Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Share this page

Biosafety Advisory:
Efficiently Transmissible Engineered Influenza A H5N1 Viruses

February 01, 2012

This biosafety advisory is being provided by the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC) in response to recent publications of efficiently transmissible engineered Influenza A H5N1 viruses. The Pathogen Regulation Directorate (PRD) has developed this advisory based on current scientific evidence available on this pathogen and is subject to review and change as more information becomes available. The Risk Group (RG) of efficiently transmissible Influenza A H5N1 viruses is RG4.

1. Background

Influenza A H5N1 is a highly pathogenic avian influenza virus that emerged as a human pathogen in 1997 when it was transmitted from avian populations to humans in Hong Kong(1,2). Since then, various countries around the world have reported human infections, particularly in Southeast Asia, the Middle East, and Africa. From 2003 to 2011, 574 human cases and 337 deaths have been confirmed by the World Health Organization; this correlates to a mortality rate of 59%(3). H5N1 can cause death in healthy individuals with no pre-existing medical conditions.

In November 2011, three independent studies on H5N1 transmission in ferrets were either published online or submitted for publication. These studies have received a significant amount of attention due to their relative success in producing engineered H5N1 viruses capable of efficient transmission in ferrets, including via the air(4-10). Ferrets are considered a good model for studying human influenza viruses(11). The engineered transmissible H5N1 viruses are not currently in circulation, but it is widely agreed that if released, the clinical and economic impact could be devastating.

2. Biosafety Requirements

The following table summarizes the containment requirements for laboratories working with efficiently transmissible engineered Influenza A H5N1 viruses. No containment requirements are stipulated for non-proliferative clinical/diagnostic activities based on the fact that this virus is currently not in circulation. Laboratories should refer to the Laboratory Biosafety Guidelines, 3rd Edition, 2004 for a complete listing of the biosafety requirements.

H5N1 viruses capable of efficient human-to-human transmission, including via aerosols or the airborne route, are considered Risk Group 4 human pathogens and require Containment Level 4 physical containment and operational practices.

Sample Type and Activity Minimum Containment Level Requirements
CL2 CL3 CL4
Non-Proliferative Clinical/ Diagnostic Activities Not in circulation at this time see Section 3
Work Involving Positive Cultures    
In Vivo Work    

3. Additional Risk Considerations

If an efficiently transmissible H5N1 virus was introduced into circulation, a risk assessment would be necessary to determine the regulatory requirements for different types of work, such as non-proliferative clinical/ diagnostic activities.

4. Transportation

Packaging, shipping and transport of specimens containing RG4 pathogens require specific instructions and procedures in accordance with the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Regulations, Transport Canada. For information on how to transport RG4 pathogens please contact the National Microbiological Laboratory (NML) at Jay.Krishnan@phac-aspc.gc.ca or Carol.Stansfield@phac-aspc.gc.ca, or contact the 24/7 emergency phone line at (204) 999-7996 due to the stringent notification practices involved.

5. Contact Information

Please note that this advisory is based on currently available scientific evidence and is subject to review and change as new information becomes available. Further biosafety information may be obtained from the PHAC Pathogen Regulation Directorate, on our website at: Laboratory Biosafety and Biosecurity or at (613) 957-1779, fax (613) 941-0596 and by email: biosafety_biosecurity@phac-aspc.gc.ca.

6. References

  1. Harada, Y., Ninomiya-Mori, A., Takahashi, Y., Shirakura, M., Kishida, N., Kageyama, T., Tada, Y., Tashiro, M., & Odagiri, T. (2011). Inactivated and adjuvanted whole-virion clade 2.3.4 H5N1 pre-pandemic influenza vaccine possesses broad protective efficacy against infection by heterologous clades of highly pathogenic H5N1 avian influenza virus in mice. Vaccine, doi:10.1016/j.vaccine.2011.08.091
  2. Hui, D. S. (2008). Review of clinical symptoms and spectrum in humans with influenza A/H5N1 infection. Respirology (Carlton, Vic.), 13 Suppl 1, S10-3. doi:10.1111/j.1440-1843.2008.01247.x
  3. World Health Organization. (2011). Cumulative number of confirmed human cases for avian influenza A(H5N1) reported to WHO, 2003-2011World Health Organization.
  4. Chen, L., Blixt, O., Stevens, J., Lipatov, A. S., Davis, C. T., Collins, B. E., Cox, N. J., Paulson, J. C., & Donis, R. O. (2012). In vitro evolution of H5N1 avian influenza virus toward human-type receptor specificity. Virology, 422(1), 105-113. doi:10.1016/j.virol.2011.10.006
  5. ProMED. (2011). Avian Influenza (68) : H5N1 Transmissibility to FerretsProMED.
  6. ProMED. (2011). Avian Influenza (70) : Transmissibility in FerretsProMED.
  7. ProMED.Avian Influenza (73) : Ferret Experiment ControversyProMED.
  8. The Canadian Press. (2011). Bird Flu Bioterrorism Fears Prompt Cencorship Bid. U.S. Government Asks Scientific Journals to Redact H5N1 Studies. The Canadian Press.
  9. CIDRAP. (2011). H5N1 Transmission Experiment Stirs Concern. CIDRAP.
  10. Garrett, L. (2011). The Bioterrorist Next Door. Foreign Policy.
  11. Matsuoka et al. The Ferret Model for Influenza. Curr Protoc Microbiol. 2009, May; Chapter 15:Unit 15G.2

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada
Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web! Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Partagez cette page

Avis de biosécurité :
Virus de la grippe A H5N1 produits en laboratoire et facilement transmissibles

01 février 2012

Cet avis de biosécurité est émis par l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC) par suite de la parution de publications récentes portant sur des virus de la grippe A H5N1 produits en laboratoire et facilement transmissibles. Le contenu de cet avis, qui a été élaboré par la Direction de la réglementation des agents pathogènes (DRAP), est fondé sur les données scientifiques actuelles liées à cet agent pathogène. Cet avis pourrait être revu et modifié à mesure que d’autres renseignements seront communiqués. Le groupe de risque (GR) associé aux virus de la grippe A H5N1 facilement transmissibles est GR 4.

1. Contexte

Le virus de la grippe A H5N1 est un virus de l’influenza aviaire hautement pathogène qui a fait son apparition en tant qu’agent pathogène humain en 1997, année où le virus circulant au sein de populations aviaires a été transmis à des humains à Hong Kong(1,2). Depuis, plusieurs pays de par le monde ont signalé des cas d’infection humaine, tout particulièrement en Asie du Sud-Est, au Moyen-Orient et en Afrique. De 2003 à 2011, 574 cas humains et 337 décès ont été confirmés par l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé, corroborant ainsi le taux de mortalité de 59 %(3). Le virus H5N1 peut causer la mort chez des personnes saines n’ayant aucun trouble médical préexistant.

En novembre 2011, trois études indépendantes portant sur la transmission du virus H5N1 chez les furets ont été publiées sur Internet ou soumises aux fins de publication. Ces études ont suscité beaucoup d’intérêt en raison du succès relatif quant à la production en laboratoire de virus H5N1 transmissibles de façon efficace aux furets, notamment par l’air(4-10). Les furets sont considérés comme un modèle efficace pour l’étude des virus grippaux humains(11). Les virus H5N1 produits en laboratoire ne sont pas en circulation pour le moment, mais tous conviennent, en général, que leur libération pourrait avoir des répercussions cliniques et économiques dévastatrices.

2. Exigences en matière de biosécurité

Le tableau ci-dessous donne un aperçu des exigences en matière de confinement auxquelles doivent se soumettre les laboratoires qui manipulent des virus de la grippe A H5N1 produits en laboratoire et facilement transmissibles. Aucune exigence liée au confinement n’est prescrite pour des activités diagnostiques / cliniques qui n’entraînent aucune prolifération, compte tenu que ces virus ne sont actuellement pas en circulation. Les laboratoires doivent se reporter aux Lignes directrices en matière de biosécurité en laboratoire, 3e édition – 2004 pour obtenir une liste complète des exigences en matière de biosécurité.

Les virus H5N1 pouvant se transmettre d’un humain à un autre, y compris via une transmission aérienne ou par des aérosols, sont considérés comme des agents pathogènes humains du groupe de risque 4 et nécessitent l’application de pratiques opérationnelles et de confinement physique liées au niveau de confinement 4.

Type d’échantillon et activité Exigences minimales liées aux niveaux de confinement
NC 2 NC 3 NC 4
Activités diagnostiques / cliniques qui n’entraînent aucune prolifération Pas en circulation pour le moment (voir la section 3)
Manipulation de cultures positives    
Manipulation in vivo    

3. Autres considérations lié au risque

Si un virus H5N1 facilement transmissible était libéré, il serait primordial de procéder à une évaluation des risques afin de déterminer les exigences réglementaires liées aux différents types de travaux, notamment les activités diagnostiques / cliniques qui n’entraînent aucune prolifération.

4. Transport

L’emballage, l’expédition et le transport d’échantillons contenant des agents pathogènes du GR 4 nécessitent le suivi d’instructions et de procédures précises, conformément au Règlement sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses de Transports Canada. Pour obtenir des directives sur le transport d’agents pathogènes du GR 4, veuillez communiquer avec le Laboratoire national de microbiologie (LNM) par courriel, Jay.Krishnan@phac-aspc.gc.ca ou Carol.Stansfield@phac-aspc.gc.ca, ou par le biais de la ligne téléphonique d’urgence 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7, au numéro (204) 999-7996, compte tenu des pratiques de notification rigoureuses.

5. Coordonnées

Veuillez noter que le présent avis est fondé sur les données scientifiques actuelles liées à cet agent pathogène et qu’il pourrait être revu et modifié à mesure que d’autres renseignements seront communiqués. Pour obtenir d’autres renseignements sur la biosécurité provenant de la Direction de la réglementation des agents pathogènes de l’ASPC, consultez le site Web suivant : Biosécurité en laboratoire. Vous pouvez aussi obtenir de l’information par téléphone (613-957-1779), par télécopieur (613-941-0596) et par courriel, à l’adresse suivante : biosafety_biosecurity@phac-aspc.gc.ca.

6. Références

  1. Harada, Y., Ninomiya-Mori, A., Takahashi, Y., Shirakura, M., Kishida, N., Kageyama, T., Tada, Y., Tashiro, M., & Odagiri, T. (2011). Inactivated and adjuvanted whole-virion clade 2.3.4 H5N1 pre-pandemic influenza vaccine possesses broad protective efficacy against infection by heterologous clades of highly pathogenic H5N1 avian influenza virus in mice. Vaccine, doi:10.1016/j.vaccine.2011.08.091
  2. Hui, D. S. (2008). Review of clinical symptoms and spectrum in humans with influenza A/H5N1 infection. Respirology (Carlton, Vic.), 13 Suppl 1, S10-3. doi:10.1111/j.1440-1843.2008.01247.x
  3. World Health Organization. (2011). Cumulative number of confirmed human cases for avian influenza A(H5N1) reported to WHO, 2003-2011World Health Organization.
  4. Chen, L., Blixt, O., Stevens, J., Lipatov, A. S., Davis, C. T., Collins, B. E., Cox, N. J., Paulson, J. C., & Donis, R. O. (2012). In vitro evolution of H5N1 avian influenza virus toward human-type receptor specificity. Virology, 422(1), 105-113. doi:10.1016/j.virol.2011.10.006
  5. ProMED. (2011). Avian Influenza (68) : H5N1 Transmissibility to FerretsProMED.
  6. ProMED. (2011). Avian Influenza (70) : Transmissibility in FerretsProMED.
  7. ProMED.Avian Influenza (73) : Ferret Experiment ControversyProMED.
  8. The Canadian Press. (2011). Bird Flu Bioterrorism Fears Prompt Cencorship Bid. U.S. Government Asks Scientific Journals to Redact H5N1 Studies. The Canadian Press.
  9. CIDRAP. (2011). H5N1 Transmission Experiment Stirs Concern. CIDRAP.
  10. Garrett, L. (2011). The Bioterrorist Next Door. Foreign Policy.
  11. Matsuoka et al. The Ferret Model for Influenza. Curr Protoc Microbiol. 2009, May; Chapter 15:Unit 15G.2