Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

Fact Sheet on Rabies

What is rabies?

Rabies is a viral infection of animals that can be transmitted to humans. It is caused by a virus of the Rhabdoviridae family, which attacks the central nervous system and eventually affects the brain. The virus is usually found in the saliva of an infected animal. Rabies is almost always fatal once symptoms occur. Rabies can occur in any warm-blooded animal, domestic and wild- commonly, dogs, cats, foxes, raccoons, skunks, wolves and bats. Animals having potential interactions with people such as cattle and horses can acquire rabies and may transmit the disease to humans.

How common is human rabies?

Human rabies is rare in Canada, due largely to excellent prevention and control programs. There have been four cases of human rabies since 1985. Since 1924, a total of 24 people in six provinces have died of rabies in Canada: Quebec (12), Ontario (6), Saskatchewan and Alberta 2 each), British Columbia and Nova Scotia (1 case each). Rabies is a significant public health problem in many Asian and African countries. The World Health Organization estimates there are 55,000 human deaths from rabies each year in Asia and Africa, with 30-50% of cases occurring in children under 15 years of age.

How is rabies spread?

The virus is transmitted through close contact with the saliva of infected animals, most often by a bite or scratch or by licks on broken skin or mucous membranes, such as the eyes, nose or mouth. Person-to-person transmission is theoretically possible, but rare and not well documented. Organ (corneal) transplants from persons dying of undiagnosed central nervous system (CNS) disease have resulted in rabies in recipients. Airborne spread has been demonstrated in a cave where bats were roosting and in laboratory settings, but this occurs very rarely.

Injury to the upper body or face poses the greatest risk of transmission. The risk for children is estimated to be four times greater than adults, and boys are at greater risk than girls.

What are the symptoms of rabies?

Symptoms can take 20 to 60 days to appear, although this may vary from days to years, and may depend on wound severity, wound site in relation to nerve supply and distance from the brain, amount and strain of virus, protection provided by clothing, and other factors.

Symptoms progress quickly as the central nervous system is attacked, and the illness generally presents in one of two ways: “furious rabies” and “dumb rabies”. Furious rabies is more common and is characterised by anxiety and psychological disturbances (confusion, agitation, delirium, rage, hallucinations, and hydrophobia. Dumb rabies occurs in approximately 20% of patients and presents with paralysis. In both furious and dumb rabies, death usually occurs within seven days due to breathing failure caused by paralysis of the respiratory system.

When should people be vaccinated against rabies?

Rabies is a serious disease that is almost always fatal, so post-exposure vaccination is a priority for anyone exposed to animals with proven or suspected rabies. Post-exposure vaccines in Canada are distributed through the public health system.

Rabies vaccine is also indicated for pre-exposure vaccination of people who are at high risk of contact with potentially rabid animals or the rabies virus. This includes, for example, certain laboratory workers, veterinarians, animal control and wildlife workers, spelunkers (cave explorers), hunters and trappers in high-risk areas and travellers to areas where rabies is constantly present. Pre-exposure vaccination is generally offered by private health care providers (e.g. travel clinics); some provinces offer publicly funded pre-exposure vaccine programs.

Two vaccines against rabies are currently approved for use in Canada, Imovax® Rabies, made by Sanofi Pasteur Ltd and RabAvert®, made by Novartis and distributed in Canada by Merck Frosst. The vaccines are very effective, cause few adverse reactions, and both provide immunity to rabies when administered for protection before an exposure (pre-exposure prophylaxis) or after an exposure (post-exposure prophylaxis).

How much vaccine is used for post-exposure versus pre-exposure treatment?

About 65 per cent of the annual doses of rabies vaccine in Canada are used for post-exposure vaccination; the remaining 35% is used for pre-exposure prophylaxis. Pre-exposure prophylaxis is recommended for people of increased risk of contracting rabies, such as:

  • veterinarians,
  • certain lab workers,
  • animal control and wildlife workers,
  • persons hunting and trapping in high-risk areas,
  • spelunkers (cave explorers),
  • young children who may not understand the need to stay away from animals or to report any bite,
  • travellers in areas where rabies is constantly present and where there is limited access to adequate and safe post-exposure prophylaxis.

Post-exposure prophylaxis should be started as soon as possible after exposure and should be offered to exposed individuals regardless of the elapsed interval. Five doses of vaccine are needed; the first dose should be given as soon as possible after exposure and additional doses on each of days 3, 7, 14 and 28 after the first dose. Individuals exposed to rabies should also receive a dose of Rabies immunoglobulin on the same day the first dose of the vaccine is received.

What should I do if I have been bitten by an animal?

If you have been bitten by an animal and think you may have been exposed to rabies, you should immediately wash and flush the wound with soap and water. Seek attention from a health care professional as soon as possible to assess your risk and treatment options.

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

Feuillet de renseignements sur la rage

Qu’est-ce que la rage?

La rage est une infection virale des animaux qui peut être transmise à l’humain. La rage est causée par un virus de la famille des rhabdovirus (Rhabdoviridae) qui s’attaque au système nerveux central avant d’atteindre le cerveau. Le virus est généralement présent dans la salive des animaux infectés. Après l’apparition des symptômes, la rage est presque toujours fatale. Tous les animaux à sang chaud, domestiques ou sauvages, peuvent contracter la rage, mais il s’agit habituellement de chiens, de chats, de renards, de ratons laveurs, de mouffettes, de loups et de chauves-souris. D’autres animaux pouvant avoir des interactions avec les humains, comme le bétail et les chevaux, peuvent contracter la rage et la transmettre aux humains.

La rage humaine est-elle fréquente?

La rage humaine est rare au Canada, en raison surtout d’excellents programmes de prévention et de lutte. Il y a eu quatre cas de rage humaine depuis 1985. Depuis 1924 au Canada, un total de 24 personnes sont mortes de la rage dans six provinces : Québec (12), Ontario (6), Saskatchewan (2), Alberta (2), Colombie-Britannique (1) et Nouvelle-Écosse (1). La rage est un important problème de santé publique dans de nombreux pays de l’Asie et de l’Afrique. L’Organisation mondiale de la Santé estime que la rage cause la mort de 55 000 personnes par année en Asie et en Afrique et que de 30 à 50 % des personnes infectées sont des enfants âgés de moins de 15 ans.

Comment la rage se transmet-elle?

Le virus se transmet par contact étroit avec la salive d’un animal infecté, le plus souvent par morsure ou griffure, ou lorsque l’animal lèche une lésion de la peau ou une muqueuse comme l’œil, le nez ou la bouche. La transmission interhumaine est théoriquement possible, mais rare et mal documentée. Des transplantations d’organes (cornée) provenant de personnes décédées d’une maladie du système nerveux central non diagnostiquée ont entraîné l’apparition de la rage chez des receveurs. La possibilité d’une propagation par voie aérienne a été démontrée dans une caverne abritant des chauves-souris et en laboratoire, mais c’est très rare.

Le plus grand risque de transmission de la rage provient de blessures au haut du corps ou au visage. Selon des estimations, le risque pour les enfants serait quatre fois plus élevé que le risque pour les adultes, et le risque est plus élevé chez les garçons que chez les filles.

Quels sont les symptômes de la rage?

De 20 à 60 jours peuvent s’écouler avant l’apparition des symptômes, mais cette période d’attente peut durer de quelques jours à des années et varier selon la gravité de la blessure, la distance entre la blessure et le cerveau, la richesse de l’innervation locale, la quantité et la souche de virus introduit, le degré de protection offert par les vêtements et d’autres facteurs.

Les symptômes évoluent rapidement lorsque le système nerveux central est attaqué, et la maladie se présente généralement sous l’une de deux formes : la « rage furieuse » ou la « rage muette ». La rage furieuse est plus courante et se caractérise par de l’anxiété et des troubles psychologiques (confusion, agitation, délire, rage, hallucinations et hydrophobie). La rage muette survient chez environ 20 % des patients et se caractérise par une paralysie. Qu’il s’agisse de rage furieuse ou de rage muette, la mort survient habituellement dans les sept jours des suites d’une insuffisance respiratoire provoquée par la paralysie de l’appareil respiratoire.

Quand faut-il se faire vacciner contre la rage?

La rage est une maladie grave qui est presque toujours mortelle, et c’est pourquoi la vaccination post-exposition s’impose pour toute personne ayant été en contact avec des animaux chez qui la rage est confirmée ou soupçonnée. Au Canada, les vaccins post-exposition sont distribués par le système de santé publique?

L’administration du vaccin antirabique est également conseillée en pré-exposition aux personnes à haut risque d’être exposées au virus de la rage ou à des animaux pouvant être atteints de la rage. À titre d’exemple, ce groupe inclut certains travailleurs de laboratoire, les vétérinaires, les agents de la protection de la faune et du contrôle des animaux, les spéléologues (explorateurs de cavernes), les chasseurs et les trappeurs qui pratiquent dans des secteurs à haut risque ainsi que les personnes qui voyagent dans des régions où la rage est toujours présente. La vaccination pré-exposition est généralement offerte par des fournisseurs de soins de santé privés (p. ex. cliniques de médecine de voyages); certaines provinces offrent des programmes publics de vaccination pré-exposition.

À l’heure actuelle, deux vaccins antirabiques sont homologués au Canada, soit ImovaxMD Rage, fabriqué par Sanofi Pasteur ltée, et RabAvertMD, fabriqué par Novartis et distribué au Canada par Merck Frosst. Ces vaccins sont très efficaces, entraînent peu d’effets indésirables et fournissent une immunisation adéquate contre la rage lorsqu’ils sont administrés à titre préventif avant l’exposition (prophylaxie pré-exposition) ou après l’exposition (prophylaxie post-exposition).

Dans quelle proportion le vaccin est-il administré en pré-exposition et en post exposition?

Environ 65 % des doses annuelles de vaccin antirabique sont administrées post-exposition; le reste des doses (35 %) est utilisé pour la prophylaxie pré-exposition. La prophylaxie pré exposition est conseillée aux personnes à haut risque de contracter la rage, notamment :

  • les vétérinaires;
  • certains travailleurs de laboratoire;
  • les agents de la protection de la faune et du contrôle des animaux;
  • les chasseurs et les trappeurs qui pratiquent dans des secteurs à haut risque;
  • les spéléologues (explorateurs de cavernes);
  • les enfants trop jeunes pour comprendre la nécessité d’éviter les contacts avec les animaux ou de signaler toute morsure;
  • les personnes qui voyagent dans des régions où la rage est toujours présente et où l’accès à une prophylaxie post-exposition sûre et efficace est limité.

La prophylaxie post-exposition devrait débuter le plus tôt possible après l’exposition et être offerte à toute personne exposée, peu importe le temps écoulé depuis l’exposition. Cinq doses du vaccin sont requises : la première dose devrait être administrée le plus tôt possible après l’exposition, et les autres doses aux jours 3, 7, 14 et 28 après la première dose. Les personnes exposées à la rage devraient aussi recevoir une dose d’immunoglobulines antirabiques le jour même de l’administration de la première dose de vaccin.

Que dois-je faire si je me fais mordre par un animal?

Si vous avez été mordu par un animal et que vous croyez que vous pourriez avoir été exposé à la rage, lavez immédiatement la plaie avec de l’eau et du savon et rincez-la abondamment. Consultez ensuite un professionnel de la santé dans les plus brefs délais pour qu’il évalue le risque et détermine les options de traitement.