Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

Reported Influenza Hospitalizations and Deaths in Canada: 2011-12 to 2015-16 (data to August 13, 2016)

Note: Flu seasons run from week 35 (August) to week 34 (August)

In Canada the active influenza season generally starts in November and ends in March. The number of hospitalizations and deaths associated with influenza are used to measure the severity of the influenza seasons. Every week, a subset of provincial and territorial Ministries of Health report the number of hospitalized cases and deaths associated with influenza to the Public Health Agency of Canada.

See FightFlu.ca for more information.

Hospitalizations with influenza

The first figure (Figure 1) shows the reported number of hospitalizations with influenza over the past four influenza seasons, from the 2011/2012 season up to August 13, 2016 of the 2015/2016 season. The 2011/2012 season following the pandemic (2009/2010) was relatively mild, followed by the 2012/2013, 2013/2014 and 2014/2015 seasons, when a considerable number of adult hospitalizations were reported. The total number of adult hospitalizations reported over the 2014/2015 season exceeded those in any previous influenza season (including the pandemic). Over the last four influenza seasons, the number of paediatric hospitalizations reported has been relatively stable.

To date, 5360 hospitalizations have been reported from participating provinces and territories for the 2015/2016 influenza season.

Figure 1. Reported number of hospitalizations by influenza season, CanadaFigure 1 - Footnote *, 2011-12 to 2015-16 (Data current as of August 13, 2016)

Figure 1 - Footnote *
It is important to note that the number of hospitalizations and deaths reported represent a subset of all influenza-associated hospitalizations and deaths in Canada as not all Provinces and Territories participate in reporting. Number of participating Provinces and Territories: 2011-12: 10, 2012-13: 8, 2013-14: 9, 2014-15: 10, 2015-16: 10

Text Equivalent - Figure 1

Deaths with influenza

The second figure (Figure 2) shows the reported number of deaths with influenza over the past four influenza seasons, from the 2011/2012 season up to August 13, 2016 of the 2015/2016 season. In the past four influenza seasons, the number of deaths with influenza has followed a similar pattern to the reported hospitalizations (Figure 1). The number of deaths among children has been relatively consistent since the 2011/2012 season. The total number of adult deaths reported over the 2014/2015 season exceeded those in any previous influenza season (including the pandemic). To date, 270 deaths have been reported from participating provinces and territories for the 2015/2016 influenza season.

Figure 2. Reported number of deaths by influenza season, CanadaFigure 2 - Footnote *, 2011-12 to 2015-16 (Data current as of August 13, 2016)

Figure 2 - Footnote *
It is important to note that the number of hospitalizations and deaths reported represent a subset of all influenza-associated hospitalizations and deaths in Canada as not all Provinces and Territories participate in reporting. Number of participating Provinces and Territories: 2011-12: 10, 2012-13: 8, 2013-14: 9, 2014-15: 10, 2015-16: 10

Text Equivalent - Figure 2

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

Hospitalisations et décès attribuables à la grippe déclarés au Canada : de 2011-2012 à 2015-2016 (données jusqu'au 13 août 2016)

Note : La saison de la grippe s'étend de la semaine 35 (août) à la semaine 34 (août)

Au Canada, la saison active de la grippe s'étale du mois de novembre au mois de mars. Les cas d'hospitalisations et de décès associés à la grippe sont une mesure de la gravité de la saison grippale. Un sous-ensemble de ministères de la Santé provinciaux et territoriaux déclarent hebdomadairement le nombre de cas hospitalisés et de décès associés à la grippe à l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada.

Consultez le site Web combattezlagrippe.ca pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Hospitalisations attribuables à la grippe

Cette première figure (figure 1) montre le nombre déclaré d'hospitalisations dues à la grippe au cours des quatre dernières saisons de la grippe, s'étendant de la saison 2011/2012 jusqu'au 13 août 2016 de la saison 2015/2016. Les deux saisons suivant celle de la pandémie ont été moins intenses, suivies par les saisons 2012/2013 et 2013/2014, au cours de lesquelles un nombre considérable d'hospitalisations d'adultes a été déclaré. Au cours des quatre dernières saisons de la grippe, le nombre déclaré d'hospitalisations chez les d'enfants a été relativement stable.

Jusqu'à présent 5 360 hospitalisations ont été signalées par les provinces et territoires participants au cours de la saison grippale 2015/2016.

Figure 1. Nombre déclaré d'hospitalisations par saison de la grippe, CanadaFigure 1 - Note *, 2011-2012 à 2015-2016 (Données jusqu'au 13 août 2016)

Figure 1 - Note *
Il est important de noter que le nombre de cas d'hospitalisation et de mortalité signalés représente un sous-ensemble de la totalité des cas d'hospitalisation et de mortalité liés à la grippe au Canada puisque les provinces et territoires ne participent pas tous à la déclaration. Nombre de provinces et de territoires participants: 2011-12: 10, 2012-13: 8, 2013-14: 9., 2014-15: 10, 2015-16: 10

Équivalent textuel - Figure 1

Décès attribuables à la grippe

La seconde figure (figure 2) montre le nombre déclaré de décès dus à la grippe au cours des six dernières saisons de la grippe, depuis la saison 2011/2012 jusqu'au 13 août 2016 de la saison 2015/2016. Au cours des quatre dernières saisons de la grippe, le nombre de décès associé à la grippe a suivi une tendance semblable à celle des hospitalisations déclarées (figure 1). Le nombre de décès d'enfants a été relativement constant depuis la saison 2011/12, tandis que le nombre de décès d'adultes a été plus élevé pendant les saisons 2012/2013 et 2013/2014. Jusqu'à présent 270 décès ont été signalés par les provinces et territoires participants au cours de la saison grippale 2015/2016.

Figure 2. Nombre déclaré de décès par saison de la grippe, CanadaFigure 2 - Note *, 2011-2012 à 2015-2016 (Données jusqu'au 13 août 2016)

Figure 2 - Note *
Il est important de noter que le nombre de cas d'hospitalisation et de mortalité signalés représente un sous-ensemble de la totalité des cas d'hospitalisation et de mortalité liés à la grippe au Canada puisque les provinces et territoires ne participent pas tous à la déclaration. Nombre de provinces et de territoires participants : 2011-12: 10, 2012-13: 8, 2013-14: 9., 2014-15: 10; 2015-16: 10

Équivalent textuel - Figure 2