Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

Viral haemorrhagic fevers

Recent Notices

Viral haemorrhagic fevers are a group of severe and often fatal diseases caused by a number of different viruses. Ebola, Marburg, Lassa and Crimean-Congo are examples of these types of viruses.

The risk of viral haemorrhagic fever in Canada is low. Infections and outbreaks occur sporadically in many developing areas of the world. These areas include Central, East and Western Africa, and, to a lesser extent, Eastern Europe, the Middle East, Central, South and Far East Asia and some areas of the Americas.

You could become infected if you travel to an area where there is an outbreak of viral haemorrhagic fever. Some viruses are transmitted from animals to humans, while others can also be spread through person-to-person contact.

The viruses that cause viral haemorrhagic fevers live in host animals or insects. Monkeys, bats, rats, mice, ticks, mosquitoes and some other insects and animals have all been known to carry and transmit these viruses to humans. You can become infected after being exposed to an infected animal or after being bitten by a tick or other insect. For some viruses, the host animal or insect is unknown.

Viruses that can cause viral haemorrhagic fevers:

More information on causes, symptoms, risks, treatment and prevention can be found on the pages below.

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

Fièvres hémorragiques virales

Avis récents

Les fièvres hémorragiques virales forment un groupe de maladies graves et souvent mortelles, qui sont causées par un certain nombre de virus, dont les virus Ebola, de Marburg, Lassa et de Crimée-Congo.

Au Canada, le risque de fièvre hémorragique virale est faible. Cependant, des infections et des éclosions se produisent de manière sporadique dans bon nombre de régions en développement du monde. Ces régions incluent l'Afrique équatoriale, orientale et occidentale ainsi que, dans une moindre mesure, l'Europe de l'Est, le Moyen-Orient, l'Asie centrale, méridionale et orientale et certaines régions des Amériques.

Vous pouvez contracter l'infection si vous voyagez dans une région où il y a une éclosion de fièvre virale hémorragique. Certains virus se transmettent des animaux aux humains, et d'autres peuvent aussi se transmettre par contact de personne à personne.

Les virus qui causent des fièvres hémorragiques virales vivent dans des animaux ou des insectes hôtes. On sait que les singes, chauves-souris, rats, les souris, les tiques, les moustiques et certains autres insectes et animaux sont des vecteurs de ces virus et qu'ils peuvent les transmettre aux humains. Vous pouvez être infecté après avoir été exposé à un animal infecté ou après avoir été piqué par une tique ou un autre insecte. Dans le cas de certains virus, toutefois, on ne connaît pas l'animal ou l'insecte hôte.

Virus pouvant causer des fièvres hémorragiques virales :

Pour plus de renseignements sur les causes, les symptômes, les risques, le traitement et la prévention de ces maladies, veuillez consulter les pages qui suivent.