Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

Facts on Injury

Unintentional and intentional injuries are a serious public health concern in Canada:

  • The Cost of Injury in Canada report estimates the total economic burden of injury in Canada at $26.8 billion in 2010. This estimate includes direct costs of $15.9 billion arising from health care expenditures and indirect costs of $10.9 billion associated with reduced productivity from hospitalization, disability and premature death (Parachute. The Cost of Injury in Canada. Toronto, ON; Parachute, 2015).
  • According to the World Health Organization, each year around the world, more than 5 million people die from injuries. This accounts for 9% of the world's deaths, nearly 1.7 times the number of deaths from HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis and malaria combined. Globally, road traffic injuries are the leading cause of death among 15-29 year olds, with suicide and homicide the second and fourth leading causes of death in this age group, respectively (World Health Organization (WHO), Injury and Violence: The Facts 2014. Geneva, Switzerland: WHO; 2014).
  • In 2010, 15,886 Canadians died as a result of injuries (this figure excludes adverse events in medical care).Footnote
  • In 2009/10 (April 1 2009 - March 31 2010), 231,596 people were admitted to hospital in Canada because of injuries, excluding adverse events in medical care.Footnote
  • Injuries, excluding adverse events in medical care, are the leading cause of death for Canadians between the ages of 1 and 44 and the fifth leading cause of death for Canadians of all ages.Footnote
  • Many non-fatal injuries result in impairments and disabilities such as blindness, spinal cord injury and intellectual deficit due to brain injury.
Footnote

Public Health Agency of Canada analysis of data from the Hospital Morbidity Database, Canadian Institute for Health Information. Published in: Parachute. The Cost of Injury in Canada. Toronto, ON: Parachute; 2015

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

Données sur les blessures

Les blessures intentionnelles et les blessures non intentionnelles sont un grave problème de santé publique au Canada :

  • Dans le rapport The Cost of Injury in Canada (disponible en anglais seulement), on estime que le fardeau économique total des blessures se situe à 26,8 milliards de dollars en 2010. Cette estimation inclut les coûts directs de 15,9 milliards de dollars découlant des dépenses en soins de santé et des coûts indirects de 10,9 milliards de dollars liés à la productivité réduite, aux hospitalisations, aux handicaps et aux décès prématurés (Parachute. The Cost of Injury in Canada. Toronto, ON, Parachute, 2015).
  • Selon l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé, chaque année, dans le monde entier, plus de cinq millions de personnes meurent à la suite de blessures. Cela représente 9 % des décès enregistrés dans le monde et près de 1,7 fois le nombre total de décès causés par le VIH/sida, la tuberculose et le paludisme. À l'échelle mondiale, les blessures causées par des collisions routières sont la cause principale de décès chez les 15 à 29 ans, tandis que le suicide et les homicides arrivent respectivement en deuxième et en quatrième positions. (Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS), Traumatismes et violence : les faits 2014. Genève (Suisse), OMS, 2014.)
  • En 2010, 15 886 Canadiens sont décédés par suite de blessures, non compris les événements indésirables découlant de soins médicaux. Note de bas de page
  • En 2009-2010, soit du 1er avril 2009 au 31 mars 2010, 231 596 personnes ont été hospitalisées par suite de blessures, non compris les événements indésirables découlant de soins médicaux. Note de bas de page
  • À l'exclusion des événements indésirables découlant de soins médicaux, les blessures sont la cause principale de décès chez les Canadiens de 1 à 44 ans et la cinquième cause de décès chez les Canadiens de tout âge. Note de bas de page
  • De nombreuses blessures non mortelles entraînent des invalidités comme la cécité, des traumatismes à la colonne vertébrale et des déficits intellectuels causés par des traumatismes crâniens.
Note de bas de page

Analyse des données de la Base de données sur la morbidité hospitalière de l'Institut canadien d'information sur la santé par l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada. Publiée dans : Parachute. The Cost of Injury in Canada. Toronto, ON, Parachute, 2015.