Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

ARCHIVED - Canadian Incidence Study of Reported Child Abuse and Neglect - Major Findings - 2003

Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of CanadaExternal link, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

PDF Version
162 Pages - 2.84 MB

Nico Trocmé
Barbara Fallon
Bruce MacLaurin
Joanne Daciuk
Caroline Felstiner
Tara Black
Lil Tonmyr
Cindy Blackstock
Ken Barter
Daniel Turcotte
Richard Cloutier

Table of Contents

Funded by

Public Health Agency of Canada With support from the provincial and territorial governments of Canada

Additional funding provided by

the First Nations Child & Family Caring Society and the Bell Canada Child Welfare Research Unit, Faculty of Social Work, University of Toronto


The 2003 Canadian Incidence Study of Reported Child Abuse and Neglect (CIS-2003) reflects a truly national effort by a group of over 1,500 child welfare service providers, researchers and policy makers committed to improving services for abused and neglected children through research.

The Public Health Agency of Canada provided core funding for the study, with additional funds provided by the provinces of Ontario and Alberta, the Northwest Territories, the First Nations Child & Family Caring Society, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, and the Bell Canada Child Welfare Research Unit. In addition to its financial contribution, the Public Health Agency of Canada, through the Injury and Child Maltreatment Section (ICMS) of the Health Surveillance and Epidemiology Division, provided a critical organizational infrastructure for the study, with the active support of Margaret Herbert, Anne-Marie Ugnat and the Director of the Division, Catherine McCourt.

The National Steering Committee to the CIS-2003 (see Appendix B) provided key input into the design of the study and in supporting implementation. I would particularly like to acknowledge the contributions of Peter Dudding (Committee Co-Chair) and Margaret Herbert (former Committee Co-Chair), who have championed this project for many years, and of Harriet MacMillan, who provided constructive feedback and support throughout the project.

The CIS-2003 was conducted by a large team of researchers who demonstrated an exceptional ability to keep focused on the objectives of this collective effort while bringing to bear their own expertise. In addition to the report authors, special acknowledgement should go to site-based researchers who played a critical role in presenting the study and generating support while maintaining high standards for case selection. These site researchers are Connie Bird, Corbin Shangreaux, Daniel Moore, Ellen Perrault, Heidi Kiang, Jennifer Banks, Katharine Dill,Marlyn Bennett, Denis Lacerte, Janet Douglas,Megan McCormack, Nathalie Forest, Shirley Cole, Theresa Knott,Valérie Gaston,Victor Montgomery, Richard De Marco, Kathy Bent and Maria Mulloy (see Appendix A for institutional affiliations).

All of the provinces and territories supported the research, and through their child welfare systems contributed to the data collection. The child welfare workers and managers who participated in the study deserve special recognition for finding the time and the interest to participate in the study while juggling their ever-increasing child welfare responsibilities. Although for reasons of confidentiality we cannot list their names, on behalf of the CIS-2003 Research Team I thank the child welfare professionals who participated in the CIS-2003.

Nico Trocmé, CIS-2003 Principal Investigator Philip Fisher Chair in Social Work, Centre for Research on Children and Families McGill University


This report is dedicated to the children and families who are served by Canadian child welfare workers. It is our sincere hope that the study contributes to improving their well-being.

In memory of Dan Offord, who was committed to reducing the burden of suffering for children and their families.


This report presents the major findings of the second cycle of the Canadian Incidence Study of Reported Child Abuse and Neglect (CIS-2003). In this initiative, data are collected every five years on child maltreatment reported to, and investigated by, child welfare agencies in Canada.

The CIS is a collaborative effort of many partners: the federal, provincial and territorial governments; university-based researchers; the First Nations Child & Family Caring Society; child advocacy groups; and most important, child welfare service providers across the country.

The CIS is a national child health surveillance initiative of the Public Health Agency of Canada. The CIS complements national surveillance programs in unintentional injury, perinatal health and infectious diseases, among others. Surveillance, which is a core function of public health, is a systematic process of data collection, expert analysis and interpretation, and communication of information for action on key health issues. Surveillance information supports effective priority-setting and policy and program development. It is also an important foundation for more in-depth research.

The CIS contributes to a better understanding of the occurrence of child maltreatment in Canada, the circumstances of the children and their families, and the services provided by child welfare agencies in response to reported maltreatment. Child welfare agencies across the country provide the data for the CIS - they are the "window" through which the study views this very important issue of child health and well-being.

The Public Health Agency of Canada is fortunate and proud to be part of the CIS.We acknowledge the valuable contribution of all those who made this cycle of the CIS possible. Special thanks go to the research team, the national steering committee, the provincial and territorial Directors of Child Welfare and the child welfare service providers who took part in the study. The CIS embodies the important principles of strong interdisciplinary and intersectoral collaboration, collegiality and a commitment to scientific excellence, on behalf of Canada's children.

Catherine McCourt,MD, MHA, FRCPC Director, Health Surveillance and Epidemiology Division Public Health Agency of Canada

Executive Summary

The Canadian Incidence Study of Reported Child Abuse and Neglect - 2003 (CIS-2003) is the second nation-wide study to examine the incidence of reported child maltreatment and the characteristics of the children and families investigated by Canadian child welfare services. The CIS-2003 tracked 14,200 child maltreatment investigations conducted in a representative sample of 63 Child Welfare Service Areas across Canada in the fall of 2003. In all jurisdictions excluding Quebec, child welfare workers completed a three-page standardized data collection form; in Quebec, information was extracted directly from an administrative information system.Weighted national annual estimates were derived based on these investigations. The following considerations should be noted in interpreting CIS statistics:

  • the study is limited to reports investigated by child welfare services and does not include reports that were screened out, cases that were investigated only by the police, or cases that were never reported;
  • the study is based on the assessments provided by the investigating child welfare workers, which were not independently verified;
  • because the study is not designed to conduct regional comparisons, variations in rates of investigated cases of maltreatment across Canada cannot be examined;
  • most of the tables in the CIS-2003 Major Findings Report do not include Quebec;
  • all estimates are weighted annual estimates for 2003, presented either as a count of child maltreatment investigations (e.g., 14,200 child maltreatment investigations) or as the annual incidence rate (e.g., 38.33 per 1,000 children); and
  • there are many reasons to explain the overall increase in rates of investigated and substantiated maltreatment between 1998 and 2003, including changes in reporting

Table of Contents

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

ARCHIVÉ - Étude canadienne sur l'incidence des signalements de cas de violence et de négligence envers les enfants - 2003

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du CanadaLien externe, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

Version PDF
162 Pages - 2.25 MB

Auteurs:
Nico Trocmé
Barbara Fallon
Bruce MacLaurin
Joanne Daciuk
Caroline Felstiner
Tara Black
Lil Tonmyr
Cindy Blackstock
Ken Barter
Daniel Turcotte
Richard Cloutier


Table des matières

Étude financée par

l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada avec le soutien des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux du Canada.

Financement additionnel fourni par

la First Nations Child & Family Caring Society et l'Unité de recherche sur le bien-être des enfants Bell Canada, Faculté de travail social, Université de Toronto.

Remerciements

L'Étude canadienne sur l'incidence des signalements de cas de violence et de négligence envers les enfants de 2003 (ECI-2003) est le fruit du travail d'un groupe national de plus de 1 500 fournisseurs de services de protection de l'enfance, chercheurs et décideurs soucieux d'améliorer, par la recherche, les services offerts aux enfants maltraités et négligés.

L'Agence de la santé publique du Canada a assuré le financement de base de l'étude, et un financement additionnel a été obtenu des provinces de l'Ontario et de l'Alberta, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, de la First Nations Child & Family Caring Society, d'Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada et de l'Unité de recherche sur le bien-être des enfants Bell Canada.Outre sa contribution financière, l'Agence de santé publique du Canada, par l'entremise de la Section des blessures et de la violence envers les enfants (SBVE) de la Division de la surveillance de la santé et de l'épidémiologie, a fourni une infrastructure organisationnelle très importante pour l'exécution de l'étude, avec l'appui actif de Margaret Herbert, d'Anne-Marie Ugnat et de la directrice de la Division, Catherine McCourt.

Le Comité directeur national de l'ECI-2003 (voir l'annexe B) a grandement contribué à la conception de l'étude et soutenu la mise en oeuvre du projet. Je tiens tout particulièrement à remercier Peter Dudding (coprésident du Comité) et Margaret Herbert (ancienne coprésidente du Comité), qui ont vaillamment défendu cette étude pendant bien des années, ainsi que Harriet MacMillan, dont les commentaires constructifs et l'appui ont pu être appréciés tout au long du projet.

L'ECI-2003 a été menée par une imposante équipe de chercheurs qui se sont montrés exceptionnellement aptes à maintenir le cap sur les objectifs de cette entreprise commune, tout en mettant à contribution leur propre expertise. Je souhaite remercier tout spécialement les auteurs du rapport, mais aussi tous les chercheurs des différents centres qui ont joué un rôle crucial dans la présentation de l'étude et ont recueilli les appuis nécessaires tout en respectant des normes élevées dans la sélection des cas. Je pense notamment à Connie Bird,Corbin Shangreaux, Daniel Moore, Ellen Perrault,Heidi Kiang, Jennifer Banks, Katharine Dill,Marlyn Bennett, Denis Lacerte, Janet Douglas,Megan McCormack, Nathalie Forest, Shirley Cole, Theresa Knott,Valérie Gaston,Victor Montgomery,Richard De Marco,Kathy Bent et Maria Mulloy (voir l'annexe A pour connaître les organismes auxquels ces personnes sont associées).

Toutes les provinces et tous les territoires ont appuyé la recherche et, par l'entremise de leur système de protection de l'enfance, ont contribué à la collecte des données. Les travailleurs sociaux et gestionnaires des services de protection de l'enfance qui ont participé à l'étude méritent une reconnaissance toute spéciale pour le temps qu'ils y ont consacré et l'intérêt qu'ils ont manifesté, malgré leurs responsabilités toujours plus lourdes envers les enfants. Pour des raisons de confidentialité, je ne peux fournir leur nom, mais au nom de l'équipe de chercheurs de l'ECI-2003, je tiens à les remercier d'avoir participé à l'étude.

Nico Trocmé
Chercheur principal de l'ECI-2003
Chaire Philip Fisher en service social
Centre for Research on Children and Families
Université McGill

Dédicace

Le présent rapport est dédié aux enfants et aux familles auprès desquels travaillent les services canadiens de protection de l'enfance.Nous souhaitons sincèrement que l'étude contribuera à améliorer leur sort.

À la mémoire de Dan Offord, qui avait à coeur d'alléger le fardeau de la souffrance des enfants et de leur famille.

Avant-propos

Ce rapport présente les principales données du cycle II de l'Étude canadienne sur l'incidence des signalements de cas de violence et de négligence envers les enfants (ECI-2003). Dans le cadre de ce projet, des données sont recueillies tous les cinq ans sur les cas de maltraitance d'enfants qui sont signalés aux agences de protection de l'enfance au Canada ou sur lesquels ils enquêtent. L'ECI est le fruit d'une collaboration entre de nombreux partenaires : les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux, les chercheurs universitaires, la First Nations Child & Family Caring Society, les groupes de défense des enfants et surtout, les fournisseurs de services de protection de l'enfance au pays.

L'ECI est un projet de surveillance nationale de la santé des enfants mené par l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada, qui vient compléter entre autres les programmes de surveillance nationale des blessures non intentionnelles, de la santé périnatale et des maladies infectieuses. La surveillance, qui constitue une fonction clé dans le domaine de la santé publique, est un processus ystématique de collecte de données, d'analyse spécialisée et d'interprétation, et de communication de l'information sur les mesures touchant des problèmes clés de santé. L'information sur la surveillance appuie l'établissement de priorités pertinentes et l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes. Elle jette également les bases d'une recherche plus approfondie.

L'ECI permet de mieux comprendre les cas de maltraitance d'enfants au Canada, la situation des enfants et de leur famille, et les services fournis par les agences de protection de l'enfance en réponse au signalement de cas de mauvais traitements. Les agences de protection de l'enfance du pays fournissent les données pour l'ECI - elles constituent la « fenêtre » par laquelle l'étude voit cet important problème de santé et de bien-être des enfants.

L'Agence de la santé publique du Canada est heureuse et fière de prendre part à l'ECI, et elle reconnaît la précieuse contribution de tous ceux qui ont rendu possible ce cycle de l'ECI. Je tiens à remercier tout spécialement l'équipe de recherche, le Comité directeur national, les directeurs provinciaux et territoriaux de la protection de l'enfance et les fournisseurs de services de protection de l'enfance qui ont pris part à l'étude. L'ECI incarne les importants principes de solide collaboration interdisciplinaire et intersectorielle, de collégialité et d'engagement à l'égard de l'excellence scientifique, au profit des enfants canadiens.

Catherine McCourt,MD,MGSS, FRCPC
Directrice, Division de la surveillance de la santé et de l'épidémiologie Agence de la santé publique du Canada

Résumé

L'Étude canadienne sur l'incidence des signalements de cas de violence et de négligence envers les enfants de 2003 (ECI-2003) est la deuxième étude d'envergure nationale portant sur l'incidence des signalements de mauvais traitements infligés aux enfants et sur le profil des enfants et des familles sur lesquels enquêtent les services canadiens de protection de l'enfance. L'ECI-2003 a répertorié 14 200 enquêtes sur les mauvais traitements envers les enfants menées par un échantillon représentatif de 63 secteurs de services de protection de l'enfance (SSPE) au Canada à l'automne 2003.Dans toutes les provinces et tous les territoires à l'exclusion du Québec, les travailleurs des services de protection de l'enfance ont rempli un formulaire de collecte de données standardisées de trois pages.Au Québec, l'information a été tirée directement d'un système d'information administrative. Les estimations annuelles nationales pondérées ont été calculées d'après ces enquêtes. Il convient de tenir compte des considérations suivantes lorsqu'on interprète les statistiques de l'ECI :

  • L'étude se limite aux signalements sur lesquels les services de protection de l'enfance ont fait enquête et n'inclut pas les signalements qui ont été rejetés, les cas qui ont fait uniquement l'objet d'une enquête des services de police et les cas qui n'ont jamais été signalés
  • L'étude repose sur les évaluations fournies par les travailleurs enquêteurs des services de protection de l'enfance, qui n'ont pas été vérifiées par un tiers.
  • Comme l'étude ne visait pas à effectuer des comparaisons régionales,les variations dans les taux des cas de mauvais traitements ayant fait l'objet d'une enquête au Canada ne peuvent être examinées.
  • La plupart des tableaux du présent rapport n'incluent pas le Québec.
  • Toutes les estimations sont des estimations annuelles pondérées pour 2003, présentées soit en tant que nombre d'enquêtes sur les mauvais traitements envers les enfants (p. ex., 14 200 enquêtes) ou en tant que taux d'incidence annuel (p. ex., 38,33 pour 1 000 enfants).
  • Il existe de nombreuses raisons qui expliquent l'augmentation générale des taux de mauvais traitements corroborés et ayant fait l'objet d'une enquête entre 1998 et 2003, entre autres des changements dans les pratiques d'établissement de rapports et d'enquête.

Table des matières