Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

National Interim Case Definition: Avian Influenza A(H7N9) Virus

A. Preamble

The main goal of emerging respiratory virus surveillance is early detection of a case in Canada, and subsequently such virus surveillance informs efforts at containment and/or mitigation of this novel respiratory pathogen. This document outlines surveillance case definitions and provides instructions on reporting to the national level.

While a spectrum of illness is recognized for most infectious diseases, emerging zoonotic pathogens, newly adapting to the human host, are frequently associated with more severe clinical presentation and are more likely to be detected on that basis. Conversely, searching for mild or asymptomatic infections due to an emerging pathogen would likely result in a significant drain on the health care system. Given that it is not possible to test, isolate and/or quarantine all individuals with links to affected areas, the surveillance case definitions focus primarily on severe acute respiratory illness (SARI), while still allowing for clinician and public health judgment in assessing patients with milder or atypical presentations, where, based on contact, comorbidity or cluster history, the index of suspicion may be raised and more aggressive measures taken.

Emerging respiratory pathogens newly adapting to the human host may also demonstrate epidemiologic characteristics atypical for other humanized variants within the same family of viruses. For instance, the incubation period may be prolonged and may further vary based upon viral inoculum and other aspects of the particular agent-host-environment (exposure) context. Transmission characteristics similarly may vary and evolve. As an emerging respiratory virus adapts to the human host, and case investigation becomes more complete, clinical and epidemiologic understanding may change.

Surveillance case definitions are provided here for the purpose of case reporting and notification to the Public Health Agency of Canada. They are based on the current level of epidemiological evidence and uncertainty, and public health response goal. These surveillance case definitions are not intended to replace clinician or public health practitioner judgment in individual patient management, or intended to be used for the purpose of infection control triage.

It should be noted that unusual SARI clusters in community or facility settings (and notably involving health care workers) should be appropriately investigated under the direction of local and provincial health authorities.

B. Background:

New influenza viruses with pandemic potential typically arise from avian species or swine, but sometimes the animal reservoir seeding new human infections cannot be identified. H7 subtype viruses (i.e. H7N7, H7N3, H7N2) have previously caused a limited number of mild upper respiratory infections in humans, typically in association with recognized poultry outbreaks. The avian influenza A(H7N9) variant, never before identified as a human pathogen, emerged in China during the spring of 2013 causing a greater number of human SARI cases in the shortest period of time than any other avian influenza virus to date, including H5N1. The case fatality has approached 30%.

The avian influenza A(H7N9) virus is a novel influenza A subtype with a complex reassortment of several avian influenza viruses. Although their significance is not yet clear, the virus has multiple genetic signatures suggestive of recent human adaptation and increased virulence. Human infections have been identified, primarily during April 2013, across eight provinces of eastern China plus the municipalities of Beijing and Shanghai, with export of a single case to Taiwan. The WHO’s Global Alert and Response websiteExternal Link maintains the latest updates on the total number of cases. Cases have mostly been sporadic and thought to have been acquired through poultry exposure; however, the animal reservoir has been challenging to identify because H7N9 appears to be of low pathogenicity in birds. Avian influenza A(H7N9) infection in people has been predominantly reported among older adult males, an epidemiologic pattern very distinct from that of H5N1 infections previously detected in China.

Limited scenarios of human-to-human transmission of avian influenza A(H7N9) following close (i.e. household or familial) contact have been reported but sustained person-to-person spread has not yet been observed. Although avian influenza A(H7N9) reporting from China has slowed since May 2013 and the risk to Canadians is currently low, further resurgence and individual case importation cannot be ruled out. Clinicians and public health practitioners should remain alert for that possibility.

Provincial / Territorial public health authorities should report confirmed and probable cases nationally within 24 hours of their own notification. National surveillance case definitions are provided below – these are subject to change with ongoing monitoring and as understanding of H7N9 characteristics and risk evolve.

C. Laboratory Specimen and Testing Considerations

Laboratory confirmation is obtained by detection of viral RNA or virus isolation in tissue culture. Currently, H7N9 is designated a Foreign Animal Disease (FAD) requiring CL 3 or higher laboratory conditions for growth/propagation. Confirmation of diagnosis should be sought from Canada’s National Microbiology Laboratory (NML) before being considered conclusive; such cases may be considered presumptive pending NML confirmation.

Influenza subtyping assays are typically less sensitive than identification assays. As such, it may not be possible to subtype weakly positive influenza A detections. Such “untypeable” events should be individually assessed in consultation with appropriate experts. Confirmatory laboratory tests may take up to 7 days from specimen submission.

Limited evidence suggests that upper airway (nasopharyngeal (NP) or throat) swabs for diagnosis may not be as sensitive as lower respiratory specimens for SARI. If an NP swab tests negative for H7N9, consider retesting using lower respiratory specimens such as sputum, endotracheal aspirate, or bronchoalveolar lavage where relevant and clinically indicated. Sero-conversion may be considered supportive evidence in identifying cases when other laboratory diagnosis is not possible; however, antibody assays for H7N9 are still under development and some caution is required in their interpretation.

Laboratory investigation should be according to local guidance for diagnosis and management of community-acquired pneumonia inclusive of other potentially more likely etiologies. Examples of other etiologies include Streptococcus pneumoniae, Haemophilus influenzae B, Legionella pneumophila, other recognized primary bacterial pneumonias, influenza and other respiratory viruses.

Follow infection prevention and control guidelines when collecting respiratory specimens. For additional information, refer to the Protocol for Microbiological Investigations of Severe Acute Respiratory Infections (SARI).

D. National Surveillance Case Definitions for Avian Influenza A(H7N9)

Person Under investigation (PUI):

  • A person meeting exposure and illness criteria
    Note: The surveillance mechanisms and systems for identifying a PUI may vary by jurisdiction according to perceived risk, resources, supporting structures and other context.

Probable Case:

  • A person meeting exposure and illness criteria and in whom a laboratory diagnosis of untypeable influenza A is made by a facility equipped with the appropriate influenza subtyping capability OR
  • A person with compatible symptoms who is epidemiologically linked to a confirmed case of H7N9 without specimens available for diagnostic testing.

Confirmed Case:

  • A person with laboratory confirmation of influenza A (H7N9) infection.
    Note: See Section C: Laboratory specimen and testing considerations

E. Exposure and Illness Parameters

1. Exposure criteria: Links within 14 daysFootnote a prior to illness onset to affected areasFootnote b (i.e. residence, travel history) or close contactFootnote c with a confirmed or probable case.

Footnote a
Incubation period for H7N9 has been reported as prolonged (median 6 days; range, 1 to 15 days) among initial cases compared to typical human influenza viruses (average 1-3 days). Allowing for inherent variability and recall error and to establish consistency with other emerging respiratory virus monitoring, exposure history based on the prior 14 days is a reasonable and safe approximation.
Footnote b
Affected areas: defined by identification of animal or human infections due to H7N9 to date in China. As affected areas are subject to change, consult the website of the World Health OrganizationExternal Link for up to date information.
Footnote c

A close contact is defined as a person who provided care for the patient, including health care workers, family members or other caregivers, or who had other similarly close physical contact OR who stayed at the same place (e.g. lived with or otherwise had close prolonged contact within two metres) as a probable or confirmed case while the case was ill.

Where procedures or presentations are more likely to be associated with virus-laden aerosolization (e.g. CPR, intubation, ventilation, suction, sputum induction, nebulization, bronchoscopy, BiPAP) the time and distance considered in defining the sharing of a confined air space may be extended. For more information refer to the National Interim Infection Prevention and Control Guidance for Acute Care Settings - Avian Influenza A(H7N9).

2. Illness criteria: While mild presentations with fever and cough, or even asymptomatic cases have been noted following infection with avian influenza H7N9, particularly in children, focus is on the detection of severe acute respiratory illness (SARI). SARI is defined primarily by clinical, radiological or histo-pathological evidence of pulmonary parenchymal disease (e.g. pneumonia, pneumonitis, or Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome [ARDS]), typically associated with the need for hospitalization, intensive care unit monitoring and/or other severity marker (such as death).

Therefore, clinician and public health judgment should be used in assessing patients, where, based on contact, comorbidity or cluster history, the index of suspicion may be raised. Additional information can be found in the Interim Guidance for Public Health Management of Human Illness Associated with Avian Influenza A(H7N9).

Atypical presentations may occur in the presence of immunosuppression or other comorbidity. Clinician discretion, epidemiologic context and local feasibility should be taken into account, in discussion with local/provincial health authorities. Illness onset is defined by the earliest start of influenza-compatible symptoms associated with the current episode.

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

Définition de cas nationale et provisoire : Infection par le virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9)

A. Préambule

Le principal objectif de la surveillance des virus respiratoires émergents est la détection précoce d'un cas au Canada. Une telle surveillance des virus permet de guider ultérieurement les efforts liés au confinement et/ou à l'atténuation du risque de ce nouvel agent pathogène des voies respiratoires. Ce document expose les définitions de cas aux fins de surveillance et fournit des directives sur la déclaration des cas à l'échelle nationale.

Bien qu'il soit reconnu que la plupart des maladies infectieuses entraînent un spectre de maladie variable, les agents pathogènes zoonotiques émergents, qui commencent à s'adapter à l'hôte humain, sont fréquemment associés à un tableau clinique plus grave et sont plus susceptibles d'être détectés. En revanche, la recherche des infections légères ou asymptomatiques dues à un agent pathogène émergent entraînerait vraisemblablement un fardeau significatif sur le système de soins de santé. Comme il est impossible d'évaluer, d'isoler et/ou de mettre en quarantaine toutes les personnes liées aux régions touchées, les définitions de cas aux fins de surveillance mettent donc surtout l'accent sur l'infection respiratoire aiguë sévère (IRAS), tout en continuant de laisser place au jugement des cliniciens et des responsables de la santé publique qui, lors de l'évaluation de patients présentant un tableau clinique plus léger ou atypique, pourraient, en fonction des antécédents des contacts, des comorbidités ou de la grappe, élever le degré de suspicion et instituer des mesures plus énergiques.

Les agents pathogènes respiratoires émergents commençant à s'adapter à l'hôte humain peuvent aussi démontrer des caractéristiques épidémiologiques atypiques comparativement aux autres variantes humanisées de la même famille de virus. Par exemple, la période d'incubation peut être plus longue et peut varier davantage selon l'inoculum viral et d'autres aspects du contexte agent-hôte-environnement (exposition). Les caractéristiques de transmission peuvent elles aussi varier et évoluer. Au fur et à mesure que les virus respiratoires s'adaptent à l'hôte humain, et que l’enquêtes des cas deviennent plus étendues, les connaissances sur le plan clinique et épidémiologique de la maladie pourraient changer.

Les définitions de cas aux fins de surveillance sont fournies ici dans le but d'optimiser le processus de déclaration et de notification des cas à l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada. Elles sont basées sur les données épidémiologiques et le niveau d'incertitude actuels ainsi que sur l'objectif d'intervention en matière de santé publique. Ces définitions de cas aux fins de surveillance ne visent pas à remplacer le jugement du clinicien ou du praticien de la santé publique dans la prise en charge des patients individuels, ni à être utilisées aux fins de triage (contrôle) des infections.

Il convient de noter que toute grappe inhabituelle d'IRAS présente dans la communauté ou dans les établissements (et en particulier touchant les travailleurs de la santé) doit être évaluée de façon appropriée sous la direction d'autorités sanitaires locales et provinciales.

B. Contexte :

Les nouveaux virus de la grippe ayant un potentiel pandémique surgissent habituellement d'espèces aviaires ou porcines, mais il arrive parfois que le réservoir animal disséminant de nouvelles infections chez les humains ne puisse être identifié. Les virus du sous-type H7 (c.-à-d. H7N7, H7N3 et H7N2) ont causé par le passé un nombre limité d'infections légères des voies respiratoires supérieures chez les humains, habituellement en association avec des éclosions reconnues chez la volaille. La variante H7N9 de la grippe aviaire de type A, n'ayant jamais été identifiée comme un agent pathogène touchant les humains, est apparue en Chine durant le printemps 2013; elle a causé un nombre plus important de cas d'infection respiratoire aiguë sévère chez les humains que tous les autres virus de la grippe aviaire, y compris la variante H5N1, et ce, durant la plus courte période de temps à ce jour. Le taux de mortalité s'est approché de 30 %.

Le virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9) est un nouveau sous-type de la grippe de type A caractérisé par un réassortiment complexe de plusieurs virus de la grippe aviaire. En outre, le virus présente de multiples signatures génétiques suggérant une adaptation et une virulence accrue récentes chez les humains; leur signification n'est toutefois pas encore élucidée. Des cas d'infection chez les humains ont été décelés (principalement durant le mois d'avril 2013) dans huit provinces de l'Est de la Chine, dans les municipalités de Beijing et de Shanghai et à Taïwan (exportation d'un cas unique). Le site Web Alerte et action au niveau mondialLien externe de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé fournit les plus récentes mises à jour sur le nombre de cas et de décès. On croit que les cas, pour la plupart sporadiques, seraient survenus par suite d'une exposition à de la volaille. On peine toutefois à déterminer le réservoir animal, car la variante H7N9 semble peu pathogène chez les oiseaux. Les cas d'infection par le virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9) signalés chez les humains ont été marqués par la prédominance d'hommes adultes avancés en âge, un profil épidémiologique très distinct de celui des infections par la variante H5N1 détectées auparavant en Chine.

Un nombre limité de scénarios de transmission interhumaine du virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9) par suite d'un contact étroit (c.-à-d. un membre du foyer ou de la famille) a été signalé, mais aucune propagation interhumaine soutenue n'a été observée à ce jour. Même si le nombre de cas déclarés d'infection par le virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9) en Chine a ralenti depuis le mois de mai 2013, et que le risque actuel pour les Canadiens est faible, la résurgence de la maladie ainsi que l'importation de cas individuels ne peuvent être écartées. Les cliniciens et les praticiens de la santé publique devraient envisager cette éventualité.

Les autorités de la santé publique des provinces/territoires doivent déclarer les cas confirmés et probables à l'échelle nationale dans les 24 heures suivant leur notification. Les définitions nationales de cas aux fins de surveillance sont fournies ci-dessous; elles pourraient changer avec la surveillance continue et l'évolution des connaissances sur les caractéristiques et les risques de la variante H7N9.

C. Considérations concernant les échantillons et les épreuves de laboratoire

La confirmation en laboratoire est obtenue par la détection de l'ARN du virus ou par l'isolement du virus dans une culture de tissus. À l'heure actuelle, la variante H7N9 est désignée comme une maladie animale exotique (MAE) nécessitant des conditions de confinement de niveau 3 (NC 3) ou plus en laboratoire pour la croissance/la propagation. Avant d'être considéré comme concluant, le diagnostic doit être confirmé auprès du Laboratoire national de microbiologie (LNM) du Canada; ces cas en attente d'une confirmation par le LNM peuvent être considérés comme présomptifs.

Les tests de sous-typage du virus de la grippe sont habituellement moins sensibles que les essais biologiques d'identification, c'est pourquoi il n'est pas toujours possible de mettre au jour le sous-type de faibles détections positives du virus de la grippe de type A. Dans pareils cas, une évaluation individuelle devrait être effectuée en consultation avec des experts appropriés. Il peut s'écouler jusqu'à sept jours (à partir de la soumission de l'échantillon) avant que les résultats des tests de confirmation en laboratoire soient obtenus.

Certaines données limitées suggèrent que les écouvillons des voies respiratoires supérieures (nasopharyngiennes [NP] ou de la gorge) ne seraient pas aussi sensibles que les échantillons des voies respiratoires inférieures pour confirmer le diagnostic d'infection respiratoire aiguë sévère. En présence d'un résultat négatif pour le virus H7N9 avec l'écouvillon NP, il faut envisager la reprise du test au moyen d'échantillons provenant des voies respiratoires inférieures, tels les expectorations, un aspirat endotrachéal ou un prélèvement par lavage bronchoalvéolaire, lorsque la situation convient et qu'elle est cliniquement indiquée. La séroconversion pourrait être considérée comme une donnée favorisant l'identification des cas lorsque les autres épreuves diagnostiques de laboratoire sont impossibles. À noter toutefois que la mise au point du titrage des anticorps du virus H7N9 n'est pas encore achevée et que la prudence s'impose lors de l'interprétation de ces tests.

Les analyses de laboratoire doivent être effectuées conformément aux directives locales de diagnostic et de prise en charge des cas de pneumonie communautaire, y compris les autres étiologies potentiellement plus probables. Les autres étiologies comprennent, par exemple, Streptococcus pneumoniae, Haemophilus influenzae de type B, Legionella pneumophila, d'autres pneumonies reconnues comme étant principalement bactériennes, la grippe et d'autres virus respiratoires.

Veuillez vous conformer aux lignes directrices en matière de prévention et de contrôle des infections lors de la collecte des échantillons des voies respiratoires. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le Protocole d'enquête microbiologique concernant les infections respiratoires aiguës sévères (IRAS).

D. Définitions nationales de cas d’infection par le virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9) aux fins de surveillance

Personne faisant l'objet d'une enquête (POE) :

  • Personne répondant aux critères d'exposition et de maladie
    Remarque : Les mécanismes et systèmes de surveillance pour l'identification des personnes faisant l’objet d’une enquête peuvent varier selon la province ou le territoire en fonction du risque perçu, des ressources, des structures de soutien et d'autres contextes.

Cas probable :

  • Personne satisfaisant aux critères d'exposition1 et de maladie2, chez qui un diagnostic de grippe de type A est posé en laboratoire sans que le sous-type ne puisse être identifié, et ce, malgré la présence d'équipements appropriés pour la détection des sous-types, OU
  • Une personne présentant des symptômes compatibles à ceux de la grippe, et liée épidémiologiquement à un cas confirmé d'infection par le virus H7N9, mais n'ayant aucun échantillon disponible pour l'épreuve diagnostique.

Cas confirmé :

  • Personne dont l'infection par le virus de la grippe A(H7N9) a été confirmée en laboratoire.
    Remarque : Voir la Section C – Considérations concernant les échantillons et les épreuves de laboratoire

E. Exposition et paramètres de la maladie

1. Critères d'exposition: Liens avec une région touchéeFootnote b (c.-à-d. résidence, antécédents de voyage) ou contact étroitFootnote c avec un cas confirmé ou probable au cours des 14 joursFootnote a précédant l'apparition de la maladie.

Footnote a
Selon les rapports des cas initiaux, la période d'incubation du sous-type H7N9 serait plus longue (médiane, 6 jours; intervalle, 1 à 15 jours) que celle des virus de la grippe typiques observés chez les humains (moyenne, 1 à 3 jours). Compte tenu de la variabilité inhérente des virus, des problèmes potentiels de mémoire et de la volonté d'uniformiser la surveillance de tous les virus respiratoires émergents, l'historique de l'exposition fondée sur les 14 jours précédant l'apparition de l'infection est jugée comme une approximation raisonnable et sûre.
Footnote b
Les régions touchées sont définies par la présence d'infections animales ou humaines causées par le sous-type H7N9, décelées à ce jour en Chine. Étant donné que les régions touchées sont susceptibles de changer, veuillez consulter le site Web de l'Organisation mondiale de la santéLien externe pour des renseignements à jour.
Footnote c

Un contact étroit est défini comme une personne qui a prodigué des soins au patient, notamment les travailleurs de la santé, les membres de la famille ou autres soignants, ou qui a eu avec le patient un contact physique étroit de nature similaire OU qui a séjourné au même endroit (p. ex. qui a vécu sous le même toit ou qui a eu autrement un contact étroit prolongé à une distance de moins de deux mètres) qu'un cas probable ou confirmé alors que ce dernier était malade.

Lorsque les interventions ou le tableau clinique sont plus susceptibles d'être associés à une aérosolisation chargée du virus (p. ex. réanimation cardiopulmonaire, intubation, ventilation, aspiration, induction d'expectorations, nébulisation, bronchoscopie ou BiPAP), la durée et la distance d'exposition considérées dans la définition de partage d'un espace aérien clos peuvent être élargies. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les Directives nationales provisoires sur la prévention et le contrôle des infections dans les établissements de soins actifs - Virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9).

Critères de la maladie: Même si les tableaux cliniques notés à la suite d'une infection par le virus de la grippe aviaire H7N9 étaient légers (fièvre et toux), voire négligeables (cas asymptomatique), en particulier chez les enfants, l'accent est mis sur la détection de l'infection respiratoire aiguë sévère (IRAS). L'IRAS est définie principalement par les signes cliniques, radiologiques ou histopathologiques de maladie du parenchyme pulmonaire (p. ex. pneumonie, pneumonite ou syndrome respiratoire aigu sévère) typiquement associés à la nécessité d'une hospitalisation ou d'une surveillance à l'unité de soins intensifs et/ou un autre marqueur de gravité (tel le décès).

Par conséquent, le jugement des cliniciens et des responsables de la santé publique doit être utilisé dans l'évaluation des patients dont les antécédents de contacts, de comorbidités ou de la grappe pourraient élever le degré de suspicion de la maladie. APour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires, veuillez consulter les Directives provisoires de gestion de la santé publique à l'égard de la maladie humaine associée à la grippe aviaire A(H7N9).

Un tableau clinique atypique peut survenir en présence d'une immunosuppression ou d'une autre comorbidité. La discrétion du clinicien, le contexte épidémiologique ainsi que la faisabilité au niveau local doivent être pris en compte lors des discussions avec les autorités en matière de santé locales/provinciales. L'apparition de la maladie est définie par la première manifestation des symptômes compatibles avec la grippe associés à l'épisode actuel.