Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

MYCOPLASMA PNEUMONIAE

PATHOGEN SAFETY DATA SHEET - INFECTIOUS SUBSTANCES

SECTION I - INFECTIOUS AGENT

NAME: Mycoplasma pneumoniae

SYNONYM OR CROSS REFERENCE: Eaton agent, walking pneumonia, primary atypical pneumonia, pleural atypical pneumonia Footnote 1, Footnote 2.

CHARACTERISTICS: M. pneumoniae is a respiratory tract Gram-negative spindle shaped pleomorphic bacterium, which belongs to the Mycoplasmataceae family, in the Mollicutes class Footnote 1, Footnote 3. It measures 1-2 μm long by 0.1-0.2 μm wide Footnote 4. M. pneumoniae is motile, using gliding motility instead of pili or flagella Footnote 5, Footnote 6. This bacterium lacks the cell wall and its three-layered membrane, leading M. pneumoniae to have a parasitic, intracellular, and saprophytic existence Footnote 7. M. pneumoniae colonies are 100 μm in diameter and a stereomicroscope is necessary to be able to observe them. M. pneumoniae is considered an atypical pathogen which metabolizes glucose.

SECTION II - HAZARD IDENTIFICATION

PATHOGENICITY/TOXICITY: M. pneumoniae is the cause of many upper respiratory tract infections (50% of cases), including primary atypical pneumonia and tracheobrontitis Footnote 2. Those infections may be followed or preceded by complication in 25% of patients. The majority of infected patients are asymptomatic. The disease gradually develops, with a disease onset of days to almost one month, and clinical manifestations include sore throat, hoarseness, fever, cough (may be purulent), headaches, coryza, earache, myalgias, chills, and general malaise Footnote 2. There may also be dyspnea and, in some cases, the cough may take on a pertussis-like character. Some children may develop inflammation of the throat, cervical adenopathy, conjunctivitis, and myringitis. Progression to pneumonia is rare for children under five years of age, but common for those between 5 and 15 years old. Adults usually develop mild disease or are asymptomatic; however, infection can be severe in the elderly or immunocompromised. Individuals with co-morbid conditions, such as functional asplenia, sickle cells disease, and other immunosuppressive states are at greater risk to develop more fulminant pneumonia and joint infection Footnote 2. Complications may occur before, during, or after respiratory symptoms, and may also occur without any respiratory syndrome Footnote 2. The most common complications involve the central nervous system, and may include encephalitis (the most common), coma, optic neuritis, diplopia, acute disseminated encephalomyelitis, mental confusion, cerebellar syndrome and polyradiculitis, cranial nerve palsy, aseptic meningitis and meningoencephalitis, and acute psychosis. Complications affecting the motor system include brachial plexus neuropathy, ataxia, chorioathetosis, and ascending paralysis (Guillain-Barré syndrome). Erythematous macropapular and vesicular rashes (25%), nonspecific myalgia, arthralgias and polyarthropathies (14%), cardiac, gastrointestinal, renal complications, and ears symptoms may also occur.

EPIDEMIOLOGY: M. pneumoniae occurs worldwide, but there are more cases in temperate climates Footnote 2, Footnote 8. There is a slight gender difference in certain age groups. Elderly individuals and infants are less susceptible to pneumonia. Outbreaks tend to occur in late summer and early fall, and there are cyclic epidemics every 3-5 years in civilian and military populations Footnote 1, Footnote 8.

HOST RANGE: Humans are the only known host for M. pneumoniae Footnote 2.

INFECTIOUS DOSE: Less than 100 CFU Footnote 8.

MODE OF TRANSMISSION: M. pneumoniae is principally transmitted by large droplet from person-to-person and may be transmitted by fomites to those in close contact with an infected person. As a result, secondary cases among close contacts are frequent, but since the shedding period is long, contamination may take weeks Footnote 2.

INCUBATION PERIOD: 4 to over 23 days Footnote 2.

COMMUNICABILITY: Transmission rates are high and M. pneumoniae will be shed in upper respiratory infections for 2 to 8 days before onset of symptoms, and as long as 14 weeks after infection Footnote 1, Footnote 8.

SECTION III - DISSEMINATION

RESERVOIR: Humans.

ZOONOSIS: None.

VECTORS: None.

SECTION IV - STABILITY AND VIABILITY

DRUG SUSCEPTIBILITY: M. pneumoniae is susceptible to most common antibiotics except nalidixic acid, cephalosporins, penicillins, and rifampicin Footnote 5.

SUSCEPTIBILITY TO DISINFECTANTS: Phenolic disinfectants, 1% sodium hypochlorite, 70% ethanol, formaldehyde, glutaraldehyde, iodophore, and peracedic acid are effective against M. pneumoniae Footnote 9.

PHYSICAL INACTIVATION: M. pneumoniae is inactivated by UV, microwave, gamma radiation, moist heat (121°C for at least 20 min) and dry heat (165-170°C for 2 h) Footnote 10-Footnote 13.

SURVIVAL OUTSIDE HOST: If protected from evaporation, M. pneumoniae can survive for one hour in liquid specimen and can survive for at least 4 hours in air Footnote 3, Footnote 14. Airborne survival time is generally higher when relative humidity (RH) is lower. 50% of the sample survives for 4h at 10% RH, 35% at 25% RH, 20% at 90 % RH and less than 10% at 60 and 80% RH.

SECTION V - FIRST AID / MEDICAL

SURVEILLANCE: Monitor for symptoms. Diagnosis typically done through the complement fixation test, and culture with immunofluorescent antibody (IFA) test and PCR can also confirm negative results Footnote 15. Serologic tests can also be used, however, results varies according to the presence of HIV.

Note: All diagnostic methods are not necessarily available in all countries.

FIRST AID/TREATMENT: Administer appropriate drug therapy Footnote 5.

IMMUNIZATION: Different vaccine strains have been used, but none have been successful at protecting against infection Footnote 16.

PROPHYLAXIS: None.

SECTION VI - LABORATORY HAZARD

LABORATORY-ACQUIRED INFECTIONS: None reported so far.

SOURCES/SPECIMENS: M. pneumoniae may be found in any type of clinical specimen, but more commonly on specimen from the respiratory tract Footnote 2.

PRIMARY HAZARDS: Laboratory workers should pay attention to droplets exposure on mucous membrane, infectious aerosol and ingestion Footnote 2.

SPECIAL HAZARDS: None.

SECTION VII - EXPOSURE CONTROLS / PERSONAL PROTECTION

RISK GROUP CLASSIFICATION: Risk Group 2 Footnote 18.

CONTAINMENT REQUIREMENTS: Containment Level 2 facilities, equipment, and operational practices for work involving infectious or potentially infectious materials, animals, or cultures.

PROTECTIVE CLOTHING: Lab coat. Gloves when direct skin contact with infected materials or animals is unavoidable. Eye protection must be used where there is a known or potential risk to splashes Footnote 19.

OTHER PRECAUTIONS: All procedures that may produce aerosols, or involve high concentrations or large volumes should be conducted in a biological safety cabinet (BSC). The use of needles, syringes, and other sharp objects should be strictly limited Footnote 19. Additional precautions should be considered with work involving animals and large scale activities.

SECTION VIII - HANDLING AND STORAGE

SPILLS: Allow aerosols to settle. Wearing protective clothing, gently cover spill with paper towels and apply appropriate disinfectant, starting at perimeter and working towards the centre. Allow sufficient contact time before clean up Footnote 19.

DISPOSAL: Decontaminate all wastes that contain or have come in contact with the infectious organism before disposing by autoclave, chemical disinfection, gamma irradiation, or incineration.

STORAGE: The infectious agent should be stored in leak-proof containers that are appropriately labelled.

SECTION IX - REGULATORY AND OTHER INFORMATION

REGULATORY INFORMATION: The import, transport, and use of pathogens in Canada is regulated under many regulatory bodies, including the Public Health Agency of Canada, Health Canada, Canadian Food Inspection Agency, Environment Canada, and Transport Canada. Users are responsible for ensuring they are compliant with all relevant acts, regulations, guidelines, and standards.

UPDATED: September 2016

PREPARED BY: Centre for Biosecurity, Public Health Agency of Canada.

Although the information, opinions and recommendations contained in this Pathogen Safety Data Sheet are compiled from sources believed to be reliable, we accept no responsibility for the accuracy, sufficiency, or reliability or for any loss or injury resulting from the use of the information. Newly discovered hazards are frequent and this information may not be completely up to date.

Copyright ©

Public Health Agency of Canada, 2016

Canada

REFERENCES:

Footnote 1
Atkinson, T. P., Balish, M. F., & Waites, K. B. (2008). Epidemiology, clinical manifestations, pathogenesis and laboratory detection of Mycoplasma pneumoniae infections. FEMS Microbiology Reviews, 32(6), 956-973.

Footnote 2
Waites, K. B., & Talkington, D. F. (2004). Mycoplasma pneumoniae and its role as a human pathogen. Clinical Microbiology Reviews, 17(4), 697.

Footnote 3
Waites, K. B., Rikihisa, Y., & Taylor-Robinson, D. (2003). Mycoplasma and Ureaplasma. In P. R. Murray, E. J. Baron, M. A. Pfaller, J. H. Jorgensen & R. H. Yolken (Eds.), Manual of Clinical Microbiology (8th ed., pp. 972-990). Washington, D.C.: ASM Press.

Footnote 4
Taylor-Robinson, D. (2007). The role of mycoplasmas in pregnancy outcome. Best Practice & Research Clinical Obstetrics & Gynaecology, 21(3), 425-438. doi:DOI: 10.1016/j.bpobgyn.2007.01.011

Footnote 5
Taylor-Robinson, D., & Bebear, C. (1997). Antibiotic susceptibilities of mycoplasmas and treatment of mycoplasmal infections. Journal of Antimicrobial Chemotherapy, 40(5), 622.

Footnote 6
Charon, N. W. (2005). Mycoplasma takes a walk. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, 102(39), 13713-13714. doi:10.1073/pnas.0506508102

Footnote 7
Waites, K. B. (2006). Mycoplasma and ureaplasma. Congenital and Perianal Infections (pp. 271-288) Springer.

Footnote 8
Drew, W. L. (2004). Mycoplasma and Ureaplasma. In K. J. Ryan, & C. G. Ray (Eds.), Sherris Medical Microbiology, 4th edition: an introduction to infectious diseases (pp. 409-413). Washington D.C.: ASM press.

Footnote 9
Collins, C. H., & Kennedy, D. A. (1999). Decontamination. Laboratory-Acquired Infections: History, Incidence, Causes and Prevention. (4th ed., pp. 160-186). London, UK: Buttersworth.

Footnote 10
Katara, G., Hemvani, N., Chitnis, S., Chitnis, V., & Chitnis, D. S. (2008). Surface disinfection by exposure to germicidal UV light. Indian Journal of Medical Microbiology, 26(3), 241-242.

Footnote 11
Wu, Y., & Yao, M.Inactivation of bacteria and fungus aerosols using microwave irradiation. Journal of Aerosol Science, In Press, Corrected Proof doi:DOI: 10.1016/j.jaerosci.2010.04.004

Footnote 12
Farkas, J. (1998). Irradiation as a method for decontaminating food. A review. International Journal of Food Microbiology, 44(3), 189-204.

Footnote 13
Csucos, M., & Csucos, C. (1999). Microbiological obseration of water and wastewater. United States: CRC Press.

Footnote 14
Wright, D. N., Bailey, G. D., & Hatch, M. T. (1968). Role of relative humidity in the survival of airborne Mycoplasma pneumoniae. Journal of Bacteriology, 96(4), 970.

Footnote 15
Mundy, L. M., Gaydos, C. A., Summesgill, J., Ramirez, J., Auwaerter, P., Ford, N., Duffy, L., Casseli, G., Charache, P., & Moore, R. D. (1995). Comparison of laboratory diagnostic methods for Mycoplasma pneumoniae in HIV-positive and HIV-negative patients with community-acquired pneumonia. Abstr Gen Meet Am Soc Microbiol, 95, 297.

Footnote 16
Nicholas, R. A. J., Ayling, R. D., & McAuliffe, L. (2009). Vaccines for Mycoplasma Diseases in Animals and Man. Journal of Comparative Pathology, 140(2-3), 85-96. doi:DOI: 10.1016/j.jcpa.2008.08.004

Footnote 17
Kleemola, M., & Jokinen, C. (1992). Outbreak of Mycoplasma pneumoniae infection among hospital personnel studied by a nucleic acid hybridization test. Journal of Hospital Infection, 21(3), 213-221.

Footnote 18
Human Pathogens and Toxins Act. S.C. 2009, c. 24. Government of Canada, Second Session, Fortieth Parliament, 57-58 Elizabeth II, 2009, (2009).

Footnote 19
Office of Laboratory Security, Public Health Agency of Canada. (Ed.). (2004). Laboratory Biosafety Guidelines. (3rd ed.)

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada
Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web! Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Partagez cette page

MYCOPLASMA PNEUMONIAE

FICHE TECHNIQUE SANTÉ-SÉCURITÉ: AGENTS PATHOGÈNES

SECTION I – AGENT INFECTIEUX

NOM: Mycoplasma pneumoniae

SYNONYME OU RENVOI: Agent Eaton, pneumonie ambulatoire, pneumonie primaire atypique, pneumonie pleurale atypiqueNote de bas de page 1, Note de bas de page 2.

CARACTÉRISTIQUES: M. pneumoniae est une bactérie fusiforme pléomorphe Gram négatif des voies respiratoires qui appartient à la famille des Mycoplasmataceae, de la classe des MollicutesNote de bas de page 1, Note de bas de page 3. Elle mesure de 1 à 2 µm de longueur et de 0,1 à 0,2 µm de largeurNote de bas de page 4. M. pneumoniae est mobile et se déplace par glissement plutôt que par un mouvement ondulatoire de poils ou de flagellesNote de bas de page 5, Note de bas de page 6. Cette bactérie ne possède pas de paroi cellulaire mais une triple membrane, ce qui en fait un parasite intracellulaire et un saprophyteNote de bas de page 7. Les colonies de M. pneumoniae ont un diamètre de 100 µm, et un stéréomicroscope est nécessaire pour les observer. M. pneumoniae est considéré comme un agent pathogène atypique qui métabolise le glucose.

SECTION II – DÉTERMINATION DU RISQUE

PATHOGÉNICITÉ ET TOXICITÉ: M. pneumoniae est la cause de nombreuses infections des voies respiratoires supérieures (50 % des cas), y compris de la pneumonie primaire atypique et de la trachéobronchiteNote de bas de page 2. Chez 25 % des patients, ces infections peuvent être précédées ou suivies de complications. La majorité de patients infectés ne présente pas de symptômes. La maladie se développe graduellement, les symptômes se manifestant sur une période allant de quelques jours à près d’un mois. Les manifestations cliniques comprennent un mal de gorge, un enrouement, de la fièvre, de la toux (peut être purulente), des céphalées, une rhinite, des maux d’oreille, une myalgie, des frissons et un malaise généraliséNote de bas de page 2. Il peut également y avoir une dyspnée, et, dans certains cas, la toux présente les caractéristiques d’une toux coquelucheuse. Chez certains enfants, il peut y avoir une inflammation de la gorge, une adénopathie cervicale, une conjonctivite ou une myringite. L’évolution vers la pneumonie est rare chez les enfants de moins de 5 ans, mais fréquente chez les jeunes de 5 à 15 ans. Chez les adultes, la maladie est habituellement bénigne ou sans symptômes; l’infection peut toutefois être grave chez les personnes âgées ou immunodéprimées. Les personnes aux prises avec une affection comorbide, comme une asplénie fonctionnelle, une drépanocytose ou un autre état immunodéprimé, courent un risque accru de développer une pneumonie fulminante et une infection mixteNote de bas de page 2. Des complications peuvent se produire avant, pendant ou après les symptômes respiratoires et peuvent également se produire sans syndrome respiratoireNote de bas de page 2. Les complications les plus courantes touchent le système nerveux central (p. ex. encéphalite [complication la plus courante], coma, névrite optique, diplopie, encéphalomyélite aiguë disséminée, confusion mentale, syndrome cérébelleux et polyradiculite, paralysie des nerfs crâniens, méningite aseptique, méningo-encéphalite, psychose aiguë). Parmi les complications affectant l’appareil moteur, mentionnons la neuropathie du plexus brachial, l’ataxie, la choréoathétose et la paralysie ascendante (syndrome Guillain-Barré). On peut également observer des éruptions macropapulaires érythémateuses et vésiculeuses (25 %), une myalgie non spécifique, des arthralgies et des polyarthropathies (14 %), des complications cardiaques, gastro-intestinales et rénales, et des symptômes auriculaires.

ÉPIDÉMIOLOGIE: M. pneumoniae est présent partout dans le monde, mais un plus grand nombre de cas ont été relevés dans les climats tempérésNote de bas de page 2, Note de bas de page 8. Une légère différence entre les sexes a été observée dans certains groupes d’âge. Les personnes âgées et les enfants en bas âge sont moins susceptibles de contracter une pneumonie. Les éclosions tendent à se produire à la fin de l’été et au début de l’automne, et des épidémies cycliques sont observées tous les 3 à 5 ans au sein de populations civiles et militairesNote de bas de page 1, Note de bas de page 8.

GAMME D’HÔTES: Les humains sont le seul hôte connu de M. pneumoniaeNote de bas de page 2.

DOSE INFECTIEUSE: Moins de 100 UFCNote de bas de page 8.

MODE DE TRANSMISSION: M. pneumoniae est principalement transmis d’une personne à une autre par de grosses gouttelettes; l’organisme peut aussi être transmis par des fomites aux personnes en contact étroit avec une personne infectée. Par conséquent, les cas secondaires sont fréquents chez ces personnes, mais comme la période d’excrétion est longue, la contamination peut prendre des semainesNote de bas de page 2.

PÉRIODE D’INCUBATION: De 4 à plus de 23 joursNote de bas de page 2.

TRANSMISSIBILITÉ: Les taux de transmission sont élevés; dans les cas d’infection des voies respiratoires supérieures, l’excrétion de M. pneumoniae s’échelonne sur une période de 2 à 8 jours avant l’apparition des symptômes, et peut durer jusqu’à 14 semaines après l’infectionNote de bas de page 1, Note de bas de page 8.

SECTION III – DISSÉMINATION

RÉSERVOIR: Humains.

ZOONOSE: Aucune.

VECTEURS: Aucun.

SECTION IV - VIABILITÉ ET STABILITÉ

SENSIBILITÉ AUX MÉDICAMENTS: M. pneumoniae est sensible à la plupart des antibiotiques courants à l’exception de l’acide nalidixique, des céphalosporines, des pénicillines et de la rifampicineNote de bas de page 5.

SENSIBILITÉ AUX DÉSINFECTANTS: Les désinfectants phénoliques, l’hypochlorite de sodium à 1 %, l’éthanol à 70 %, le formaldéhyde, le glutaraldéhyde, les iodophores et l’acide peracétique sont efficaces contre M. pneumoniaeNote de bas de page 9.

INACTIVATION PHYSIQUE: M. pneumoniae est inactivé par les rayonnements ultraviolet, microonde et gamma, par la chaleur humide (121 °C pendant au moins 20 min) et par la chaleur sèche (165 à 170 °C pendant 2 h)Note de bas de page 10-Note de bas de page 13.

SURVIE À L’EXTÉRIEUR DE L’HÔTE: S’il est protégé de l’évaporation, M. pneumoniae peut survivre pendant une heure dans un échantillon liquide et pendant au moins 4 heures dans l’airNote de bas de page 3, Note de bas de page 14. La durée de survie dans l’air est généralement plus élevée lorsque l’humidité relative (HR) est faible. Cinquante pour cent de l’échantillon survit pendant 4 heures dans une humidité relative de 10 %, 35 % dans une HR de 25 %, 20 % dans une HR de 90 %, et moins de 10 % dans une HR de 60 à 80 %.

SECTION V - PREMIERS SOINS ET ASPECTS MÉDICAUX

SURVEILLANCE: Rechercher les symptômes. Habituellement, le diagnostic est posé au moyen d’un test de fixation du complément; l’immunofluorescence sur culture cellulaire et la PCR peuvent également confirmer des résultats négatifsNote de bas de page 15. On peut aussi utiliser des épreuves sérologiques; les résultats varient toutefois selon la présence du VIH.

Remarque: Les méthodes de diagnostic ne sont pas nécessairement toutes disponibles dans tous les pays.

PREMIERS SOINS ET TRAITEMENT: Administrer la pharmacothérapie appropriéeNote de bas de page 5.

IMMUNISATION: Diverses souches vaccinales ont été utilisées, mais aucune n’est parvenue à conférer une protection contre l’infectionNote de bas de page 16.

PROPHYLAXIE: Aucune.

SECTION VI - DANGERS POUR LE PERSONNEL DE LABORATOIRE

INFECTIONS CONTRACTÉES AU LABORATOIRE: Lors d’une éclosion survenue en 1989, 97 employés d’hôpital ont été infectés, et 2 travailleurs de laboratoire ont contracté une pneumonieNote de bas de page 17.

SOURCES ET ÉCHANTILLONS: On peut trouver M. pneumoniae dans tout type d’échantillon clinique, mais plus fréquemment dans ceux associés aux voies respiratoiresNote de bas de page 2.

DANGERS PRIMAIRES: Les personnes qui travaillent en laboratoire devraient prendre les précautions nécessaires afin d’éviter toute inoculation parentérale, exposition des muqueuses à des gouttelettes, exposition à des aérosols infectieux et ingestionNote de bas de page 2.

DANGERS PARTICULIERS: Aucun.

SECTION VII - CONTRÔLE DE L’EXPOSITION ET PROTECTION PERSONNELLE

CLASSIFICATION DU GROUPE DE RISQUE: Groupe de risque 2 Note de bas de page 18.

EXIGENCES DE CONFINEMENT: Installations, équipement et pratiques opérationnelles de niveau de confinement 2 pour le travail avec des matières, cultures ou animaux infectieux ou potentiellement infectieux.

VÊTEMENTS DE PROTECTION : Sarrau. Gants, lorsqu’un contact direct de la peau avec des matières infectées ou des animaux est inévitable. Une protection pour les yeux doit être utilisée lorsqu’il y a un risque connu ou potentiel d’éclaboussure Note de bas de page 19.

AUTRES PRÉCAUTIONS : Toutes les procédures pouvant produire des aérosols ou mettant en cause des concentrations ou des quantités élevées doivent s’effectuer dans une enceinte de sécurité biologique (ESB). L’utilisation d’aiguilles, de seringues et d’autres objets tranchants doit être strictement restreinte. Des précautions supplémentaires doivent être envisagées pour les activités avec des animaux ou à grande échelle Note de bas de page 19.

SECTION VIII - MANUTENTION ET ENTREPOSAGE

DÉVERSEMENTS: Laisser les aérosols se déposer et, tout en portant des vêtements de protection, couvrir délicatement le déversement avec des essuie-tout et appliquer un désinfectant approprié, en commençant par le périmètre et en se rapprochant du centre. Laisser agir suffisamment longtemps avant de nettoyer Note de bas de page 19.

ÉLIMINATION: Avant la mise au rebut, décontaminer tous les déchets qui contiennent ou ont été en contact avec l’organisme infectieux par autoclavage, désinfection chimique, exposition aux rayons gamma ou incinération.

ENTREPOSAGE: L’agent infectieux doit être entreposé dans des contenants étanches étiquetés de façon appropriée.

SECTION IX - RENSEIGNEMENTS SUR LA RÉGLEMENTATION ET AUTRES

INFORMATION SUR LA RÉGLEMENTATION: L’importation, le transport et l’utilisation de pathogènes au Canada sont régis par de nombreux organismes de réglementation, dont l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada, Santé Canada, l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments, Environnement Canada et Transports Canada. Il incombe aux utilisateurs de veiller à respecter tous les règlements et toutes les lois, directives et normes applicables.

DERNIÈRE MISE À JOUR: Septembre 2011

PRÉPARÉE PAR: Direction de la règlementation des agents pathogènes, agence de la santé publique du Canada.

Bien que les renseignements, opinions et recommandations présentés dans cette Fiche de renseignements proviennent de sources que nous jugeons fiables, nous ne nous rendons pas responsables de leur justesse, de leur caractère exhaustif ou de leur fiabilité, ni des pertes ou blessures pouvant résulter de l’utilisation de ces renseignements. Comme on découvre fréquemment de nouveaux dangers, il est possible que ces renseignements ne soient pas tout à fait à jour.

Tous droits réservés

© Agence de la santé publique du Canada, 2010

Canada

RÉFÉRENCES:

Note de bas de page 1
Atkinson, T. P., Balish, M. F., & Waites, K. B. (2008). Epidemiology, clinical manifestations, pathogenesis and laboratory detection of Mycoplasma pneumoniae infections. FEMS Microbiology Reviews, 32(6), 956-973.

Note de bas de page 2
Waites, K. B., & Talkington, D. F. (2004). Mycoplasma pneumoniae and its role as a human pathogen. Clinical Microbiology Reviews, 17(4), 697.

Note de bas de page 3
Waites, K. B., Rikihisa, Y., & Taylor-Robinson, D. (2003). Mycoplasma and Ureaplasma. In P. R. Murray, E. J. Baron, M. A. Pfaller, J. H. Jorgensen & R. H. Yolken (Eds.), Manual of Clinical Microbiology (8th ed., pp. 972-990). Washington, D.C.: ASM Press.

Note de bas de page 4
Taylor-Robinson, D. (2007). The role of mycoplasmas in pregnancy outcome. Best Practice & Research Clinical Obstetrics & Gynaecology, 21(3), 425-438. doi:DOI: 10.1016/j.bpobgyn.2007.01.011

Note de bas de page 5
Taylor-Robinson, D., & Bebear, C. (1997). Antibiotic susceptibilities of mycoplasmas and treatment of mycoplasmal infections. Journal of Antimicrobial Chemotherapy, 40(5), 622.

Note de bas de page 6
Charon, N. W. (2005). Mycoplasma takes a walk. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, 102(39), 13713-13714. doi:10.1073/pnas.0506508102

Note de bas de page 7
Waites, K. B. (2006). Mycoplasma and ureaplasma. Congenital and Perianal Infections (pp. 271-288) Springer.

Note de bas de page 8
Drew, W. L. (2004). Mycoplasma and Ureaplasma. In K. J. Ryan, & C. G. Ray (Eds.), Sherris Medical Microbiology, 4th edition: an introduction to infectious diseases (pp. 409-413). Washington D.C.: ASM press.

Note de bas de page 9
Collins, C. H., & Kennedy, D. A. (1999). Decontamination. Laboratory-Acquired Infections: History, Incidence, Causes and Prevention. (4th ed., pp. 160-186). London, UK: Buttersworth.

Note de bas de page 10
Katara, G., Hemvani, N., Chitnis, S., Chitnis, V., & Chitnis, D. S. (2008). Surface disinfection by exposure to germicidal UV light. Indian Journal of Medical Microbiology, 26(3), 241-242.

Note de bas de page 11
Wu, Y., & Yao, M.Inactivation of bacteria and fungus aerosols using microwave irradiation. Journal of Aerosol Science, In Press, Corrected Proof doi:DOI: 10.1016/j.jaerosci.2010.04.004

Note de bas de page 12
Farkas, J. (1998). Irradiation as a method for decontaminating food. A review. International Journal of Food Microbiology, 44(3), 189-204.

Note de bas de page 13
Csucos, M., & Csucos, C. (1999). Microbiological obseration of water and wastewater. United States: CRC Press.

Note de bas de page 14
Wright, D. N., Bailey, G. D., & Hatch, M. T. (1968). Role of relative humidity in the survival of airborne Mycoplasma pneumoniae. Journal of Bacteriology, 96(4), 970.

Note de bas de page 15
Mundy, L. M., Gaydos, C. A., Summesgill, J., Ramirez, J., Auwaerter, P., Ford, N., Duffy, L., Casseli, G., Charache, P., & Moore, R. D. (1995). Comparison of laboratory diagnostic methods for Mycoplasma pneumoniae in HIV-positive and HIV-negative patients with community-acquired pneumonia. Abstr Gen Meet Am Soc Microbiol, 95, 297.

Note de bas de page 16
Nicholas, R. A. J., Ayling, R. D., & McAuliffe, L. (2009). Vaccines for Mycoplasma Diseases in Animals and Man. Journal of Comparative Pathology, 140(2-3), 85-96. doi:DOI: 10.1016/j.jcpa.2008.08.004

Note de bas de page 17
Kleemola, M., & Jokinen, C. (1992). Outbreak of Mycoplasma pneumoniae infection among hospital personnel studied by a nucleic acid hybridization test. Journal of Hospital Infection, 21(3), 213-221.

Note de bas de page 18
Human Pathogens and Toxins Act. S.C. 2009, c. 24. Government of Canada, Second Session, Fortieth Parliament, 57-58 Elizabeth II, 2009, (2009).

Note de bas de page 19
Office of Laboratory Security, Public Health Agency of Canada. (Ed.). (2004). Laboratory Biosafety Guidelines. (3rd ed.)