Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Share this page

Our Health Our Future – A National Dialogue on Healthy Weights Dialogue Report

[Previous page] [Table of Contents] [Next page]

3. Participation Profile

As a national engagement initiative, Our Health Our Future heard from participants across Canada on their ideas for reducing childhood obesity.

Hundreds of individual Canadians and stakeholder organizations participated in one of the 20 in-person engagement events that took place from Aklavik, Northwest Territories and Iqaluit, Nunavut in Canada’s North, and Port Coquitlam, British Columbia in the West to St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador in the East.

In addition, more than a 1,000 Canadians joined the discussion online and through social media, with 648 online registered participants on the Our Health Our Future website, more than 500 Facebook fans and 268 Twitter followers.

Taken overall, the Our Health Our Future engagement attracted the attention of Canadians, with a prime-time slot on the Canadian Broadcast Corporation’s The National broadcast upon launch.

The following table provides a snapshot of the participation levels by engagement channel.

Engagement Channel / Contribution #
In-Person Engagement
Number of Events 20
Number of In-Person Participants 647
Online Engagement
Idea posts 93
Comments on Ideas 144
Votes on Ideas 477
Submissions 65
Registered Participants 648
Unique Website Visits 43,914
Social Media
Facebook
Fans 504
Posts 132
Post likes 93
Post comments 26
Question votes 55
Twitter
Followers 268
Following 256
Tweets 409
@messages 102

This section of the report describes the participation levels in Our Health Our Future and, when available, the demographic characteristics of these participants.

In-Person Events

The Our Health Our Future project team conducted a series of in-person events across Canada with key stakeholder groups – Academics and Researchers, Non-Profit Health Care Organizations, Health Care Practitioners, Provincial and Territorial Stakeholders, Youth, Caregivers, Aboriginal Peoples, Industry and Media.

The following map provides a visual snapshot of the geographic locations of the in-person events, showing that all regions of the country were represented.

This distribution of events ensured Our Health Our Future was a truly national dialogue on childhood obesity. Through this engagement process, PHAC heard about the different challenges, ideas and perspectives from each part of Canada.

Specifically, in-person engagement events were held in the following locations. Some cities were the venues for multiple engagement events.

  • Aklavik, Northwest Territories
  • Iqaluit, Nunavut
  • Ottawa, Ontario
  • Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
  • Toronto, Ontario
  • Whitehorse, Yukon
  • Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
  • Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
  • Montreal, Quebec
  • Port Coquitlam, British Columbia
  • St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Vancouver, British Columbia
  • Winnipeg, Manitoba

Figure 10. Map of in-person event locations for Our Health Our Future:

Online Engagement

A broad range of Canadians took part through the online engagement website at www.OurHealthOurFuture.gc.caExternal Site. Online participants came from every province and territory, and some were even located outside Canada. Participants actively posted ideas, commented on other people’s ideas and voted on the preferred ideas.

Participation

A large number of ideas were posted in the Idea Forum on the engagement website. In total, there were 93 separate idea posts, with 144 comments on these posts. Many participants voted to rate “up” or “down” the idea in the Forum and, together, there were 477 votes on ideas.

In addition to participation in the Idea Forum, there were 65 online submissions received from stakeholders and individual Canadians.

When added together, idea posts, comments, votes and submissions create a total of 779 “active contributions” online.

Online Engagement
Idea posts 93
Comments on ideas 144
Votes on Ideas 477
Submissions 65
Registered participants 648
Unique Website Visits 43,914

Registration

When visitors to the engagement website wished to post, comment or vote, they were required to register. During the registration process, participants answered a small number of demographic questions including their province or territory and type of participant (individual or stakeholder organization).

Participants came from every province and territory and there was an especially high level of response among participants from Ontario and British Columbia. This is often observed in national online projects due to the population sizes of urban centres in these provinces.

Figure 11.

Participants were also asked to identify their “perspective” or category from three options: Organization/Association, Individual, and Government or its Agency.

Participants came from each category but were mainly organizations or individual Canadians. Fourteen percent of registered users indicated they were participating on behalf of an organization or association and 84% as an individual.

Figure 12.

Site Visits

A final measure of Our Health Our Future’s online engagement reach is site activity. While some site visitors decided to register and take part in the conversation, other visitors used the site primarily for learning and education purposes and may not have participated in the dialogue itself.

In total, 43,914 different users visited the Our Health Our Future site during the open engagement. The following chart describes unique site visits by date and illustrates that the level of site activity varied considerably between the launch date of March 7 and closing date on July 29.

Figure 13. A chart of unique site visits to www.OurHealthOurFuture.gc.caExternal Site March 7 to July 29, 2011:

Early high levels of site activity fell at the end of March 2011. Site activity then remained low until early June when it gradually increased to significant levels. The timing of low site activity corresponds to the period of the federal election, during which limits were placed on all Government of Canada communications and outreach, including Our Health Our Future (as per Government of Canada policy).

Between March 26 and June 1, no updates or moderator posts were made to either the engagement website or social media presences on Facebook and Twitter. Once updates resumed, site activity again increased to levels similar to the weeks immediately after launch.

Social Media

During the few months they were moderated and active, the Our Health Our Future presences on Facebook and Twitter generated significant interaction and idea sharing. The presences built a combined community of 772 followers/fans, each of whom could share updates and information about the Our Health Our Future conversation with their own individual social networks of friends.

The following table describes the community sizes and interaction levels for Facebook and Twitter:

Social Media
Facebook
Fans 504
Posts 132
Post likes 93
Post comments 26
Question votes 55
Twitter
Followers 268
Following 256
Tweets 409
@messages 102

Facebook

When users became a “fan” of the Our Health Our Future presence on Facebook, basic demographic information about participants was collected, including age, gender and geography. This data is stored anonymously without connecting demographics with any username or personally identifiable information. An analysis of fan demographics allows us to understand the makeup of the Our Health Our Future community on Facebook.

One important reason for using Facebook was to reach and engage young Canadians in a dialogue on healthy weights. With this in mind, it is encouraging to see that the largest age group of fans was aged 13-17 years old, both among female and male participants. High levels of fans also came from the 25-34 and 35-44 age groups, which included parents with both young children and older youth.

Figure 14. Graph showing Facebook Fan Demographics:

In terms of activity levels on Facebook, the trend for engagement over time was similar to the overall site activity levels for the main Our Health Our Future website at www.OurHealthOurFuture.gc.caExternal Site.

As shown in the chart below, the number of active users spiked shortly after launch but experienced a significant reduction during the federal election period, before a sustained higher level of active users was experienced again after June 1 until the end of the engagement. “Active users” included fans as well as their own friends who viewed or interacted with the Our Health Our Future Facebook page (in either English or French).

Figure 15. Graph showing Facebook active users over the engagement period:

Twitter

Unlike Facebook, Twitter is a more anonymous social media platform that collects very little required demographic information from participants. The following chart shows the size of the Our Health Our Future community on Twitter and the level of interaction and engagement.

Combined English and French presences consisted of 268 participants, with 256 directly followed back by Our Health Our Future. A total of 409 status updates or “tweets” were posted to this community, and 102 idea messages were received back from followers and broader members of the Twitter network.

Twitter
Followers 268
Following 256
Tweets 409
@messages 102

While a statistical analysis of the Our Health Our Future Twitter community is not possible due to its privacy settings, a review of our followers reveals that the community includes health professionals, industry, health sector non-profit agencies, health sciences students, and individual Canadians with an interest in childhood obesity.

[Previous page] [Table of Contents] [Next page]

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

Notre santé notre avenir – Dialogue national sur le poids santé Rapport sur le dialogue

[Page précédente] [Table des matières] [Page suivante]

3. Profile de la participation

En tant qu'initiative de mobilisation nationale, Notre santé, notre avenir a permis d'entendre les idées de participants de partout au Canada en vue de réduire l'obésité juvénile.

Des centaines de Canadiens et d'organisations d'intervenants ont participé à l'une des 19 activités en personne qui ont eu lieu à Aklavik, dans les Territoires du Nord‑Ouest, à Iqaluit, au Nunavut, dans le nord du Canada , à Port Coquitlam, en Colombie‑Britannique, dans l'ouest, et à St. John's, à Terre‑Neuve‑et‑Labrador, dans l'est.

De plus, plus de 1000 Canadiens se joints à la discussion en ligne et par l'entremise de médias sociaux, avec 648 participants inscrits en ligne sur notre site Web Notre santé, notre avenir, plus de 500 amis dans Facebook et 268 abonnés sur Twitter.

En général, la participation à Notre santé, notre avenir a attiré l'attention de Canadiens, grâce à un segment présenté pendant The National de la Canadian Broadcast Corporation (à une heure de grande écoute) au moment de son lancement.

Le tableau suivant fournit un aperçu des taux de participation par mode de participation.

Mode de participation / Contribution #
Participation en personne
Nombre d’activités 20
Nombre de participants en personne     647
Participation en ligne
Publication d’idées 93
Commentaires sur les idées 144
Votes sur les idées 477
Présentations 65
Participants inscrits 648
Visites ponctuelles sur le site Web 43,914
Médias sociaux
Facebook
Amis 504
Publications 132
Clics « J’aime » 93
Commentaires publiés 26
Votes sur les questions 55
Twitter
Abonnés 268
Abonnements 256
Tweets 409
@messages 102

Cette section du rapport décrit le taux de participation à Notre santé, notre avenir et, si possible, les caractéristiques démographiques de ces participants.

Activités en personne

L'équipe de Notre santé, notre avenir a réalisé partout au Canada une série d'activités en personne avec des groupes d'intervenants clés – universitaires et chercheurs, organisations de soins de santé sans but lucratif, professionnels de la santé, intervenants provinciaux et territoriaux, jeunes, fournisseurs de soins, Autochtones, industrie et médias.

La mappe qui suit fournit un aperçu visuel des lieux géographiques des activités en personne, et montrent que toutes les régions du pays étaient représentées.

La distribution des activités a fait en sorte que Notre santé, notre avenir était vraiment un dialogue national sur l'obésité juvénile. Dans le cadre de ce processus, l'ASPC a entendu les diverses difficultés, idées et perspectives de chaque région du Canada.

En particulier, les activités de mobilisation en personne ont été tenues dans les lieux suivants. Dans certaines villes, plusieurs activités de mobilisation ont été organisées.

  • Aklavik, Territoires du Nord Ouest
  • Iqaluit, Nunavut
  • Ottawa, Ontario
  • Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
  • Toronto, Ontario
  • Whitehorse, Yukon
  • Yellowknife, Territoires du Nord Ouest
  • Charlottetown, Île du Prince Édouard
  • Montréal, Québec
  • Port Coquitlam, Colombie Britannique
  • St. John's, Terre Neuve et Labrador
  • Vancouver, Colombie Britannique
  • Winnipeg, Manitoba

Figure 10. Mappe des lieux des activités en personne pour Notre santé, notre avenir

Mobilisation en ligne

Un vaste éventail de Canadiens a participé par l'entremise d'un site Web de mobilisation en ligne à http://www.notresantenotreavenir.gc.ca/Site externe. Les participants en ligne provenaient de chaque province et territoire, et certains étaient même situés à l'extérieur du Canada. Les participants ont activement publié des idées, commenté les idées des autres et voté sur les idées.

Participation

Un grand nombre d'idées ont été affichées dans le Forum d'idées sur le site Web de la mobilisation. Au total, il y a eu 93 publications d'idées distinctes, accompagnées de 144 commentaires. De nombreux participants ont voté à l'aide du bouton « pouce vers le haut » ou « pouce vers le bas » pour les idées du Forum et, au total, il y a eu 477 votes sur les idées.

En plus de la participation au Forum d'idées, 65 présentations en ligne ont été reçues d'intervenants et de Canadiens.

Lorsqu'ils sont réunis, les publications d'idées, les commentaires, les votes et les présentations créent un total de 779 contributions actives en ligne.

Mobilisation en ligne
Publications d’idées 93
Commentaires sur les idées 144
Votes sur les idées 477
Présentations 65
Participants inscrits 648
Visites ponctuelles sur le site Web 43,914

Inscription

Lorsque des visiteurs du site Web sur la mobilisation souhaitaient afficher un message, un commentaire ou voter, ils devaient s'inscrire. Pendant le processus d'inscription, les participants ont répondu à un petit nombre de questions sur les caractéristiques démographiques, dont leur province ou leur territoire et le type de participation (individuelle ou organisation d'intervenants).

Les participants provenaient de toutes les provinces et de tous les territoires; la participation a été particulièrement élevée en Ontario et en Colombie‑Britannique, comme c'est souvent le cas dans des projets nationaux en ligne compte tenu de la taille de la population dans les centres urbains de ces provinces.

Figure 11.

On a également demandé aux participants de cerner leur « perspective » ou catégorie à l'aide de trois options : Organisation/Association, Individuel, et Gouvernement ou l'une de ses organisations.

Les participants provenaient de chaque catégorie; cependant, ils provenaient principalement d'organisations ou étaient des individus canadiens. Quatorze pour cent des utilisateurs inscrits ont indiqué qu'ils participaient au nom d'une organisation ou d'une association et 84 % en tant qu'individu.

Figure 12.

Visites du site

Une mesure finale de la participation en ligne à l'initiative Notre santé, notre avenir est l'activité du site. Bien que certains visiteurs aient décidé de s'inscrire et de prendre part à la conversation, d'autres visiteurs ont utilisé le site principalement à des fins d'apprentissage et d'éducation et n'ont pas nécessairement participé au dialogue.

Au total, 43 914 utilisateurs différents ont visité le site Notre santé, notre avenir pendant la participation libre. Le tableau suivant décrit les visites ponctuelles sur le site par date et illustre que le niveau d'activité du site variait considérablement entre la date de lancement du 7 mars et la date de clôture le 29 juillet.

Figure 13. Tableau des visites ponctuelles sur le site http://www.notresantenotreavenir.gc.ca/Site externe, du 7 mars au 29 juillet 2011 :

Le niveau élevé d'activité du site du début a diminué à la fin de mars 2011. L'activité du site est par la suite demeurée faible jusqu'au début de juin lorsqu'elle a graduellement augmenté à un niveau important. Le moment de faible d'activité du site correspond aux élections fédérales, pendant lesquelles des restrictions ont été appliquées pour toutes les communications du gouvernement du Canada, dont Notre santé, notre avenir (conformément à la politique du gouvernement du Canada).

Entre le 26 mars et le 1er juin, aucune mise à jour ou aucun message des modérateurs n'ont été faits sur le site Web de mobilisation et il n'y a eu aucune présence dans les médias sociaux Facebook et Twitter. Lorsque les mises à jour ont repris, l'activité sur le site a augmenté de nouveau à un niveau semblable aux semaines immédiatement après le lancement.

Médias sociaux

Pendant les quelques mois où la participation a été modérée et active, les pages de Notre santé, notre avenir sur Facebook et Twitter ont généré beaucoup d'interactions et d'échanges d'idées. Les pages ont permis d'établir un communauté combinée de 772 abonnés/amis, où chacun pouvait partager des mises à jour et des renseignements sur la conversation de Notre santé, notre avenir avec leur propre réseau social individuel d'amis.

Le tableau suivant décrit la taille de la communauté et les niveaux d'interaction pour Facebook et Twitter :

Médias sociaux
Facebook
Amis 504
Publications d’idées 132
Clics « J’aime » 93
Commentaires publiés 26
Votes sur les questions 55
Twitter
Abonnés 268
Abonnements 256
Tweets 409
@messages 102

Facebook

Lorsque des utilisateurs devenaient « amis » de la page Notre santé, notre avenir sur Facebook, des renseignements démographiques de base sur les participants étaient recueillis, y compris l'âge, le sexe et la situation géographique. Les données sont entreposées de façon anonyme sans que les données démographiques soient liées à des noms d'utilisateur ou à des renseignements identifiables personnellement. Une analyse des données démographiques des amis nous permet de comprendre la composition de la communauté de Notre santé, notre avenir sur Facebook.

Une raison importante d'utiliser Facebook était de rejoindre les jeunes Canadiens et de les faire participer à un dialogue sur le poids santé. Par conséquent, il est encourageant de constater que le plus grand groupe d'amis étaient âgés de 13 à 17 ans, tant chez les filles et que chez les garçons. Un nombre élevé d'amis provenaient également des groupes d'âge de 25 à-34 ans et des 35 à 44 ans, qui comprenaient les parents de jeunes enfants et de jeunes.

Figure 14. Graphique montrant les données démographiques des amis sur Facebook :

En ce qui concerne le niveau d'activité sur Facebook, la tendance de la participation au fil du temps était semblable au niveau d'activité sur le Web principal de Notre santé, notre avenir à www.notresantenotreavenir.gc.ca/Site externe.

Comme il est montré dans le graphique ci‑après, le nombre d'utilisateurs actifs a atteint un sommet peu de temps après le lancement, mais a connu une réduction considérable pendant la période des élections, avant d'obtenir un taux élevé durable d'utilisateurs actifs après le 1er juin jusqu'à la fin de la mobilisation. Les utilisateurs actifs comprenaient des amis ainsi que leurs propres amis qui ont vu ou interagit sur la page Facebook de Notre santé, notre avenir (en français ou en anglais).

Figure 15. Graphique montrant les utilisateurs actifs de Facebook pendant la période de mobilisation :

Twitter

Contrairement à Facebook, Twitter est une plateforme de média social plus anonyme qui permet de recueillir très peu de renseignements démographiques sur les participants. Le tableau qui suit montre la taille de la communauté de Notre santé, notre avenir sur Twitter et le degré d'interaction et de participation.

Les pages en anglais et en français combinées comptaient 268 participants; de ce nombre, 256 suivaient directement par Notre santé, notre avenir. Un total de 409 mises à jour du statut ou de « tweets » étaient affichés pour cette communauté, et 102 messages d'idées étaient reçus par les abonnées et les membres élargis du réseau Twitter.

Twitter
Abonnés 268
Abonnements 256
Tweets 409
@messages 102

Bien qu'une analyse statistique de la communauté de Twitter de Notre santé, notre avenir ne soit pas possible en raison des paramètres de protection des renseignements personnels, un examen de nos abonnés révèle que la communauté comprend des professionnels de la santé, de l'industrie, d'organisations du secteur de la santé sans but lucratif, d'étudiants en sciences de la santé, et de Canadiens s'intéressant à l'obésité juvénile.

[Page précédente] [Table des matières] [Page suivante]