. Le Rapport Lalonde a inspiré un certain nombre de programmes de promotion de la santé proactifs et très efficaces qui ont réussi à sensibiliser la population aux risques pour la santé associés à certains comportements personnels et modes de vie (p. ex. le tabagisme, l'usage d'alcool, la nutrition, la condition physique).

De plus amples renseignements sur l'histoire du concept de santé de la population sont accessibles.