Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

ARCHIVED - Information

Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of CanadaExternal link, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

May 2003

Frequently Asked Questions about Variant Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease (Variant CJD)

What is Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease (CJD)?

Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease (CJD) is one of a small group of fatal diseases caused by infectious agents called prions. These attack the brain, killing cells and creating gaps in tissue. The disease is always fatal.

There are two types of CJD: classical and variant.

top

What are prions (in relation to variant CJD)?

The agent that causes variant CJD is believed to be an abnormal form of a protein, known as a prion. Prions are normal cellular proteins that are present in many organs and tissues, including the brain, spinal cord and eyes of healthy humans and animals. The abnormal form of prion causes surrounding proteins to change their shape. The abnormal protein collects in central nervous tissue and by an unknown mechanism causes the nerve cells to die. This results in the characteristic holes in the brain tissue that can be seen under the microscope.

top

How do people get variant CJD?

Scientific evidence has linked variant CJD to eating contaminated beef products from animals infected with bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) or "mad-cow disease." Processed meat products made from cows infected with BSE carry a high risk for transmitting the disease.

top

What are the symptoms of variant CJD?

Variant CJD symptoms include early psychiatric symptoms such as anxiety, depression, withdrawal and behavioural changes. Persistent pain or odd sensations in the face or limbs often develop. The disease then progresses to motor difficulties, involuntary movements and mental deterioration, often ending in a persistent vegetative state. The patient may live on average for about one year after the onset of symptoms.

top

How is variant CJD diagnosed?

Once a suspected case of variant CJD is reported to the Public Health Agency of Canada's CJD Surveillance System, the Department coordinates testing and works with case physicians and international experts to confirm the diagnosis. The diagnosis of variant CJD is very difficult, but brain scans, using magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), and tonsil biopsy are two types of tests used to establish a probable diagnosis. However, the final confirmation of variant CJD can only be done by examining brain tissue, generally after the patient has died.

top

What treatment is available for a person who has variant CJD?

At present, there is no cure or treatment to slow the progression of the disease.

top

Is there a test to screen for variant CJD?

No screening test is available for persons who may have been exposed to "mad-cow disease," hence there is no known method of detecting variant CJD before symptoms appear.

top

Can variant CJD be transmitted from person to person by blood?

Scientists haven't yet determined if variant CJD can be transmitted by blood. To date, there has never been a documented case of variant CJD transmitted through blood transfusion. However, evidence from experimental work in animals suggests that transmission of variant CJD by blood is theoretically possible. There have been two reported cases of transfusion-associated vCJD infection in UK. As a precaution, since 1999, Health Canada has implemented policies to protect Canadians from the theoretical risk of transmission of variant CJD through blood. Because people living in or visiting high risk countries for BSE could have been exposed to meat or meat products from cattle infected with BSE, donor screening questionnaires restrict individuals from giving blood if they have:

  • spent a cumulative total of three months or more in the United Kingdom (UK) between the years 1980 and 1996; or
  • spent a cumulative total of three months or more in France between the years 1980 and 1996; or
  • spent a cumulative total of five years or more in Western Europe (other than UK and France) between the years 1980 and ongoing; or
  • received a blood transfusion in the UK between the years 1980 and ongoing.

As well, people who have been exposed to medical devices used on a person subsequently diagnosed with variant CJD will be advised not to donate blood, tissues or organs.

top

Can variant CJD be transmitted by casual contact or other means?

Scientists do not believe that variant CJD can be transmitted through casual contact, like touching or kissing, or even intimate (sexual) contact with a person with the disease.

Because variant CJD is a relatively new disease, how it is transmitted is not well understood. If the disease is transmitted in the same way as classical CJD, it may theoretically be possible for it to spread following exposure to medical devices used on a person subsequently diagnosed with variant CJD and through transplants. The tissues that are most infectious include the brain, spinal cord, pituitary gland and some parts of the eye. In variant CJD, other tissues such as the tonsils and appendix have also been found to be infective, in contrast with classical CJD.

top

Can variant CJD be transmitted from a mother to her unborn child or through breast milk to her baby?

Variant CJD is a relatively new disease, and knowledge about it is limited. However, to date there is no evidence that transmission of variant CJD from a mother to her unborn child or through breast milk has occurred in people with variant CJD.

top

How many cases of variant CJD are there in Canada every year?

In August, 2002 the first confirmed case of variant CJD was diagnosed in Canada. However, all the evidence indicates that, in this case, the individual was infected in the UK. There have been no subsequent cases of variant CJD in Canada.

top

With respect to variant CJD what is the Government of Canada doing to protect the health of Canadians?

The Public Health Agency of Canada works closely with other federal agencies and experts on CJD around the world to protect the health of Canadians. For example, when a suspected case is reported, the coordinator of the Public Health Agency of Canada's CJD Surveillance System works closely with the medical officers of health, case physician and hospital, the patient's family and experts in Canada, the United States and UK.

Variant CJD has been linked to the consumption of meat or meat products from cattle infected with BSE.

For more information, see the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) Web site. New Window

top

What advice does Public Health Agency of Canada provide to travelers to the UK and Europe ?

The best available scientific evidence indicates that whole cuts of meat without the bone, such as steaks and roast, provide a lower level of risk of potential BSE contamination than do processed products such as sausages, burgers or pâtés. Higher risk items also include any other food products such as minced meats that might contain brain or spinal cord parts, since these are considered to have the highest concentration of prions in infected cattle and therefore carry the highest potential risk of transmission. It is important to note that BSE is unlike many other food-borne pathogens in that it cannot be killed simply by cooking the infected meat.

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

ARCHIVÉ - Information

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du CanadaLien externe, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

mai 2003

Questions concernant la variante de la maladie de Creutzfeldt-Jakob (variante de la MCJ)

Qu'est-ce que la maladie de Creutzfeldt-Jakob (MCJ)?

La maladie de Creutzfeldt-Jakob fait partie d'un petit groupe de maladies mortelles causées par un agent infectieux qu'on appelle prion. Celui-ci attaque le cerveau, y tue des cellules et crée des trous dans les tissus. La maladie est toujours mortelle.

Il y a deux types de MCJ : classique et variante.

début

Qu'est-ce qu'un prion (en relation avec la variante de la MCJ)?

L'agent qui provoque la variante de la MCJ serait une forme anormale de protéine qu'on appelle prion. Le prion est une protéine cellulaire normale présente dans plusieurs organes et tissus, dont le cerveau, la moelle épinière et les yeux d'humains et d'animaux en santé. La forme anormale du prion provoque une mutation des protéines avoisinantes qui se concentrent dans les tissus du système nerveux central où, par un mécanisme inconnu, elles tuent les cellules nerveuses. Cela provoque dans les tissus cérébraux l'apparition de trous caractéristiques qu'on peut déceler au microscope.

début

Comment peut-on contracter la variante de la MCJ?

Des études scientifiques lient la variante de la MCJ à la consommation de viande contaminée provenant d'animaux infectés par l'encéphalopathie bovine spongiforme (EBS) ou «maladie de la vache folle». La viande transformée de vaches infectées par l'EBS entraîne un risque élevé de transmission.

début

Quels sont les symptômes de la variante de la MCJ?

Il y a notamment des symptômes psychiatriques précoces comme l'anxiété, la dépression, le repli sur soi et les changements de comportement. Une douleur persistante ou des sensations bizarres au visage ou aux membres sont fréquentes. La maladie peut ensuite entraîner des difficultés motrices, des mouvements involontaires et une détérioration mentale, qui mène souvent à un état végétatif persistant. Le patient peut vivre en moyenne un an après l'apparition des premiers symptômes.

début

Comment diagnostique-t-on la variante de la MCJ?

Dès qu'on signale un cas présumé de la variante de la MCJ au Système de surveillance de la MCJ de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada, le Ministère coordonne les examens et collabore avec les médecins et spécialistes traitants pour confirmer le diagnostic. Il est très difficile de rendre un diagnostic dans le cas de la variante de la MCJ, mais les scintigraphies du cerveau à l'aide de l'imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM) et la biopsie des amygdales représentent deux types d'examens qui permettent d'établir un diagnostic probable. Cependant, seul un examen des tissus cérébraux, généralement après le décès du patient, permet de confirmer le diagnostic de la variante de la MCJ.

début

Quel traitement peut-on offrir à une personne infectée?

Il n'y a présentement aucun remède ou traitement qui permettrait de ralentir la progression de la maladie.

début

Y a-t-il un examen qui permet de détecter la variante de la MCJ?

Aucun test de dépistage n'est disponible pour les personnes qui auraient pu être exposées à la «maladie de la vache folle», par conséquent, il n'existe aucune méthode connue pour détecter la variante de la MCJ avant l'apparition des symptômes.

début

La variante de la MCJ peut-elle se transmettre par le sang?

Les scientifiques n'ont pas encore déterminé si la variante de la MCJ peut se transmettre par le sang. À ce jour, il n'y a aucun cas documenté de transmission de la variante de la MCJ par transfusion sanguine. Cependant, des données provenant de travaux expérimentaux sur les animaux semblent indiquer que la transmission de la variante de la MCJ par le sang est théoriquement possible. Au Royaume-Uni, on a rapporté deux cas d'infection de vMCJ associés à une transfusion. À titre préventif, depuis 1999, Santé Canada a adopté des politiques pour protéger les Canadiens du risque théorique de transmission sanguine de la variante de la MCJ. Les personnes qui ont vécu ou séjourné dans des pays à risque ont peut-être consommé de la viande ou des produits carnés provenant de bovins infectés par l'EBS. Le questionnaire de sélection des donneurs de sang interdit à ces personnes de donner du sang au Canada si elles ont :

  • effectué des séjours cumulatifs de 3 mois ou plus au Royaume-Uni de 1980 à 1996 ; ou
  • effectué des séjours cumulatifs de 3 mois ou plus en France de 1980 à 1996 ; ou
  • effectué des séjours cumulatifs de 5 ans ou plus en Europe de l'Ouest depuis 1980 ; ou
  • reçu une transfusion sanguine au Royaume-Uni depuis 1980.

On avisera en outre les personnes qui ont été en contact avec des instruments médicaux contaminés de ne pas faire de don de sang, de tissus ou d'organes.

début

Peut-on contracter la variante de la MCJ par un simple contact ou autrement?

Les scientifiques ne croient pas que la variante de la MCJ puisse se transmettre par un simple contact comme le toucher ou le baiser, ou même par un contact physique intime (sexuel) avec une personne ayant la maladie.

Puisque la variante de la MCJ est une maladie relativement nouvelle, on ne comprend pas très bien comment elle se transmet. Si elle se transmet de la même façon que la MCJ classique, elle pourrait théoriquement se propager par l'intermédiaire d'instruments médicaux contaminés ou lors d'une greffe. Le cerveau, la moelle épinière, l'hypophyse et certaines parties de l'œil sont certains des tissus les plus infectieux. Dans le cas de la variante de la MCJ, les tissus des amygdales et de l'appendice sont aussi infectieux, contrairement à la MCJ classique.

début

La variante de la MCJ peut-elle se transmettre de la mère au fœtus ou au nourrisson?

La variante de la MCJ est une maladie relativement nouvelle et nous savons peu de choses à son sujet. Cependant, il n'y a encore aucun cas documenté de transmission de la mère au fœtus ou au nourrisson.

début

Combien de cas de la variante de la MCJ rapporte-t-on au Canada chaque année?

En août 2002, le premier cas confirmé de la variante de la MCJ a été diagnostique au Canada et tout indique que le patient a contracté la maladie lors d'un séjour au Royaume-Uni. Il n'y a eu aucun autre cas confirmé de la variante de la MCJ diagnostiqué au Canada.

début

Que fait le gouvernement du Canada pour protéger la santé des Canadiens?

L'Agence de la santé publique du Canada collabore avec d'autres organismes fédéraux et des experts de la MCJ partout dans le monde afin de protéger la santé des Canadiens. Par exemple, lorsqu'on signale un cas présumé, le coordonnateur du Système de surveillance de la MCJ de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada collabore avec les médecins-hygiénistes, les médecins traitant, l'hôpital, la famille du patient, les experts du Canada, des États-Unis et du Royaume-Uni.

La variante de la MCJ serait liée à la consommation de viande ou de produits de bovins infectés.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le site de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments New Window (ACIA).

début

Que conseille l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada aux gens qui se rendent au Royaume-Uni et en Europe ?

Les études scientifiques montrent que les coupes de viande entières, sans les os, comme le bifteck ou le rôti, entraînent un moindre risque de contamination par l'ESB que des produits transformés comme la saucisse, le hambourgeois ou les pâtés. La viande hachée pouvant contenir des parties du cerveau ou de la moelle épinière de l'animal contaminé est considérée comme ayant la plus forte concentration de prions et présente le risque le plus élevé de transmission potentielle. Il est important de noter que la cuisson ne peut éliminer le pathogène de l'ESB, contrairement à plusieurs autres pathogènes d'origine alimentaire.