Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

North American Leaders announce revised North American Plan for Animal and Pandemic Influenza (NAPAPI)

On April 2, 2012, Prime Minister Harper, along with President Obama of the United States and President Calderón of Mexico, announced the revised North American Plan for Animal and Pandemic Influenza (NAPAPI) at the 2012 North American Leaders Summit in Washington D.C.

This document replaces the original 2007 North American Plan for Avian and Pandemic Influenza.  It incorporates lessons learned from Pandemic (H1N1) 2009 and provides a framework to further strengthen the trilateral response to future animal and pandemic influenzas in North America.  

The revised NAPAPI fulfills a commitment made at the 2009 North American Leaders’ Summit to build upon North America’s successful coordinated response to the H1N1 pandemic. The response to Pandemic (H1N1) 2009 stands as a global example of cooperation to jointly prepare for future animal and pandemic influenza outbreaks and ultimately enhance the health and safety of our citizens.

The revised North American Plan for Animal and Pandemic InfluenzaExternal Link

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

Les leaders nord-américains annoncent la publication du nouveau Plan nord‑américain contre l’influenza animale et la pandémie d’influenza

Le 2 avril 2012, lors du Sommet des leaders nord-américains de 2012 qui a eu lieu à Washington D.C., le premier ministre du Canada, Stephen Harper, le président des États‑Unis, Barack Obama, et le président du Mexique, Felipe Calderón, ont annoncé la publication du nouveau Plan nord-américain contre l’influenza animale et la pandémie d’influenza (PNAIAPI).

Ce document remplace le Plan nord-américain contre l’influenza aviaire et la pandémie d’influenza publié en 2007. Il comprend des leçons tirées de la pandémie de grippe (H1N1) de 2009 et fournit un cadre pour renforcer davantage les interventions trilatérales en cas de grippe animale et de pandémie de grippe en Amérique du Nord.

Le PNAIAPI permet de remplir l’engagement pris lors du Sommet des leaders nord‑américains de 2009 de tirer profit de l’intervention coordonnée efficace de l’Amérique du Nord pour lutter contre la pandémie de grippe H1N1. Cette intervention constitue un exemple mondial de coopération pouvant servir à la préparation commune en cas d’éclosion de grippe animale et de pandémie de grippe et, au bout du compte, à améliorer la santé et la sécurité des citoyens de ce continent.

La version modifiée du Plan nord-américain contre l'influenza animale et la pandémie d'influenzaLien externe