Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

Childhood Obesity

Canada is facing an obesity epidemic. Currently, one in four children and youth in Canada are overweight or obese. Increasingly, obese children are being diagnosed with a range of health conditions previously seen almost exclusively among adults, including type-2 diabetes and high blood pressure.

Efforts to promote healthy weights:

In September 2010, Federal, Provincial and Territorial Ministers of Health agreed to focus efforts on curbing childhood obesity and promoting healthy weights by endorsing Curbing Childhood Obesity: A Federal, Provincial and Territorial Framework for Action to Promote Healthy Weights (Framework).

Through the Framework, Canada’s Ministers of Health agreed to make childhood obesity a collective priority, to champion this issue, and to coordinate complementary actions within many areas of Canadian society to help create the conditions for healthy weights so that children have the healthiest possible start in life.

In March 2011, Federal, Provincial and Territorial Ministers launched a national dialogue on childhood healthy weights. Through Our Health Our FutureExternal Link, Federal, Provincial and Territorial governments met with stakeholders across the country to gather their perspectives and encourage shared leadership and actions to address childhood overweight and obesity.

Over the past year, Canada’s federal, provincial and territorial governments have been working together to identify actions that can be taken across jurisdictions to influence the conditions that promote healthy weights.

Actions Taken and Future Directions 2011 on Curbing Childhood Obesity: A Federal, Provincial and Territorial Framework for Action to Promote Healthy Weights reports on the progress of federal, provincial and territorial governments to advance the Framework and provides recommendations for future actions that can be taken.

Canada’s federal, provincial and territorial governments are committed to working together and with other sectors to promote healthy living, reduce overweight and obesity and help our children and youth have the healthiest possible start in life.

Everyone has a role to play.

For more information:

Related information:

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

L’obésité juvénile

Le Canada est aux prises avec une épidémie d’obésité. À l’heure actuelle au Canada, un enfant sur quatre accuse un surpoids ou est obèse. Divers problèmes de santé touchant auparavant presque exclusivement les adultes, comme le diabète de type 2 et l’hypertension artérielle, sont de plus en plus souvent diagnostiqués chez des enfants obèses.

Efforts de promotion du poids santé

En septembre 2010, les ministres fédérale, provinciaux et territoriaux de la Santé ont convenu d’axer les efforts pour freiner l’obésité juvénile et favoriser le poids santé en adoptant Freiner l’obésité juvénile : Cadre d’action fédéral, provincial et territorial pour la promotion du poids santé (le Cadre).

Par l’intermédiaire du Cadre, les ministres de la Santé du Canada ont convenu de faire de l’obésité chez les enfants une priorité collective, de se faire les champions de cet enjeu et de coordonner des mesures complémentaires dans divers secteurs de la société canadienne afin de créer des conditions favorisant un poids santé pour que les enfants commencent leur vie en bonne santé.

En mars 2011, les ministres fédérale, provinciaux et territoriaux ont lancé un dialogue national sur le poids santé chez les enfants. Grâce à Notre santé, notre avenirLien externe, les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ont rencontré des intervenants de partout au pays afin de recueillir leurs points de vue et d’encourager des mesures et un leadership conjoints pour s’attaquer au problème du surpoids et de l’obésité chez les enfants.

Au cours de la dernière année, les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ont collaboré afin de cerner des mesures qui peuvent être prises partout au pays pour influer sur les facteurs qui favorisent le poids santé.

Mesures de suivi et orientations futures 2011 – Freiner l’obésité juvénile : Cadre d’action fédéral, provincial et territorial pour la promotion du poids santé rend compte des progrès faits par les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux pour faire avancer le Cadre et contient des recommandations sur les mesures qui peuvent être prises dans l’avenir.

Les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux sont déterminés à travailler ensemble et avec d’autres secteurs afin de promouvoir les modes de vie sains, de réduire les taux de surpoids et d’obésité et d’aider les enfants et les jeunes à commencer leur vie en bonne santé.

Nous avons tous un rôle à jouer.

Pour en savoir plus

Renseignements connexes