Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Share this page

Fact Sheet - Community-Acquired Methicillin-Resistant Staphylococcus aureus (CA-MRSA)

What is CA-MRSA?

When MRSA bacteria cause infection in people who have not been hospitalized nor had a medical procedure within the last year, it is called CA-MRSA. These infections usually manifest as skin infections such as pimples and boils and can occur in otherwise healthy people.

How is CA-MRSA spread?

At any given time, between 20 and 30 per cent of the general population carry Staph bacteria on their hands or in their noses but are not ill. Some of these bacteria may be CA-MRSA, while others are not antibiotic resistant. You can carry CA-MRSA and not be sick, however you can still spread it to others and they can become ill.

CA-MRSA is usually spread through direct physical contact or through contact with objects contaminated with infected bodily fluids. If you pick up the bacteria on your hands through physical contact with an infected person or from a contaminated surface, you can spread it to others if you don't clean your hands properly. You can also infect yourself through an open wound on your own body.

Who gets MRSA?

MRSA infections occur most commonly among persons in hospitals and other healthcare facilities. This has been recognized as a problem for the last 20 years. Outbreaks happen in these healthcare settings because some patients already have a compromised immune system. However, CA-MRSA infections are becoming more common in the community.

Who gets CA-MRSA?

Anyone can get CA-MRSA. However, recent outbreaks have been seen among athletes, prisoners, and other groups of people who live in crowded settings and/or routinely share contaminated items. Poor hygiene practices, such as lack of hand washing, may spread the bacteria more easily. Outbreaks have also been seen among military recruits, daycare attendees, injection-drug users and gay men.

What does a Staph or CA-MRSA infection look like?

Staph bacteria, including CA-MRSA, can cause skin infections that may look like a pimple or boil. They can be red, swollen, painful, or have pus or other drainage. The risk of spreading the infection to others increases the longer effective treatment is delayed. However, if left untreated CA-MRSA infections may develop into serious, life-threatening complications such as infection of the bloodstream, bones and/or lungs (e.g., pneumonia).

How is a CA-MRSA infection diagnosed?

To diagnose a CA-MRSA infection, a sample from the infected area is taken. Once the sample has been taken, the organism must be allowed to grow in the laboratory. The organism is then tested to determine which antibiotics may be effective for treating the infection.

How is a CA-MRSA infection treated?

If CA-MRSA is detected early, it can usually be treated effectively with antibiotics other than methicillin. It is important that individuals who think they might have a CA-MRSA infection seek advice from a healthcare professional quickly so that the infection can be properly diagnosed and treated effectively. With skin infections caused by CA-MRSA, antibiotics are rarely needed. Once the wound is open and drained of pus, it will normally heal on its own. Early diagnosis also ensures that appropriate measures can be taken to limit the spread of the infection.

Do people die from CA-MRSA infections?

On rare occasions, a CA-MRSA infection can result in life-threatening illness or death. However, most cases are limited to the skin and can be successfully treated.

How can I prevent CA-MRSA skin infections?

In order to prevent these infections, it is important to practise good hygiene. Keep your hands clean by washing thoroughly with soap and water or by using an alcohol-based hand sanitizer. Make sure that any cuts and scrapes are kept clean and covered until they have healed. It is also important to avoid unprotected contact with other people's wounds or bandages. Finally, do not share personal items such as towels or razors.

Can I get a CA-MRSA infection at sporting events or at the gym?

You may be at an elevated risk of exposure to persons with CA-MRSA at sporting events or at the gym, as these situations involve a greater likelihood of physical contact or contact with surfaces that may be contaminated with CA-MRSA.

During sporting events, athletes are more likely to be exposed to sweat, blood and saliva, which may carry CA-MRSA. The infection can also be picked up from shared equipment like treadmills or mats at the gym if these items are not properly disinfected.

Therefore, it is especially important that good hygiene be practised at sporting events and gyms. Cover any open wounds, avoid sharing personal items, use a barrier between your skin and shared equipment, and clean the surfaces of shared equipment before and after use.

If I have a CA-MRSA skin infection, what can I do to prevent others from getting infected?

To prevent the spread of CA-MRSA skin infections:

  • Cover your wound. Any wounds that are draining or have pus must be kept covered with clean, dry bandages. Pus or other drainage from the wound can contain CA-MRSA, so make sure that the bandages and tape are properly discarded. If you have questions about how to properly care for the wound, talk to your healthcare provider.
  • Wash your hands frequently. This is especially important after changing bandages or touching the infected area. By washing your hands you can stop the transmission of the bacteria.
  • Avoid sharing personal items. Bacteria can be transferred to another person through contact with items such as towels, razors or washcloths. Make sure any soiled clothing is washed; water and regular laundry detergent is sufficient.
  • Talk to your doctor or healthcare provider. Tell them that you have, or have had a CA-MRSA skin infection.

What additional measures can be taken to prevent and control CA-MRSA infections within an athletic setting?

All athletes, whether participating in contact or non-contact sports, should follow the hygiene practices listed below in order to prevent and control CA-MRSA:

  • Wash hands frequently with soap and water, especially after using any sports facilities.
  • Wash any cut or break in the skin with soap and water and apply clean, dry dressings on a daily basis.
  • Replace bandages and dressings before and after participation in close contact sports, and after using any sports facilities.
  • Avoid close-contact sports if you have an infection involving drainage (e.g. pus drainage) until the drainage or pus clears and the infected site can be adequately covered with a bandage and clothing.
  • Shower with soap immediately after each practice, game, or match, especially if you participate in sports involving close personal contact (e.g. wrestling and football).
  • Avoid sharing personal items (e.g., towels, washcloths, razors, clothing, or uniforms) that may have had contact with an infected individual or potentially infectious material.
  • Wipe down non-washable gear (e.g. head protectors) with alcohol after each use.
  • Wipe down athletic equipment (e.g. wrestling or gymnastics mats) regularly with an antibacterial solution.
  • Clean surfaces (e.g., counter tops, door handles) with a standard disinfectant on a regular basis.
  • Tell your healthcare provider and appropriate athletic personnel if you currently have CA-MRSA or if you have previously been infected with CA-MRSA.

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

Fiche de renseignements - Staphylococcus aureus résistant à la méthicilline (SARM) d'origine communautaire

Qu'est-ce que le SARM d'origine communautaire?

Lorsque la bactérie SARM provoque une infection chez des personnes qui n'ont été ni hospitalisées ni opérées dans la dernière année, elle s'appelle SARM d'origine communautaire. Ces infections se manifestent habituellement sous forme d'infections cutanées telles que des boutons et des furoncles et peuvent se produire chez des personnes qui, autrement, sont en bonne santé.

Comment le SARM d'origine communautaire se transmet-il?

En tout temps, entre 20 et 30 % de la population transporte des bactéries à staphylocoques sur les mains ou dans le nez, mais n'est pas malade. Certaines de ces bactéries peuvent être des SARM d'origine communautaire, tandis que d'autres ne sont pas résistantes aux antibiotiques. Vous pouvez être porteur du SARM d'origine communautaire sans être malade, mais vous pouvez quand même le propager à d'autres qui peuvent tomber malades.

Le SARM d'origine communautaire se propage habituellement par contact physique direct ou par contact avec des objets contaminés par des liquides organiques infectés. Si des bactéries se trouvent sur vos mains à la suite d'un contact physique avec une personne infectée ou une surface contaminée, vous pouvez les propager à d'autres si vous ne vous lavez pas bien les mains. Vous pouvez également vous infecter par le biais d'une plaie ouverte sur votre propre corps.

Qui attrape le SARM?

Le plus souvent, les infections au SARM surviennent chez les gens se trouvant dans un hôpital ou dans un autre type d'établissements de soins. Ces infections sont reconnues comme un problème depuis 20 ans. Des éclosions surviennent dans ces milieux de soins de santé parce que certains patients ont déjà un système immunitaire affaibli. Cependant, les infections au SARM d'origine communautaire sont en train de devenir plus courantes dans la collectivité.

Qui attrape le SARM d'origine communautaire?

N'importe qui peut attraper le SARM d'origine communautaire. Cependant, des éclosions récentes ont été constatées chez des athlètes, des détenus et d'autres groupes de gens qui vivent dans des environnements surpeuplés ou qui partagent habituellement des articles contaminés. De mauvaises pratiques d'hygiène, comme le fait de ne pas se laver les mains souvent, facilitent la propagation de la bactérie. Des éclosions ont également été constatées chez des recrues militaires, des personnes qui fréquentent des garderies, des utilisateurs de drogues injectables et des hommes gais.

À quoi ressemble une infection à Staphylocoque ou au SARM d'origine communautaire?

Le Staphylocoque, y compris le SARM d'origine communautaire, peut causer des infections cutanées qui ressemblent à un bouton ou à un furoncle. Ils peuvent être rouges, enflés, ou douloureux, ou contenir du pus ou d'autre fluide. Plus un traitement efficace est retardé, plus le risque de propager l'infection augmente. Par contre, si elles ne sont pas traitées, les infections au SARM d'origine communautaire peuvent entraîner de graves complications qui mettent la vie en danger, comme une infection du système sanguin, des os ou des poumons (p. ex. pneumonie).

Comment diagnostique-t-on une infection au SARM d'origine communautaire?

Pour diagnostiquer une infection au SARM d'origine communautaire, on prélève un échantillon à même la région infectée. Une fois l'échantillon prélevé, on doit laisser l'organisme se développer en laboratoire. Il fait ensuite l'objet de tests pour déterminer quels antibiotiques peuvent être efficaces pour traiter l'infection.

Comment traite-t-on une infection au SARM d'origine communautaire?

Si l'infection au SARM d'origine communautaire est détectée à un stade précoce, elle peut habituellement être traitée efficacement à l'aide d'autres antibiotiques que la méthicilline. Il est important que les personnes qui pensent être atteintes d'une infection au SARM d'origine communautaire consultent rapidement un professionnel de la santé de façon à ce que l'infection puisse être bien diagnostiquée et traitée efficacement. Pour ce qui est des infections de la peau causées par cette bactérie, il est rare que des antibiotiques soient nécessaires. Une fois la blessure ouverte et le pus drainé, elle guérit normalement d'elle même. Un diagnostic précoce permet également de prendre les mesures appropriées pour limiter la propagation de l'infection.

Est-ce que des gens meurent d'infections au SARM d'origine communautaire?

Dans de rares cas, une infection au SARM d'origine communautaire peut entraîner une maladie qui met la vie en danger ou la mort. Cependant, la plupart des cas se limitent à la peau et peuvent être traités efficacement.

Comment puis-je éviter les infections cutanées au SARM d'origine communautaire?

Pour éviter ces infections, il est important d'avoir de bonnes pratiques d'hygiène. Gardez les mains propres en les lavant bien avec de l'eau et du savon ou en utilisant un agent désinfectant pour les mains à base d'alcool. Assurez-vous que toutes coupures et égratignures restent propres et couvertes jusqu'à ce qu'elles soient guéries. Il est également important d'éviter tout contact non protégé avec les plaies ou les bandages d'autres personnes. Enfin, ne partagez pas d'articles personnels tels que des serviettes ou des rasoirs.

Est-ce que je peux attraper une infection au SARM d'origine communautaire au cours d'activités sportives ou au gymnase?

Vous pouvez avoir un risque élevé d'exposition à des personnes ayant un SARM d'origine communautaire pendant des activités sportives ou au gymnase, puisque ces situations entraînent une plus grande probabilité de contact physique ou de contact avec des surfaces pouvant être contaminées par un SARM d'origine communautaire.
Pendant des activités sportives, les athlètes sont plus susceptibles d'être exposés à la sueur, au sang et à la salive des personnes qui peuvent être porteuses du SARM d'origine communautaire. L'infection peut également s'attraper d'un équipement partagé comme les tapis roulants ou les tapis du gymnase si ces articles ne sont pas bien désinfectés.

Par conséquent, il est particulièrement important d'avoir de bonnes pratiques d'hygiène au cours d'activités sportives ou au gymnase. Couvrez toute plaie ouverte, évitez de partager des articles personnels, mettez un obstacle entre votre peau et l'équipement partagé et nettoyez les surfaces d'équipement partagé avant et après usage.

Si j'ai une infection cutanée au SARM d'origine communautaire, que puis-je faire pour éviter d'infecter d'autres personnes?

Voici ce que vous devez faire pour empêcher la propagation d'infections cutanées au SARM d'origine communautaire.

  • Couvrez votre plaie. Toutes les plaies qui se drainent ou qui contiennent du pus doivent demeurer couvertes par un bandage propre et sec. Le pus ou tout autre fluide qui s'écoule de la plaie peut contenir un SARM d'origine communautaire. Par conséquent, assurez-vous de jeter correctement les bandages et le ruban adhésif. Si vous avez des questions sur la façon de bien traiter une plaie, consultez votre médecin.
  • Lavez-vous les mains souvent. Cette mesure est particulièrement importante après avoir changé des bandages ou touché la région infectée. En vous lavant les mains, vous pouvez stopper la transmission des bactéries. 
  • Évitez de partager des articles personnels. Les bactéries peuvent être transmises à une autre personne par un contact avec des articles comme des serviettes, des rasoirs ou des débarbouillettes. Assurez-vous de laver tout vêtement sali; de l'eau et du détergent à lessive ordinaire sont suffisants.
  • Parlez à votre médecin ou à votre fournisseur de soins de santé. Dites-lui que vous avez ou que vous avez eu une infection cutanée au SARM d'origine communautaire.

Quelles autres mesures peut-on prendre pour éviter et enrayer les infections au SARM d'origine communautaire dans un environnement sportif?

Tous les athlètes, qu'ils pratiquent des sports de contact ou des sports sans contact, doivent se conformer aux pratiques d'hygiène mentionnées ci-dessous pour éviter et enrayer le SARM communautaire :

  • Lavez-vous les mains souvent à l'eau et au savon, en particulier après avoir utilisé des installations sportives.
  • Lavez toute coupure ou toute rupture de l'épiderme à l'eau et au savon et appliquez des pansements propres et secs tous les jours.
  • Remplacez les bandages et les pansements avant et après la participation à des sports de contact étroit et après l'utilisation de toute installation sportive.
  • Évitez les sports de contact étroit si vous avez une infection en processus de drainage (p. ex. un drainage de pus) jusqu'à ce que le fluide ou le pus disparaisse et que l'endroit infecté puisse être couvert adéquatement à l'aide d'un bandage ou d'un vêtement.
  • Douchez-vous au savon immédiatement après chaque pratique, chaque partie ou chaque match, surtout si vous participez à des sports comportant un contact personnel étroit (p. ex. la lutte et le football).
  • Évitez de partager des articles personnels (p. ex. serviettes, débarbouillettes, rasoirs, vêtements ou uniformes) qui peuvent avoir été en contact avec une personne infectée ou un matériau potentiellement infectieux.
  • Essuyez les vêtements non lavables (p. ex. protecteurs de tête) avec de l'alcool après chaque usage.
  • Essuyez régulièrement l'équipement de sport (p. ex. tapis de lutte et d'exercice) à l'aide d'une solution antibactérienne.
  • Nettoyez régulièrement les surfaces (p. ex. revêtements de comptoir et poignées de porte) à l'aide d'un désinfectant ordinaire.
  • Si vous avez actuellement un SARM communautaire ou si vous avez déjà été infecté par un SARM communautaire, veuillez l'indiquer à votre fournisseur de soins de santé et au personnel compétent des installations sportives.