Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

Statement from the Honourable Rona Ambrose

November 27, 2013
For immediate release

Government of Canada Deploys Epidemiologist in Support of World Health Organization Public Health Efforts in the Philippines

(OTTAWA) - The Public Health Agency of Canada has offered to send Dr. Lee Lior to join the WHO response team in the Philippines and work as part of the Global Outbreak Alert Response Network (GOARN). Working with the WHO on a coordinated health response, the team will assist the Philippine's Department of Health to identify and make recommendations on how to mitigate the risks to public health in the wake of this disaster.

Conditions following natural disasters, such as Hurricane Katrina and the earthquake in Haiti, contribute to increased cases of many infectious diseases such as gastro-intestinal and respiratory diseases. Surveillance is needed on the ground to help detect infectious diseases. In the Philippines, public health concerns include food and water-borne illnesses and vector-borne diseases.

Our Government continues to have epidemiologists on standby if further mobilization is required in order to aid in the response to protect public health.

GOARN is a network of technical institutions and partners that helps to coordinate international responses to disasters. The network provides access to technical expertise, deploys experts to respond to international outbreaks, and supports alert and response capacity in the immediate aftermath of major natural disasters and in complex humanitarian emergencies. The Public Health Agency of Canada is a founding member of GOARN and provides advice and guidance on the operations and development of the network through the Steering Committee.

Media Enquiries:
Health Canada
Office of the Honourable Rona Ambrose
Federal Minister of Health
(613) 957-0200

Public Inquiries:
(613) 957-2991
1-866-225-0709


Public Health Agency of Canada
Media Relations
(613) 957-2983

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

Déclaration de l'honorable Rona Ambrose

27 novembre 2013
Pour publication immédiate

Déploiement d’une épidémiologiste de l’administration fédérale pour appuyer les efforts de l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé en matière de santé publique aux Philippines

(OTTAWA) - L’Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC) a proposé d’envoyer la Dre Lee Lior pour se joindre à l’équipe d’intervention de l’OMS aux Philippines et travailler au sein du Global Outbreak Alert Response Network (GOARN). Collaborant avec l’OMS à une intervention sanitaire concertée, l’équipe aidera le ministère de la Santé des Philippines à élaborer et présenter des recommandations sur la façon d’atténuer les risques pour la santé publique résultant de cette catastrophe.

À la suite de catastrophes naturelles comme l’ouragan Katrina et le séisme à Haïti, de nombreuses maladies infectieuses, notamment des affections gastro-intestinales et respiratoires, se propagent en raison des conditions insalubres. Une surveillance sur le terrain est nécessaire pour aider à détecter les maladies infectieuses. Aux Philippines, les maladies d’origine alimentaire et hydrique ainsi que les maladies à transmission vectorielle menacent la santé publique.

Des épidémiologistes de l’Agence demeurent en attente au cas où d’autres ressources doivent être mobilisées pour appuyer les mesures visant à protéger la santé publique.

Le GOARN est un réseau d’institutions techniques et de partenaires qui aident à coordonner des interventions internationales, fournissent une expertise technique, déploient des experts en cas d’éclosion mondiale et appuient les capacités d’alerte et d’intervention immédiatement après des catastrophes naturelles ainsi que dans des situations d’urgence humanitaire complexes. L’Agence de la santé publique du Canada en est l’un des membres fondateurs et, par l’entremise du comité directeur, elle fournit conseils et directives sur les activités et l’expansion du réseau.

Renseignements aux médias
Santé Canada
Cabinet de l’honorable Rona Ambrose
Ministre fédérale de la Santé
(613) 957-0200

Renseignements au public
(613) 957-2991
1-866-225-0709


Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Relations avec les médias
(613) 957-2983