Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

About CAPC

The Community Action Program for Children (CAPC) was created in 1993 in response to Canada’s agreement to invest in the well being of vulnerable children, made at the United Nations World Summit for Children in 1990.

CAPC sites partner with many other organizations in order to provide locations where families can connect with their local community and obtain information, referrals and access to public health and social services.

The program recognizes that communities are best equipped to identify and respond to the needs of their children. It also realizes the importance of working with community partners to build community capacity.

CAPC sites adapt their activities and supports to meet the needs of the participants they serve. Programming may include family resource centres, parenting classes and drop-in groups, parent/child groups, home visiting and more specialized programs, such as support for mothers dealing with substance abuse.

While every CAPC site is unique, they all share the Guiding Principles as their foundation:

  • Children First
  • Equity and Accessibility
  • Community Based
  • Strengthening and Supporting Families
  • Flexibility
  • Partnerships

CAPC Management

Each provincial/territorial government signed protocols that identify the priorities of their region and set out the terms and conditions for managing CAPC sites in their respective province/territory.

CAPC is jointly managed by using committees of representatives from federal, provincial/territorial ministries and community organizations, as appropriate. These committees are often called Joint Management Committees (JMC) and they determine how best to address their regional priorities and allocate funds.

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

À propos du PACE

Le Programme d'action communautaire pour les enfants (PACE) a vu le jour en 1993 suite à l'entente du Canada l'engageant à investir dans le bien-être des enfants vulnérables, conclue lors du Sommet mondial pour les enfants tenu par les Nations Unies en 1990.

Les centres du PACE travaillent en partenariat avec plusieurs organisations afin d'offrir des emplacements où les familles peuvent correspondre avec leur collectivité locale et obtenir de l'information et des références, ainsi que des services sociaux et de santé publique.

Le programme comprend que les collectivités sont les mieux placées pour recenser les besoins de leurs enfants et y répondre. Il tient également compte de l'importance de travailler avec des partenaires communautaires pour bâtir la capacité collective.

Les centres du PACE adaptent leurs activités et leurs outils de soutien aux besoins des participants qu'ils desservent. Les programmes peuvent comprendre des centres de ressources familiales, des cours de parentage, des groupes de jour, des groupes parent-enfant, des visites à domicile et des programmes plus spécialisés comme le soutien des femmes aux prises avec la toxicomanie.

Même si chaque centre est unique, ils ont tous comme piliers les principes directeurs suivants :

  • Les enfants d’abord
  • Équité et accessibilité
  • Approche communautaire
  • Renforcement et soutien des familles
  • Flexibilité
  • Partenariats

Gestion du PACE

Chaque gouvernement provincial/territorial a signé des protocoles qui dégagent les priorités de sa région et définissent les modalités de gestion des centres PACE dans sa province ou son territoire.

Le PACE est administré conjointement par des comités de représentants des ministères fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux et des organismes communautaires concernés. On les appelle souvent Comités de gestion mixtes (CGM); ils déterminent la meilleure façon de répondre à leurs priorités régionales et d'attribuer les fonds.