Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

Summary of Assessment of Public Health Risk to Canada Associated with Middle East Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus (MERS-CoV)

The risk assessment is reviewed on a regular basis and updated as required.

Updated: October 1, 2015

Risk Assessment

  • The public health risk posed by MERS-CoV to Canada is considered low based on available information at this time. The risk may change as new information arises.
  • MERS-CoV is considered a zoonotic virus that can lead to secondary infections among people. Many community-acquired infections are thought to be associated with direct or indirect contact with infected dromedary camels or camel-related products.
  • Some of the infections have occurred in clusters of close contacts or in health care settings. This provides good evidence of human-to-human transmission. However, no community wide transmission has been observed. While human-to-human transmission has been observed in households in affected countries, most human cases reported to date have resulted from human-to-human transmission in health care settings.
  • Additional cases of MERS-CoV infection are expected to be reported from the Middle East. Additionally, it is likely that cases will continue to be exported to other countries by tourists, travellers, guest, workers or pilgrims who might acquire infection following exposure to an animal or human source.

Event Summary

Since April 2012, cases of Middle East Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus (MERS-CoV) have been identified in the following countries in the Middle East: Jordan, Saudi Arabia (KSA), Qatar, the United Arab Emirates, Oman, Kuwait, Yemen, Lebanon and Iran. The majority of all cases reported have been from KSA.

Several other countries have also reported cases in individuals who have travelled to the Middle East: Algeria, Austria, China, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Italy, Malaysia, the Netherlands, the Philippines, South Korea, Thailand, Turkey, Tunisia, United Kingdom and United States. There have been no cases identified in Canada.

Local transmission among close contacts who have not travelled to the Middle East have been reported in France, Italy, South Korea, Tunisia and the United Kingdom.

Since 2012, the World Health Organization (WHO) has reported over 1,500 confirmed human cases, including over 500 deaths. For the latest updates on cases and deaths please visit the Global Alert and Response websiteExternal Link.

Epidemiologic patterns of MERS-coV reflect sporadic zoonotic infections with amplified human to human transmission in health care settings. Large outbreaks of MERS-coV have mainly resulted from nosocomial transmission in healthcare facilities due to lapses in infection prevention and control measures. Some of these large outbreaks have led to limited community transmission within households, however, sustained human to human transmission has not been observed.

Hospital associated MERS-coV outbreaks are ongoing and have occurred repeatedly in Saudi Arabia. Most recently, one large nosocomial outbreak is currently occurring in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. This outbreak began in July 2015 and is linked to one main hospital facility (King Abdul-Aziz Medical City for National Guard) with small family clusters also reported. Transmission patterns remain similar to those observed in previous MERS-coV nosocomial outbreaks in the Middle East. The majority of these cases have epidemiologic links to the facilities’ emergency department, MERS-coV patients admitted to the facility, or with shared health care worker. Despite an established triage system in the hospital, a WHO mission to KSA conducted on August 23, 2015 identified overcrowded conditions in the emergency room as a key contributing factor to this outbreak.

Two smaller hospital outbreaks are also ongoing in Amman city, Jordan and in Madinah city, Saudi Arabia. In light of these ongoing outbreaks, pilgrims traveling to the Hajj (September 20 to 25, 2015) or Umrah are advised to review the Agency’s Travel Health Notice on the Hajj 2015 and Umrah.

Since early 2014 three other large outbreaks have been reported in Saudi Arabia, the UAE and Korea. The first outbreak occurred in a hospital in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. On a mission, the WHO analyzed 128 laboratory-confirmed cases that had symptom between February 17 and April 26, 2014. An estimated 60% of all cases analyzed were reported in a hospital setting. The second hospital outbreak occurred in the UAE and resulted in a total of 28 cases in the city of Al Ain. It is unclear whether transmission occurred from the index case or from non-human sources.

The third outbreak in South Korea, which began in May 2015, is the largest nosocomial outbreak of MERS-CoV outside the Middle East. This outbreak started from a single person who travelled to four countries in the Middle East and who appears to have transmitted infection to close relatives, patients sharing the same room and health care workers providing care. These exposures happened before MERS-CoV was suspected or diagnosed. The outbreak in the Republic of Korea has been brought under control, with no new cases reported since July 4, 2015. Nosocomial and home-based transmission have been previously observed (e.g., in KSA, UAE, France, United Kingdom).

An increasing incidence of MERS-CoV from March-April suggests a seasonal pattern. The apparent seasonal increase in primary cases occurring for unknown reasons may be related to the weaning of young camels from their mothers in the spring of each year. In light of this and the growing evidence of a MERS-coV link between camels and humans, the WHO recommends avoiding contact with camels; not drinking raw camel milk or camel urine; and not eating meat that has not been thoroughly cooked.

The WHO provides recommendations for the general population as well as for high risk groups which include: (1) practicing general hygiene measures for those visiting places where camels are present and (2) handling with care animal products in order to avoid cross-contamination with uncooked foods. Individuals at high risk of severe disease include the following: people with diabetes, renal failure, chronic lung disease, and immunocompromised persons.

In their latest Risk assessment published on July 7, 2015 the WHO recommends enhancing prevention and control measures to prevent the spread of MERS-CoV in healthcare facilities. Additionally, WHO advises countries to be on high alert for MERS-CoV in travelers or migrant workers returning from the Middle East.

The IHR Emergency Committee concerning MERS-CoV had its 10th meeting on September 2, 2015. The consensus was that the conditions for a public health emergency of international concern (PHEIC) had not yet been met. The committee indicated that the major factors contributing to the ongoing MERS-CoV situation are insufficient awareness about the urgent dangers posed by this virus, insufficient engagement by all relevant sectors, and insufficient implementation of scalable infection control measures, especially in health care settings such as emergency departments. They noted that individual countries and the global community will remain at significant risk for further outbreaks until this is achieved. The WHO does not recommend the application of any travel or trade restrictions and considers screening at points of entry to be unnecessary at this time.

Summary of literature

The case count of MERS-coV may not be a global reflection of the true burden of illness as surveillance systems are often unable to capture mild and asymptomatic cases. A modelling study published in November 2013 has estimated that at least 62% of symptomatic MERS-coV cases may have gone undetected note 1. Correspondingly, results from a cross-sectional serologic study published on August 2014, revealed a 5% rate of subclinical secondary MERS-coV infections following the investigation of 280 household contacts of 26 index patients note 15. There currently is insufficient epidemiological information to determine whether transmission is self-sustaining in humans and also, what role mildly symptomatic and asymptomatic cases play in disease transmission.

Research to date suggests the emergence of MERS-coV to be of bat origin before it was transmitted to camels at one point in time. Genomic sequencing and phylogenic analysis from bats in Saudi Arabia and Africa support this theory, with similarities identified between bat corona virus sequences and MERS-coV note 6- note 8. Recent studies point to the role of camels as a primary source of MERS-CoV infection in humans through direct or indirect contact with infected camels or camel-related products (e.g. raw camel milk) note 10- note 13.

The high rates of MERS-coV antibodies in the camel population and the detection of the virus in respiratory secretions, feces, and milk confirm the circulation of MERS-coV infection in dromedary camels note 9. Seroepidemiological studies have been carried out in other livestock, however, MERS-coV specific antibodies have only been identified in dromedary camels.

There is a growing body of research from the Arabian Peninsula and Africa linking MERS-coV transmission between dromedary camels and humans note 13. Genomic sequencing and epidemiologic investigations conducted in 2013, 2014, and recently in 2015 identified similarities in the genomic sequence of persons infected with MERS-coV and infected camels they had close contact with note 10- note 12.  Additionally, other recent studies conducted demonstrate a greater risk of MERS-coV infection among individuals exposed to camels when compared to the general population note 13, note 14.

Although it is evident that MERS-coV is a zoonotic disease, the route of camel to human transmission is not fully understood. The discovery of the route of transmission between camels and humans remains critical to preventing the introduction of MERS-coV into the human population. There continues to be a need for well planned, structured investigations carried out in conjunction with exposure investigations in humans.

No vaccine or effective antiviral treatment is currently available for MERS-CoV. However, research is underway by several scientists to develop a candidate vaccine to protect humans against MERS-coV. Most recently, researchers at the National Institute of Health in collaboration with other investigators including the Public Health Agency of Canada developed an experimental synthetic DNA based vaccine that can generate protective MERS-coV antibodies in mice, marcaque monkeys, and camels. The results of the study were published on August 19, 2015 in Science translation and medicine. Inovio Pharmaceuticals and partnered company GeneOne Life Sciences will soon be leading phase 1 human trials to demonstrate the vaccines potential use. Other experimental vaccines are in development,however they require further testing before they can move to human trials.

On 4 June 2015, the WHO published guidelines for Infection prevention and control during health care for probable or confirmed cases of MERS-CoV infectionExternal Link.


Footnote 1
Cauchemez S, Fraser C, Van Kerkhove MD, et al. Middle East respiratory syndrome coronavirus: quantification of the extent of the epidemic, surveillance biases, and transmissibility. Lancet Infect Dis. 2013.
Footnote 2
World Health Organization. Middle East respiratory syndrome coronavirus (MERS-CoV) Summary and literature update - as of 27 March 2014.
Footnote 3
Almazán F, DeDiego ML, Sola I, et al. 2013. Engineering a replication-competent, propagation-defective Middle East respiratory syndrome coronavirus as a vaccine candidate. mBio 4(5):e00650-13. doi:10.1128/mBio.00650-13.
Footnote 4
Bialek SR, Allen D, et al. First Confirmed Cases of Middle East Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus (MERS-CoV) Infection in the United States, Updated Information on the Epidemiology of MERS-CoV Infection, and Guidance for the Public, Clinicians, and Public Health Authorities-May 2014. MMWR. 2014.
Footnote 5
World Health Organization. World-travel advice on MERS-CoV for pilgrimages.
Footnote 6
Wang, Qihui, et al. "Bat origins of MERS-CoV supported by bat coronavirus HKU4 usage of human receptor CD26." Cell host & microbe 16.3 (2014): 328-337.
Footnote 7
Memish, Ziad A., et al. "Middle East respiratory syndrome coronavirus in bats, Saudi Arabia." Emerging infectious diseases 19.11 (2013).
Footnote 8
Ithete, Ndapewa Laudika, et al. "Close relative of human Middle East respiratory syndrome coronavirus in bat, South Africa." Emerging infectious diseases 19.10 (2013): 1697.
Footnote 9
Khalafalla AI, Lu X, Al-Mubarak AIA, Dalab AHS, Al-Busadah KAS, Erdman DD. MERS-CoV in upper respiratory tract and lungs of dromedary camels, Saudi Arabia, 2013–2014. Emerg Infect Dis
Footnote 10
Memish ZA, Cotten M, Meyer B, Watson SJ, Alsahafi AJ, Al Rabeeah AA, Human infection with MERS coronavirus after exposure to infected camels, Saudi Arabia, 2013. Emerg Infect Dis. 2014;20:1012–5
Footnote 11
Azhar EI, El-Kafrawy SA, Farraj SA, Hassan AM, Al-Saeed MS, Hashem AM, Evidence for camel-to-human transmission of MERS coronavirus. N Engl J Med. 2014;370:2499–505
Footnote 12
Al Hammadi ZM, Chu DK, Eltahir YM, Al Hosani F, Al Mulla M, Tarnini W, et al. Asymptomatic MERS-CoV infection in humans possibly linked to infected camels imported from Oman to United Arab Emirates, May 2015. Emerg Infect Dis
Footnote 13
World Health Oragnization (2015). Summary of Current Situation, Literature Update and Risk Assessment: July 7, 2015.
Footnote 14
Müller, Marcel A., et al. "Presence of Middle East respiratory syndrome coronavirus antibodies in Saudi Arabia: a nationwide, cross-sectional, serological study." The Lancet Infectious Diseases 15.5 (2015): 559-564.
Footnote 15
Drosten, Christian, et al. "Transmission of MERS-coronavirus in household contacts." New England Journal of Medicine 371.9 (2014): 828-835.

Virus Characteristics

Virus isolates have been cultured and genome sequences have been made publicly available. All five of the sequenced viruses have a high degree of genetic similarity. Preliminary analyses show that the viruses are genetically somewhat similar to bat coronaviruses, but distinct from the Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome coronavirus (SARS-CoV) which caused an international outbreak in 2003 in humans.

It should be noted, however, that the similarity does not necessarily imply that bats are the reservoir for the human virus or that direct exposure to bats or bat excreta were responsible for infection.

Recommendations for Canada


Health care professionals are encouraged to maintain vigilance for cases of MERS-CoV infection, and notify the appropriate Public Health Departments of any persons under investigation. The national case definition for MERS-CoV is to be used for the surveillance of MERS-CoV. For guidance on surveillance objectives and activities, please refer to the national surveillance guidelines for MERS-CoV.

Provinces and Territories are asked to report confirmed cases of MERS-CoV infection to the Public Health Agency of Canada using the Emerging Respiratory Pathogens and Severe Acute Respiratory Infection (SARI) Case Report Form.


Laboratory testing should be conducted in accordance with the Canadian Public Health Laboratory Network's Protocol for Microbiological Investigations of Severe Acute Respiratory Infections (SARI). Follow infection prevention and control guidelines when collecting respiratory specimens. Be aware of approaches in your jurisdiction.

Laboratory confirmation is obtained by detection of the virus using (a) MERS-CoV specific nucleic acid amplification test (NAAT) with up to two separate targets and/or sequencing; or (b) virus isolation in tissue culture note a; or (c) serology on serum tested in a WHO collaborating center with established testing methods. Initial screening tests specific for MERS-CoV can be performed in select laboratories (i.e. primarily provincial public health laboratories); however, such cases are considered probable pending NML confirmation.  Laboratories with specimens that screened positive for MERS CoV should forward these to their local public health laboratory (PHL) that can facilitate confirmatory testing at the NML.

For more detailed information, refer to the National Surveillance Guidelines for Human Infection with Middle East Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus (MERS-CoV).

The WHO published interim recommendations for laboratory testing for MERS-CoVExternal Link. (September 2014).

Travel Health Notice

A travel health notice is posted on the Agency's website. It does not recommend any restrictions on travel but encourages travelers to take routine precautions.

Infection Control

Health care facilities are reminded of the importance of systematic implementation of infection prevention and control (IPC) measures. Health care facilities that provide care for patients suspected or confirmed with MERS-CoV infection should take appropriate measures to decrease the risk of transmission of the virus to other patients, health care workers and visitors. Recommendations for infection prevention and control measures for patients presenting with suspected or confirmed infection or co-infection with MERS-CoV in acute care settings is posted on the Agency's website. This guidance will be updated as new information becomes available.


MERS-CoV is classified as a Risk Group 3 human pathogen given that this virus can cause serious illness in humans, while the public health risk is low since the risk of spread of the virus in the community appears to be low. Containment Level 3 is required for all proliferative work (in vitroor in vivo), and non-proliferative diagnostic activities can be conducted at Containment Level 2 with the use of additional operational practices as outlined in Biosafety Advisory: Middle East Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus (MERS-CoV).

note a
Virus isolation in tissue culture should be performed in a BSL3 facility only. Canada’s National Microbiology Laboratory (NML) has this capacity.

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

Résumé de l'évaluation du risque associé au coronavirus du syndrome respiratoire du Moyen-Orient (MERS-CoV) pour la santé publique au Canada

L'évaluation des risques est régulièrement examinée et mise à jour au besoin.

Mise à jour : 29 avril 2016

Évaluation des risques

  • Pour l'instant, le risque pour la santé publique au Canada associé au coronavirus du syndrome respiratoire du Moyen-Orient (MERS-CoV) est considéré comme faible selon les renseignements disponibles. Le risque peut évoluer à mesure que de nouveaux renseignements surviennent.
  • Le virus MERS-CoV, considéré un virus de zoonoses peut mener à  des infections secondaires chez ceux atteints. Plusieurs infections acquises en communauté sont associées avec un contact direct ou indirect avec des dromadaires ou produits dérivés des chameaux.
  • Certain des infections se sont produites en grappes de contacts étroits ou dans un milieu de soins de santé, toutefois aucune transmission à l'échelle de la collectivité n'a été signalée. Bien que la transmission entre humains a été signalé en ménage dans les pays affecté par le virus, la plupart des cas ont eu lieu dans des établissements de santé suite à une transmission entre humains.
  • On s'attend à ce que d'autres cas d'infection au MERS-CoV provenant du Moyen-Orient soient signalés. En outre, des cas continueront probablement de se propager vers d'autres pays par les touristes, les voyageurs, les travailleurs ou les personnes ayant réalisé un pèlerinage qui ont pu contracter l'infection à la suite d'une exposition à une personne ou à un animal contaminé.

Résumé de la situation

Depuis avril 2012, des cas de MERS-CoV ont été identifiés dans les pays suivants dans le Moyen-Orient : la Jordanie, l'Arabie saoudite (RAS), le Qatar, les Émirats arabes unis, l'Oman, le Koweït, le Yémen, le Liban, l'Iran et le Bahreïn. La majorité des cas signalés provenaient de RAS.

Plusieurs autres pays ont également signalé des cas de personnes qui ont voyagé au Moyen-Orient : l'Algérie, l'Allemagne, l'Autriche, la Chine, la Corée du Sud, l'Égypte, les États-Unis, la France, la Grèce, Hong Kong, l'Italie, la Malaisie, les Pays Bas, les Philippines, le Royaume-Uni, la Thaïlande, la Turquie et la Tunisie. Aucun cas n'a été identifié au Canada.

La Corée du Sud, la France, l'Italie, le Royaume-Uni et la Tunisie ont aussi signalé des cas de transmission locale parmi des personnes n'ayant pas voyagé au Moyen-Orient.

Depuis 2012, plus de 1 700 cas humains confirmés ont été signalés, dont plus de 600 décès. Pour les plus récentes mises à jour des cas et décès, veuillez visiter le site Web de l’OMS MERS-CoV.

Les profils épidémiologiques du CoV-SRMO reflètent les infections zoonotiques sporadiques ayant une transmission amplifiée d'humain à humain dans les milieux de soins de santé. Les éclosions de grande envergure du CoV-SRMO résultent principalement de transmissions nosocomiales dans les établissements de soins de santé en raison de lacunes dans les mesures de prévention et de contrôle des infections. Certaines de ces éclosions d'envergure ont mené à une transmission limitée au sein de la collectivité dans les ménages; cependant, aucune transmission soutenue d'humain à humain n'a été observée.

Des éclosions du CoV-SRMO associées aux hôpitaux se sont produites à plusieurs reprises en Arabie saoudite.

Dans le rapport hebdomadaire du 12 avril 2016, le ministère de la Santé de l’Arabie saoudite déclare que de nombreuses éclosions reliées aux hôpitaux ont commencé dans les services d’urgence, que les médecins connaissent toujours peu la maladie et qu’il y a un manque d’observance des pratiques de prévention et de lutte contre les infections. Le ministère de la Santé indique qu’un triage inadéquat, des recommandations de cas inappropriées et des congés donnés à l’encontre des avis médicaux constituent des facteurs supplémentaires. En outre, le surpeuplement ainsi que le contrôle précaire des entrées de l’hôpital et des visiteurs peuvent favoriser la propagation du CoV-SRMO.

Une éclosion en Corée du Sud, qui a débuté en mai 2015, est la plus grande épidémie nosocomiale de Mers-CoV à l'extérieur du Moyen-Orient . Un individu ayant voyagé dans quatre pays du Moyen-Orient serait à l'origine de cette éclosion. Ce dernier aurant infecté ses proches parents, des patients avec qui il aurait partagé une chambre d'hôpital, ainsi que des travailleurs de la santé qui lui auraient fourni des soins. L'exposition au cas index a eu lieu avant le diagnostic de MERS-CoV. L'éclosion en Corée du Sud a été déclarée terminée le 23 decembre 2015.

L'augmentation de l'incidence du MERS-CoV de mars à avril, semble indiquer qu'il existe une tendance saisonnière. L'apparente augmentation saisonnière du nombre de cas primaires survenant sans raison connue pourrait être liée au sevrage des jeunes chameaux qui a lieu au printemps de chaque année. À la lumière de ces renseignements et des données probantes indiquant un lien entre les chameaux et les humains en ce qui a trait au CoV-SRMO, l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé recommande d'éviter les contacts avec les chameaux, de boire du lait de chamelle cru ou de l'urine de chameau et de consommer de la viande qui n'a pas été suffisamment cuite.

L'OMS décrit plusieurs recommandations pour la population générale ainsi que pour les groupes à risque élevé de maladie sévère. Celles-ci incluent (1) Le renforcement des mesures d'hygiène générale pour ceux qui visitent des endroits où se trouvent les chameaux et (2) manipuler avec soin les produits animaux afin de prévenir toute contamination croisée avec des aliments crus. Personnes à haut risque de maladie grave sont les suivants : personnes atteintes de diabète, d'insuffisance rénale, maladie pulmonaire chronique, et les personnes immunodéprimées.

Le Comité d'urgence du Règlement sanitaire international sur le MERS-CoV a tenu sa 10e réunion le 2 septembre 2015. Le consensus était que les conditions d'une urgence de santé publique de portée internationale (USPPI) n'avaient pas encore été réunies. Le Comité a noté que les principaux facteurs contribuant à la situation actuelle sont une connaissance insuffisante de l'urgence des dangers inhérents au virus, d'un engagement insuffisant de tous les secteurs concernés et d'une application insuffisante de mesures modulables de lutte contre l'infection, en particulier dans certaines structures de soins comme les services d'urgence. Le Comité a également noté que les pays individuels et la communauté internationale dans son ensemble resteront exposés à un risque important de nouvelles flambées tant que ce ne sera pas le cas. L'OMS ne recommande pas les restrictions de voyage ou commerciales et considère que le dépistage aux points d'entrée inutile en ce moment.

Sommaire de la litérature

Le nombre de cas d'infection par le CoV-SRMO n'est peut-être pas le reflet mondial du fardeau réel de la maladie, puisque les systèmes de surveillance sont souvent incapables de recenser les cas bénins et asymptomatiques. Une étude de modélisation publiée au mois de novembre 2013 a estimé qu'au moins 62 % des cas symptomatiques ont pu ne pas être détectés note 1. De même, les résultats d'une étude sérologique transversale publiés en août 2014 ont révélé un taux de 5 % d'infections secondaires infracliniques par le CoV-SRMO à la suite de l'enquête de 280 contacts familiaux de 26 patients de référence note 15. Les renseignements épidémiologiques sont actuellement insuffisants pour déterminer si la transmission est autonome chez les humains et pour définir le rôle joué par les cas faiblement symptomatiques et asymptomatiques dans la transmission des maladies.

Les recherches menées à ce jour laissent entendre que l'apparition du CoV-SRMO proviendrait des chauves-souris avant que le virus n'ait été transmis à des chameaux à un moment donné. Le séquençage génomique et l'analyse phylogénique des chauves-souris de l'Arabie saoudite et de l'Afrique appuient cette théorie, puisque des similitudes ont été détectées entre les séquences du coronavirus des chauves-souris et le CoV-SRMO note 6- note 8. Des études récentes semblent indiquer le rôle des chameaux comme source principale de l'infection par le CoV-SRMO chez les humains par contact direct ou indirect avec des chameaux infectés ou des produits liés aux chameaux (p. ex. lait de chamelle cru) note 10- note 13.

Les taux élevés d'anticorps du CoV-SRMO dans la population de chameaux et la détection du virus dans les sécrétions respiratoires, les matières fécales et le lait confirment la propagation de l'infection par le CoV-SRMO chez les dromadaires note 9. Des études séro-épidémiologiques ont été réalisées sur d'autres animaux d'élevage; cependant, les anticorps propres au CoV-SRMO n'ont été cernés que chez les dromadaires.

Il y a un nombre croissant de recherches dans la péninsule arabique et en Afrique établissant un lien entre les dromadaires et les humains pour ce qui est de la transmission du CoV-SRMO note 13. Le séquençage génomique et les enquêtes épidémiologiques menées en 2013, en 2014, et récemment en 2015 ont observé des similitudes dans la séquence génomique des personnes infectées par le CoV-SRMO et des chameaux infectés avec lesquels elles avaient eu un contact étroit note 10- note 12. En outre, d'autres études récentes menées montrent un plus grand risque d'infection par le CoV-SRMO chez les personnes exposées à des chameaux, comparativement à la population en général note 13, note 14.

Il n'existe aucun vaccin ni traitement antiviral efficaces pour le CoV-SRMO. Toutefois, des recherches sont menées par plusieurs scientifiques pour mettre au point un vaccin expérimental afin de protéger les humains contre le CoV-SRMO. Des chercheurs des National Institutes of Health aux États Unis, en collaboration avec d'autres chercheurs, dont ceux de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada, ont mis au point un vaccin expérimental synthétique à base d'ADN qui peut générer des anticorps protecteurs contre le CoV-SRMO chez les souris, les macaques et les chameaux. Les résultats de l'étude ont été publiés le 19 août 2015 dans la revue Science Translational Medicine et peut être trouvé en ligne ici. L’entreprise Inovio Pharmaceuticals et son entreprise partenaire GeneOne Life Sciences ont annoncé le début du recrutement pour leur étude collaborative sur les vaccins portant sur CoV-SRMO en janvier 2016. D'autres vaccins expérimentaux sont en cours d'élaboration, mais ont besoin d'autres essais avant de pouvoir passer aux essais humains.

Le 4 juin 2015, l'OMS a publié des recommandations pour la prévention et contrôle des infections pendant les soins de santé pour les cas probables ou confirmés d'infectionLien externe(disponible en anglais seulement).


Références note *

Note *
Disponible en anglais seulement
note 1
Cauchemez S, Fraser C, Van Kerkhove MD, et al. Middle East respiratory syndrome coronavirus: quantification of the extent of the epidemic, surveillance biases, and transmissibility. Lancet Infect Dis. 2013. http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/S1473-3099(13)70304-9.
note 2
L'Organisation mondiale de la santé. Coronavirus du syndrome respiratoire du Moyen-Orient (MERS-CoV) Résumé et littérature mise à jour - en date du 27 March 2014. http://www.who.int/csr/disease/coronavirus_infections/MERS_CoV_Update_27_March_2014.pdf?ua=1
note 3
Almazán F, DeDiego ML, Sola I, et al. 2013. Engineering a replication-competent, propagation-defective Middle East respiratory syndrome coronavirus as a vaccine candidate. mBio 4(5):e00650-13. doi:10.1128/mBio.00650-13.
note 4
Bialek SR, Allen D, et al. First Confirmed Cases of Middle East Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus (MERS-CoV) Infection in the United States, Updated Information on the Epidemiology of MERS-CoV Infection, and Guidance for the Public, Clinicians, and Public Health Authorities - May 2014. MMWR. 2014. http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/preview/mmwrhtml/mm63e0514a1.htm
note 5
World Health Organization. World-travel advice on MERS-CoV for pilgrimages.
http://www.who.int/ith/updates/20140603/en/
note 6
Wang, Qihui, et al. "Bat origins of MERS-CoV supported by bat coronavirus HKU4 usage of human receptor CD26." Cell host & microbe 16.3 (2014): 328-337.
note 7
Memish, Ziad A., et al. "Middle East respiratory syndrome coronavirus in bats, Saudi Arabia." Emerging infectious diseases 19.11 (2013).
note 8
Ithete, Ndapewa Laudika, et al. "Close relative of human Middle East respiratory syndrome coronavirus in bat, South Africa." Emerging infectious diseases 19.10 (2013): 1697.
note 9
Khalafalla AI, Lu X, Al-Mubarak AIA, Dalab AHS, Al-Busadah KAS, Erdman DD. MERS-CoV in upper respiratory tract and lungs of dromedary camels, Saudi Arabia, 2013–2014. Emerg Infect Dis
note 10
Memish ZA, Cotten M, Meyer B, Watson SJ, Alsahafi AJ, Al Rabeeah AA, Human infection with MERS coronavirus after exposure to infected camels, Saudi Arabia, 2013. Emerg Infect Dis. 2014;20:1012–5
note 11
Azhar EI, El-Kafrawy SA, Farraj SA, Hassan AM, Al-Saeed MS, Hashem AM, Evidence for camel-to-human transmission of MERS coronavirus. N Engl J Med. 2014;370:2499–505
note 12
Al Hammadi ZM, Chu DK, Eltahir YM, Al Hosani F, Al Mulla M, Tarnini W, et al. Asymptomatic MERS-CoV infection in humans possibly linked to infected camels imported from Oman to United Arab Emirates, May 2015. Emerg Infect Dis
note 13
World Health Oragnization (2015). Summary of Current Situation, Literature Update and Risk Assessment: July 7, 2015. http://apps.who.int/iris/bitstream/10665/179184/2/WHO_MERS_RA_15.1_eng.pdf?ua=1
note 14
Müller, Marcel A., et al. "Presence of Middle East respiratory syndrome coronavirus antibodies in Saudi Arabia: a nationwide, cross-sectional, serological study." The Lancet Infectious Diseases 15.5 (2015): 559-564.
note 15
Drosten, Christian, et al. "Transmission of MERS-coronavirus in household contacts." New England Journal of Medicine 371.9 (2014): 828-835

Caractéristiques du virus

Des isolats de virus ont fait l'objet d'une mise en culture; des séquences génétiques ont déjà été rendues publiques. Les cinq virus ayant fait l'objet du séquençage présentent une très grande similitude sur le plan génétique. Selon les analyses préliminaires, les virus sont relativement semblables, du point de vue génétique, au coronavirus des chauves-souris, mais pas au coronavirus du syndrome respiratoire aigu sévère (SARS-CoV) ayant engendré une flambée internationale en 2003.

Il convient toutefois de noter que ces similitudes ne signifient pas pour autant que les chauves-souris représentent la souche du virus qui s'attaque aux humains ou que l'exposition aux chauves-souris ou à leurs excréments est la cause des infections.

Recommandations pour le Canada

Surveillance

On encourage les professionnels de la santé à maintenir la vigilance à l'égard des cas d'infection par le MERS-CoV, et à aviser les ministères de la Santé publique concernés lorsqu'une personne fait l'objet d'une enquête diagnostique par utilisant la définition de cas nationale - Coronavirus du syndrome respiratoire du Moyen-Orient (MERS-CoV) doit être utilisée dans le cadre de la surveillance du MERS-CoV. Pour obtenir des conseils quant aux objectifs et aux activités de surveillance, veuillez vous reporter aux lignes directrices nationales sur la surveillance des cas d'infection par le MERS-CoV.

On demande aux provinces et aux territoires de signaler les cas confirmés d'infection par le MERS-CoV à l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada au moyen du Formulaire de déclaration des cas d'agents pathogènes respiratoires émergents et les infections respiratoires aiguës sévères (IRAS).

Laboratoire

Les analyses en laboratoire doivent être réalisées conformément au Protocole d'enquête microbiologique concernant les infections respiratoires aiguës sévères (IRAS) du Réseau des laboratoires de santé publique du Canada. Suivez les lignes directrices relatives à la prévention et au contrôle des infections lors de la collecte des échantillons respiratoires. Soyez au courant des approches dans votre juridiction.

Une confirmation en laboratoire est obtenue par détection du virus à l'aide (a) d'un TAAN propre au CoV-SRMO, avec, au maximum, deux cibles distinctes ou séquençages; (b) d'une isolation du virus dans une culture de tissus note a; (c) ou d'analyses sérologiques menées à partir de sérum testé dans un Centre collaborateur de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) dont les méthodes d'analyses sont bien établies. Le Laboratoire national de microbiologie (LNM) est chargé de confirmer en laboratoire les cas de CoV-SRMO au Canada. Les premiers tests de dépistage du CoV-SRMO peuvent être effectués dans certains laboratoires; cependant, ces cas sont considérés comme des cas probables en attente de la confirmation par le LNM. Les laboratoires dont des échantillons se sont révélés positifs (CoV-SRMO) doivent acheminer ces derniers à leur laboratoire de santé publique local. Ce dernier organisera les tests de confirmation au LNM.

Pour obtenir plus d'informations, veuillez vous reporter aux lignes directrices nationales sur la surveillance des cas d'infection par le MERS-CoV.

L'Organisation mondiale de la Santé a publié des recommandations provisoires pour les analyses en laboratoire du MERS-CoVLien externe(disponible en anglais seulement) (septembre 2014).

Conseils de santé voyageurs

Des conseils de santé aux voyageurs sont affichés dans le site Web de l'Agence. L'Agence ne recommande aucune restriction concernant les voyages, mais encourage les voyageurs à prendre des précautions de base.

Contrôle des infections

L'importance de la mise en œuvre systématique de mesures de prévention et de contrôle des infections est rappelée aux établissements de soins de santé. Les établissements de soins de santé offrant des soins aux patients atteints d'une infection par le MERS-CoV présumée ou confirmée doivent prendre les mesures appropriées pour diminuer le risque de transmission du virus à d'autres patients, aux travailleurs de la santé ou aux visiteurs. Les recommandations quant aux mesures de prévention et de contrôle pour les patients des établissements de soins de courte durée présentant une infection ou une coïnfection, soupçonnée ou confirmée, par le MERS-CoV sont affichées dans le site Web de l'Agence. Les présentes directives seront revues au fur et à mesure que de nouvelles informations seront disponibles.

Biosécurité

Le MERS-CoV est classé comme un anthropopathogène du groupe de risque 3, c'est-à-dire que ce virus peut entraîner une maladie grave chez l'humain, mais pose un faible risque pour la santé publique compte tenu des probabilités de transmission du virus dans la communauté semble faible. Le niveau de confinement 3 est requis pour tous les travaux prolifératifs (in vitro ou in vivo) et les activités de diagnostic non prolifératives peuvent être effectuées au niveau de confinement 2 en suivant les procédures opérationnelles additionnelles décrites dans l'Avis de biosécurité : Coronavirus du syndrome respiratoire du Moyen-Orient (MERS-CoV).


note a
L'isolation du virus dans les cultures de tissus devrait être effectuée dans un établissement du niveau de biosécurité 3. Le Laboratoire national canadien de microbiologie répond à cette exigence.