Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

Transfusion Transmitted Injuries Surveillance System (TTISS)

Summary Results for 2006 - 2012

Transfusion Transmitted Injuries Surveillance System (TTISS) has been monitoring adverse reactions related to the transfusion of blood, blood components, and blood products (plasma derivatives) since 2001 in Canada. As of 2007, all provinces and the Northwest and Yukon territories participate in the TTISS. The participation rate of hospitals providing transfusion services in each of these provinces and territories (P/Ts) increased gradually over time: by 2010, it was between 80% and 100% in 11 P/Ts. Only one province had a participation rate of less than 50%. The TTISS coverage is also measured by the volume of blood components (red blood cells, granulocytes, platelets, plasma and cryoprecipitates) transfused annually and, approximately 1.5 million transfusions were given in Canada each year from 2006 to 2012. Approximately 80% of these transfusions were monitored by the TTISS network. 

In addition to the overall counts and proportions of adverse reactions from transfusion of blood components and blood products (plasma derivatives), this report also provides the overall and annual risks of individual adverse reactions resulting from the transfusion of blood components for the 2006-2012 period.  These statistics could not be calculated for blood products because of the lack of appropriate corresponding denominator data. Minor allergic reactions as well as febrile non-hemolytic reactions were excluded as a result of inconsistent reporting of adverse transfusion reactions over the years.

A total of 3,957 cases of transfusion-related adverse reactions were reported to the TTISS from 2006 to 2012: from 461 in 2006 to 769 in 2012, corresponding to an overall seven-year increase of 67%. The surveillance protocol requires participants to send comprehensive reports on the transfusion reactions such as transfusion-associated circulatory overload (TACO), severe allergic anaphylactic reaction (include anaphylactic shocks), hypotensive reaction, acute and delayed hemolytic reaction, transfusion-related acute lung injury (TRALI), transfusion-associated dyspnea (TAD), IVIG headache, aseptic meningitis, bacterial/viral infections, and unusual reactions of clinical significance. Each reported adverse reaction is categorized not only by its severity level (which is measured by the level of medical care/intervention required for a patient as a result of developing the reaction), but also by their resulting outcome which assesses whether the patient sustained any physiological and/or physical consequence (damage/impairment of a body function) following the development of the reaction. The outcome varies from minor to major/long-term sequelae including death.

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

Système de surveillance des incidents transfusionnels :

Résultats sommaires de 2006 à 2012

Le Système de surveillance des incidents transfusionnels (SSIT) surveille les réactions indésirables liées à la transfusion de sang, de composants sanguins (produits sanguins labiles) et de produits sanguins (dérivés plasmatiques) depuis 2001 au Canada. Depuis 2007, toutes les provinces ainsi que les territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Yukon participent au SSIT. Le taux de participation des hôpitaux offrant des services de transfusion dans chacune des provinces et territoires (P/Ts) a graduellement augmenté avec le temps: à partir de 2010, il était entre 80% et 100% dans onze P/Ts. Une seule province a un taux de participation inférieur à 50%. La participation au SSIT est aussi évaluée par le volume de produits sanguins labiles (globules rouges, granulocytes, plaquettes, plasma, surnageant de cryoprécipité) transfusés annuellement et, approximativement 1,5 million transfusions ont été administrées au Canada chaque année de 2006 à 2012. À peu près 80% de ces transfusions étaient suivi par le réseau SSIT.

En plus des totaux et proportions des réactions indésirables dues aux transfusions des produits sanguins labiles et des dérivés plasmatiques, ce rapport donne donne aussi un apperçu du risque global et annuel pour chacune des réactions indésirables liées à la transfusion des produits sanguins labiles pour la période de 2006 à 2012. Ces statistiques ne pouvaient être calculées pour les dérivés plasmatiques à cause de la non-disponibilité des données appropriées des dénominateurs correspondants. Les réactions allergiques mineures ainsi que les réactions fébriles et non-hémolytiques ou sérologiques ont été exclues pour inconsistance dans le signalement des réactions indésirables liées à la transfusion au fil des ans.

Au total, 3 957 cas de réactions indésirables liées à la transfusion ont été rapportés au SSIT entre 2006 et 2012: de 421 cas de 2006 à 769 en 2012, ce qui correspond à une augmentation globale de près de 67% en sept ans. Le protocole de surveillance requiert des participants des rapports détaillés sur les réactions transfusionnelles telles que la surcharge volémique post-transfusionnelle (SVPT), les réactions allergiques anaphylactiques / anaphylactoïdes graves (y compris les chocs anaphylactiques), la réaction hypotensive, les réactions hémolytiques aiguës et retardées, les lésions pulmonaires aiguës post-transfusionnelles (LPAPT), la dyspnée associée à la transfusion (DAT), les céphalées liées à l'utilisation des immunoglobulines par voie intraveineuse, la méningite à liquide clair, les infections bactériennes/virales, et les réactions inhabituelles d'une importance clinique significative. Chaque réaction indésirable déclarée est catégorisée non seulement par sa gravité (qui est mesurée par le niveau de soins/interventions médicaux nécessaires à apporter au patient ayant développé cette réaction), mais aussi par son impact sur la santé du patient (dommages/déficience d'une fonction de l'organisme) qui généralement varie des sequelles mineures aux sequelles majeures ou de long terme y compris la mort.