Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Share this page

HISTOPLASMA CAPSULATUM

PATHOGEN SAFETY DATA SHEET - INFECTIOUS SUBSTANCES

SECTION I - INFECTIOUS AGENT

NAME: Histoplasma capsulatum

SYNONYM OR CROSS REFERENCE: The teleomorph of Histoplasma capsulatum is known as Ajellomyces capsulatus . Infection by H. capsulatum results in Histoplasmosis(1,2,3,4). Histoplasma capsulatum has three variants: var. capsulatum, var. duboissii, and var. farciminosum(5).

CHARACTERISTICS: Histoplasma capsulatum is a dimorphic fungus(1). The filamentous mould form is found in the environment and can be cultured in conditions below 35ºC using general fungal media. When it is present in tissue or grown in cultures, using brain heart infusion agar or brain heart infusion with blood at temperatures greater than 35ºC, it grows to a yeast form, which appear as small oval buds of 2-4 um(1). Macronidia are 8-15 μm and are thick walled with tubercles or projections. The micronidia are 2-4 μm and are smooth walled.

SECTION II – HAZARD IDENTIFICATION

PATHOGENICITY/TOXICITY: Infection by Histoplasma capsulatum usually presents as a pulmonary infection that may be transient or chronic. There are a number of clinical forms, including asymptomatic, acute pulmonary, chronic pulmonary, acute disseminated, chronic disseminated, mediastinitis, meningitis, osteomyelitis, and cutaneous infection(6). Widespread infection (dissemination) throughout the body has resulted in death; however, dissemination usually results in chronic illness(1,7). Symptoms can appear with in 1 week and include fever, chills, headache, non productive cough, myalgia, chest pain, loss of appetite and fatigue. Infection is usually asymptomatic for low level exposure or mild infections. There is no evidence that mild or asymptomatic infections can induce protective immunity. Interestingly it has been noted that previously controlled infections can become active upon impaired cellular immunity(8). Higher levels of exposure and more severe infections will result in symptomatic presentations like flu-like symptoms that may persist for several weeks. Visceral infection can lead to the destruction of the adrenal gland. Infection of the CNS will appear as chronic meningitis or focal brain lesions and occurs in 5-20 % of the cases. Var. duboisii causes African histoplasmosis(1). Infection sites are typically the skin and bones and will spread to the liver and spleen if left untreated. Lesion on face and trunk are common. Thirty percent of patients develop osteomyelitis. Arthritis and purulent subcutaneous abscesses can occur when the infection spreads to joints and soft tissue. Var. farciminosum infects horses and mules but not humans(5). The mechanisms underlying host specificity and tissue tropism remain unknown.

EPIDEMIOLOGY: Histoplasmosis is the most prevalent mycosis in North America and more often reported in the areas surrounding the Mississippi and Ohio rivers(1). Exposure to dust or soil for prolonged periods of time as well as activities which disturb bird and bat guano increase the risk of infection and have also been indicators of localized outbreaks(9). Approximately 80 % of the general population tested around the Mississippi and Ohio rivers showed hypersensitivity to Histoplasma capsulatum(10). The largest group of affected individuals were young adults(11).

Most children presented mild to no symptoms. Immune compromised individuals are at an increased risk of infection, and experience an increased severity of infection and a higher mortality rate(1). Histoplasmosis is also found in Central and South America, Australia, eastern Asia, and the tropical areas of Africa.

HOST RANGE: Histoplasma capsulatum is found in humans and animals, including horses, cattle, sheep, dogs, cats, chickens, rats, skunks and opossum(1,12,13).

INFECTIOUS DOSE: Under experimental conditions, inhalation of 5 yeast cells resulted in 10 % mice developing infection(4). Ten spores administered intra-nasally resulted in a 9.2 % mortality rate in mice(14).

MODE OF TRANSMISSION: Infection occurs by inhalation of the micronidia spores(1,15). Infection can also occur by contact with mucosa or non-intact skin.

INCUBATION PERIOD: Symptoms present 1-3 weeks after initial infection. Upon re- infection, symptoms present in a shorter period of time 4-7 days(1).

COMMUNICABILITY: Not transmitted from person–to-person, except through tissue organ donors and recipient.

SECTION III - DISSEMINATION

RESERVOIR: The primary reservoir for Histoplasmosis is nitrogen rich soils(1). Both bird and bat droppings will increase the levels of nitrogen in soils and are, therefore, often found to be contaminated with Histoplasma capsulatum(16).

ZOONOSIS: Histoplasma capsulatum is not transmitted between animals and humans, although, transfer form soil contaminated with avian or bat guano does occur(17).

VECTORS: None.

SECTION IV – STABILITY AND VIABILITY

DRUG SUSCEPTIBILITY: Histoplasma capsulatum shows susceptibility to amphotericin B, and the azole group of antifungal drugs, including ketoconazole, itraconazole, and fluconazole(1).

DRUG RESISTANCE: Reduced efficacy has been observed in treatments using deoxycholate, itraconazole, and fluconazole(18).

SUSCEPTIBILITY TO DISINFECTANTS: Histoplasma capsulatum is susceptible to 1 % solutions of sodium hypochlorite, 2 % phenol, 2 % gluteraldehyde, isopropyl alcohol, and formaldehyde(19).

PHYSICAL INACTIVATION: Histoplasma capsulatum spores and yeast cells are inactivated when held at temperatures above 40ºC for extended periods of time(20). Growth is inhibited at pH below 5 and above 10. Dry conditions also facilitate the inactivation of spores.

SURVIVAL OUTSIDE HOST: Histoplasma capsulatum is found primarily in nitrogen rich soils with a pH ranging between 5-10(1). Moist soils at temperatures between -18 to 37ºC can support the growth of the fungus. Organisms are known to survive in excess of 10 years in soil.

SECTION V – FIRST AID / MEDICAL

SURVEILLANCE: Monitor for symptoms. Identification of Histoplasma capsulatum can be done using Giema and Wrights's stain of blood and bone marrow samples(1). Grocott-Gomori methenamine silver and periodic acid-Schiff stains can be used for tissue samples and pulmonary alveolar lavage fluid. Other tests for identification include the histoplasma polysaccharide antigen test, real time PCR for bone marrow samples, nested PCR for unique proteins, and serological tests.

Note: All diagnostic methods are not necessarily available in all countries.

FIRST AID/TREATMENT: For extensive infection due to H. capsulatum, amphotericin B and itraconazole are used(7,15). Milder infections are treated using itraconazole. The antifungal regime for acute histoplasmosis is IV amphotericin for 1-2 weeks followed by itraconazole for three days(21). Mild or moderate histoplasmosis does not usually require treatment unless symptoms persist for longer then one month, in which case itraconazole may be indicated for 6-12 weeks. Newer azole antifungals with intravenous formulations (i.e. voriconazole and posaconazole) show great promise for the treatment of histoplasmosis(22).

IMMUNIZATION: None.

PROPHYLAXIS: None.

SECTION VI - LABORATORY HAZARDS

LABORATORY-ACQUIRED INFECTIONS: There have been 81 reported infections of Histoplasma capsulatum and 1 associated death in humans(17,23,24). The one reported death occurred to a mycologist who was working with soil samples. He had previously visited both chicken coups and caves. Death in this single case occurred 51 days after the first symptoms appeared.

SOURCES/SPECIMENS: Sources of H. capsulatum in the laboratory include blood, urine, lymph node, bone marrow, sputum, bronchoaveolar lavage fluid(1) and soil(17).

PRIMARY HAZARDS: Inhalation of conidia spores posses the greatest risk(1,23). Accidental parenteral inoculation may result in cutaneous infection.

SPECIAL HAZARDS: Collecting and processing soil samples may cause pulmonary infections in laboratory workers(17).

SECTION VII – EXPOSURE CONTROLS / PERSONAL PROTECTION

RISK GROUP CLASSIFICATION: Risk Group 3(25).

CONTAINMENT REQUIREMENTS: Containment Level 3 facilities, equipment, and operational practices for work involving infectious or potentially infectious materials, animals, and cultures.

PROTECTIVE CLOTHING: Personnel entering the laboratory should remove street clothing and jewellery, and change into dedicated laboratory clothing and shoes, or don full coverage protective clothing (i.e., completely covering all street clothing). Additional protection may be worn over laboratory clothing when infectious materials are directly handled, such as solid-front gowns with tight fitting wrists, gloves, and respiratory protection. Eye protection must be used where there is a known or potential risk of exposure to splashes(26).

OTHER PRECAUTIONS: All activities with infectious material should be conducted in a biological safety cabinet (BSC) or other appropriate primary containment device in combination with personal protective equipment. Centrifugation of infected materials must be carried out in closed containers placed in sealed safety cups, or in rotors that are unloaded in a biological safety cabinet. The use of needles, syringes, and other sharp objects should be strictly limited. Open wounds, cuts, scratches, and grazes should be covered with waterproof dressings(26). Additional precautions should be considered with work involving animals or large scale activities(26).

SECTION VIII - HANDLING AND STORAGE

SPILLS: Allow aerosols to settle and, wearing protective clothing, gently cover spill with paper towels and apply suitable disinfectant, starting at the perimeter and working towards the centre. Allow sufficient contact time before clean up (30 min)(26).

DISPOSAL: Decontaminate before disposal using steam sterilization, incineration, and/or chemical disinfection(26).

STORAGE: Store in sealed containers that are appropriately labelled(26).

SECTION IX – REGULATORY AND OTHER INFORMATION

REGULATORY INFORMATION: The import, transport, and use of pathogens in Canada is regulated under many regulatory bodies, including the Public Health Agency of Canada, Health Canada, Canadian Food Inspection Agency, Environment Canada, and Transport Canada. Users are responsible for ensuring they are compliant with all relevant acts, regulations, guidelines, and standards.

UPDATED: November 2010

PREPARED BY: Pathogen Regulation Directorate, Public Health Agency of Canada.

Although the information, opinions and recommendations contained in this Pathogen Safety Data Sheet are compiled from sources believed to be reliable, we accept no responsibility for the accuracy, sufficiency, or reliability or for any loss or injury resulting from the use of the information. Newly discovered hazards are frequent and this information may not be completely up to date.

Copyright ©
Public Health Agency of Canada, 2010
Canada

REFERENCES:

  1. Brandt, M. E., & Warnock, D. W. (2007). Histoplasma, Blastomyces, Coccidioides, and Other Dimorphic Fungi Causing Systemic Mycoses. In P. R. Murray, E. J. Baron, J. H. Jorgensen, M. L. Landry & M. A. Pfaller (Eds.), Manual of Clinical Microbiology (9th ed., pp. 1857- 1873). Washington, D.C.: ASM Press.
     
  2. Ferreira, M. S., & Borges, A. S. (2009). Histoplasmosis. [Histoplasmose] Revista Da Sociedade Brasileira De Medicina Tropical, 42 (2), 192-198.
     
  3. Gugnani, H. C. (2000). Histoplasmosis in Africa: a review. The Indian Journal of Chest Diseases & Allied Sciences, 42 (4), 271-277.
     
  4. Larsh, H. W., & Cozad, G. C. (1965). Respiratory infection of mice with Histoplasma capsulatum. Mycopathologia Et Mycologia Applicata, 27 (3), 305-310.
     
  5. Retallack, D. M., & Woods, J. P. (1999). Molecular epidemiology, pathogenesis, and genetics of the dimorphic fungus Histoplasma capsulatum. Microbes and Infection, 1 (10), 817-825. doi:DOI: 10.1016/S1286-4579(99)80084-7
     
  6. Leimann, B. C., Pizzini, C. V., Muniz, M. M., Albuquerque, P. C., Monteiro, P. C., Reis, R. S., Almeida-Paes, R., Lazera, M. S., Wanke, B., Perez, M. A., & Zancope-Oliveira, R. M. (2005). Histoplasmosis in a Brazilian center: clinical forms and laboratory tests. Revista Iberoamericana De Micologia : Organo De La Asociacion Espanola De Especialistas En Micologia, 22 (3), 141-146.
     
  7. Kauffman, C. A. (2007). Histoplasmosis: a clinical and laboratory update. Clinical Microbiology Reviews, 20 (1), 115-132. doi:10.1128/CMR.00027-06
     
  8. Nosanchuk, J. D. (2005). Protective antibodies and endemic dimorphic fungi. Current Molecular Medicine, 5 (4), 435-442.
     
  9. Ajello, L. (1971). Coccidioidomycosis and histoplasmosis. A review of their epidemiology and geographical distribution. Mycopathologia Et Mycologia Applicata, 45 (3), 221-230.
     
  10. Edwards, P. Q., & Billings, E. L. (1971). Worldwide Pattern of Skin Sensitivity to Histoplasmin. The American Journal of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, 20 (7), 288.
     
  11. Fischer, G. B., Mocelin, H., Severo, C. B., Oliveira Fde, M., Xavier, M. O., & Severo, L. C. (2009). Histoplasmosis in children. Paediatric Respiratory Reviews, 10 (4), 172-177. doi:10.1016/j.prrv.2009.08.002
     
  12. Lehmann, P. F. (1985). Immunology of fungal infections in animals. Veterinary Immunology and Immunopathology, 10 (1), 33-69.
     
  13. Emmons, C. W. (1950). Histoplasmosis: Animal Reservoirs and Other Sources in Nature of Pathogenic Fungus, Histoplasma. American Journal of Public Health and the Nation's Health, 40 (4), 436-440.
     
  14. FURCOLOW, M. L. (1961). Airborne histoplasmosis. Bacteriological Reviews, 25, 301-309.
     
  15. Mocherla, S., & Wheat, L. J. (2001). Treatment of histoplasmosis. Seminars in Respiratory Infections, 16 (2), 141-148.
     
  16. Fischer, G. B., Mocelin, H., Severo, C. B., Oliveira, F. d. M., Xavier, M. O., & Severo, L. C. (2009). Histoplasmosis in children. Paediatric Respiratory Reviews, 10 (4), 172-177. doi:DOI: 10.1016/j.prrv.2009.08.002
     
  17. Pike, R. M. (1979). Laboratory-associated infections: incidence, fatalities, causes, and prevention. Annual Review of Microbiology, 33, 41-66. doi:10.1146/annurev.mi.33.100179.000353
     
  18. Wheat, L. J., Connolly, P., Smedema, M., & Rogers, P. D. (2009). Antimicrobial Drug Resistance. Infectious Disease, 1, 987-992.
     
  19. Widmer, A. F., & Frei, R. (2007). Decontamination, Disinfection, and Sterilization. In P. R. Murray, E. J. Baron, J. H. Jorgensen, M. L. Landry & M. A. Pfaller (Eds.), Manual of Clinical Microbiology (9th ed., pp. 65-96). Washington, D.C.: ASM Press.
     
  20. Goodman, N. L., & Larsh, H. W. (1967). Environmental factors and growth of Histoplasma capsulatum in soil. Mycopathologia Et Mycologia Applicata, 33 (2), 145-156.
     
  21. Wheat, L. J., Freifeld, A. G., Kleiman, M. B., Baddley, J. W., McKinsey, D. S., Loyd, J. E., Kauffman, C. A., & Infectious Diseases Society of America. (2007). Clinical practice guidelines for the management of patients with histoplasmosis: 2007 update by the Infectious Diseases Society of America. Clinical Infectious Diseases : An Official Publication of the Infectious Diseases Society of America, 45 (7), 807-825. doi:10.1086/521259
     
  22. Freifeld, A. G., Wheat, L. J., & Kaul, D. R. (2009). Histoplasmosis in solid organ transplant recipients: early diagnosis and treatment. Current Opinion in Organ Transplantation, 14 (6), 601-605. doi:10.1097/MOT.0b013e3283329c9a
     
  23. Sewell, D. L. (1995). Laboratory-associated infections and biosafety. Clinical Microbiology Reviews, 8 (3), 389-405.
     
  24. Collins, C. H., & Kennedy, D. A. (1999). Laboratory-acquired infections. Laboratory- acquired Infections (4th ed., pp. 31). Woburn, MA: Butterworth-Heinemann.
     
  25. Human Pathogens and Toxins Act. S.C. 2009, c. 24. Government of Canada, Second Session, Fortieth Parliament, 57-58 Elizabeth II, 2009, (2009).
     
  26. Public Health Agency of Canada. (2004). In Best M., Graham M. L., Leitner R., Ouellette M. and Ugwu K. (Eds.), Laboratory Biosafety Guidelines (3rd ed.). Canada: Public Health Agency of Canada.

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

HISTOPLASMA CAPSULATUM

FICHE TECHNIQUE SANTÉ-SÉCURITÉ: AGENTS PATHOGÈNES

SECTION I – AGENT INFECTIEUX

NOM: Histoplasma capsulatum

SYNONYME OU RENVOI: Le téléomorphe d' Histoplasma capsulatum porte le nom d'Ajellomyces capsulatus . L'infection à H. capsulatum cause l'histoplasmose(1,2,3,4). Histoplasma capsulatum comporte trois variétés: capsulatum, duboissii et farciminosum(5).

CARACTÉRISTIQUES: Histoplasma capsulatum est un champignon dimorphique(1). La forme de moisissure filamenteuse s'observe dans l'environnement et peut être cultivée à une température de moins de 35 ºC dans un milieu de culture général pour les champignons. Lorsque le champignon est présent dans un tissu ou qu'il est cultivé sur une gélose infusion cœur-cervelle (BHI) ou BHI additionnée de sang à une température supérieure à 35 ºC, il prend la forme d'une levure et produit des colonies ovales bombées de 2-4 µm(1). Les macroconidies mesurent 8-15 µm, ont une paroi épaisse et sont ornées de tubercules ou de projections. Les microconidies mesurent 2-4 µm et ont une paroi lisse.

SECTION II – DÉTERMINATION DU RISQUE

PATHOGÉNICITÉ ET TOXICITÉ: L'infection à Histoplasma capsulatum se traduit habituellement par une infection pulmonaire qui peut être transitoire ou chronique. L'infection a plusieurs formes cliniques: asymptomatique, pulmonaire aiguë, pulmonaire chronique, disséminée aiguë, disséminée chronique, médiastinite, méningite, ostéomyélite et infection cutanée(6). La dissémination de l'infection dans tout le corps a déjà provoqué un décès, mais elle est généralement à l'origine d'une maladie chronique(1,7). Les symptômes, qui peuvent se manifester jusqu'à une semaine après le contact, comprennent la fièvre, les frissons, les maux de tête, la toux non productive, les douleurs musculaires, la douleur thoracique, la perte d'appétit et la fatigue. L'infection est généralement asymptomatique dans les cas de faible exposition ou d'infection bénigne. Rien n'indique que les infections bénignes ou asymptomatiques confèrent une immunité protectrice. Fait intéressant, on a noté que des infections maîtrisées pouvaient devenir actives en cas d'altération de l'immunité cellulaire(8). Les fortes expositions et les infections plus graves entraînent des symptômes pseudogrippaux qui peuvent persister plusieurs semaines. L'infection viscérale peut causer la destruction des glandes surrénales. L'infection du SNC se traduit par une méningite chronique ou des lésions cérébrales localisées et survient dans 5 % à 20 % des cas. La variété duboisii cause l'histoplasmose africaine(1). Les sièges infectieux sont habituellement la peau et les os, et l'infection se propage dans le foie et la rate si elle n'est pas traitée. Les lésions du tronc et du visage sont fréquentes. Trente pour cent des patients présentent une ostéomyélite. Une arthrite et des abcès sous-cutanés purulents peuvent survenir lorsque l'infection atteint les articulations et les tissus mous. La variété farciminosum infecte le cheval et la mule, mais pas l'humain(5). Les mécanismes qui sous-tendent la spécificité de l'hôte et le tropisme cellulaire n'ont pas encore été élucidés.

ÉPIDÉMIOLOGIE: L'histoplasmose, mycose la plus fréquente en Amérique du Nord, est signalée le plus souvent dans les régions voisines du fleuve Mississippi et de la rivière Ohio(1).

Une longue exposition à la poussière ou à la terre et les activités qui remuent les fientes d'oiseaux et de chauve-souris augmentent le risque d'infection et ont également été des indicateurs d'éclosions localisées(9). Environ 80 % de la population générale testée aux alentours de ces deux cours d'eau présentait une hypersensibilité à Histoplasma capsulatum(10). Le plus grand groupe de personnes touchées était constitué des jeunes adultes(11). La plupart des enfants présentaient des symptômes bénins ou n'en présentaient aucun. Chez les personnes immunodéprimées, le risque d'infection est accru, l'infection est plus grave et le taux de mortalité est plus élevé(1). L'histoplasmose est aussi présente en Amérique centrale, en Amérique du Sud, en Australie, en Asie orientale et dans les régions tropicales de l'Afrique.

GAMME D'HÔTES: Histoplasma capsulatum est présent chez l'humain et les animaux, dont le cheval, les bovins, le mouton, le chien, le chat, la poule, le rat, la moufette et l'opossum(1,12,13).

DOSE INFECTIEUSE: Dans des conditions expérimentales, l'inhalation de cinq cellules de levure a entraîné une infection chez 10 % des souris(4). L'administration de dix spores par voie intranasale a entraîné la mort de 9,2 % des souris(14).

MODE DE TRANSMISSION: L'infection se produit par inhalation de microconidies(1,15). Elle peut également survenir par contact avec une muqueuse ou la peau lésée.

PÉRIODE D'INCUBATION: Les symptômes débutent une à trois semaines après l'infection initiale. En cas de réinfection, les symptômes apparaissent plus rapidement, entre quatre et sept jours(1).

TRANSMISSIBILITÉ: Aucune transmission d'une personne à une autre, sauf dans les cas de donneurs et de receveurs de tissus et d'organes.

SECTION III - DISSÉMINATION

RÉSERVOIR: Les terres riches en azote constituent le principal réservoir d' Histoplasma capsulatum(1). Les fientes d'oiseaux et de chauves-souris augmentent le taux d'azote dans la terre et sont donc souvent contaminées par Histoplasma capsulatum(16).

ZOONOSE: Histoplasma capsulatum ne se transmet pas des animaux à l'humain, même si la transmission par la terre contaminée par des fientes d'oiseaux ou de chauve-souris est possible(17).

VECTEURS: Aucune.

SECTION IV - VIABILITÉ ET STABILITÉ

SENSIBILITÉ AUX MÉDICAMENTS: Histoplasma capsulatum est sensible à l'amphotéricine B et aux antifongiques de type azole comme le kétoconazole, l'itraconazole et le fluconazole(1).

RÉSISTANCE AUX MÉDICAMENTS: On a observé une diminution de l'efficacité des traitements par le désoxycholate, l'itraconazole et le fluconazole(18).

SENSIBILITÉ AUX DÉSINFECTANTS: Histoplasma capsulatum est sensible aux solutions d'hypochlorite de sodium à 1 %, de phénol à 2 % et de glutaraldéhyde à 2 %, à l'alcool isopropylique et au formaldéhyde(19).

INACTIVATION PHYSIQUE: Les spores d' Histoplasma capsulatum et le champignon sous forme de levures sont inactivés lors d'une longue exposition à une température supérieure à 40 ºC(20). La croissance est inhibée à un pH inférieur à 5 et supérieur à 10. Les conditions sèches facilitent également l'inactivation des spores.

SURVIE À L'EXTÉRIEUR DE L'HÔTE: Histoplasma capsulatum est essentiellement présent dans la terre riche en azote dont le pH est compris entre 5 et 10(1). Les terres humides aux températures comprises entre -18 et 37 ºC permettent la croissance du champignon. On sait également que le champignon survit plus de 10 ans dans la terre.

SECTION V - PREMIERS SOINS ET ASPECTS MÉDICAUX

SURVEILLANCE: Surveiller l'apparition des symptômes. L'identification d'Histoplasma capsulatum peut s'effectuer en soumettant des échantillons de sang ou de moelle osseuse à la coloration de Wright-Giemsa(1). La coloration de Grocott-Gomori (coloration à la méthénamine d'argent) et la coloration à l'acide périodique de Schiff (PAS) peuvent être utilisées pour les échantillons tissulaires et le liquide de lavage broncho-alvéolaire. Les autres tests d'identification comprennent le test de détection de l'antigène polysaccharidique histoplasmique, la PCR en temps réel pour les échantillons de moelle osseuse, la PCR nichée pour les protéines uniques et les tests sérologiques.

Remarque: Les méthodes de diagnostic ne sont pas nécessairement toutes disponibles dans tous les pays.

PREMIERS SOINS ET TRAITEMENT: En cas d'infection disséminée à H. capsulatum, on utilise l'amphotéricine B et l'itraconazole(7,15). Les infections moins graves sont traitées par l'itraconazole.

Le schéma antifongique contre l'histoplasmose aiguë comprend l'amphotéricine par voie intraveineuse pendant une ou deux semaines, suivie d'itraconazole pendant trois jours(21). L'histoplasmose légère ou modérée ne requiert en général pas de traitement, sauf si les symptômes persistent au-delà d'un mois, auquel cas l'itraconazole peut être indiqué pendant 6 à 12 semaines. Les antifongiques récents de type azole sous forme de préparations par voie intraveineuse (voriconazole et posaconazole) sont très prometteurs pour le traitement de l'histoplasmose(22).

IMMUNISATION: Aucune

PROPHYLAXIE: Aucune

SECTION VI - DANGERS POUR LE PERSONNEL DE LABORATOIRE

INFECTIONS CONTRACTÉES AU LABORATOIRE: On a déclaré 81 cas d'infection à H. capsulatum chez l'humain, dont un s'est soldé par un décès(17,23,24). Le seul cas de décès signalé était un mycologue qui travaillait sur des échantillons de terre. Il était auparavant entré dans des poulaillers et des grottes. Ce seul décès est survenu 51 jours après l'apparition des premiers symptômes.

SOURCES ET ÉCHANTILLONS: Les sources de H. capsulatum au laboratoire comprennent le sang, l'urine, les ganglions lymphatiques, la moelle osseuse, les expectorations, le liquide de lavage broncho-alvéolaire(1) et la terre(17).

DANGERS PRIMAIRES: L'inhalation des conidies (spores) expose le sujet au risque maximal(1,23). L'inoculation accidentelle par voie parentérale peut entraîner une infection cutanée.

DANGERS PARTICULIERS: La collecte et le traitement d'échantillons de terre peuvent causer des infections pulmonaires chez les travailleurs de laboratoire(17).

SECTION VII - CONTRÔLE DE L'EXPOSITION ET PROTECTION PERSONNELLE

CLASSIFICATION PAR GROUPE DE RISQUE: Groupe de risque 3(25).

EXIGENCES DE CONFINEMENT: Installations, équipement et pratiques opérationnelles de niveau de confinement 3 pour le travail avec des matières, cultures ou animaux infectieux ou potentiellement infectieux.

VÊTEMENTS DE PROTECTION: Avant d'entrer dans le laboratoire, le personnel doit enlever sa tenue de ville et ses bijoux pour ensuite mettre des vêtements et des chaussures réservés aux travaux en laboratoire, ou mettre un vêtement protecteur complet (c'est-à-dire qui couvre entièrement la tenue de ville). Une protection supplémentaire peut être portée par-dessus les vêtements de laboratoire lors de la manipulation directe de matériel infectieux, comme une blouse ne s'ouvrant pas à l'avant avec poignets serrés, des gants et une protection respiratoire. Une protection pour les yeux doit être utilisée lorsqu'il y a un risque connu ou potentiel d'éclaboussure(26).

AUTRES PRÉCAUTIONS: Toutes les activités avec du matériel infectieux doivent s'effectuer dans une enceinte de sécurité biologique (ESB) ou dans un autre dispositif de confinement primaire adéquat, avec un équipement de protection individuelle. La centrifugation des matières infectées doit s'effectuer dans des enceintes scellées placées dans des réservoirs hermétiques ou des rotors qui sont remplis et vidés dans une ESB. L'utilisation d'aiguilles, de seringues et d'autres objets tranchants doit être strictement restreinte. Les plaies ouvertes, les coupures et les éraflures doivent être couvertes avec des pansements imperméables. Des précautions supplémentaires doivent être envisagées pour les activités avec des animaux ou à grande échelle(26).

SECTION VIII - MANUTENTION ET ENTREPOSAGE

DÉVERSEMENTS: Laisser les aérosols se poser et, tout en portant des vêtements de protection, couvrir délicatement le déversement avec des essuie-tout et appliquer un désinfectant approprié, en commençant par le périmètre et en se rapprochant du centre. Laisser agir suffisamment longtemps avant de nettoyer (30 minutes)(26,27).

ÉLIMINATION: Décontaminer les déchets par stérilisation à la vapeur, incinération ou désinfection chimique(26).

ENTREPOSAGE: Dans des contenants étanches et scellés, étiquetés de façon appropriée et placés en lieu sûr(26).

SECTION IX – RENSEIGNEMENTS SUR LA RÉGLEMENTATION ET AUTRES

INFORMATION SUR LA RÉGLEMENTATION: L'importation, le transport et l'utilisation de pathogènes au Canada sont régis par de nombreux organismes de réglementation, dont l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada, Santé Canada, l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments, Environnement Canada et Transports Canada. Il incombe aux utilisateurs de veiller à respecter tous les règlements et toutes les lois, directives et normes applicables.

DERNIÈRE MISE À JOUR: Juillet 2010

PRÉPARÉE PAR: Direction de la règlementation des agents pathogènes, agence de la santé publique du Canada.

Bien que les renseignements, opinions et recommandations présentés dans cette Fiche de renseignements proviennent de sources que nous jugeons fiables, nous ne nous rendons pas responsables de leur justesse, de leur caractère exhaustif ou de leur fiabilité, ni des pertes ou blessures pouvant résulter de l'utilisation de ces renseignements. Comme on découvre fréquemment de nouveaux dangers, il est possible que ces renseignements ne soient pas tout à fait à jour.

Tous droits réservés
© Agence de la santé publique du Canada, 2010
Canada

RÉFÉRENCES

  1. Brandt, M. E., & Warnock, D. W. (2007). Histoplasma, Blastomyces, Coccidioides, and Other Dimorphic Fungi Causing Systemic Mycoses. In P. R. Murray, E. J. Baron, J. H. Jorgensen, M. L. Landry & M. A. Pfaller (Eds.), Manual of Clinical Microbiology (9th ed., pp. 1857- 1873). Washington, D.C.: ASM Press.
     
  2. Ferreira, M. S., & Borges, A. S. (2009). Histoplasmosis. [Histoplasmose] Revista Da Sociedade Brasileira De Medicina Tropical, 42 (2), 192-198.
     
  3. Gugnani, H. C. (2000). Histoplasmosis in Africa: a review. The Indian Journal of Chest Diseases & Allied Sciences, 42 (4), 271-277.
     
  4. Larsh, H. W., & Cozad, G. C. (1965). Respiratory infection of mice with Histoplasma capsulatum. Mycopathologia Et Mycologia Applicata, 27 (3), 305-310.
     
  5. Retallack, D. M., & Woods, J. P. (1999). Molecular epidemiology, pathogenesis, and genetics of the dimorphic fungus Histoplasma capsulatum. Microbes and Infection, 1 (10), 817-825. doi:DOI: 10.1016/S1286-4579(99)80084-7
     
  6. Leimann, B. C., Pizzini, C. V., Muniz, M. M., Albuquerque, P. C., Monteiro, P. C., Reis, R. S., Almeida-Paes, R., Lazera, M. S., Wanke, B., Perez, M. A., & Zancope-Oliveira, R. M. (2005). Histoplasmosis in a Brazilian center: clinical forms and laboratory tests. Revista Iberoamericana De Micologia: Organo De La Asociacion Espanola De Especialistas En Micologia, 22 (3), 141-146.
     
  7. Kauffman, C. A. (2007). Histoplasmosis: a clinical and laboratory update. Clinical Microbiology Reviews, 20 (1), 115-132. doi:10.1128/CMR.00027-06
     
  8. Nosanchuk, J. D. (2005). Protective antibodies and endemic dimorphic fungi. Current Molecular Medicine, 5 (4), 435-442.
     
  9. Ajello, L. (1971). Coccidioidomycosis and histoplasmosis. A review of their epidemiology and geographical distribution. Mycopathologia Et Mycologia Applicata, 45 (3), 221-230.
     
  10. Edwards, P. Q., & Billings, E. L. (1971). Worldwide Pattern of Skin Sensitivity to Histoplasmin. The American Journal of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, 20 (7), 288.
     
  11. Fischer, G. B., Mocelin, H., Severo, C. B., Oliveira Fde, M., Xavier, M. O., & Severo, L. C. (2009). Histoplasmosis in children. Paediatric Respiratory Reviews, 10 (4), 172-177. doi:10.1016/j.prrv.2009.08.002
     
  12. Lehmann, P. F. (1985). Immunology of fungal infections in animals. Veterinary Immunology and Immunopathology, 10 (1), 33-69.
     
  13. Emmons, C. W. (1950). Histoplasmosis: Animal Reservoirs and Other Sources in Nature of Pathogenic Fungus, Histoplasma. American Journal of Public Health and the Nation's Health, 40 (4), 436-440.
     
  14. FURCOLOW, M. L. (1961). Airborne histoplasmosis. Bacteriological Reviews, 25, 301-309.
     
  15. Mocherla, S., & Wheat, L. J. (2001). Treatment of histoplasmosis. Seminars in Respiratory Infections, 16 (2), 141-148.
     
  16. Fischer, G. B., Mocelin, H., Severo, C. B., Oliveira, F. d. M., Xavier, M. O., & Severo, L. C. (2009). Histoplasmosis in children. Paediatric Respiratory Reviews, 10 (4), 172-177. doi:DOI: 10.1016/j.prrv.2009.08.002
     
  17. Pike, R. M. (1979). Laboratory-associated infections: incidence, fatalities, causes, and prevention. Annual Review of Microbiology, 33, 41-66. doi:10.1146/annurev.mi.33.100179.000353
     
  18. Wheat, L. J., Connolly, P., Smedema, M., & Rogers, P. D. (2009). Antimicrobial Drug Resistance. Infectious Disease, 1, 987-992.
     
  19. Widmer, A. F., & Frei, R. (2007). Decontamination, Disinfection, and Sterilization. In P. R. Murray, E. J. Baron, J. H. Jorgensen, M. L. Landry & M. A. Pfaller (Eds.), Manual of Clinical Microbiology (9th ed., pp. 65-96). Washington, D.C.: ASM Press.
     
  20. Goodman, N. L., & Larsh, H. W. (1967). Environmental factors and growth of Histoplasma capsulatum in soil. Mycopathologia Et Mycologia Applicata, 33 (2), 145-156.
     
  21. Wheat, L. J., Freifeld, A. G., Kleiman, M. B., Baddley, J. W., McKinsey, D. S., Loyd, J. E., Kauffman, C. A., & Infectious Diseases Society of America. (2007). Clinical practice guidelines for the management of patients with histoplasmosis: 2007 update by the Infectious Diseases Society of America. Clinical Infectious Diseases: An Official Publication of the Infectious Diseases Society of America, 45 (7), 807-825. doi:10.1086/521259
     
  22. Freifeld, A. G., Wheat, L. J., & Kaul, D. R. (2009). Histoplasmosis in solid organ transplant recipients: early diagnosis and treatment. Current Opinion in Organ Transplantation, 14 (6), 601-605. doi:10.1097/MOT.0b013e3283329c9a
     
  23. Sewell, D. L. (1995). Laboratory-associated infections and biosafety. Clinical Microbiology Reviews, 8 (3), 389-405.
     
  24. Collins, C. H., & Kennedy, D. A. (1999). Laboratory-acquired infections. Laboratory- acquired Infections (4th ed., pp. 31). Woburn, MA: Butterworth-Heinemann.
     
  25. Human Pathogens and Toxins Act. S.C. 2009, c. 24. Government of Canada, Second Session, Fortieth Parliament, 57-58 Elizabeth II, 2009, (2009).
     
  26. Public Health Agency of Canada. (2004). In Best M., Graham M. L., Leitner R., Ouellette M. and Ugwu K. (Eds.), Laboratory Biosafety Guidelines (3rd ed.). Canada: Public Health Agency of Canada.
     
  27. Burnett, L. A. C., Lunn, G., & Coico, R. (2009). Biosafety: Guidelines for working with pathogenic and infectious microorganisms. Current Protocols in Microbiology, (SUPPL. 13), 1A.1.1-1A.1.14.