Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Share this page

EPIDERMOPHYTON FLOCCOSUM, MICROSPORUM SPP., TRICHOPHYTON SPP.

PATHOGEN SAFETY DATA SHEET - INFECTIOUS SUBSTANCES

SECTION I - INFECTIOUS AGENT

NAME: Epidermophyton floccosum, Microsporum spp., Trichophyton spp.

SYNONYM OR CROSS REFERENCE: Dermatophytes (1), Dermatophytosis, Tinea, Ringworm, Jock itch, Athletes foot, Onycomycosis (2), Epidermophytosis (3), Trichophytosis (4), Microsporosis (5).

CHARACTERISTICS: These keratinophilic and keratinolytic ascomycetous molds are recognizable by their typical macrospora, which are also used to identify their genera (6). Macrspora are primarily distinguished by the thickness and roughness of their wall (7). Depending on the genera, they may have microconidia (Microsporum spp. and Trichophyton spp.) or they may not (E. flocossum). In the laboratory, they grow efficiently on Sabouraud dextrose agar, at 25˚C. Microsporum spp. and Trichophyton spp. have demonstrated the ability to produce a form that can accomplish meiosis (also known as a perfect form).

SECTION II - HAZARD IDENTIFICATION

PATHOGENICITY/TOXICITY: Dermatophytosis can affect all keratinized areas of the body (hair, skin and nails) (2). Depending on the region that is affected, the symptoms may vary. If hair is infected (tinea capitis, tinea barbea), there may be hair loss (ectotrix) or breakage (endotrix). On the skin, lesions may look circular or annular and elevated, producing a ringworm infection form. Zoophilic dermatophyte infections are more inflammatory (vesicle, pustules and blisters) than those caused by antropophilic dermatophytes. Infection of human nails may present as discoloration, dystrophy, hyperkeratosis and occasionally onycholysis (2) . The disease is not fatal. The main effects are aesthetic and will persist until treated with the appropriate medication.

EPIDEMIOLOGY: This pathogen occurs worldwide and infections are relatively frequent (8). The main pathogen in northern Europe and North America is Trichophyton rubrum, and Microsporum canis. Zoophilic dermatophytes are more common in southern Europe and Arabic countries. Farm worker are more susceptible to infection with tinea barbea (9). In the case of tinea cruris, men are more susceptible than women. Tinea cruris is commonly associated with tinea pedis and occurs when ambient temperature and humidity are high.

HOST RANGE: The dermatophytes can infect all mammals and reptiles. Infection of birds is rare (1) . Some species are host-specific (10). Depending on the host and the site of the infection the form of the lesion may vary.

INFECTIOUS DOSE: Unknown

MODE OF TRANSMISSION: Direct or indirect contact with skin or scalp lesions of infected people, animals or fomites (i.e. floors, shower stalls, clothing, hairbrushes, etc. (8) ) contaminated with desquamated epithelium (9). In individuals with suppressed cell-mediated immunity, infection may occur via broken skin.

INCUBATION PERIOD: The incubation period is from several days to a few weeks, depending on the species and the host (9).

COMMUNICABILITY: They present a low to moderate communicability depending on species (11). For zoophilic species (i.e M. canis, M. equinum, M. gallinae, M. persicolor, T.equinum, T. mentagrophytes, T. sarkisovii, T. simmii and, T. verrucosum (1)), transmission occurs mostly between humans and animals, with limited human-to-human transmission (12). Antropophilic species are highly contagious between humans (13).

SECTION III - DISSEMINATION

RESERVOIR: Common reservoirs include cat, dog, macaque, rabbit, sheep, human and soil (14). The dermatophyte's reservoir is often indicated by their nomenclature: animal (zoophilic), human (antropophilic), and soil (geophilic).

ZOONOSIS: Reported human dermatophytosis is often acquired from animals, usually from mammals and reptiles (1). Zoonosis from birds is rare but has been documented.

VECTORS: None

SECTION IV - STABILITY AND VIABILITY

DRUG SUSCEPTIBILITY: Depending on the agent and the site of infection, the pharmaceutical susceptibility may vary (9). For tinea capitis, griseofulvin, or an oral azole drug (ketoconazole, itraconazole and voriconazole) are used, but treatment may require several months to be effective. For tinea corporis, tinea cruris, tinea pedis, tinea manuum and tinea faciei, there are a variety of effective topical treatments, including naftifine (1%), terbinafine (1%), butenafine (1%), chlotriminazole (1%), econazole (1%), ketoconazole (1%), miconazole (2%), oxyconazole (1%), sulconazole (1%), cyclopyrox (1%) and tolnaftate (1%). For nail infections, topical therapy normally fails and systemic oral therapy for many months is often required.

DRUG RESISTANCE: Resistance against ketoconazole has been shown by Microsporum gyseum, as well as against miconazole and clotrimazole in certain strains (15). Susceptibility of Trichophyton mentagrophytes has been decreasing against fluconazole, and possibly against ketoconazole and griseofulvin (16).

SUSCEPTIBILITY TO DISINFECTANTS: Dermatophytes are susceptible to phenolic compounds, formaldehyde, glutaraldehyde, iodophors and sodium hypochloride (1%) (17).

PHYSICAL INACTIVATION: The infectious substance can be inactivated by UV C (18), gamma (19) and microwave (aerosol) (20) radiation; moist heat (121°C for at least 20 min (21)); and dry heat (165-170°C for 2 hours).

SURVIVAL OUTSIDE HOST: This agent can survive on a variety of surfaces and mediums, including, but not limited, to sand, floors, shower stalls, clothing, and hairbrushes) (8). Water can also be a source of infection (contamination reported in public bath). Depending on the species, dermatophytes can survive up to twenty months on skin scales at room temperature (22). Most dermatophytes can survive in salt water (50% NaCl) for at least 52 weeks (23).

SECTION V - FIRST AID / MEDICAL

SURVEILLANCE: Monitor for symptoms (9) . Confirm infection using potassium hydroxide denaturation followed by microscopic examination of cultured scrapings from the head or by skin or nail biopsy.

Note: All diagnostic methods are not necessarily available in all countries.

FIRST AID/TREATMENT: Treat with appropriate fungicide as directed by a physician (9). The length of the treatment and the dosage will depend on the fungicide employed.

IMMUNIZATION: There are currently no vaccines available for humans. Commercial vaccines intended to prevent zoophilic infection are available for cattle, horses, cats and dogs (10) .

PROPHYLAXIS: None currently available, but some studies suggest silver nanoparticles as a prophylactic agent (24).

SECTION VI - LABORATORY HAZARDS

LABORATORY-ACQUIRED INFECTIONS: As of 1976, there were 161 reported cases of dermatomycosis, most frequently associated with T. mentagrophytes. Most were acquired through contact with naturally or experimentally infected laboratory animals (mice, rabbits, guinea pigs) and their bedding. Infections are rare by handling cultures (one case). Processing of clinical material has not been associated with laboratory infections (17) .

SOURCES/SPECIMENS: This pathogen can be found in keratinized tissues of infected human and animal hosts and medium contaminated by the tissue (1). It can also be found in the contaminated soil and on laboratory instruments (25).

PRIMARY HAZARDS: Contact with infected animals and their bedding or environment are primary hazards, along with institutions where communal hygiene activities occur. The cultured pathogen is an obvious hazard(14) .

SPECIAL HAZARDS: None

SECTION VII - EXPOSURE CONTROLS / PERSONAL PROTECTION

RISK GROUP CLASSIFICATION: Risk Group 2 pathogens (26). The risk group applies to the Microsporum spp. and Trichophyton spp. genus as a whole, and may not apply to every species within the genus.

CONTAINMENT REQUIREMENTS: Containment Level 2 facilities, equipment, and operational practices for work involving infectious or potentially infectious materials, animals, and cultures. These containment requirements apply to the Microsporum spp. and Trichophyton spp. genus as a whole, and may not apply to each species within the genus.

PROTECTIVE CLOTHING: Lab coat. Gloves when direct skin contact with infected materials or animals is unavoidable. Eye protection must be used where there is a known or potential risk or exposure to splashes (27).

OTHER PRECAUTIONS: All procedures that may produce aerosols, or involve high concentrations or large volumes should be conducted in a biological safety cabinet (BSC). The use of needles, syringes, and other sharp objects should be strictly limited. Additional precautions should be considered with work involving animals or large scale activities.) (27).

SECTION VIII - HANDLING AND STORAGE

SPILLS: Allow aerosols to settle and, wearing protective clothing, gently cover spill with paper towels and apply suitable disinfectant, starting at the perimeter and working towards the centre. Allow sufficient contact time before clean up (27).

DISPOSAL: All material should be decontaminated before disposal with steam sterilization, incineration or chemical disinfection (27).

STORAGE: Samples and biological material should be store in appropriately labelled and sealed containers (27).

SECTION IX - REGULATORY AND OTHER INFORMATION

REGULATORY INFORMATION: The import, transport, and use of pathogens in Canada is regulated under many regulatory bodies, including the Public Health Agency of Canada, Health Canada, Canadian Food Inspection Agency, Environment Canada, and Transport Canada. Users are responsible for ensuring they are compliant with all relevant acts, regulations, guidelines, and standards.

UPDATED: July 2010

PREPARED BY: Pathogen Regulation Directorate, Public Health Agency of Canada.

Although the information, opinions and recommendations contained in this Pathogen Safety Data Sheet are compiled from sources believed to be reliable, we accept no responsibility for the accuracy, sufficiency, or reliability or for any loss or injury resulting from the use of the information. Newly discovered hazards are frequent and this information may not be completely up to date.

Copyright ©

Public Health Agency of Canada, 2010

Canada

REFERENCES:

  1. Weitzman, I., & Summerbell, R. C. (1995). The dermatophytes. Clinical Microbiology Reviews, 8(2), 240-259.
  2. Degreef, H. (2008). Clinical forms of dermatophytosis (ringworm infection). Mycopathologia, 166(5-6), 257-265. doi:10.1007/s11046-008-9101-8.
  3. Puttick, L. (1990). Sickness absence due to skin disorders in the coal mining industry. The Journal of the Society of Occupational Medicine, 40(1), 23-28.
  4. Nisbet, C., Yarim, G. F., Ciftci, G., Arslan, H. H., & Ciftci, A. (2006). Effects of trichophytosis on serum zinc levels in calves. Biological Trace Element Research, 113(3), 273-280. doi:10.1385/BTER:113:3:273.
  5. Rai, M. K. (1988). A rare microsporosis from Satpura region: identity and discussion on its taxonomy. Hindustan Antibiotics Bulletin, 30(3-4), 87-89.
  6. White, T. C., Oliver, B. G., Graser, Y., & Henn, M. R. (2008). Generating and testing molecular hypotheses in the dermatophytes. Eukaryotic Cell, 7(8), 1238-1245. doi:10.1128/EC.00100-08
  7. Summerbell, R. C., Weitzman, I., & Padhye, A. A. (2007). Trichophyton, Microsporum, Epidermophyton, and Agents of Superficial Mycoses. Manual of clinical microbiology (9th ed., pp. 1874). Washington: ASM press.
  8. Seebacher, C., Bouchara, J. P., & Mignon, B. (2008). Updates on the epidemiology of dermatophyte infections. Mycopathologia, 166(5-6), 335-352. doi:10.1007/s11046-008-9100-9.
  9. Hainer, B. L. (2003). Dermatophyte infections. American Family Physician, 67(1), 101-108.
  10. Lund, A., & Deboer, D. J. (2008). Immunoprophylaxis of dermatophytosis in animals. Mycopathologia, 166(5-6), 407-424. doi:10.1007/s11046-008-9111-6.
  11. Fleming, D., & Hunt, D. (2006). Biological safety: principles and practices (4th ed.). Washington: ASM press.
  12. Pan American Sanitary Bureau. (2001). In Pan American Sanitary Bureau (Ed.), Zoonoses and communicable disease between man and animals (3rd ed.). Washington DC: Pan american health organization.
  13. Raccurt, C. P., Dorsainvil, D., Boncy, M., Boncy, J., & Auguste, G. (2009). The emergence of Trichophyton tonsurans in Port-au-Prince, Haiti. Medical Mycology : Official Publication of the International Society for Human and Animal Mycology, 47(2), 197-200. doi:10.1080/13693780802192676.
  14. Krauss, H., WEber, A., Appel, M., Enders, B., Isenberg, H. D., Schiefer, H. G., Slenczka, W., & von Graevenitz, A. (2003). Fungal Zoonoses. Zoonoses. Infectious Diseases Transmissible from Animals to Humans (3rd ed., pp. pp. 257-259.). Washington, D.C.: ASM press.
  15. Lenhart, K., Merkunova, A., Walterova, D., Latinak, J., & Kozeny, M. (1989). Ketoconazole-resistant mutants of Microsporum gypseum. II. Characteristics of mutants. Acta Universitatis Palackianae Olomucensis Facultatis Medicae, 122, 71-82.
  16. Barros, M. E., & Hamdan, J. S. (2005). Determination of susceptibility/resistance to antifungal drugs of Trichophyton mentagrophytes isolates by a macrodilution method. Canadian Journal of Microbiology, 51(11), 983-987. doi:10.1139/w05-100.
  17. Collins, C. H., & Kennedy, D. A. (1999). Laboratory acquired infections. Laboratory acquired infections: History, incidence, causes and prevention (4th ed., pp. 1-37). Woburn, MA: BH.
  18. Menetrez, M. Y., Foarde, K. K., Dean, T. R., & Betancourt, D. A. (2010). The effectiveness of UV irradiation on vegetative bacteria and fungi surface contamination. Chemical Engineering Journal, 157(2-3), 443-450. doi:DOI: 10.1016/j.cej.2009.12.004.
  19. da Silva, M., Moraes, A. M. L., Nishikawa, M. M., Gatti, M. J. A., Vallim de Alencar, M. A., Brandão, L. E., & Nóbrega, A. (2006). Inactivation of fungi from deteriorated paper materials by radiation. International Biodeterioration & Biodegradation, 57(3), 163-167. doi:DOI: 10.1016/j.ibiod.2006.02.003 .
  20. Wu, Y., & Yao, M.Inactivation of bacteria and fungus aerosols using microwave irradiation. Journal of Aerosol Science, In Press, Corrected Proof doi:DOI: 10.1016/j.jaerosci.2010.04.004.
  21. Csucos, M., & Csucos, C. (1999). Microbiological obseration of water and wastewater. United States: CRC Press.
  22. Dvorak, J., Hubalek, Z., & Otcenasek, M. (1968). Survival of dermatophytes in human skin scales. Archives of Dermatology, 98(5), 540-542.
  23. Anderson, J. H. (1979). In vitro survival of human pathogenic fungi in seawater. Sabouraudia, 17(1), 1-12.
  24. Kim, K. J., Sung, W. S., Moon, S. K., Choi, J. S., Kim, J. G., & Lee, D. G. (2008). Antifungal effect of silver nanoparticles on dermatophytes. Journal of Microbiology and Biotechnology, 18(8), 1482-1484.
  25. Mahmoudabadi, A. Z. (2007). Laboratory instrument contamination with dermatophytes - a risk for dermatophytosis. Letters in Applied Microbiology, 44(1), 112-113. doi:10.1111/j.1472-765X.2006.02025.x
  26. An Act to promote safety and security with respect to human pathogens and toxins, (2009).
  27. Public Health Agency of Canada. (2004). In Best M., Graham M. L., Leitner R., Ouellette M. and Ugwu K. (Eds.), Laboratory Biosafety Guidelines (3rd ed.). Canada: Public Health Agency of Canada.

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada
Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web! Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Partagez cette page

EPIDERMOPHYTON FLOCCOSUM, MICROSPORUM SPP., TRICHOPHYTON SPP.

FICHE TECHNIQUE SANTÉ-SÉCURITÉ : AGENTS PATHOGÈNES

SECTION I - AGENT INFECTIEUX

NOM : Epidermophyton floccosum, Microsporum spp., Trichophyton spp.

SYNONYME OU RENVOI : Dermatophytes(1), dermatophytose, tinea, teigne, herpès circiné, eczéma marginé de Hébra, pied d'athlète, onychomycose(2), épidermophytose(3), trichophytose(4), microsporose(5).

CARACTÉRISTIQUES : Ces moisissures kératinophiles et kératinolytiques de la division des Ascomycota se reconnaissent par leurs macrospores typiques, qui servent aussi à déterminer leur genre(6). Les macrospores se distinguent principalement par l'épaisseur et l'ornementation de leur paroi(7). Selon leur genre, ces champignons peuvent produire des microconidies (Microsporum spp. et Trichophyton spp.) ou non (E. flocossum). En laboratoire, ils peuvent croître sur une gélose Sabouraud dextrose à 25 °C. Microsporum et Trichophyton peuvent produire une forme capable de méiose (forme parfaite).

SECTION II - DÉTERMINATION DU RISQUE

PATHOGÉNICITÉ ET TOXICITÉ : La dermatophytose peut toucher toutes les parties kératinisées du corps (cheveux et poils, peau et ongles)(2). Les symptômes peuvent varier selon la région infectée. Si les poils ou cheveux sont infectés (teigne tondante [tinea capitis], dermatophytie de la barbe [tinea barbae]), on peut observer leur chute (ectothrix) ou leur cassure (endothrix). Sur la peau, les lésions peuvent être circulaires ou annulaires et en saillie, produisant une forme de dermatophytie du corps. Les infections à dermatophytes zoophiles sont plus inflammatoires (vésicules, pustules et phlyctènes) que celles causées par les dermatophytes anthropophiles. Chez l'humain, l'infection des ongles peut entraîner un changement de couleur, une dystrophie, une hyperkératose et parfois une onycholyse(2). La maladie n'est pas mortelle. Les principaux effets sont de nature esthétique et persistent jusqu'à l'administration d'un médicament adéquat.

ÉPIDÉMIOLOGIE : Ces pathogènes sont présents dans le monde entier, et les infections sont relativement fréquentes(8). En Europe du Nord et en Amérique du Nord, les principaux pathogènes sont Trichophyton rubrum et Microsporum canis. Les dermatophytes zoophiles sont plus fréquents en Europe du Sud et dans les pays arabes. Les agriculteurs sont plus sujets à la dermatophytie de la barbe(9). Dans le cas de l'eczéma marginé de Hébra (tinea cruris), les hommes sont plus réceptifs que les femmes. L'eczéma marginé de Hébra est souvent associé au pied d'athlète (tinea pedis) et survient lorsque la température ambiante et l'humidité sont élevées.

GAMME D'HÔTES : Les dermatophytes peuvent infecter tous les mammifères et reptiles. L'infection est rare chez les oiseaux(1). Certaines espèces ont un hôte spécifique(10). Selon l'hôte et le siège de l'infection, la forme de la lésion peut varier.

DOSE INFECTIEUSE : Inconnue.

MODE DE TRANSMISSION: Contact direct ou indirect avec la peau ou les lésions du cuir chevelu de personnes ou d'animaux infectés ou de vecteurs passifs (p. ex. planchers, cabines de douche, vêtements, brosses à cheveux, etc.(8)) contaminés par de l'épithélium desquamé(9). Chez les personnes dont l'immunité à médiation cellulaire est déficiente, l'infection peut se transmettre par des lésions cutanées.

PÉRIODE D'INCUBATION : La période d'incubation varie de plusieurs jours à plusieurs semaines, selon l'espèce et l'hôte(9).

TRANSMISSIBILITÉ : La transmissibilité est faible à modérée, selon l'espèce(11). Pour les espèces zoophiles (p. ex. M. canis, M. equinum, M. gallinae, M. persicolor, T. equinum, T. mentagrophytes, T. sarkisovii, T. simmii et T. verrucosum(1)), la transmission se fait principalement entre l'humain et les animaux; la transmission d'une personne à l'autre est limitée(12). Les espèces anthropophiles se transmettent très facilement entre humains(13).

SECTION III - DISSÉMINATION

RÉSERVOIR : Les réservoirs fréquents sont le chat, le chien, le macaque, le lapin, le mouton, l'humain et la terre(14). Le réservoir d'un dermatophyte est souvent indiqué par son nom : animal (zoophile), humain (anthropophile) et terre (géophile).

ZOONOSE : Les dermatophytoses signalées chez l'humain sont souvent transmises par des animaux, généralement des mammifères ou des reptiles(1). Les zoonoses d'origine aviaire sont rares, mais certaines ont déjà été signalées.

VECTEURS : Aucun.

SECTION IV - VIABILITÉ ET STABILITÉ

SENSIBILITÉ AUX MÉDICAMENTS : Selon l'agent et le siège de l'infection, la sensibilité aux produits pharmaceutiques peut varier(9). Dans le cas de la teigne tondante, on utilise la griséofulvine ou un composé azole par voie orale (kétoconazole, itraconazole ou voriconazole), cependant, le traitement peut n'être efficace qu'après plusieurs mois. Dans le cas de l'herpès circiné, de l'eczéma marginé de Hébra, du pied d'athlète, de la dermatophytie de la main (tinea manuum) et de la dermatophytie faciale (tinea faciei), il existe plusieurs traitements topiques efficaces, dont la naftifine (1%), la terbinafine (1%), la buténafine (1%), le chlotriminazol (1%), l'éconazole (1%), le kétoconazole (1%), le miconazole (2%), l'oxyconazole (1%), le sulconazole (1%), le cyclopyrox (1%) et le tolnaftate (1%). Le traitement topique des infections unguéales échoue généralement, et celles-ci nécessitent souvent un traitement systémique par voie orale de plusieurs mois.

RÉSISTANCE AUX MÉDICAMENTS : Une résistance au kétoconazole a été observée chez Microsporum gyseum, et certaines souches se sont aussi avérées résistantes au miconazole et au clotrimazole(15). La sensibilité de Trichophyton mentagrophytes au fluconazole a diminué, tout comme, possiblement, sa sensibilité au kétoconazole et à la griséofulvine(16).

SENSIBILITÉ AUX DÉSINFECTANTS : Les dermatophytes sont sensibles aux composés phénoliques, au formaldéhyde, au glutaraldéhyde, aux iodophores et à l'hypochlorure de sodium (1 %)(17).

INACTIVATION PHYSIQUE : La substance infectieuse peut être inactivée par les rayons UV C(18) ou gamma(19) et le rayonnement hyperfréquence (aérosol)(20), par la chaleur humide (121 °C pendant au moins 20 minutes(21)) et par la chaleur sèche (165-170 °C pendant 2 heures).

SURVIE À L'EXTÉRIEUR DE L'HÔTE : Les champignons peuvent survivre sur nombre de surfaces et milieux, notamment le sable, les planchers, les cabines de douche, les vêtements et les brosses à cheveux(8). L'eau peut également être une source d'infection (contamination signalée dans des bains publics). Selon l'espèce, les dermatophytes peuvent survivre jusqu'à 20 mois sur les squames de peau à température ambiante(22). La plupart des dermatophytes peuvent survivre dans l'eau salée (NaCl à 50 %) pendant au moins 52 semaines(23).

SECTION V - PREMIERS SOINS ET ASPECTS MÉDICAUX

SURVEILLANCE : Surveiller les symptômes(9). Confirmer l'infection au moyen de l'examen microscopique des prélèvements obtenus par grattage de la tête ou de la peau ou par biopsie de l'ongle, dénaturés à l'hydroxyde de potassium.

Remarque : Les méthodes de diagnostic ne sont pas nécessairement toutes disponibles dans tous les pays.

PREMIERS SOINS ET TRAITEMENT : Traiter par le fongicide adéquat prescrit par le médecin(9). La durée du traitement et la posologie dépendent du fongicide utilisé.

IMMUNISATION : Actuellement, il n'existe pas de vaccin pour l'humain. Les vaccins commerciaux visant à prévenir l'infection zoophile sont destinés aux bovins, aux chevaux, aux chats et aux chiens(10).

PROPHYLAXIE : Il n'en existe aucune pour le moment, mais certaines études indiquent que les nanoparticules d'argent pourraient constituer un agent prophylactique(24).

SECTION VI - DANGERS POUR LE PERSONNEL DE LABORATOIRE

INFECTIONS CONTRACTÉES AU LABORATOIRE : En date de 1976, 161 cas de dermatomycose avaient été signalés, le plus souvent causés par T. mentagrophytes. La plupart des cas avaient contracté l'infection par suite d'un contact avec des animaux de laboratoire infectés naturellement ou expérimentalement (souris, lapins, cobayes) ou avec leur litière. Les infections sont rares à la suite de la manipulation de cultures (un cas). Il est rare que des infections en laboratoire soient associées à la manipulation de matériel clinique(17).

SOURCES ET ÉCHANTILLONS : Ces agents pathogènes peuvent être présents dans les tissus kératinisés d'hôtes humains et animaux infectés et dans les milieux contaminés par de tels tissus(1). Ils peuvent également être présents dans la terre contaminée et sur des instruments de laboratoire contaminés(25).

DANGERS PRIMAIRES : Le danger principal est associé au contact avec des animaux infectés ou leur litière, au contact avec un milieu infecté ou à la fréquentation d'établissements disposant d'installations sanitaires collectives. Le pathogène cultivé constitue évidemment un danger(14).

DANGERS PARTICULIERS : Aucun.

SECTION VII - CONTRÔLE DE L'EXPOSITION ET PROTECTION PERSONNELLE

CLASSIFICATION PAR GROUPE DE RISQUE : Groupe de risque 2. Ce groupe de risque s'applique aux espèces du genre Microsporum et Trichophyton de façon globale et peut ne pas s'appliquer à chacune des espèces du genre.

EXIGENCES DE CONFINEMENT : Installations, équipement et pratiques opérationnelles de niveau de confinement 2 pour le travail avec des matières, cultures ou animaux infectieux ou potentiellement infectieux. Ces exigences de confinement s'appliquent aux espèces du genre Microsporum et Trichophyton de façon globale et peuvent ne pas s'appliquer à chacune des espèces du genre.

VÊTEMENTS DE PROTECTION : Sarrau. Gants, lorsqu'un contact direct de la peau avec des matières infectées ou des animaux est inévitable. Une protection pour les yeux doit être utilisée lorsqu'il y a un risque connu ou potentiel d'éclaboussure (27).

AUTRES PRÉCAUTIONS : Toutes les procédures pouvant produire des aérosols ou mettant en cause des concentrations ou des quantités élevées doivent s'effectuer dans une enceinte de sécurité biologique (ESB) (12). L'utilisation d'aiguilles, de seringues et d'autres objets tranchants doit être strictement restreinte. Des précautions supplémentaires doivent être envisagées pour les activités avec des animaux ou à grande échelle (27).

SECTION VIII - MANUTENTION ET ENTREPOSAGE

DÉVERSEMENTS : Laisser les aérosols se poser et, tout en portant des vêtements de protection, couvrir délicatement le déversement avec des essuie-tout et appliquer un désinfectant approprié, en commençant par le périmètre et en se rapprochant du centre. Laisser agir suffisamment longtemps avant de nettoyer , répéter (27).

ÉLIMINATION : Décontaminer les déchets par stérilisation à la vapeur, incinération ou désinfection chimique (27).

ENTREPOSAGE : Dans des contenants étanches et scellés, étiquetés de façon appropriée et placés en lieu sûr (27).

SECTION IX - RENSEIGNEMENTS SUR LA RÉGLEMENTATION ET AUTRES

INFORMATION SUR LA RÉGLEMENTATION : L'importation, le transport et l'utilisation de pathogènes au Canada sont régis par de nombreux organismes de réglementation, dont l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada, Santé Canada, l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments, Environnement Canada et Transports Canada. Il incombe aux utilisateurs de veiller à respecter tous les règlements et toutes les lois, directives et normes applicables.

DERNIÈRE MISE À JOUR : Juillet 2010

PRÉPARÉE PAR : Direction de la règlementation des agents pathogènes, agence de la santé publique du Canada.

Bien que les renseignements, opinions et recommandations présentés dans cette Fiche de renseignements proviennent de sources que nous jugeons fiables, nous ne nous rendons pas responsables de leur justesse, de leur caractère exhaustif ou de leur fiabilité, ni des pertes ou blessures pouvant résulter de l'utilisation de ces renseignements. Comme on découvre fréquemment de nouveaux dangers, il est possible que ces renseignements ne soient pas tout à fait à jour.

Tous droits réservés

© Agence de la santé publique du Canada, 2010

Canada

REFERENCES :

  1. Weitzman, I., & Summerbell, R. C. (1995). The dermatophytes. Clinical Microbiology Reviews, 8(2), 240-259.
  2. Degreef, H. (2008). Clinical forms of dermatophytosis (ringworm infection). Mycopathologia, 166(5-6), 257-265. doi:10.1007/s11046-008-9101-8.
  3. Puttick, L. (1990). Sickness absence due to skin disorders in the coal mining industry. The Journal of the Society of Occupational Medicine, 40(1), 23-28.
  4. Nisbet, C., Yarim, G. F., Ciftci, G., Arslan, H. H., & Ciftci, A. (2006). Effects of trichophytosis on serum zinc levels in calves. Biological Trace Element Research, 113(3), 273-280. doi:10.1385/BTER:113:3:273.
  5. Rai, M. K. (1988). A rare microsporosis from Satpura region: identity and discussion on its taxonomy. Hindustan Antibiotics Bulletin, 30(3-4), 87-89.
  6. White, T. C., Oliver, B. G., Graser, Y., & Henn, M. R. (2008). Generating and testing molecular hypotheses in the dermatophytes. Eukaryotic Cell, 7(8), 1238-1245. doi:10.1128/EC.00100-08.
  7. Summerbell, R. C., Weitzman, I., & Padhye, A. A. (2007). Trichophyton, Microsporum, Epidermophyton, and Agents of Superficial Mycoses. Manual of clinical microbiology (9th ed., pp. 1874). Washington: ASM press.
  8. Seebacher, C., Bouchara, J. P., & Mignon, B. (2008). Updates on the epidemiology of dermatophyte infections. Mycopathologia, 166(5-6), 335-352. doi:10.1007/s11046-008-9100-9.
  9. Hainer, B. L. (2003). Dermatophyte infections. American Family Physician, 67(1), 101-108.
  10. Lund, A., & Deboer, D. J. (2008). Immunoprophylaxis of dermatophytosis in animals. Mycopathologia, 166(5-6), 407-424. doi:10.1007/s11046-008-9111-6.
  11. Fleming, D., & Hunt, D. (2006). Biological safety: principles and practices (4th ed.). Washington: ASM press.
  12. Pan American Sanitary Bureau. (2001). In Pan American Sanitary Bureau (Ed.), Zoonoses and communicable disease between man and animals (3rd ed.). Washington DC: Pan american health organization.
  13. Raccurt, C. P., Dorsainvil, D., Boncy, M., Boncy, J., & Auguste, G. (2009). The emergence of Trichophyton tonsurans in Port-au-Prince, Haiti. Medical Mycology : Official Publication of the International Society for Human and Animal Mycology, 47(2), 197-200. doi:10.1080/13693780802192676.
  14. Krauss, H., WEber, A., Appel, M., Enders, B., Isenberg, H. D., Schiefer, H. G., Slenczka, W., & von Graevenitz, A. (2003). Fungal Zoonoses. Zoonoses. Infectious Diseases Transmissible from Animals to Humans (3rd ed., pp. pp. 257-259.). Washington, D.C.: ASM press.
  15. Lenhart, K., Merkunova, A., Walterova, D., Latinak, J., & Kozeny, M. (1989). Ketoconazole-resistant mutants of Microsporum gypseum. II. Characteristics of mutants. Acta Universitatis Palackianae Olomucensis Facultatis Medicae, 122, 71-82.
  16. Barros, M. E., & Hamdan, J. S. (2005). Determination of susceptibility/resistance to antifungal drugs of Trichophyton mentagrophytes isolates by a macrodilution method. Canadian Journal of Microbiology, 51(11), 983-987. doi:10.1139/w05-100.
     
  17. Collins, C. H., & Kennedy, D. A. (1999). Laboratory acquired infections. Laboratory acquired infections: History, incidence, causes and prevention (4th ed., pp. 1-37). Woburn, MA: BH.
  18. Menetrez, M. Y., Foarde, K. K., Dean, T. R., & Betancourt, D. A. (2010). The effectiveness of UV irradiation on vegetative bacteria and fungi surface contamination. Chemical Engineering Journal, 157(2-3), 443-450. doi:DOI: 10.1016/j.cej.2009.12.004.
  19. da Silva, M., Moraes, A. M. L., Nishikawa, M. M., Gatti, M. J. A., Vallim de Alencar, M. A., Brandão, L. E., & Nóbrega, A. (2006). Inactivation of fungi from deteriorated paper materials by radiation. International Biodeterioration & Biodegradation, 57(3), 163-167. doi:DOI: 10.1016/j.ibiod.2006.02.003.
  20. Wu, Y., & Yao, M.Inactivation of bacteria and fungus aerosols using microwave irradiation. Journal of Aerosol Science, In Press, Corrected Proof doi:DOI: 10.1016/j.jaerosci.2010.04.004.
  21. Csucos, M., & Csucos, C. (1999). Microbiological obseration of water and wastewater. United States: CRC Press.
  22. Dvorak, J., Hubalek, Z., & Otcenasek, M. (1968). Survival of dermatophytes in human skin scales. Archives of Dermatology, 98(5), 540-542.
  23. Anderson, J. H. (1979). In vitro survival of human pathogenic fungi in seawater. Sabouraudia, 17(1), 1-12.
  24. Kim, K. J., Sung, W. S., Moon, S. K., Choi, J. S., Kim, J. G., & Lee, D. G. (2008). Antifungal effect of silver nanoparticles on dermatophytes. Journal of Microbiology and Biotechnology, 18(8), 1482-1484.
  25. Mahmoudabadi, A. Z. (2007). Laboratory instrument contamination with dermatophytes - a risk for dermatophytosis. Letters in Applied Microbiology, 44(1), 112-113. doi:10.1111/j.1472-765X.2006.02025.x.
  26. An Act to promote safety and security with respect to human pathogens and toxins, (2009).
  27. Public Health Agency of Canada. (2004). In Best M., Graham M. L., Leitner R., Ouellette M. and Ugwu K. (Eds.), Laboratory Biosafety Guidelines (3rd ed.). Canada: Public Health Agency of Canada.