Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page




NAME: Respiratory syncytial virus


CHARACTERISTICS: Respiratory syncytial virus (RSV) is classified as a member of the genus Pneumovirus in the family Paramyxoviridae(1-4). Virus particles are enveloped and pleomorphic, occurring as irregular spherical particles that are 100 to 350 nm in diameter, and as long filamentous fibres that are 60 to 200 nm in diameter and 10 mm in length(2). The virion consists of eight structural proteins(1-4). Three proteins are associated with the nucleocaspid and include nucleoprotein (N), phosphoprotein (P), and polymerase or large protein (L). The other five viral proteins are contained within the virus envelope and include nonglycosylated matrix protein (M), M2, fusion protein (F), glycoprotein (G), and short hydrophobic protein (SH). RSV lacks haemagglutinin and neuraminidase activity. The viral genome consists of a linear, single- stranded, negative-sense, nonsegmented RNA (~15.2 kb).


PATHOGENICITY/TOXICITY: RSV primarily infects human epithelial cells within the nasopharynx; however, it can also infect other types of cells, including cell lines, but with much lower efficacy(1,2). Infection may lead to the formation of syncytia within the infected cell. Primary infection with RSV is generally exhibited as lower respiratory tract disease, pneumonia, bronchiolitis, tracheobronchitis, or upper respiratory tract illness(1-4). Common clinical symptoms include rhinorrhea, sneezing, cough, pharyngitis, bronchitis, headache, fatigue, and fever. In some cases, otitis media may occur(4). RSV infections usually begin with upper respiratory tract disease, which has the tendency to progress to lower respiratory tract disease (in ~50% cases)(1,2). Severe infection (involving pneumonia) may develop among elderly patients with underlying respiratory conditions. Children and immunocompromised individuals are more susceptible to developing severe disease.

EPIDEMIOLOGY: RSV occurs worldwide and is the most common cause of bronchiolitis and pneumonia among infants and young children(1-4). Within USA, 100,000 hospitalizations and 4,500 deaths annually are attributed to RSV infections(1,2). RSV is also a major cause of nosocomial infections. Morbidity and mortality is highest among children with underlying illness and individuals with immunodeficiency or immunosuppression. Virtually all children are infected by age 2 to 3(1-3). Repeated infections are common, particularly in young children with up to 5 or 6 infections per year(4). Although all individuals can be infected with RSV, those at high risk include premature infants, young children, elderly, immunocompromised(1-4), and children under age 2 with chronic lung conditions. Other factors that may predispose to RSV infection include: crowding (schools and day care centers), exposure to tobacco and smoke, low socioeconomic status, and family history of atopy and asthma. Infection among healthy and immunocompetent individuals tends to be less severe. RSV follows a seasonal pattern(1,2). Annual outbreaks occur during fall, winter, and early spring among urban centres. In the Northern hemisphere, epidemics peak in February and March, and may last up to 5 months. In tropical and subtropical regions, most outbreaks occur during the rainy season. RSV outbreaks involving lower respiratory illness have been reported in nursing homes and institutions(1).

HOST RANGE: Humans(1,2); however, various animal species can be experimentally infected with RSV including cotton rats, mice, ferrets, guinea pigs, hamsters, marmosets, lambs, and nonhuman primates(2).

INFECTIOUS DOSE: The infectious dose for RSV is > 160 - 640 viral units, administered through intranasal spray, as listed by the National Institutes of Health(5).

MODE OF TRANSMISSION: RSV is most likely transmitted through direct contact with infectious secretions (via fomites) and/or large-particle aerosols(1,2); however, close contact with infected individuals, or significant exposure of nasal or conjunctival mucosa with contaminated hands is required for transmission(2). Transmission via small-particle aerosols is less likely(1,2).

INCUBATION PERIOD: Incubation period for RSV infection ranges from 2 to 8 days(1).

COMMUNICABILITY: Communicable during the period of active disease. The disease is likely not readily transmitted from person-to-person, since significant and prolonged contact is required with infected individuals(1). Children are known to shed virus for long periods (up to weeks) even after clinical recovery(1,2).


RESERVOIR: Humans(1,6).

ZOONOSIS: None(6).



DRUG SUSCEPTIBILITY: RSV has been shown to be susceptible to ribavirin, which has been used to treat severe RSV infections; however, recent studies suggest that its use produces no significant benefit(1,2,4).

SUSCEPTIBILITY TO DISINFECTANTS: RSV has been shown to be susceptible to ether, chloroform, and a variety of detergents, including 0.1% sodium deoxycholate, sodium dodecyl sulphate, and Triton X-100(1). It may also be sensitive to hypochlorites (1% sodium hypochlorite), formaldehyde (18.5 g/L; 5% formalin in water), 2% glutaraldehyde, and iodophores (1% iodine)(7).

PHYSICAL INACTIVATION: RSV is sensitive to heating above 55 °C for 5 minutes (up to 90% decrease in infectivity)(1). It is also sensitive to freezing and thawing (~90% loss in infectivity following each freeze-thaw cycle). It is also sensitive to acidic media (pH<7).

SURVIVAL OUTSIDE HOST: RSV is generally very vulnerable to environmental changes, particularly temperature and humidity(1). It is sensitive to high and low temperature, and to drying; i.e., low humidity levels. It loses up to 90% infectivity at room temperature after 48 hours and up to 99% at 1 °C after 7 days. The optimal pH is 7.5. It may survive for about 3 to 30 hours on nonporous surfaces at room temperature.


SURVEILLANCE: Monitor for symptoms(4). Other than monitoring for symptoms, there are four main techniques for diagnosing RSV, including virus cultures, serology, immunofluorescence and/or antigen detection, and nucleic acid based tests. Being labour- intensive and time consuming, the first two techniques are rarely employed for diagnostic purposes in epidemiological studies. Rapid diagnostic techniques for viral antigen detection, including immunofluorescent-antibody assay, optical immunoassay, enzyme immunoassay, and chromatographic immunoassay are preferred(1). Most are commercially available, easy to perform and produce rapid results. Nucleic acid tests (such as RT-PCR) are generally more sensitive(4).

Note: All diagnostic methods are not necessarily available in all countries.

FIRST AID/TREATMENT: Treatment is mainly supportive for infants with mild disease; however, children with severe disease, people with underlying illness, and/or immunocompromised individuals may require hospitalization(1,2,4). Aerosolized ribavirin may be administered to immunocompromised patients with severe illness; however, recent studies suggest that its use produces no significant benefit(1,2). Palivizumab prophylactic treatment, in combination with aerosolized ribavirin, may also be considered for high-risk children. Another approach is to consider the use of anti-inflammatory drugs; however, their efficacy is yet to be determined(4).


PROPHYLAXIS: Palivizumab prophylactic treatment has been shown to reduce the rate of hospitalization in children by up to 55%; however, convincing results on its therapeutic efficacy following an infection have not been observed(1,2,4). Palivizumab is a humanized monoclonal antibody that is administered as prophylaxis to high-risk infants for RSV infection. Other monoclonal antibodies are also available(2).


LABORATORY-ACQUIRED INFECTIONS: 1 case of a laboratory-acquired infection with RSV was reported up to 1976(8).

SOURCES/SPECIMENS: The main sources for RSV include nasal secretions, nasal swabs, nasopharyngeal swabs, and nasopharyngeal aspirates(1,4).

PRIMARY HAZARDS: Droplet or aerosol exposure of mucous membranes and accidental inoculation(2).




CONTAINMENT REQUIREMENTS: Containment Level 2 facilities, equipment, and operational practices for work involving infected or potentially infected materials, animals, or cultures.

PROTECTIVE CLOTHING: Lab coat. Gloves when direct skin contact with infected materials or animals is unavoidable. Eye protection must be used where there is a known or potential risk of exposure to splashes(10).

OTHER PRECAUTIONS: All procedures that may produce aerosols, or involve high concentrations or large volumes should be conducted in a biological safety cabinet (BSC). The use of needles, syringes, and other sharp objects should be strictly limited. Additional precautions should be considered with work involving animals or large scale activities(10).


SPILLS: Allow aerosols to settle. While wearing protective clothing, gently cover the spill with absorbent paper towel and apply appropriate disinfectant, starting at perimeter and working towards the centre. Allow sufficient contact time before clean up(10).

DISPOSAL: Decontaminate, either by steam sterilization, incineration, or chemical disinfection, before disposal(10).

STORAGE: The infectious agent should be stored in sealed containers that are appropriately labelled(10). Storage conditions for RSV can be improved by flash freezing in an alcohol and by addition of stabilizing agents (glycerine or sucrose)(10).


REGULATORY INFORMATION: The import, transport, and use of pathogens in Canada is regulated under many regulatory bodies, including the Public Health Agency of Canada, Health Canada, Canadian Food Inspection Agency, Environment Canada, and Transport Canada. Users are responsible for ensuring they are compliant with all relevant acts, regulations, guidelines, and standards

UPDATED: November 2010

PREPARED BY: Pathogen Regulation Directorate, Public Health Agency of Canada.

Although the information, opinions and recommendations contained in this Pathogen Safety Data Sheet are compiled from sources believed to be reliable, we accept no responsibility for the accuracy, sufficiency, or reliability or for any loss or injury resulting from the use of the information. Newly discovered hazards are frequent and this information may not be completely up to date.

Copyright ©
Public Health Agency of Canada, 2010


  1. Tang, Y. W., & Crowe JR, J. E. (207). Respiratory Syncytial Virus and Human Metapneumovirus. In P. R. Murray, E. J. Baron, J. H. Jorgensen, M. L. Landry & M. A. Pfaller (Eds.), Manual of Clinical Microbiology (9th ed., pp. 1361-1373). Washington, USA: ASM Press.
  2. Collins, P. L., & Crowe JR, J. E. (2007). Respiratory Syncytial Virus and Metapneumovirus. In D. M. Knipe, P. M. Howley, D. E. Griffin, R. A. Lamb, M. A. Martin, B. Roizman & S. E. Straus (Eds.), Fields Virology (5th ed., pp. 1601-1636). Philadelphia, USA: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
  3. Ogra, P. L. (2004). Respiratory syncytial virus: the virus, the disease and the immune response. Paediatric Respiratory Reviews, 5 Suppl A , S119-26.
  4. Tregoning, J. S., & Schwarze, J. (2010). Respiratory viral infections in infants: causes, clinical symptoms, virology, and immunology. Clinical Microbiology Reviews, 23 (1), 74-98. doi:10.1128/CMR.00032-09
  5. Collins, C. H., & Kennedy, D. A. (1999). Exposure, sources and route of infection. Laboratory-acquired Infection: History, incidence, causes and preventions (pp. 38-53). Oxford, UK: Butterworth-Heinemann.
  6. Krauss, H., Weber, A., Appel, M., Enders, B., Isenberg, H. D., Schiefer, H. D., Slenczka, W., Graevenitz, A., & Zahner, H. (2003). Viral Zoonoses. Zoonoses: Infectious Disease Transmissible from Animals to Humans (3rd ed., pp. 123). Washington, USA: ASM Press.
  7. Disinfection and Sterilization. (1993). Laboratory Biosafety Manual (2nd ed., pp. 60-70). Geneva: WHO.
  8. Pike, R. M. (1976). Laboratory associated infections: summary and analysis of 3921 cases. Health Laboratory Science, 13 (2), 105-114.
  9. Human Pathogens and Toxins Act. S.C. 2009, c. 24, (2009).
  10. Public Health Agency of Canada. (2004). In Best B., Graham M. L., Leitner R., Ouellette M. and Ugwu K. (Eds.), Laboratory Biosafety Guidelines (3rd ed.). Canada: Public Health Agency of Canada.

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

VIRUS RESPIRATOIRE SYNCTIAL

FICHE TECHNIQUE SANTÉ-SÉCURITÉ: AGENTS PATHOGÈNES

SECTION I — AGENT INFECTIEUX

NOM: Virus respiratoire syncytial

SYNONYME OU RENVOI: VRS, Pneumovirus

CARACTÉRISTIQUES: Le virus respiratoire syncytial (VRS) fait partie du genre Pneumovirus de la famille des Paramyxoviridae(1,2,3,4). Les particules virales sont enveloppées et pléiomorphes, et prennent la forme de particules sphériques irrégulières de 100 à 350 nm de diamètre, et de longues fibres filamenteuses de 60 à 200 nm de diamètre et de 10 mm de longueur(2). Le virion est formé de huit protéines structurales(1,2,3,4). Trois protéines sont associées à la nucléocapside dont la nucléoprotéine (N), la phosphoprotéine (P) et la polymérase ou grosse protéine (L). Les cinq autres protéines virales sont contenues dans l'enveloppe virale; il s'agit de la porine non glycosylée (M), de la protéine M2, de la protéine hybride (F), de la glycoprotéine (G) et de la courte protéine hydrophobe (SH). Le VRS n'a aucune activité hémagglutinante ou neuraminidasique. Le génome viral est formé d'ARN linéaire antisens à simple brin non segmenté (environ 15,2 kb).

SECTION II — DÉTERMINATION DU RISQUE

PATHOGÉNICITÉ ET TOXICITÉ: Le VRS infecte surtout les cellules épithéliales du rhinopharynx chez l'humain, mais il peut aussi envahir d'autres types de cellules, y compris des lignées cellulaires, mais avec une efficacité nettement moindre(1,2). L'infection peut mener à la formation d'un syncytium dans la cellule infectée. L'infection primaire par le VRS se manifeste d'ordinaire par une maladie des voies respiratoires inférieures, une pneumonie, une bronchiolite, une trachéobronchite ou une maladie des voies respiratoires supérieures(1,2,3,4). Les symptômes cliniques fréquents sont notamment les suivants : rhinorrhée, éternuements, toux, pharyngite, bronchite, céphalées, fatigue et fièvre. Dans certains cas, une otite moyenne peut survenir(4). Les infections par VRS apparaissent habituellement sous forme de maladie des voies respiratoires supérieures, qui a tendance à évoluer vers une maladie touchant les voies respiratoires inférieures (dans environ 50 % des cas)(1,2). Une infection grave (avec pneumonie) peut survenir chez les sujets âgés atteints de problèmes respiratoires sous-jacents. Les enfants et les personnes immunodéprimées sont plus susceptibles de présenter une forme grave de la maladie.

ÉPIDÉMIOLOGIE: Le VRS est présent dans le monde entier et constitue la principale cause de bronchiolite et de pneumonie chez les nourrissons et les jeunes enfants(1,2,3,4). Aux États-Unis, 100 000 hospitalisations et 4 500 décès chaque année sont attribués à des infections par VRS(1, 2). Le VRS est également une importante cause d'infections nosocomiales. Les taux de morbidité et de mortalité sont le plus élevés chez les enfants atteints de maladie sous-jacente ou les personnes présentant une immunodéficience ou une immunosuppression. Presque tous les enfants sont infectés avant l'âge de 2 à 3 ans(1,2,3). Des infections répétées sont fréquentes, surtout chez les jeunes enfants qui peuvent présenter jusqu'à 5 ou 6 infections par année(4). Même si tous peuvent être infectés par le VRS, les personnes courant le plus grand risque sont notamment les bébés prématurés, les jeunes enfants, les personnes âgées, les personnes immunodéprimées(1,2,3,4), et les enfants de moins de 2 ans atteints de maladies pulmonaires chroniques. Parmi les autres facteurs pouvant prédisposer à une infection par VRS, notons : surpeuplement (écoles et garderies), exposition au tabac et à la fumée, faible statut socioéconomique, et antécédents familiaux d'atopie et d'asthme. Les infections ont tendance à être moins graves chez les personnes autrement en santé et immunocompétentes. L'infection à VRS suit un schéma saisonnier(1,2). Les épidémies annuelles surviennent à l'automne, en hiver et au début du printemps dans les centres urbains. Dans l'hémisphère Nord, les épidémies surviennent surtout en février et mars, et peuvent durer jusqu'à 5 mois. Dans les régions tropicales et sous-tropicales, la plupart des épidémies surviennent pendant la saison des pluies. Des épidémies d'infection à VRS sous forme de maladie des voies respiratoires inférieures ont été signalées dans des maisons de soins et des établissements de santé(1).

GAMME D'HÔTES: Humains(1,2); toutefois, diverses espèces animales peuvent être infectées à des fins expérimentales par le VRS, dont des rats des cotonniers, des souris, des furets, des cobayes, des hamsters, des marmousets, des agneaux et des primates autres que les humains(2).

DOSE INFECTIEUSE: La dose infectieuse de VRS est > 160 — 640 unités virales, administrées par vaporisation intranasale, tel qu'indiqué par les National Institutes of Health(5).

MODE DE TRANSMISSION: Le VRS est fort probablement transmis par contact direct avec des sécrétions infectieuses (par l'entremise de vecteurs passifs) et/ou d'aérosols contenant de grosses particules(1,2); cependant, le contact étroit avec des personnes infectées, ou une exposition importante de la muqueuse nasale ou de la conjonctive avec des mains contaminées est aussi nécessaire à la transmission(2). La transmission par des aérosols contenant de petites particules est moins probable(1,2).

PÉRIODE D'INCUBATION: La période d'incubation de l'infection à VRS est d'environ 2 à 8 jours(1).

TRANSMISSIBILITÉ: Transmissible pendant la période évolutive de la maladie. La maladie n'est probablement pas très transmissible d'une personne à une autre, puisqu'un contact important et prolongé avec la personne infectée est requis(1). Les enfants excrètent le virus sur de longues périodes (des semaines parfois), même après le rétablissement clinique(1,2).

SECTION III - DISSÉMINATION

RÉSERVOIR: Humains(1,6).

ZOONOSE: Aucune(6).

VECTEURS: Aucun.

SECTION IV — VIABILITÉ ET STABILITÉ

SENSIBILITÉ AUX MÉDICAMENTS: Le VRS s'est révélé sensible à la ribavirine, qui a été utilisée pour traiter des infections graves par VRS. Cependant, des études récentes portent à croire que son emploi ne procure aucun avantage significatif(1,2,4).

SENSIBILITÉ AUX DÉSINFECTANTS: Le VRS s'est révélé sensible à l'éther, au chloroforme et à une variété de détergents, dont le désoxycholate de sodium à 0,1 %, le dodécyl sulfate de sodium et le Triton X-100(1). Le VRS peut être sensible aux hypochlorites (hypochlorite de sodium à 1 %), au formaldéhyde (18,5 g/L; formaline à 5 % dans de l'eau), au glutaraldéhyde à 2 % et aux iodophores (iode à 1 %)(7).

INACTIVATION PHYSIQUE: Le VRS est sensible à la chaleur supérieure à 55 °C pendant 5 minutes (réduction de l'infectiosité allant jusqu'à 90 %)(1). Il est aussi sensible à la congélation et la décongélation (perte d'environ 90 % de l'infectiosité après chaque cycle de congélation et décongélation). Il est aussi sensible à un milieu acide (pH < 7).

SURVIE À L'EXTÉRIEUR DE L'HÔTE: Le VRS est habituellement très vulnérable face aux changements dans l'environnement, en particulier en ce qui a trait à la température et à l'humidité(1). Il est sensible aux températures élevées et basses et à la dessiccation, soit à de faibles taux d'humidité. Il perd jusqu'à 90 % de son infectiosité à la température ambiante après 48 heures et jusqu'à 99 % de son infectiosité à 1 °C après 7 jours. Le pH optimal est de 7,5. Le virus peut survivre de 3 à 30 heures à température ambiante sur des surfaces non poreuses.

SECTION V — PREMIERS SOINS ET ASPECTS MÉDICAUX

SURVEILLANCE: Surveiller les symptômes(4). Mis à part la surveillance des symptômes, il existe quatre techniques principales permettant de diagnostiquer une infection par VRS, soit la culture virale, les analyses sérologiques, l'immunofluorescence et/ou le dépistage d'antigène, et les analyses basées sur le dépistage des acides nucléiques. Étant exigeantes en main-d'œuvre et en temps, les deux premières techniques sont rarement utilisées à des fins diagnostiques dans les études épidémiologiques. Les techniques diagnostiques rapides pour le dépistage des antigènes, dont l'analyse des anticorps par immunofluorescence, le dosage immuno-optique, le dosage immunoenzymatique et le dosage immunochromatographique sont les méthodes privilégiées(1). La plupart sont offertes sur le marché, faciles à réaliser et capables de produire des résultats rapides. Les analyses des acides nucléiques (comme la RT-PCR) sont généralement plus sensibles(4).

Remarque : Les méthodes de diagnostic ne sont pas nécessairement toutes disponibles dans tous les pays.

PREMIERS SOINS ET TRAITEMENT: Le traitement est surtout de type palliatif chez les nourrissons présentant une forme légère de l'infection; chez les enfants présentant une maladie grave, les patients avec maladie sous-jacente et/ou les personnes immunodéprimées, l'hospitalisation peut cependant être requise(1,2,4). La ribavirine en aérosol peut être administrée aux patients immunodéprimés avec maladie grave; néanmoins, des études récentes laissent entendre que son usage ne procure aucun avantage significatif(1,2). Le traitement prophylactique par palivizumab, en association avec de la ribavirine aérosolisée, peut aussi être envisagé chez les enfants à risque élevé. Une autre approche consiste à recourir à des anti-inflammatoires; cela dit, leur efficacité reste à déterminer(4).

IMMUNISATION: Aucune.

PROPHYLAXIE: On a montré que le traitement prophylactique par palivizumab pouvait réduire de 55 %, au maximum, le taux d'hospitalisation chez les enfants; cela dit, les résultats observés des études sur son efficacité thérapeutique après une infection n'étaient pas concluants(1,2,4). Le palivizumab est un anticorps monoclonal humanisé administré en prophylaxie aux nourrissons présentant un risque élevé d'infection par VRS. Il existe aussi d'autres anticorps monoclonaux(2).

SECTION VI — DANGERS POUR LE PERSONNEL DE LABORATOIRE

INFECTIONS CONTRACTÉES AU LABORATOIRE: Un cas d'infection par VRS acquise en laboratoire avait été signalé en 1976(8).

SOURCES ET ÉCHANTILLONS: Les principales sources de VRS sont les sécrétions nasales, les écouvillonnages nasaux, les écouvillonnages rhinopharyngés, et les aspirats rhinopharyngés(1,4).

DANGERS PRIMAIRES: Exposition des muqueuses à des gouttelettes ou des aérosols et inoculation accidentelle(2).

DANGERS PARTICULIERS: Aucun.

SECTION VII — CONTRÔLE DE L'EXPOSITION ET PROTECTION PERSONNELLE

CLASSIFICATION DU GROUPE DE RISQUE: Groupe de risque 2(9).

EXIGENCES DE CONFINEMENT : Installations, équipement et pratiques opérationnelles de niveau de confinement 2 pour le travail avec des matières, cultures ou animaux infectieux ou potentiellement infectieux(10).

VÊTEMENTS DE PROTECTION : Sarrau. Gants, lorsqu'un contact direct de la peau avec des matières infectées ou des animaux est inévitable. Une protection pour les yeux doit être utilisée lorsqu'il y a un risque connu ou potentiel d'éclaboussure(10).

AUTRES PRÉCAUTIONS : Toutes les procédures pouvant produire des aérosols ou mettant en cause des concentrations ou des quantités élevées doivent s'effectuer dans une enceinte de sécurité biologique (ESB). L'utilisation d'aiguilles, de seringues et d'autres objets tranchants doit être strictement restreinte. Des précautions supplémentaires doivent être envisagées pour les activités avec des animaux ou à grande échelle(10).

SECTION VIII — MANUTENTION ET ENTREPOSAGE

DÉVERSEMENTS : Laisser les aérosols se déposer et, tout en portant des vêtements de protection, couvrir délicatement le déversement avec des essuie-tout et appliquer un désinfectant approprié, en commençant par le périmètre et en se rapprochant du centre. Laisser agir suffisamment longtemps avant de nettoyer(10).

ÉLIMINATION: Décontaminer avant la mise au rebut par stérilisation à la vapeur, incinération ou désinfection chimique(10).

ENTREPOSAGE: L'agent infectieux doit être conservé dans un contenant scellé et clairement étiqueté(10). On peut améliorer les conditions de conservation du VRS par congélation instantanée dans un alcool et par l'ajout d'agents stabilisants (glycérine ou sucrose)(10).

SECTION IX — RENSEIGNEMENTS SUR LA RÉGLEMENTATION ET AUTRES

INFORMATION SUR LA RÉGLEMENTATION : L'importation, le transport et l'utilisation de pathogènes au Canada sont régis par de nombreux organismes de réglementation, dont l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada, Santé Canada, l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments, Environnement Canada et Transports Canada. Il incombe aux utilisateurs de veiller à respecter tous les règlements et toutes les lois, directives et normes applicables.

DERNIÈRE MISE À JOUR: Novembre 2010.

PRÉPARÉE PAR: Direction de la règlementation des agents pathogènes, agence de la santé publique du Canada.

Bien que les renseignements, opinions et recommandations présentés dans cette Fiche de renseignements proviennent de sources que nous jugeons fiables, nous ne nous rendons pas responsables de leur justesse, de leur caractère exhaustif ou de leur fiabilité, ni des pertes ou blessures pouvant résulter de l'utilisation de ces renseignements. Comme on découvre fréquemment de nouveaux dangers, il est possible que ces renseignements ne soient pas tout à fait à jour.

Tous droits réservés
© Agence de la santé publique du Canada, 2010
Canada

RÉFÉRENCES

  1. Tang, Y. W., & Crowe JR, J. E. (207). Respiratory Syncytial Virus and Human Metapneumovirus. In P. R. Murray, E. J. Baron, J. H. Jorgensen, M. L. Landry & M. A. Pfaller (Eds.), Manual of Clinical Microbiology (9th ed., pp. 1361-1373). Washington, USA: ASM Press.
  2. Collins, P. L., & Crowe JR, J. E. (2007). Respiratory Syncytial Virus and Metapneumovirus. In D. M. Knipe, P. M. Howley, D. E. Griffin, R. A. Lamb, M. A. Martin, B. Roizman & S. E. Straus (Eds.), Fields Virology (5th ed., pp. 1601-1636). Philadelphia, USA: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
  3. Ogra, P. L. (2004). Respiratory syncytial virus: the virus, the disease and the immune response. Paediatric Respiratory Reviews, 5 Suppl A , S119-26.
  4. Tregoning, J. S., & Schwarze, J. (2010). Respiratory viral infections in infants: causes, clinical symptoms, virology, and immunology. Clinical Microbiology Reviews, 23 (1), 74-98. doi:10.1128/CMR.00032-09
  5. Collins, C. H., & Kennedy, D. A. (1999). Exposure, sources and route of infection. Laboratory-acquired Infection: History, incidence, causes and preventions (pp. 38-53). Oxford, UK: Butterworth-Heinemann.
  6. Krauss, H., Weber, A., Appel, M., Enders, B., Isenberg, H. D., Schiefer, H. D., Slenczka, W., Graevenitz, A., & Zahner, H. (2003). Viral Zoonoses. Zoonoses: Infectious Disease Transmissible from Animals to Humans (3rd ed., pp. 123). Washington, USA: ASM Press.
  7. Disinfection and Sterilization. (1993). Laboratory Biosafety Manual (2nd ed., pp. 60-70). Geneva: WHO.
  8. Pike, R. M. (1976). Laboratory associated infections: summary and analysis of 3921 cases. Health Laboratory Science, 13 (2), 105-114.
  9. Human Pathogens and Toxins Act. S.C. 2009, c. 24, (2009).
  10. Public Health Agency of Canada. (2004). In Best B., Graham M. L., Leitner R., Ouellette M. and Ugwu K. (Eds.), Laboratory Biosafety Guidelines (3rd ed.). Canada: Public Health Agency of Canada.