Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

Summary of Assessment of Public Health Risk to Canada Associated with Avian Influenza A(H7N9) Virus in China

The risk assessment is reviewed on a regular basis and updated as required.

15 September 2015

Risk Assessment

The public health risk posed by avian influenza A (H7N9) virus to Canada is considered low based on available information at this time. The risk may change as new information arises.

Avian influenza A (H7N9) is a novel reassortant virus that was not previously known to circulate in humans. Sporadic transmission of avian influenza A (H7N9) to humans is thought to be associated with exposure to infected poultry or contaminated environments.

Available information suggests that this virus does not have the ability to transmit easily among humans. Clusters that have been reported suggest that limited human-to-human transmission may occur where there was unprotected close contact with symptomatic cases. However, there is still no evidence of sustained human-to-human transmission of avian influenza A(H7N9) virus.

Avian influenza A (H7N9) remains a widespread zoonotic virus in China. The most likely threat to Canadians remains a risk of importation to Canada from travelers infected while in China. Canada reported the first travel-related human case of H7N9 in North America on January 2015. Although travel related cases have been reported in other countries including Canada, there is no indication that international spread has occurred.

Event Summary

The first human cases with the novel reassortant avian influenza A (H7N9) virus were first reported to the World Health Organization (WHO) by China on March 31, 2013. Since then, additional cases have been reported in China from twelve Provinces (Anhui, Guangdong, Guangxi, Hebei, Henan, Hunan, Fujian, Jiangsu, Jiangxi, Jilin, Shandong, and Zhejiang), two Municipalities (Beijing and Shanghai) and in one autonomous region (Xinjiang Uyghur). In addition, travel-related cases have been reported in Malaysia, Taiwan, Hong Kong and Canada. Poultry and environmental samples have tested positive for avian influenza A(H7N9) in all above mentioned provinces and municipalities, except for Jilin and Beijing. Most human infections are believed to have occurred after exposure to infected poultry or contaminated environments.

Since March 2013, the WHO has reported over 600 confirmed human cases, including over 200 deaths. For the latest updates on cases and deaths please visit WHO's Global Alert and Response websiteExternal Link.

Since the virus first emerged in 2013, outbreaks of H7N9 in humans have occurred in three waves. The beginning of the first wave was marked by the detection of the novel avian influenza A (H7N9) in three patients from China in March 2013, two cases from Shanghai and one from Anhui. Subsequent cases reported were concentrated in the Eastern Chinese Provinces of Shanghai, Zhejiang, and Jiangsu. The first wave lasted to May 2013.

The second wave of human avian influenza A (H7N9) infections began in October 2013 and ended in the spring of 2014. A change in the epidemiologic profile of H7N9 was observed in the second wave. There was a geographic shift in the distribution of H7N9 cases to the Southern Chinese Province of Guangdong, suggesting the virus became more widespread in its domestic bird reservoir. Additionally, the second wave had significantly larger amplitude than the first wave, both in terms of number of cases and deaths.

The third wave of human infections began in October 2014 with declining number of cases by the spring of 2015. The majority of cases were reported during the months of January and February in the Southern Chinese Province of Guangdong. On January 26, 2015, the first imported human case of avian influenza A (H7N9) from China was confirmed in Canada. A second case was confirmed on January 29, 2015. They are the first North Americans known to have been infected with this virus. The individuals were from British Columbia and travelled together to China. Both cases did not require hospitalization and have since fully recovered. The number of cases and deaths reported in this third wave was similar to those observed in the second wave.

Although the majority of human cases have resulted in clinically severe disease, human infections with avian influenza A (H7N9) can present with a variety of symptoms that range from mild illness to more severe disease. Children infected with the virus have mainly presented with mild or asymptomatic disease Footnote 1. Given the detection of several less severe cases through ILI surveillance, along with continued reporting of severe cases, continued vigilance is warranted Footnote 2. The WHO continues to advise countries to move forward in strengthening influenza epidemiological and virological surveillance, reporting of human infections as applicable under the IHR (2005), and other national health preparedness actions.

Summary of literature

Evidence to date suggests a seasonal pattern to H7N9 infections in humans, peaking in the winter months and sporadic cases in the summer. The seasonal pattern observed is not unexpected as previous studies have reported greater circulation of avian influenza viruses in cooler weather and lower circulation in warmer temperatures Footnote 6.

The sex and age distribution of human cases of avian influenza H7N9 is skewed to middle aged or elderly males. This gender bias is not well understood, however it has been attributed by some researchers to cultural practices, such as live poultry markets (LPMs) predominantly being visited by males Footnote 5. There is a growing body of evidence that points to infected poultry, and contaminated environments including LPMs to be a key source of H7N9 infections in humans Footnote 1,Footnote 5,Footnote 7,Footnote 13. The vast majority (~85%) of all reported cases have had exposure to poultry or LPMs Footnote 3, Footnote 5. Recent studies indicate circulation of the virus may be amplified in LPMs with poultry to poultry transmission which may then serve as an ongoing source for H7N9 infection in humans (5). Poultry and environmental samples from several LPMs in China have tested positive for the virus with genomic sequences similar to those found in infected humans Footnote 1,Footnote 5,Footnote 7,Footnote 8. Unlike human infections with H7N9, the virus has not been reported to cause severe disease in poultry. The absence of disease in poultry makes it challenging to detect and control the virus in the poultry population.

Although the vast majority of cases have been linked to poultry exposure, there have been a number of reported clusters (2-3 cases) associated with close contacts of infected cases (3-4). Epidemiologic investigations suggest secondary transmission may have occurred in some instances in family members and care givers exposed to infected cases Footnote 1,Footnote 4. Of note, a recent healthcare associated cluster reported in Shantou, China in February 2015 points to a risk for healthcare workers Footnote 4. A study published in May 2015 reported that secondary cases of H7N9 were younger and presented with milder disease than sporadic/index cases Footnote 1,Footnote 3. These results further support other studies that indicate the detection of H7N9 cases to be biased towards older-more severe cases and are likely not capturing younger populations Footnote 3. Epidemiologic investigations of these clusters are suggestive of possible limited human-to-human transmission with no evidence of sustained transmission in the community.

No vaccine is currently publicly available for this subtype of the H7N9 influenza virus; although several candidate vaccines are undergoing clinical trials. WHO has recommended that an A/Anhui/1/2013-like virus be used for the development of A(H7N9) vaccines for pandemic preparedness purposes. There are currently no recommendations on the large-scale manufacture of avian influenza A(H7N9) vaccineFootnote 9.

Laboratory testing has confirmed that the avian influenza A(H7N9) virus is susceptible to the neuraminidase inhibitors oseltamivir and zanamivir, two antiviral medications that are available in the National Antiviral Stockpile and National Emergency Stockpile System should they be needed to treat Canadians. WHO has issued guidance on the use of post-exposure antiviral chemoprophylaxis for avian influenza A(H7N9)External Link (PDF Document).

The Agency's National Microbiology Laboratory (NML) has developed diagnostic assays (tests) allowing NML to rapidly detect the novel avian influenza A(H7N9) virus. These assays have been shared with provincial/territorial colleagues allowing provinces to do their own testing should it be required.

Virus Characteristics

Sequencing of the avian influenza A(H7N9) virus by the World Health Organization (WHO) Chinese National Influenza Centre in Beijing revealed HA and NA genes from avian influenza A(H7N9) and remaining genes from A(H9N2), identifying this virus as a novel reassortant virus with all genes related to genes from Eurasian influenza A viruses from wild birds and poultry. Scientific publications in the LancetFootnote 11 and New England Journal of MedicineFootnote 10 suggest that poultry is a likely source of infection. This novel avian influenza A(H7N9) virus does not appear to cause severe illness in birds. This is different from previously identified and reported avian influenza A(H7N9) viruses in birds. Mutations in H7N9 strains have been identified that could favour high affinity interaction with human receptors in the upper respiratory tract Footnote 12 however, there has been no evidence of sustained human-to-human transmission. Presently, this avian influenza A(H7N9) virus is considered a Foreign Animal Disease (FAD) agent as there may be consequences if this pathogen were to circulate in avian populations in Canada.

Recommendations for Canada


Health care professionals are encouraged to maintain vigilance for cases of avian influenza A(H7N9) infection and notify the appropriate local Public Health Unit in their jurisdiction of any persons under investigation. The national interim case definition for avian influenza A(H7N9) is to be used for the surveillance of avian influenza A(H7N9). For guidance on surveillance objectives and activities, please refer to the interim national surveillance guidelines for avian influenza A(H7N9).

Provinces and Territories are asked to report confirmed cases of avian influenza A(H7N9) infection to the Public Health Agency of Canada using the Emerging Pathogens and Severe Acute Respiratory Infection (SARI) Case Report Form.

Travel Advisory

A travel health advisory is posted on the Agency's website. It does not recommend any restrictions on travel but encourages travellers to practice special precautions.

Infection Control

The Agency provides recommendations for infection prevention and control measures for patients presenting to hospitals, doctors offices and other clinics with suspected or confirmed infection with the avian influenza A(H7N9) virus in its Interim Guidance - Infection Prevention and Control Guidance for Acute Care Settings document. This guidance will be updated as new evidence becomes available.


Based on the clinical presentation of severe respiratory illness and death in humans, the potential for this virus to be a pandemic agent, and that the virus is currently considered a foreign animal disease agent, this avian influenza A(H7N9) virus is classified as a Risk Group 3 human and animal pathogen requiring Containment Level 3 for all proliferative in vitro or in vivo activities. Non-proliferative diagnostic/clinical activities can be conducted at Containment Level 2 with additional requirements. In the event of a non-negative human sample, it is strongly recommended that the work with the sample be stopped and the sample be transferred to the National Microbiology Laboratory (NML). In the event that a veterinary diagnostic laboratory detects a non-negative sample, the work is to be stopped and the sample be transferred to the National Centre for Foreign Animal Disease (NCFAD) as per the policy in the Foreign Animal Disease Diagnostic Laboratory Containment Standard. The biosafety advisory can be found on the Agency website.


Footnote 1
Yi, Lina, et al. "Family Clusters of Avian Influenza A H7N9 Virus Infection in Guangdong Province, China." Journal of clinical microbiology 53.1 (2015): 22-28.
Footnote 2
World Health Organization. WHO Risk assessment - Human infections with avian influenza A(H7N9) virus 21 January 2014.
Footnote 3
Qin, Ying, et al. "Differences in the epidemiology of human cases of avian influenza A (H7N9) and A (H5N1) viruses infection." Clinical Infectious Diseases (2015): civ345.
Footnote 4
Liu, Yisu, et al. "The Third Wave: H7N9 Endemic Reassortant Viruses and Patient Clusters." The Journal of Infection in Developing Countries 9.02 (2015): 122-127.
Footnote 5
Jernigan, Daniel B., and Nancy J. Cox. "H7N9: Preparing for the Unexpected in Influenza*." Annual review of medicine 66 (2015): 361-371.
Footnote 6
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. “Avian Influenza A (H7N9) Virus”. (2014).
Footnote 7
Spackman, Erica, et al. "Impact of route of exposure and challenge dose on the pathogenesis of H7N9 low pathogenicity avian influenza virus in chickens." Virology 477 (2015): 72-81.
Footnote 8
Kang, Min, et al. "Environmental Sampling for Avian Influenza A (H7N9) in Live-Poultry Markets in Guangdong, China." (2015): e0126335.
Footnote 9
World Health Organization. WHO recommendation on influenza A(H7N9) vaccine virus 26 September 2013.
Footnote 10
Food and Agriculture Organization. Addressing avian influenza A(H7N9). Qualitative risk assessment update. January 2014.
Footnote 11
Chen Y, Liang W, Yang S, et al. 2013. Human infections with the emerging avian influenza A H7N9 virus from wet market poultry: clinical analysis and characterisation of viral genome. Lancet. doi:pii: S0140-6736(13)60903-4. [Epub ahead of print]
Footnote 12
Qun Li, M.D., Lei Zhou, M.D. et al, 2013. Preliminary Report: Epidemiology of the Avian Influenza A (H7N9) Outbreak in China. The New England and Journal l of Medicine: April 24, 2013, at DOI: 10.1056/NEJMoa1304617
Footnote 13
Li, J., et al. "Case-control study of risk factors for human infection with avian influenza A (H7N9) virus in Shanghai, China, 2013." Epidemiology and infection 143.09 (2015): 1826-1832.

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Résumé de l'évaluation du risque pour la santé publique au Canada associé aux cas humains d'infection par le virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9) en Chine

Les renseignements sont régulièrement examinés et mis à jour au besoin.

16 février 2016

Évaluation du risque

Pour l'instant, le risque pour la santé publique au Canada associé au virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9) est considéré comme faible selon les renseignements disponibles. Le risque peut évoluer à mesure que de nouveaux renseignements surviennent.

L'information disponible porte à croire que ce virus ne se transmet pas facilement entre les humains. Les grappes signalées semblent indiquer qu'une transmission interhumaine limitée peut avoir lieu en cas de contacts étroits non protégés avec des cas symptomatiques. En outre, il n'y a eu aucun cas confirmé de transmission interhumaine durable du virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9).

Le virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9) demeure un virus zoonotique largement répandu en Chine. La menace la plus probable pour la population canadienne consiste en un risque d'importation au Canada par des voyageurs infectés dans ce pays. En janvier 2015, le Canada a signalé le premier cas d'infection humaine par le virus H7N9 en Amérique du Nord, lié à un voyage. Bien que des cas liés à des voyages aient été signalés dans d'autres pays, notamment le Canada, rien n'indique une propagation à l'échelle internationale.

Résumé de la situation

Le 31 mars 2013, la Chine a signalé les premiers cas d'infection humaine par le nouveau virus réassorti de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9) à l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS). Depuis, d'autres cas ont été signalés par douze provinces de la Chine (Anhui, Guangdong, Guangxi, Hebei, Henan, Hunan, Fujian, Jiangsu, Jiangxi, Jilin, Shandong et Zhejiang), deux municipalités (Beijing et Shanghai) et une région autonome (Xinjiang Uyghur). De plus, des cas liés à des voyages ont été signalés en Malaisie, à Taïwan, à Hong Kong et au Canada. Des échantillons environnementaux et de volaille se sont révélés infectés par le virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9) dans toutes les provinces et les municipalités mentionnées ci-dessus, à l'exception de Jilin et de Beijing. La plupart des infections humaines sont censées avoir eu lieu après une exposition à des volailles infectées ou à des environnements contaminés.

Depuis mars 2013, l'OMS a signalé plus de 700 cas humains confirmés, dont plus de 200 décès. Pour les plus récentes mises à jour sur les cas et les décès, veuillez consulter le site Web Alerte et action au niveau mondialExternal Link de l'OMS.

Depuis la première émergence du virus en 2013, les éclosions de grippe H7N9 chez les humains se sont produites en quatre vagues. Le début de la première vague a été marqué, en mars 2013, par la détection du nouveau virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9) chez trois patients en Chine, dont deux à Shanghai et un à Anhui. Les cas suivants qui furent signalés étaient concentrés dans les provinces de l'est de la Chine, soit Shanghai, Zhejiang et Jiangsu. La première vague a duré jusqu'en mai 2013.

La deuxième vague d'infections humaines causées par le virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9) a commencé en octobre 2013 et a pris fin au printemps 2014. On a observé un changement du profil épidémiologique du virus H7N9 au cours de la deuxième vague. Un déplacement géographique de la répartition des cas d'infections au H7N9 a eu lieu vers la province du Guangdong, située au sud. Ce déplacement laisse croire que le virus s'était répandu dans son réservoir d'oiseaux domestiques. En outre, la deuxième vague était beaucoup plus étendue que la première, tant en nombre de cas que de décès.

La troisième vague d'infections humaines a commencé en octobre 2014 et a connu une baisse du nombre de cas au printemps 2015. La plupart des cas furent signalés au cours des mois de janvier et de février dans la province du Guangdong, dans le sud de la Chine. Le premier cas importé d'infection humaine par le virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9) en provenance de la Chine a été confirmé au Canada le 26 janvier 2015. Un deuxième cas a été confirmé le 29 janvier 2015. Il s'agissait des premiers Nord-américains reconnus comme ayant été infectés par ce virus. Ces personnes habitaient en Colombie-Britannique et voyageaient ensemble en Chine. Les deux voyageurs n'ont pas eu besoin d'être admis à l'hôpital et se sont complètement rétablis depuis. Le nombre de cas et de décès signalés au cours de cette troisième vague était semblable à celui observé au cours de la deuxième vague.

La quatrième vague d'infections par le virus de la grippe A(H7N9) a été annoncée par l'Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture le 15 octobre, après que deux nouveaux cas de grippe A(H7N9) ont été déclarés en Chine. Si le profil des cas humains suit les tendances saisonnières antérieures, les cas de grippe A(H7N9) devraient commencer à augmenter au cours des prochains mois.

Bien que la plupart des cas humains aient développé une maladie grave sur le plan clinique, les infections humaines au virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9) peuvent présenter une gamme de symptômes allant de malaises légers à des troubles plus graves. La plupart des enfants infectés par le virus n'ont présenté aucun symptôme ou des symptômes légers Note de bas de page1. Étant donné que des cas graves continuent d'être signalés et que la surveillance du syndrome pseudogrippal a permis la détection de plusieurs cas moins graves, il faut rester vigilant Note de bas de page2. L'OMS continue de recommander aux pays de poursuivre la surveillance épidémiologique et virologique de la grippe, en signalant au besoin les infections humaines conformément au Règlement sanitaire international (2005), ainsi que d'autres mesures de préparation en matière de santé sur le plan national.

Sommaire de la litérature

À ce jour, les données probantes semblent indiquer que les infections au virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9) chez les humains font l'objet d'une tendance saisonnière. Cette tendance atteint un sommet au cours de l'hiver et comprend des cas sporadiques au cours de l'été. Cette tendance saisonnière observée n'est pas un résultat inattendu puisque des études antérieures ont signalé une circulation accrue des virus de la grippe aviaire par temps frais et une circulation moindre par temps chaud Note de bas de page6.

La répartition selon l'âge et le sexe des cas d'infection humaine par le virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9) tend vers les hommes d'âge moyen ou âgé. Cette différence fondée sur le sexe n'est pas bien comprise, cependant elle a été attribuée par certains chercheurs aux pratiques culturelles, comme les marchés de volailles vivantes auxquels prennent part surtout les hommes Note de bas de page5. Un ensemble de données probantes croissant semble indiquer que les volailles infectées et les environnements contaminés - notamment les marchés de volailles vivantes - sont une source clé d'infection au H7N9 chez les humains Note de bas de page1, Note de bas de page5, Note de bas de page7, Note de bas de page13. La vaste majorité (environ 85 %) des personnes atteintes ont été exposées à de la volaille ou à des marchés de volailles vivantes Note de bas de page3, Note de bas de page5. Des études récentes montrent que la circulation du virus peut s'amplifier dans ces marchés par la transmission d'oiseau en oiseau, servant ainsi de source continue d'infection au virus H7N9 chez les humains Note de bas de page5. Des échantillons environnementaux et de volaille de plusieurs marchés de volaille vivante en Chine ont donné des résultats positifs pour le virus, comprenant des séquences génomiques semblables à celles trouvées chez les humains infectés Note de bas de page1, Note de bas de page5, Note de bas de page7, Note de bas de page8. Contrairement aux cas d'infection humaine par le virus H7N9, celui-ci ne cause pas de maladies graves chez la volaille. Il est difficile de détecter et de contrôler le virus chez la volaille étant donné l'absence de maladies dans cette population.

Bien que la majorité des cas aient été associés à une exposition à la volaille, un certain nombre de grappes (2 ou 3 cas) a été relié à des personnes en contact étroit avec des personnes infectées (3 ou 4 cas). Des enquêtes épidémiologiques semblent indiquer que dans certains cas, les membres de la famille et les pourvoyeurs de soins aux personnes infectées ont fait l'objet d'une transmission secondaire Note de bas de page1, Note de bas de page4. Il convient de noter qu'une étude récente sur des grappes de cas liées aux soins de santé à Shantou en Chine en février 2015 indiquait un risque pour les travailleurs de la santé Note de bas de page4, Note de bas de page14. Une étude publiée en mai 2015 a signalé que les cas secondaires infectés par le virus H7N9 étaient plus jeunes et présentaient des malaises plus légers que les cas index ou sporadiques Note de bas de page1, Note de bas de page3. Ces résultats viennent confirmer d'autres études qui indiquent que la détection de personnes atteintes d'une infection au virus H7N9 est partiale envers les personnes âgées et les cas sévères et n'est pas susceptible de représenter les populations plus jeunes Note de bas de page3. Les enquêtes épidémiologiques de ces grappes semblent indiquer la possibilité d'une transmission interhumaine limitée, sans la preuve d'une transmission soutenue au sein de la collectivité.

Aucun vaccin n'est actuellement disponible publiquement pour ce sous-type de virus grippal. Toutefois, plusieurs vaccins candidats sont en cours d'essais cliniques. L'Organisation mondiale de la Santé a recommandé qu'un virus analogue à A/Anhui/1/2013 serve à élaborer des vaccins contre le virus A(H7N9) pour pouvoir être prêt en cas de pandémie. Aucune recommandation n'a encore été faite concernant la fabrication à grande échelle d'un vaccin contre le virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9)Note de bas de page3.

Des essais effectués en laboratoire ont confirmé que le virus de la grippe A aviaire(H7N9) est sensible aux inhibiteurs de la neuramidase oseltamivir et zanamivir, deux antiviraux qui sont stockés dans la Réserve nationale d'antiviraux et le Système de la réserve nationale d'urgence afin de pouvoir être utilisés pour traiter les Canadiens si cela devait se révéler nécessaire. L'OMS a émis des directives quant à l'utilisation de chimioprophylaxie antivirale post-exposition pour le grippe aviaire A(H7N9). (Document PDF) [disponible en anglais seulement].

Le Laboratoire national de microbiologie (LNM) de l'Agence a perfectionné les épreuves de diagnostic (tests) lui permettant de rapidement détecter ce nouveau virus. Ces tests ont été diffusés aux collègues provinciaux et territoriaux pour permettre aux provinces de réaliser leur propre dépistage si cela se révélait nécessaire.

Caractéristiques du virus

Le séquençage du virus de l'influenza A aviaire (H7N9), effectué par le Centre national de lutte contre la grippe de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) en Chine, à Beijing, a mis en évidence les gènes HA et NA du virus A aviaire (H7N9) et d'autres gènes du virus A(H9N2). Il s'agit donc d'un nouveau virus réassorti dont tous les gènes sont liés à des gènes des virus de la grippe A de la lignée eurasienne qui ont circulé chez les oiseaux sauvages et la volaille. Des articles parus dans le LancetNote de bas de page11 et le New England Journal of MedicineNote de bas de page10 suggèrent que les volailles sont une source probable de l'infection. Ce nouveau virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9) ne semble pas provoquer de maladie grave chez les oiseaux, contrairement aux autres virus de la même souche auparavant identifiés et signalés chez les oiseaux. Des mutations identifiées dans les souches du virus H7N9 sont favorables à une affinité élevée avec les récepteurs humains des voies respiratoires supérieuresNote de bas de page12. Il n'existe toutefois aucune preuve de transmission interhumaine soutenue. Pour l'instant, ce virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9) est considéré comme un agent causant une maladie animale exotique (MAE), car il peut y avoir des conséquences si l'agent pathogène atteint les populations aviaires au Canada.

Recommandations pour le Canada

Surveillance

On encourage les professionnels de la santé à maintenir la vigilance à l'égard des cas d'infection par le virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9), et à aviser les ministères de la Santé publique concernés lorsqu'une personne fait l'objet d'une enquête diagnostique par utilisant la définition de cas nationale et provisoire - Infection par le virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9)doit être utilisée dans le cadre de la surveillance de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9). Pour obtenir des conseils quant aux objectifs et aux activités de surveillance, veuillez vous reporter aux lignes directrices nationales provisoires sur la surveillance des cas d'infection par le les virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9).

On demande aux provinces et aux territoires de signaler les cas confirmés d'infection par le virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9) à l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada au moyen du Formulaire de déclaration des cas d'agents pathogènes respiratoires émergents et les infections respiratoires aiguës sévères (IRAS).

Conseils aux voyageurs

Des conseils de santé aux voyageurs sont affichés sur le site Web de l'Agence. L'Agence ne recommande aucune restriction concernant les voyages, mais encourage les voyageurs à prendre des précautions spéciales.

Prévention des infections

L'Agence fournit des recommandations pour la prévention des infections et les mesures de contrôle des patients se présentant à l'hôpital, au cabinet du médecin et dans une autre clinique avec une infection suspectée ou confirmée par l'influenza A aviaire (H7N9) dans son document de Directives provisoires - Lignes directrices sur la prévention et le contrôle des infections dans les établissements de soins actifs. Ces directives seront mises à jour à mesure que de nouvelles données probantes seront accumulées.

Biosécurité

Étant donné le tableau clinique, caractérisé par une atteinte respiratoire grave et par des décès chez l'humain, ainsi que le potentiel pandémique de ce virus, et étant donné que le virus est actuellement considéré comme un agent causant une maladie animale exotique, le virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9) est classé comme un agent du groupe de risque 3, pathogène pour l'humain et les animaux, nécessitant un niveau de confinement 3 pour toutes les activités prolifératives in vitro ou in vivo. Les activités cliniques ou diagnostiques n'entraînant aucune prolifération peuvent être réalisées dans une installation de niveau de confinement 2 selon certaines exigences additionnelles. En présence d'un échantillon humain non négatif, il est fortement recommandé d'interrompre toutes les manipulations sur l'échantillon et de l'acheminer au Laboratoire national de microbiologie (LNM). Si un échantillon non négatif est décelé par un laboratoire vétérinaire de diagnostic, les manipulations doivent être interrompues et l'échantillon acheminé au Centre national des maladies animales exotiques (CNMAE), conformément à la politique des Normes de confinement pour les laboratoires de diagnostic des maladies animales exotiques. L'Avis de biosécurité peut être consulté sur le site Web de l'Agence.


Références

Note de bas de page 1
Yi, Lina, et al. "Family Clusters of Avian Influenza A H7N9 Virus Infection in Guangdong Province, China." Journal of clinical microbiology 53.1 (2015): 22-28. (Disponible en anglais seulement)
Note de bas de page 2
World Health Organization. WHO Risk assessment - Human infections with avian influenza A(H7N9) virus 21 January 2014. http://www.who.int/influenza/human_animal_interface/ RiskAssessment_H7N9_21Jan14.pdf. (Disponible en anglais seulement)
Note de bas de page 3
Qin, Ying, et al. "Differences in the epidemiology of human cases of avian influenza A (H7N9) and A (H5N1) viruses infection." Clinical Infectious Diseases (2015): civ345. (Disponible en anglais seulement)
Note de bas de page 4
Liu, Yisu, et al. "The Third Wave: H7N9 Endemic Reassortant Viruses and Patient Clusters." The Journal of Infection in Developing Countries 9.02 (2015): 122-127. (Disponible en anglais seulement)
Note de bas de page 5
Jernigan, Daniel B., and Nancy J. Cox. "H7N9: Preparing for the Unexpected in Influenza*." Annual review of medicine 66 (2015): 361-371. (Disponible en anglais seulement)
Note de bas de page 6
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. "Avian Influenza A (H7N9) Virus". (2014). http://www.cdc.gov/flu/avianflu/h7n9-virus.htm (Disponible en anglais seulement)
Note de bas de page 7
Spackman, Erica, et al. "Impact of route of exposure and challenge dose on the pathogenesis of H7N9 low pathogenicity avian influenza virus in chickens." Virology 477 (2015): 72-81. (Disponible en anglais seulement)
Note de bas de page 8
Kang, Min, et al. "Environmental Sampling for Avian Influenza A (H7N9) in Live-Poultry Markets in Guangdong, China." (2015): e0126335.
Note de bas de page 9
World Health Organization. WHO recommendation on influenza A(H7N9) vaccine virus 26 September 2013. http://www.who.int/influenza/human_animal_interface/influenza_h7n9/ 201309_h7n9_recommendation.pdf (Disponible en anglais seulement)
Note de bas de page 10
Food and Agriculture Organization. Addressing avian influenza A(H7N9). Qualitative risk assessment update. January 2014. http://www.fao.org/docrep/019/i3631e/i3631e.pdf (Disponible en anglais seulement)
Note de bas de page 11
Chen Y, Liang W, Yang S, et al. 2013. Human infections with the emerging avian influenza A H7N9 virus from wet market poultry: clinical analysis and characterisation of viral genome. Lancet. doi:pii: S0140-6736(13)60903-4. [Epub ahead of print] (Disponible en anglais seulement)
Note de bas de page 12
Qun Li, M.D., Lei Zhou, M.D. et al, 2013. Preliminary Report: Epidemiology of the Avian Influenza A (H7N9) Outbreak in China. The New England and Journal l of Medicine: April 24, 2013, at NEJM.org. DOI: 10.1056/NEJMoa1304617 (Disponible en anglais seulement)
Note de bas de page 13
Li, J., et al. "Case-control study of risk factors for human infection with avian influenza A (H7N9) virus in Shanghai, China, 2013." Epidemiology and infection 143.09 (2015): 1826-1832. (Disponible en anglais seulement)
Note de bas de page 14
Farooqui, Amber, et al. "Probable Hospital Cluster of H7N9 Influenza Infection." New England Journal of Medicine 374.6 (2016): 596-598