Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

Interim Guidance for Airline Cabin Crews, Cleaning Personnel and Cargo Personnel: How to Protect Yourself and Others from Ebola Virus Disease

Prepared by: Public Health Agency of Canada
Page last reviewed: August 25, 2014

The following guidance provides precautions to be taken by airline cabin crews (flight attendants) and cleaning and cargo personnel when someone on a commercial aircraft is ill and Ebola Virus Disease (EVD) is suspected. This guidance is based on currently available information and is subject to change as new information becomes available. It should be read in conjunction with employer-specific operating procedures.

An outbreak of EVD has affected several countries in West Africa including Guinea, Liberia, Sierra Leone and Nigeria. EVD is a rare and severe viral disease that can infect both humans and non-human primates (monkeys, gorillas, etc.).

When infected, people can become very ill, with sudden onset of fever, intense weakness, muscle pain, headache and sore throat. This is followed by vomiting, diarrhea, rash, and in some cases, internal and external bleeding. The time from exposure to the onset of symptoms can range from 2 to 21 days. There is currently no specific licensed treatment or vaccine for EVD.

EVD does not spread easily from person to person. It is spread through direct contact with infected blood and other body fluids of ill persons, not through casual contact. Persons with EVD can only spread the disease to others once symptoms begin.

According to the World Health Organization (WHO), the risk of transmission of EVD during air travel is low.  On the small chance that someone on the plane is sick with symptoms of EVD, the likelihood of other passengers and crew having contact with their body fluids is even smaller. Usually when someone is sick with EVD, they are so unwell that they cannot travel.

For further information about EVD, visit the Ebola virus disease page.

Management of an ill person

If a passenger or other cabin crew member becomes ill with symptoms that are consistent with EVD (as noted above) and they have recently been a resident in or travelled to any of the affected countries listed on the Agency’s travel site, within the last 21 days:

  • Provide the ill person with a surgical mask to cover their nose and mouth, if toleratedFootnote 1. If not tolerated, ask the person to cover their nose and mouth with a tissue.
  • If the ill person is vomiting, provide them with an air sickness bag.
  • Provide the ill person with a plastic bag for disposing of soiled tissues and used air sickness bags.
  • Encourage the ill person to clean their hands by washing with soap and waterFootnote 2 or, when hands are not visibly soiled, using alcohol-based hand rub (ABHR).
  • If possible, keep the ill person separate from others. Ideally, the ill person should be close to a washroom for their exclusive use.
  • Keep contact with the ill passenger to the minimum possible. Assign one cabin crew member (two if the person needs more assistance) to take care of the ill person, preferably those who have already been in contact with the ill person.

Infection prevention and control protocols for cabin crew when EVD is suspected

  • Clean hands after every contact with the ill person/their belongings or immediate environment. Clean hands by washing with soap and waterFootnote 2 or, when hands are not visibly soiled, using ABHR
  • In addition to cleaning hands, cabin crew members who are assisting the ill person should use appropriate Personal Protective Equipment (PPE), as per employer’s occupational health and safety protocol and as recommended in the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) Universal Precaution KitFootnote 3 , such as impermeable disposable gloves.
  • Treat all body fluids (such as phlegm, diarrhoea, vomit, or blood) as potentially infectious.
  • Restrict access, where possible, to the affected area until disinfection activities are completed.

Communication/Reporting

  • As per usual protocol, notify airport authorities at the destination airport of the ill traveller as soon as possible.
  • Ensure aircraft cleaning personnel are aware of the situation and the potential for contamination of surfaces.

Upon arrival at the airport

  • Have all passengers remain seated until the ill passenger is assessed or removed from the plane.

Upon arrival, the ill passenger will be assessed either by a Quarantine Officer, Canada Border Services Agency Officer or Emergency Medical Services personnel, who will provide further instructions to the cabin crew and other passengers regarding required actions.

If there is reason to believe that others onboard the aircraft have potentially been exposed to someone suspected of having EVD, information from the cabin crew and other passengers may be collected at the time.  Cabin crew may be requested to assist in this process, if needed, by asking passengers to complete ICAO Public Health Passenger Locator forms and by making onboard announcements.

If contact tracing is required, the flight crew and other passengers may be contacted.

When to see a health care provider after exposure to someone suspected of having EVD (applicable to all cabin crew, cleaning and cargo personnel)

If you become ill within 21 days following exposure to someone with suspected EVD, telephone your health care provider and notify your employer immediately. Before visiting a doctor’s office, clinic or emergency room, alert the health care provider about the possible exposure to EVD and your symptoms, so that health care staff can make arrangements to see you safely without potentially exposing themselves or others to the virus.

Environmental cleaning

If a passenger or cabin crew member has been ill on board the aircraft with symptoms compatible with EVD:

  • Follow routine practices as found in the guidance from the Public Health Agency of Canada: General Environmental Sanitation Practices to Control the Spread of Communicable Disease in Passenger Conveyances and Terminals.
  • Cleaning crews are reminded of the importance of adequate PPE and should follow employer’s occupational health and safety protocols for such situations;
  • Wear impermeable disposable gloves while cleaning the passenger cabin and lavatories;
  • Special cleaning of upholstery, carpets, or storage compartments is not indicated unless they are obviously soiled with blood or body fluids;
  • Special vacuuming equipment or procedures are not necessary;
  • Clean hands immediately after gloves are removed with soap and waterFootnote 4 or, if hands are not visibly soiled, ABHR.
  • All waste, including soiled seat covers and carpets, used cleaning material, and disposable PPE should be disposed of in a biohazard waste disposal bag and according to company biohazard waste protocols.
    • Care should be taken when removing PPE to prevent self-contamination

Cargo Personnel

Packages should not pose a risk, as EVD is spread through direct contact with blood or body fluids from an infected person.

Preventive measures include:

  • Packages visibly soiled with blood or body fluids should not be handled.
  • Cargo handlers should wash their hands often

Footnote 1
World Health Organization http://www.who.int/ith/updates/20140421/en/
Footnote 2
In the event hands are visibly soiled and soap and water are not available , use wipes to remove visible soiling, followed by an ABHR
Footnote 3
Airplanes should be equipped with ICAO Universal Precaution Kits for management of ill onboard passengers
Footnote 4
In the event hands are visibly soiled and soap and water are not available , use wipes to remove visible soiling followed by an ABHR

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

Directive provisoire pour l’équipage de cabine, le personnel de nettoyage et le personnel de fret de lignes aériennes : Comment se protéger et protéger les autres de la maladie à virus Ebola (MVE)

Préparée par l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Dernières modifications le 25 août 2014

La directive qui suit énonce les mesures de précaution que doivent prendre l’équipage de cabine (agents de bord), le personnel de nettoyage et le personnel de fret lorsqu’un passager d’un aéronef commercial est malade et qu’on présume qu’il pourrait s’agir de la MVE. L’information se fonde sur les données actuellement disponibles et sera modifiée à mesure que de nouveaux renseignements seront communiqués. Elle sert de complément aux procédures d’exploitation propres à l’exploitant.

Une éclosion de MVE a touché plusieurs pays de l’Afrique occidentale, notamment la Guinée, le Libéria, la Sierra Leone et le Nigéria. La MVE est une maladie virale aussi rare que grave qui peut infecter tant les humains que les primates non humains (p. ex. singes et gorilles).    

Les personnes infectées peuvent devenir gravement malades, avoir des poussées soudaines de fièvre, devenir extrêmement faibles et souffrir de douleurs musculaires, de maux de tête et de maux de gorge. Ces symptômes sont suivis de vomissements, de diarrhées, d’irruptions cutanées et, dans certains cas, d’hémorragies internes et externes. La période entre l’exposition au virus et le début des symptômes peut varier de 2 à 21 jours. Pour le moment, il n’existe aucun vaccin ou traitement spécifique homologué contre la MVE.

Le virus Ebola ne se transmet pas facilement d’une personne à une autre. Il se propage par contact direct avec du sang ou d’autres liquides corporels de personnes infectées, et non par simple contact avec ces dernières. Une personne infectée risque de transmettre le virus seulement une fois l’apparition des symptômes.    

Selon l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS), le risque de transmission du virus  pendant des déplacements en avion est faible. Dans l’éventualité où une personne à bord avait des symptômes de la maladie, la probabilité que d’autres passagers ou que l’équipage soient en contact avec ses liquides corporels est encore plus mince. Généralement, une personne qui souffre de la MVE a trop de malaises pour être en mesure de voyager.

Pour en savoir davantage sur la MVE, consultez la page Maladie à virus Ebola.

Prise en charge d’une personne malade

Si un passager ou un membre de l’équipage de cabine montre des symptômes semblables à ceux de la MVE (présentés ci-haut) et qu’il a résidé ou voyagé dans un des pays touchés inscrits sur le site de l’Agence à l’intention des voyageurs, au cours des 21 derniers jours :

  • lui donner un masque chirurgical pour qu’il se couvre le nez et la bouche, s’il peut le tolérer1, sinon lui demander d’utiliser un mouchoir;  
  • s’il vomit, lui fournir un sac vomitoire;
  • lui donner un sac de plastique pour jeter les mouchoirs souillés et les sacs vomitoires utilisés;
  • l’encourager à nettoyer ses mains avec du savon et de l’eau2 ou, si ses mains ne sont pas visiblement souillées, avec du désinfectant à base d’alcool;
  • si possible, le garder à distance des autres personnes, de préférence à proximité d’un cabinet de toilette qui sera réservé à son usage exclusif;
  • limiter les contacts avec lui au minimum et désigner un membre de l’équipage de cabine (deux si le malade nécessite plus d’assistance) pour s’en occuper, de préférence une personne qui a déjà été en contact avec lui. 

Protocole de prévention et de contrôle de l’infection à l’intention de l’équipage de cabine lorsqu’un cas de MVE est présumé

  • Se nettoyer les mains après chaque contact avec le malade, ses effets personnels ou son environnement immédiat. Pour ce faire, utiliser du savon et de l’eau2 ou, si les mains ne sont pas visiblement souillées, avec du désinfectant à base d’alcool.    
  • En plus de se laver les mains, les membres de l’équipage de cabine qui aident le malade doivent porter l’équipement de protection individuelle (EPI) approprié, conformément au protocole de santé et de sécurité de l’exploitant et tel que recommandé dans la trousse de prévention universelle3 de l’Organisation de l’aviation civile internationale (OACI), par exemple des gants imperméables jetables.
  • Traiter tous les liquides corporels (p. ex. mucosités, diarrhée, vomissures ou sang) comme étant possiblement infectés.  
  • Restreindre autant que possible l’accès à la zone touchée jusqu’à ce que les mesures de désinfection soient terminées.

Communication et rapports

  • Conformément au protocole habituel, avertir le plus tôt possible les autorités de l’aéroport de destination de la présence d’un passager malade.
  • S’assurer que le personnel de nettoyage de l’avion est informé de la situation et des risques que des surfaces aient été contaminées.

À l’arrivée à l’aéroport

  • Indiquer à tous les passagers de demeurer dans leur siège jusqu’à ce que l’état du malade ait été évalué ou qu’il ait quitté l’avion. 

À l’arrivée, l’état de la personne malade sera évalué par un agent de quarantaine, un agent de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada ou un membre des services médicaux d’urgence qui donnera de plus amples directives à l’équipage de cabine et aux autres passagers quant aux mesures à suivre.

S’il y a raison de croire que des personnes à bord de l’avion auraient pu être exposées à un cas présumé de MVE, des renseignements pourraient être recueillis auprès de l’équipage de cabine et d’autres passagers. L’équipage de cabine peut devoir collaborer au processus, au besoin, en demandant aux passagers de remplir des formulaires de localisation de passager pour la santé publique de l’OACI ou en faisant des annonces à bord.        

Il est possible qu’on communique avec l’équipage de conduite et d’autres passagers s’il est nécessaire de procéder à des recherches de contacts.

Quand consulter un professionnel de la santé après avoir été exposé à un cas présumé de MVE (s’applique à tout l’équipage de cabine, le personnel de nettoyage et le personnel de fret)

Si vous tombez malade dans les 21 jours après avoir été exposé à un cas présumé de MVE, appelez votre professionnel de la santé et avertissez immédiatement votre employeur. Avant de vous rendre chez le médecin, à la clinique ou à l’urgence, informez le personnel de soins que vous avez possiblement été exposé à la MVE et décrivez vos symptômes de sorte que les mesures nécessaires puissent être prises pour vous recevoir et éviter tout risque d’exposition au virus, pour le personnel et pour autrui.

Nettoyage

Si un passager ou un membre de l’équipage de cabine présentant des symptômes semblables à ceux de la MVE a été malade à bord d’un aéronef :

  • suivre les mesures d’hygiène courantes décrites dans les lignes directrices de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada : Pratiques d’hygiène du milieu pour limiter la propagation de maladies transmissibles dans les moyens de transport de passagers et les terminaux;
  • rappeler au personnel de nettoyage l’importance de porter de l’EPI approprié et de suivre les protocoles de santé et de sécurité de l’exploitant pour de telles situations;
  • porter des gants imperméables jetables lors du nettoyage des toilettes et de la cabine des passagers;
  • il n’est pas nécessaire de procéder à un nettoyage spécial des revêtements, des tapis ou des compartiments de rangement, sauf si ceux-ci sont visiblement souillés par du sang ou des liquides corporels;  
  • il n’est pas nécessaire d’utiliser un type d’aspirateur donné ni de suivre une procédure particulière à cet égard;
  • se laver les mains avec du savon et de l’eau4 immédiatement après avoir retiré les gants, ou avec du désinfectant à base d’alcool si les mains ne sont pas visiblement souillées. 
  • Tous les déchets, y compris les couvre-sièges et les tapis souillés, le matériel de nettoyage utilisé et les pièces jetables de l’EPI doivent être mis dans un sac de déchets pour matières contaminées et disposés conformément aux protocoles de l’exploitant pour les déchets biologiques dangereux.
    • Retirer l’EPI avec soin pour éviter de se contaminer.

Personnel de fret

Le chargement ne devrait pas poser de risque puisque la MVE se propage par contact direct avec le sang ou les liquides corporels d’une personne infectée.

Mesures préventives

  • Ne pas manipuler les paquets visiblement souillés de sang ou de liquides corporels.
  • Les manutentionnaires de fret doivent se laver les mains fréquemment.

Footnote 1
Organisation mondiale de la Santé http://www.who.int/ith/updates/20140421/fr/
Footnote 2
Si les mains sont visiblement souillées et qu’il n’y a pas d’eau ni de savon, nettoyer d’abord avec des lingettes humides puis avec un désinfectant à base d’alcool.
Footnote 3
Des trousses de prévention universelle de l’OACI devraient être présentes dans les avions pour la prise en charge des passagers malades.
Footnote 4
Si les mains sont visiblement souillées et qu’il n’y a pas d’eau ni de savon, nettoyer d’abord avec des lingettes humides puis avec un désinfectant à base d’alcool.