Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page




NAME: West Nile virus (WNV)

SYNONYM OR CROSS REFERENCE: WNV(1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13>), West Nile fever(6), West Nile encephalitis, WN fever(1,10), West Nile disease(12), and West Nile neuroinvasive disease(10).

CHARACTERISTICS: A member of the genus Flavivirus, and Flavivirida e family(1,3,4,6). West Nile virus is an icosahedral, enveloped virus of 40 to 50 nm in diameter(1,5,10) and has a single-stranded, positive-sense RNA genome(1,5,6,12). WNV belongs to the Japanese encephalitis antigenic complex(14).


PATHOGENICITY/TOXICITY: Most individuals infected with WNV remain asymptomatic(4,10,12). West Nile (WN) fever is typically a mild illness lasting 3 to 6 days(1,4,12). The main symptoms are sudden onset of fever with chills, rash, malaise, headache, backache, arthralgia, myalgia and eye pain(1,4,10). Other non-specific manifestations include nausea, vomiting, anorexia, diarrhoea, rhinorrhoea, sore throat, and cough(1,10). In some patients there is generalised lymphadenopathy, and an erythematous macular, papular, or morbilliform eruption involving the entire body(1,4,10).

Meningitis, encephalitis, and/or acute flaccid paralysis develop in less than 1% of WNV-infected individuals(2,10,14). Patients with neurological disease typically have a febrile prodrome of 1 to 7 days, which may be biphasic, before they develop neurological symptoms(1). Typically, neurological patients will present with a fever, stiff neck, headache, weak muscles, gastrointestinal symptoms, disorientation, tremors, convulsions, and paralysis(1,4,10).

A New York serological survey revealed that, of those infected, approximately 20% developed West Nile fever(14). The overall case fatality rate ranges from 4% to 14% in individuals exhibiting neuroinvasive disease, with a higher incidence of severe presentation and higher fatality rates in older populations(2,14).

EPIDEMIOLOGY: WNV was first discovered in 1937 from the blood of a febrile woman in the West Nile region of Uganda(5,9,10). WNV is now known to be enzootic in most of Africa, southern Europe, India, the Middle East, western and southeast Asia, Australia (known as Kunjin virus), and North America(1,8,9,15). WNV was first detected in North America in 1999, following an outbreak in New York City(8). The virus spread westwards across the United States, southward into Central America and the Caribbean, and northward into Canada(8,10,11), resulting in the largest epidemics of neuroinvasive WNV fever ever known(8,10). In temperate and subtropical regions, most infections in humans occur in summer or early fall when; whereas, infections in tropical regions tend to coincide with the rainy season when mosquito populations are most abundant(16).

HOST RANGE: Humans(1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,17), mosquitoes(1,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,12), ticks(7,8), birds (particularly passerine species)(1,3,5,6,8,9,17), horses(1,6), alligators (Alligator mississippiensis )(6), tree squirrels (Sciurus spp.)(3), eastern chipmunks (Tamias striatus ), eastern cottontail rabbits (Sylvilagus floridanus ), lake frogs ( Rana ridibunda ); as well as a broad range of common North American wild and domestic mammals, such as dogs, deer, feral swine, coyotes, foxes, opossums, raccoons skunks, bats and other small rodents.

INFECTIOUS DOSE: One viral unit (via the intramuscular route)(18).

MODE OF TRANSMISSION: The main route of infection is via the bite of a mosquito that has been infected by feeding on WNV infected birds(1,3,6,9). Humans and most other mammals are regarded as dead-end hosts, since they do not produce sufficient viraemia to infect mosquitoes and thus do not significantly contribute to the transmission cycle(10,12).

Other possible routes include blood transfusion, vertical transmission, breast milk, organ transplantation(11), contact of the conjunctiva with contaminated bodily secretions of infected birds(17), and laboratory accidents involving injury with sharps(13).

INCUBATION PERIOD: Ranges from 2 to 6 days, but may extend to 14 days, or as long as 21 days for patients following organ transplantation(1,14).

COMMUNICABILITY: Human-to-human transmission can occur via infected breast milk, organ transplantation, blood transfusion, and via vertical transmission (from mother to child during pregnancy)(11).


RESERVOIR: Birds, particularly passerine species (jays, finches, grackles, sparrows, and crows)(3,6,11).

ZOONOSIS: Yes. Humans can contract WNV from the exposure of conjunctival membranes(17) and/or percutaneous injury to the body fluids or tissues of WNV infected birds(13), as well as indirectly by the bite of an infected mosquito(4,15,16).

VECTORS: The main vectors are Culex mosquitoes(1,3,4,9,10).
In North America: C. pipiens , C. restuans , C. salinarius , C. quinquefasciatus , and C. tarsalis(3,9,10).
In Africa and the Middle East: C. univittatus(5,9).
In Asia: C. vishnui(5).
In Europe: C. pipiens , C. modestus , and Coquillettidia richiardii(9).
Other mosquito species such as Culex nigripalpus , Aedes albopictus , Aedes vexans , and
Ochlerotatus triseriatus , may also be of importance in the transmission of WNV(3).


DRUG SUSCEPTIBILITY: Ribavirin and interferon can inhibit WNV in vitro(10,11).

SUSCEPTIBILITY TO DISINFECTANTS: Susceptible to disinfectants such as 3 to 8% formaldehyde, 2% glutaraldehyde, 2 to 3% hydrogen peroxide, 500 to 5,000 ppm available chlorine, alcohol, 1% iodine, and phenol iodophors(19).

PHYSICAL INACTIVATION: Inactivated by heat (50 to 60°C for at least 30 minutes), ultraviolet light, and gamma irradiation(19).

SURVIVAL OUTSIDE HOST: Low temperatures preserve infectivity, with stability being greatest below -60°C(19). When added to ELISA wash buffer there is a 10-fold decrease in titre per 24 hour period at 28°C(20).


SURVEILLANCE: Monitor for symptoms. Confirmation is via virus isolation from blood(1,2,4,11) or cerebrospinal fluid(1,2,10,11) during the viraemic phase. Other methods of detection include PCR(2,3,4,13,18), haemagglutinin inhibition(1,12,17), plaque reduction neutralization(1,12), compliment fixation, indirect immunofluorescence assay(12), and IgM capture ELISA(1,2,3,10,12,17).

Note: All diagnostic methods are not necessarily available in all countries.

FIRST AID/TREATMENT: Currently there is no treatment of proven efficacy for WNV fever(10,11). Supportive therapy for encephalitis cases includes intravenous fluid, electrolyte management, assisted respiration if needed, anticonvulsants, management of cerebral oedema, and prevention of secondary bacterial infections(1,2). Studies have assessed ribavirin, interferon, osmotic agents, gamma globulins, and steroids for treatment of WN fever in open trials, but more definitive evidence is needed to determine their efficacy(1,2,4).

IMMUNIZATION: None currently available. An inactivated vaccine is available for horses, but human vaccines are unlikely to be available for several years(4,12), although a number of candidates are in clinical trials(10,12).

PROPHYLAXIS: None currently available. The most effective preventative measure it to avoid mosquito bites(2,3,4,8,10). There are no chemoprophylactic measures for individuals suspected of being in contact with WNV. To prevent transmission of WNV through blood transfusion and organ donations, blood products are screened for WNV in the United States(11).


LABORATORY-ACQUIRED INFECTIONS: Eighteen cases were reported up until 1980(21), with no deaths. Recently two more cases were reported of workers who acquired WNV following percutaneous inoculation whilst handling fluids and tissues infected with WNV(2).

SOURCES/SPECIMENS: Blood(2,3,10,12), cerebrospinal fluid(1,2,3,10,11,12), tissues(2,3,11,12,17), infected arthropods(1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13), oral and cloacal swabs, and feather pulp(3).

PRIMARY HAZARDS: Needlestick injuries, droplets, and aerosols(6,13,17).

SPECIAL HAZARDS: Faecal secretions of infected birds may present a hazard to humans(4,17).



CONTAINMENT REQUIREMENTS: Containment Level 3 facilities, equipment, and operational practices for work involving infectious or potentially infectious materials, animals, or cultures.

PROTECTIVE CLOTHING: Personnel entering the laboratory should remove street clothing and jewellery, and change into dedicated laboratory clothing and shoes, or don full coverage protective clothing (i.e., completely covering all street clothing). Additional protection may be worn over laboratory clothing when infectious materials are directly handled, such as solid-front gowns with tight fitting wrists, gloves, and respiratory protection. Eye protection must be used where there is a known or potential risk to splashes(23).

OTHER PRECAUTIONS: All activities with infectious material should be conducted in a biological safety cabinet (BSC) or other appropriate primary containment device in combination with personal protective equipment. Centrifugation of infected materials must be carried out in closed containers placed in sealed safety cups, or in rotors that are unloaded in a biological safety cabinet. The use of needles, syringes, and other sharp objects should be strictly limited. Open wounds, cuts, scratches, and grazes should be covered with waterproof dressings. The use of needles, syringes and other sharp objects should be strictly limited. Additional precautions should be considered with work involving animals or large scale activities(23).


SPILLS: Allow aerosols to settle and, wearing protective clothing, gently cover spill with paper towels and apply appropriate disinfectant, starting at the perimeter and working towards the centre. Allow sufficient contact time before clean up (30 min).

DISPOSAL: Decontaminate all materials for disposal by steam sterilisation, chemical disinfection, and/or incineration(23).

STORAGE: In sealed, leak-proof containers that are appropriately labelled and locked in a Containment Level 3 laboratory(23).


REGULATORY INFORMATION: The import, transport, and use of pathogens in Canada is regulated under many regulatory bodies, including the Public Health Agency of Canada, Health Canada, Canadian Food Inspection Agency, Environment Canada, and Transport Canada. Users are responsible for ensuring they are compliant with all relevant acts, regulations, guidelines, and standards.

UPDATED: September 2010.

PREPARED BY: Pathogen Regulation Directorate, Public Health Agency of Canada.

Although the information, opinions and recommendations contained in this Pathogen Safety Data Sheet are compiled from sources believed to be reliable, we accept no responsibility for the accuracy, sufficiency, or reliability or for any loss or injury resulting from the use of the information. Newly discovered hazards are frequent and this information may not be completely up to date.

Copyright ©
Public Health Agency of Canada, 2010


  1. Watts, D. M. (2006). Japanese Encephalitis and West Nile and Other Flavivirus Infections. In R. Guerrant, D. Walker & P. Weller (Eds.), Tropical Infectious Diseases: Principles, Pathogens, and Practice (2nd ed., pp. 823-830). Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier Churchill Livingston.
  2. Watson, J. T., & Gerber, S. I. (2004). West Nile Virus: A brief review. Pediatric Infectious Disease Journal, 23 (4), 357-358.
  3. Trevejo, R. T., & Eidson, M. (2008). West Nile virus. Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association, 232 (9), 1302-1309.
  4. Petersen, L. R., Marfin, A. A., & Gubler, D. J. (2003). West Nile Virus. JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association, 290 (4), 524-528. doi:10.1001/jama.290.4.524
  5. Van Der Meulen, K. M., Pensaert, M. B., & Nauwynck, H. J. (2005). West Nile virus in the vertebrate world. Archives of Virology, 150 (4), 637-657.
  6. Briese, T., & Bernard, K. A. (2005). West Nile virus - An old virus learning new tricks? Journal of Neurovirology, 11 (5), 469-475.
  7. Glaser, A. (2004). West Nile virus and North America: An unfolding story. OIE Revue Scientifique Et Technique, 23 (2), 557-568.
  8. Hayes, E. B., Komar, N., Nasci, R. S., Montgomery, S. P., O'Leary, D. R., & Campbell, G. L. (2005). Epidemiology and transmission dynamics of West Nile virus disease. Emerging Infectious Diseases, 11 (8), 1167-1173.
  9. Mackenzie, J. S., Gubler, D. J., & Petersen, L. R. (2004). Emerging flaviviruses: The spread and resurgence of Japanese encephalitis, West Nile and dengue viruses. Nature Medicine, 10 (12 SUPPL.), S98-S109.
  10. Davis, L. E., DeBiasi, R., Goade, D. E., Haaland, K. Y., Harrington, J. A., Harnar, J. B., Pergam, S. A., King, M. K., DeMasters, B. K., & Tyler, K. L. (2006). West nile virus neuroinvasive disease. Annals of Neurology, 60 (3), 286-300.
  11. Hayes, E. B., & O'Leary, D. R. (2004). West Nile Virus Infection: A Pediatric Perspective. Pediatrics, 113 (5 I), 1375-1381.
  12. Dauphin, G., & Zientara, S. (2007). West Nile virus: Recent trends in diagnosis and vaccine development. Vaccine, 25 (30 SPEC. ISS.), 5563-5576.
  13. From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Laboratory-acquired West Nile virus infections--United States, 2002. (2003). JAMA : The Journal of the American Medical Association, 289 (4), 414-415.
  14. Peterson, L. R., & Marfin, A. A. (2002). West Nile Virus: A Primer for the Clinician. Annals of Internal Medicine, 137 (3), E-173-E-179.
  15. Heymann, D. L. (2008). Control of Communicable Diseases Manual (19th Edition ed.). Washington, D.C.: American Public Health Association.
  16. Campbell, G. L., Marfin, A. A., Lanciotti, R. S., & Gubler, D. J. (2002). West Nile virus. The Lancet Infectious Diseases, 2 (9), 519-529.
  17. Fonseca, K., Prince, G. D., Bratvold, J., Fox, J. D., Pybus, M., Preksaitis, J. K., & Tilley, P. (2005). West Nile virus infection and conjunctival exposure [8]. Emerging Infectious Diseases, 11 (10), 1648-1649.
  18. Collins, C. H., & Kennedy, D. A. (1999). Exposure, sources and routes of infection. Laboratory-Acquired Infections: History, incidence, causes and prevention (4th ed., pp. 52). Oxford U.K.: Butterworth Heinemann.
  19. Burke, D. S., & Monath, T. P. (2001). Flaviviruses . In D. M. Knipe, & P. A. Howley (Eds.), (4th ed., pp. 1043-1125). Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
  20. Mayo, D. R., & Beckwith III, W. H. (2002). Inactivation of West Nile virus during serologic testing and transport. Journal of Clinical Microbiology, 40 (8), 3044-3046.
  21. Scherer, W. F., Eddy, G. A., & Monath, T. P. (1980). Laboratory safety for arboviruses and certain other viruses of vertebrates. American Journal of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, 29 (6), 1359-1381.
  22. Human pathogens and toxins act. S.C. 2009, c. 24, Second Session, Fortieth Parliament, 57- 58 Elizabeth II, 2009. (2009).
  23. Public Health Agency of Canada. (2004). In Best M., Graham M. L., Leitner R., Ouellette M. and Ugwu K. (Eds.), Laboratory Biosafety Guidelines (3rd ed.). Canada: Public Health Agency of Canada.

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

VIRUS DU NIL OCCIDENTAL

FICHE TECHNIQUE SANTÉ-SÉCURITÉ: AGENTS PATHOGÈNES

SECTION I - AGENT INFECTIEUX

NOM : Virus du Nil occidental (VNO)

SYNONYME OU RENVOI : VNO(1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13), fièvre du Nil occidental(6), encéphalite du Nil occidental, fièvre du NO(1,10), maladie du Nil occidental(12) et maladie neuro-invasive du Nil occidental(10).

CARACTÉRISTIQUES : Membre du genre Flavivirus et de la famille des Flaviviridae(1,3,4,6). Le virus du Nil occidental est un virion enveloppé icosaèdre de 40 à 50 nm de diamètre(1,5,10) dont le génome est formé d'un simple brin d'ARN de polarité positive(1,5,6,12). Le VNO fait partie du complexe antigénique de l'encéphalite japonaise(14).

SECTION II - DÉTERMINATION DU RISQUE

PATHOGÉNICITÉ ET TOXICITÉ : La plupart des personnes infectées par le VNO demeurent asymptomatiques(4,10,12). La fièvre du Nil occidental (NO) est habituellement d'intensité légère et dure de 3 à 6 jours(1,4,12). Les principaux symptômes comprennent une fièvre d'apparition soudaine accompagnée de frissons, d'éruptions cutanées, d'un malaise général, de maux de tête, de dorsalgies, d'arthralgies, de douleurs musculaires et de douleurs oculaires(1,4,10). Parmi les autres manifestations non spécifiques de cette maladie, notons des nausées, des vomissements, une anorexie, une diarrhée, une rhinorrhée, des maux de gorge et de la toux(1,10). Chez certains patients, on observe une lymphadénopathie généralisée et des éruptions érythémateuses maculaires, papuleuses ou morbiliformes touchant toutes les parties du corps(1,4,10).

Moins de 1 % des patients infectés par le VNO présentent une méningite, une encéphalite et/ou une paralysie flasque(2,10,14). Les patients présentant des troubles neurologiques ont habituellement un prodrome fébrile de 1 à 7 jours, parfois biphasique, avant l'apparition des symptômes neurologiques(1). D'ordinaire, les patients ayant des manifestations neurologiques présentent une fièvre, une raideur de la nuque, des maux de tête, une faiblesse musculaire, des symptômes gastro-intestinaux, de la désorientation, des tremblements, des convulsions et une paralysie(1,4,10).

Une étude sérologique menée à New York a révélé que parmi les personnes infectées, environ 20 % présentent une fièvre du Nil occidental(14). Le taux de létalité global varie entre 4 et 14 % chez les patients ayant une maladie neuro-invasive; on observe une incidence plus élevée de cas graves et des taux de létalité supérieurs chez les personnes âgées(2,14).

ÉPIDÉMIOLOGIE : Le VNO a été découvert en 1937 dans le sang d'une femme fiévreuse dans la région du Nil Occidental de l'Ouganda(5,9,10). Le VNO est maintenant enzootique dans la majeure partie de l'Afrique, dans le Sud de l'Europe, en Inde, au Moyen-Orient, dans les régions Ouest et Sud de l'Asie, en Australie (où il est connu sous le nom de virus de Kunjin) et en Amérique du Nord(1,8,9,15). Le VNO a été détecté pour la première fois en Amérique du Nord en 1999, après une éclosion à New York(8). Le virus s'est ensuite propagé vers l'Ouest des États-Unis, vers le sud en Amérique centrale et aux Caraïbes et vers le nord au Canada(8,10,11), entraînant les plus importantes éclosions de fièvre du VNO neuro-invasive jamais connues(8,10). Dans les régions tempérées et subtropicales, les infections chez l'humain se produisent surtout l'été ou au début de l'automne; tandis que dans les régions tropicales, les infections coïncident généralement avec la saison des pluies, pendant laquelle les populations de moustiques sont très abondantes(16).

GAMME D'HÔTES : Humains(1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,17), moustiques(1,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,12), tiques(7,8), oiseaux (plus particulièrement les espèces de passereaux)(1,3,5,6,8,9,17), chevaux(1,6), alligators (Alligator mississippiensis)(6), écureuils arboricoles (Sciurus spp.)(3), tamias rayés (Tamias striatus), lapins à queue blanche (Sylvilagus floridanus), grenouilles rieuses (Rana ridibunda); ainsi qu'une grande variété de mammifères sauvages et domestiques courants de l'Amérique du Nord, tels que chiens, cerfs, cochons sauvages, coyotes, renards, opossums, ratons laveurs, mouffettes, chauve-souris et autres petits rongeurs.

DOSE INFECTIEUSE : Une unité virale (par voie intramusculaire)(18).

MODE DE TRANSMISSION : La principale voie d'infection est la piqûre d'un moustique infecté après avoir piqué des oiseaux infectés par le VNO(1,3,6,9). Les humains et la plupart des autres mammifères sont considérés comme des culs-de-sac épidémiologiques, puisque la virémie atteinte n'est pas suffisante pour infecter les moustiques et ainsi contribuer de façon significative au cycle de transmission(10,12).

Les autres voies potentielles de transmission comprennent la transfusion sanguine, la transmission verticale, le lait maternel, la greffe d'organe(11), le contact de la conjonctive avec les sécrétions corporelles contaminées d'oiseaux infectés(17) et des accidents de laboratoire avec des objets piquants ou tranchants(13).

PÉRIODE D'INCUBATION : Se situe entre 2 et 6 jours, mais peut durer 14 jours, ou même atteindre 21 jours chez les patients ayant subi une greffe d'organe(1,14).

TRANSMISSIBILITÉ : La transmission d'une personne à une autre peut se faire par le lait maternel infecté, une greffe d'organe, une transfusion de sang et par transmission verticale (de la mère à l'enfant pendant la grossesse)(11).

SECTION III - DISSÉMINATION

RÉSERVOIR : Oiseaux, en particulier les espèces de passereaux (geais, roselins, mainates religieux, moineaux et corneilles)(3,6,11).

ZOONOSE : Oui. Les humains peuvent contracter le VNO par exposition de la conjonctive(17) et/ou de lésions percutanées aux liquides corporels ou tissus d'oiseaux infectés par le VNO(13), et indirectement, par la piqûre d'un moustique infecté(4,15,16).

VECTEURS : Les principaux vecteurs sont les moustiques du genre Culex(1,3,4,9,10).

En Amérique du Nord : C. pipiens , C. restuans , C. salinarius , C. quinquefasciatus et
C. tarsalis(3,9,10).
En Afrique et au Moyen-Orient: C. univittatus(5,9).
En Asie: C. vishnui(5).
En Europe: C. pipiens , C. modestus et Coquillettidia richiardii(9).
D'autres espèces de moustiques, comme Culex nigripalpus , Aedes albopictus , Aedes vexans et Ochlerotatus triseriatus , peuvent jouer un rôle important dans la transmission du VNO(3).

SECTION IV - VIABILITÉ ET STABILITÉ

SENSIBILITÉ AUX MÉDICAMENTS : La ribavirine et l'interféron peuvent inhiber le VNO in vitro(10,11).

SENSIBILITÉ AUX DÉSINFECTANTS : Sensible aux désinfectants comme le formaldéhyde à 3-8 %, le glutaraldéhyde à 2 %, le peroxyde d'hydrogène à 2-3 %, le chlore actif à 500-5 000 ppm, l'alcool, l'iode à 1 % et les phénol-iodophores(19).

INACTIVATION PHYSIQUE : Inactivé par la chaleur (50 à 60 °C pendant au moins 30 minutes), la lumière ultra-violette et les rayons gamma(19).

SURVIE À L'EXTÉRIEUR DE L'HÔTE : L'infectiosité est maintenue à basse température, sa stabilité étant maximale en dessous de -60 °C(19). Lorsqu'on ajoute un tampon de lavage ELISA, on note une diminution du titre par un facteur de 10 par période de 24 heures à une température de 28 °C(20).

SECTION V - PREMIERS SOINS ET ASPECTS MÉDICAUX

SURVEILLANCE : Surveiller les symptômes. La confirmation de l'infection se fait par isolement du virus dans des échantillons de sang(1,2,4,11) ou de liquide céphalorachidien(1,2,10,11) pendant la phase virémique. Les autres méthodes de détection incluent la PCR(2,3,4,13,18), l'inhibition de l'hémagglutinine(1,12,17), la neutralisation par réduction des plages(1,12), la fixation du complément, l'immunofluorescence indirecte(12) et le test ELISA avec capture des IgM(1,2,3,10,12,17).

Remarque : Les méthodes de diagnostic ne sont pas nécessairement toutes disponibles dans tous les pays.

PREMIERS SOINS ET TRAITEMENT : Il n'existe actuellement aucun traitement dont l'efficacité est établie pour la fièvre du VNO(10,11). Le traitement de soutien pour les cas d'encéphalite inclut l'administration intraveineuse de liquides et d'électrolytes, l'assistance respiratoire si nécessaire, des anticonvulsivants, la prise en charge de l'œdème cérébral et la prévention des infections bactériennes secondaires(1,2). Des études ouvertes ont évalué l'emploi de la ribavirine, de l'interféron, d'agents osmotiques, de gammaglobulines et de stéroïdes dans le traitement de la fièvre du VNO, mais il convient de recueillir davantage de données probantes pour établir l'efficacité de ces interventions(1,2,4).

IMMUNISATION : Aucun vaccin n'est actuellement offert sur le marché. Il existe un vaccin inactivé pour les chevaux, mais aucun vaccin ne devrait être offert aux humains avant plusieurs années(4,12), même si un certain nombre de molécules font présentement l'objet d'essais cliniques(10,12).

PROPHYLAXIE : Aucun traitement prophylactique n'est actuellement offert sur le marché. La mesure de prévention la plus efficace consiste à éviter les piqûres de moustiques(2,3,4,8,10). Il n'existe aucune mesure chimioprophylactique pour les personnes chez qui on soupçonne une exposition au VNO. Pour prévenir la transmission du VNO par transfusion sanguine ou don d'organe, les produits sanguins sont soumis à un dépistage du VNO aux États-Unis(11).

SECTION VI - DANGERS POUR LE PERSONNEL DE LABORATOIRE

INFECTIONS CONTRACTÉES AU LABORATOIRE : Dix-huit cas avaient été signalés jusqu'en 1980(21), sans aucun décès. Dernièrement, on a signalé deux autres cas chez du personnel de laboratoire qui avait contracté le VNO après inoculation percutanée liée à la manipulation de liquides et tissus infectés par le VNO(2).

SOURCES ET ÉCHANTILLONS : Sang(2,3,10,12), liquide céphalorachidien(1,2,3,10,11,12), tissus(2,3 11,12,17), arthropodes infectés(1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13), écouvillonnage des régions orale et cloacale et moelle de plumes(3).

DANGERS PRIMAIRES : Piqûres d'aiguilles(6,13), gouttelettes(13) et aérosols(6,13,17).

DANGERS PARTICULIERS : Les sécrétions fécales des oiseaux infectés peuvent présenter un risque d'infection pour les humains(4,17).

SECTION VII - CONTRÔLE DE L'EXPOSITION ET PROTECTION PERSONNELLE

CLASSIFICATION PAR GROUPE DE RISQUE : Groupe de risque 3(22).

EXIGENCES DE CONFINEMENT : Installations, équipement et pratiques opérationnelles de niveau de confinement 3 pour le travail avec des matières, cultures ou animaux infectieux ou potentiellement infectieux.

VÊTEMENTS DE PROTECTION : Avant d'entrer dans le laboratoire, le personnel doit enlever sa tenue de ville et ses bijoux pour ensuite mettre des vêtements et des chaussures réservés aux travaux en laboratoire, ou mettre un vêtement protecteur complet (c'est-à-dire qui couvre entièrement la tenue de ville). Une protection supplémentaire peut être portée par-dessus les vêtements de laboratoire lors de la manipulation directe de matériel infectieux, comme une blouse ne s'ouvrant pas à l'avant avec poignets serrés, des gants et une protection respiratoire. Une protection pour les yeux doit être utilisée lorsqu'il y a un risque connu ou potentiel d'éclaboussure(23).

AUTRES PRÉCAUTIONS : Toutes les activités avec du matériel infectieux doivent s'effectuer dans une enceinte de sécurité biologique (ESB) ou dans un autre dispositif de confinement primaire adéquat, avec un équipement de protection individuelle. La centrifugation des matières infectées doit s'effectuer dans des enceintes scellées placées dans des réservoirs hermétiques ou des rotors qui sont remplis et vidés dans une ESB. L'utilisation d'aiguilles, de seringues et d'autres objets tranchants doit être strictement restreinte. Les plaies ouvertes, les coupures et les éraflures doivent être couvertes avec des pansements imperméables. Des précautions supplémentaires doivent être envisagées pour les activités avec des animaux ou à grande échelle(23).

SECTION VIII - MANUTENTION ET ENTREPOSAGE

DÉVERSEMENTS : Laisser les aérosols se poser et, tout en portant des vêtements de protection, couvrir délicatement le déversement avec des essuie-tout et appliquer un désinfectant approprié, en commençant par le périmètre et en se rapprochant du centre. Laisser agir suffisamment longtemps avant de nettoyer (30 minutes)(23,24).

ÉLIMINATION : Décontaminer les déchets par stérilisation à la vapeur, incinération ou désinfection chimique(23).

ENTREPOSAGE : Dans des contenants étanches et scellés, étiquetés de façon appropriée et placés en lieu sûr(23).

SECTION IX - RENSEIGNEMENTS SUR LA RÉGLEMENTATION ET AUTRES

INFORMATION SUR LA RÉGLEMENTATION : L'importation, le transport et l'utilisation de pathogènes au Canada sont régis par de nombreux organismes de réglementation, dont l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada, Santé Canada, l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments, Environnement Canada et Transports Canada. Il incombe aux utilisateurs de veiller à respecter tous les règlements et toutes les lois, directives et normes applicables.

DERNIÈRE MISE À JOUR : Semptembre 2010

PRÉPARÉE PAR : Direction de la règlementation des agents pathogènes, agence de la santé publique du Canada.

Bien que les renseignements, opinions et recommandations présentés dans cette Fiche de renseignements proviennent de sources que nous jugeons fiables, nous ne nous rendons pas responsables de leur justesse, de leur caractère exhaustif ou de leur fiabilité, ni des pertes ou blessures pouvant résulter de l'utilisation de ces renseignements. Comme on découvre fréquemment de nouveaux dangers, il est possible que ces renseignements ne soient pas tout à fait à jour.

Tous droits réservés
© Agence de la santé publique du Canada, 2010
Canada

RÉFÉRENCES

  1. Watts, D. M. (2006). Japanese Encephalitis and West Nile and Other Flavivirus Infections. In R. Guerrant, D. Walker & P. Weller (Eds.), Tropical Infectious Diseases: Principles, Pathogens, and Practice (2nd ed., pp. 823-830). Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier Churchill Livingston.
  2. Watson, J. T., & Gerber, S. I. (2004). West Nile Virus: A brief review. Pediatric Infectious Disease Journal, 23 (4), 357-358.
  3. Trevejo, R. T., & Eidson, M. (2008). West Nile virus. Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association, 232 (9), 1302-1309.
  4. Petersen, L. R., Marfin, A. A., & Gubler, D. J. (2003). West Nile Virus. JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association, 290 (4), 524-528. doi:10.1001/jama.290.4.524
  5. Van Der Meulen, K. M., Pensaert, M. B., & Nauwynck, H. J. (2005). West Nile virus in the vertebrate world. Archives of Virology, 150 (4), 637-657.
  6. Briese, T., & Bernard, K. A. (2005). West Nile virus - An old virus learning new tricks? Journal of Neurovirology, 11 (5), 469-475.
  7. Glaser, A. (2004). West Nile virus and North America: An unfolding story. OIE Revue Scientifique Et Technique, 23 (2), 557-568.
  8. Hayes, E. B., Komar, N., Nasci, R. S., Montgomery, S. P., O'Leary, D. R., & Campbell, G. L. (2005). Epidemiology and transmission dynamics of West Nile virus disease. Emerging Infectious Diseases, 11 (8), 1167-1173.
  9. Mackenzie, J. S., Gubler, D. J., & Petersen, L. R. (2004). Emerging flaviviruses: The spread and resurgence of Japanese encephalitis, West Nile and dengue viruses. Nature Medicine, 10 (12 SUPPL.), S98-S109.
  10. Davis, L. E., DeBiasi, R., Goade, D. E., Haaland, K. Y., Harrington, J. A., Harnar, J. B., Pergam, S. A., King, M. K., DeMasters, B. K., & Tyler, K. L. (2006). West nile virus neuroinvasive disease. Annals of Neurology, 60 (3), 286-300.
  11. Hayes, E. B., & O'Leary, D. R. (2004). West Nile Virus Infection: A Pediatric Perspective. Pediatrics, 113 (5 I), 1375-1381.
  12. Dauphin, G., & Zientara, S. (2007). West Nile virus: Recent trends in diagnosis and vaccine development. Vaccine, 25 (30 SPEC. ISS.), 5563-5576.
  13. From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Laboratory-acquired West Nile virus infections--United States, 2002. (2003). JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association, 289 (4), 414-415.
  14. Peterson, L. R., & Marfin, A. A. (2002). West Nile Virus: A Primer for the Clinician. Annals of Internal Medicine, 137 (3), E-173-E-179.
  15. Heymann, D. L. (2008). Control of Communicable Diseases Manual (19th Edition ed.). Washington, D.C.: American Public Health Association.
  16. Campbell, G. L., Marfin, A. A., Lanciotti, R. S., & Gubler, D. J. (2002). West Nile virus. The Lancet Infectious Diseases, 2 (9), 519-529.
  17. Fonseca, K., Prince, G. D., Bratvold, J., Fox, J. D., Pybus, M., Preksaitis, J. K., & Tilley, P. (2005). West Nile virus infection and conjunctival exposure [8]. Emerging Infectious Diseases, 11 (10), 1648-1649.
  18. Collins, C. H., & Kennedy, D. A. (1999). Exposure, sources and routes of infection. Laboratory-Acquired Infections: History, incidence, causes and prevention (4th ed., pp. 52). Oxford U.K.: Butterworth Heinemann.
  19. Burke, D. S., & Monath, T. P. (2001). Flaviviruses . In D. M. Knipe, & P. A. Howley (Eds.), (4th ed., pp. 1043-1125). Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
  20. Mayo, D. R., & Beckwith III, W. H. (2002). Inactivation of West Nile virus during serologic testing and transport. Journal of Clinical Microbiology, 40 (8), 3044-3046.
  21. Scherer, W. F., Eddy, G. A., & Monath, T. P. (1980). Laboratory safety for arboviruses and certain other viruses of vertebrates. American Journal of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, 29 (6), 1359-1381.
  22. Human pathogens and toxins act. S.C. 2009, c. 24, Second Session, Fortieth Parliament, 57-58 Elizabeth II, 2009. (2009).
  23. Public Health Agency of Canada. (2004). In Best M., Graham M. L., Leitner R., Ouellette M. and Ugwu K. (Eds.), Laboratory Biosafety Guidelines (3rd ed.). Canada: Public Health Agency of Canada.
  24. Burnett, L. A. C., Lunn, G., & Coico, R. (2009). Biosafety: Guidelines for working with pathogenic and infectious microorganisms. Current Protocols in Microbiology, (SUPPL. 13), 1A.1.1-1A.1.14.