Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

Laboratory Biosafety and Biosecurity

On December 1, 2015, the Human Pathogens and Toxins Regulations (HPTR) came into force and the Human Pathogens Importation Regulations (HPIR) was repealed. Unless you are excluded or exempted, you will need to apply for a licence under the Human Pathogens and Toxins Act (HPTA) to conduct controlled activities (possessing, handling, using, producing, storing, permitting any person access, transferring, importing, exporting, releasing, abandoning, disposing of a human pathogen or toxin). This licence requirement replaces the requirement to register under the HPTA. It should be noted that there is no fee for licensing activities under the HPTA (including applying for, amending, renewing, etc.).

If on December 1, 2015, you are performing controlled activities with human pathogens or toxins (including possessing, storing, transferring, and disposing) you must submit your licence application to the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC) between December 1, 2015 and February 29, 2016 (inclusive). By doing so you will be exempted from the HPTA and HPTR licence requirements until PHAC has provided you a decision on your licence application. Failure to submit your licence application by February 29, 2016 will make you subject to enforcement action under the HPTA.

If you would like to begin conducting controlled activities for the first time with human pathogens and toxins after December 1, 2015, you need to wait for the processing of your licence application before you can commence controlled activities with human pathogens and toxins. Failure to wait until your licence application is processed before conducting controlled activities will make you subject to enforcement action under the HPTA.

For further information, please refer to sections below.

Please contact us with any questions: PHAC.pathogens.pathogenes.ASPC@canada.ca

  • Biosecurity

    Information on requirements related to HPTA Security Clearance Program, including Frequently Asked Questions, Forms and link to the Security Sensitive Biological Agents (SSBAs)

  • Licensing Program

    Information on Pathogen and Toxins Licence as required under the Human Pathogens and Toxins Regulations (HPTR), including Types of Licences, application process and Plan for Administrative Oversight for Pathogens and Toxins in a Reasearch Setting - Required Elements and Guidance.

  • Human Pathogens and Toxins Act

    Provides a brief description of acts and regulations managed by the Centre for Biosecurity on behalf of the Public Health Agency of Canada, including program components, supporting activities, and the Statements of Administrative Intent (SAIs).

  • Canadian Biosafety Standard and Guidelines

    Standard and guidelines used by laboratory researchers and workers in facilities possessing, handling, storing or using pathogens and toxins.

  • Pathogen Safety Data Sheets

    Technical documents providing detailed descriptions of the hazardous properties of specific human pathogens or toxins and recommendations for work practices involving these agents.

  • Training

    Learning materials to support regulated parties including e-learning courses on the principles and practices of biosafety and biosecurity.

  • Compliance and Enforcement

    Information on the Centre for Biosecurity's Compliance and Enforcement under the Human Pathogens and Toxins Act (HPTA), Human Pathogens and Toxins Regulations (HPTR) and Health of Animals Act and associated regulations (HAA/HAR).

  • Advisories, Notifications and Directives

    Advisories, Notifications and Directives related to containment requirements for a specific pathogen or group of pathogens.

  • About Us

    Information on the Centre for Biosecurity.

  • Engagement Opportunities

    Information on engagement opportunities and how to contact the Centre for Biosecurity.

  • Notifications

    Information on reporting and notification requirements for Licence Holders, Biological Safety Officers and persons conducting controlled activities authorized under a licence.

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

Biosécurité et biosûreté en laboratoire

Lorsque le Règlement sur les agents pathogènes et les toxines (RAPHT) est entré en vigueur le 1er décembre 2015, le Règlement sur l'importation des agents anthropopathogènes (RIAA) a été abrogé. À moins que vous en soyez exclu ou dispensé, vous devrez alors présenter une demande de permis en vertu de la Loi sur les agents pathogènes humains et les toxines (LAPHT) pour mener des activités réglementées (c.-à-d. possession, manipulation, utilisation, production, entreposage, autorisations d'accès, transfert, importation, exportation, libération, abandon, élimination d'un agent pathogène humain ou d'une toxine). L'exigence d'obtention d'un permis remplace l'exigence d'inscription en vertu de la LAPHT. Il est à noter qu'aucuns frais ne sont imposés pour les activités de délivrance de permis en vertu de la LAPHT (y compris pour le dépôt, la modification et le renouvellement d'une demande, etc.).

Si au 1er décembre 2015, vous exerciez des activités réglementées avec des agents pathogènes humains ou des toxines (y compris la possession, le stockage, le transfert et l'élimination), vous devez soumettre votre demande de permis à l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC) d’ici le 29 février 2016 par l’intermédiaire du Portail vers la biosûreté . Ce faisant, vous serez dispensé des exigences d'obtention de permis aux termes de la LAPHT et du RAPHT jusqu'à ce que l'ASPC vous ait fourni une décision à l'égard de votre demande de permis. Le défaut de soumettre votre demande de permis d'ici le 29 février 2016 vous exposera à des mesures d'exécution de la loi aux termes de la LAPHT.

Si vous voulez commencer à effectuer des activités réglementées pour la première fois avec des agents pathogènes humains et des toxines après le 1er décembre 2015, vous devrez attendre la fin du traitement de votre demande de permis avant de pouvoir commencer. Le défaut d'attendre la fin du traitement de votre demande de permis avant de commencer à exercer des activités réglementées vous exposera à des mesures d'exécution de la loi aux termes de la LAPHT.

Pour plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les sections ci-dessous.

Nous contacter pour toute question : PHAC.pathogens.pathogenes.ASPC@canada.ca.

  • Biosûreté

    Information sur les exigences liées au programme d'habilitation de sécurité en vertu de la LAPHT, notamment une foire aux questions, les formulaires et un lien vers de l'information sur les agents biologiques à cote de sécurité élevée (ABCSE).

  • Programme de délivrance de permis

    Information sur le permis visant des agents pathogènes et des toxines qu'exige le Règlement sur les agents pathogènes humains et les toxines, notamment les types de permis, la procédure de demande et le Plan de surveillance administrative pour les agents pathogènes et les toxines dans un contexte de recherché - Éléments requis et orientation.

  • Loi sur les agents pathogènes humains et les toxines

    Brève description des lois et des règlements qu'administre le Centre de la biosûreté au nom de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada, notamment les volets du programme, les activités à l'appui, ainsi que les déclarations d'intention.

  • Normes et lignes directrices canadiennes sur la biosécurité

    Normes et lignes directrices utilisées par les chercheurs et le personnel de laboratoire qui manipulent, entreposent, utilisent ou possèdent des agents pathogènes et des toxines dans leurs établissements.

  • Fiches techniques santé-sécurité : agents pathogènes

    Documents techniques décrivant en détail les propriétés dangereuses d'un agent pathogène humain ou d'une toxine et recommandations sur les pratiques de travail avec ces agents.

  • Formation

    Ressources pédagogiques pour appuyer les parties réglementées, notamment des cours en ligne sur les principes et les pratiques en matière de biosécurité et de biosûreté.

  • Programme de conformité et d'application

    Information sur le Programme de conformité et d'application du Centre de biosûreté en vertu de la Loi sur les agents pathogènes humains et les toxines (LAPHT), du Règlement sur les agents pathogènes humains et les toxines (RAPHT), de la Loi sur la santé des animaux (LSA) et du Règlement sur la santé des animaux (RSA).

  • Directives, avis et avis spéciaux

    Directives, avis et avis spéciaux en ce qui concerne les exigences de confinement pour un agent pathogène ou un groupe d'agents pathogènes.

  • À propos

    Information sur le Centre de biosûreté.

  • Possibilité de mobilisation

    Informations sur les possibilités d'engagement et méthodes de communication avec le Centre de biosûreté.

  • Déclarations

    Information sur les déclarations pour les titulaires de permis, les agents de sûreté biologique et les personnes exerçant des activités réglementées autorisées en vertu d'un permis.