Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

Mental Illness

Mental illnesses are characterized by alterations in thinking, mood or behaviour associated with significant distress and impaired functioning.

Examples of specific mental illnesses include:

  • Mood disorders: major depression and bipolar disorder
  • Schizophrenia
  • Anxiety disorders
  • Personality disorders
  • Eating disorders
  • Problem gambling
  • Substance dependency

Information on each of these disorders may be found in the Public Health Agency Report, "The Human Face of Mental Health and Mental Illness In Canada 2006".

Risk Factors

Mental illness arises from a complex interaction of genetic, biological, personality and environmental factors. Mental illnesses affect people of all ages, education levels, income levels and cultures.

Specific risk factors include:

  • family history of mental illness,
  • age,
  • sex,
  • substance abuse,
  • chronic diseases,
  • family, workplace, life event stresses.

The relative effect of each of these risk factors varies among mental disorders. For example, women are at greater risk than men for some disorders (and vice versa) and some disorders typically appear in early adulthood (18 to 30 years) whereas others show a higher risk in middle age between 40 and 60 years.

More information on the factors that affect mental illness can be found on page eight in the Public Health Agency Report, "The Human Face of Mental Health and Mental Illness In Canada 2006".

Minimizing the Risks

Early recognition of mental illness and appropriate response can minimize the impact of the illness. More information on factors that affect mental health and factors that reduce the risk of mental illness can be found on pages 08 to 28 in the report "The Human Face of Mental Health and Mental Illness In Canada 2006".

Factors such as: good parenting, social support, meaningful employment and social roles, adequate income, physical activity, and an internal locus of control all contribute to better mental health and can assist with recovery from mental illness.

Managing Mental Illness

Facts & Figures

Knowledge Development and Exchange

Initiatives, Strategies, Systems and Programs

The Government of Canada announced the creation of the Mental Health Commission of Canada in its March 2007 Budget. The Commission was created to focus national attention on mental health issues and to work to improve the health and social outcomes of people living with mental illness.

Since the March 2007 announcement, a board of directors and eight advisory committees have been established to guide the work of Mental Health Commission.

More information on the Mental Health Commission of Canada

In Canada, the planning and delivery of mental health services is an area in which the provincial and territorial governments have primary jurisdiction. The federal government (chiefly through Health Canada) collaborates with the provinces and territories in a variety of ways as they seek to develop responsive, coordinated and efficient mental health service systems. The Public Health Agency of Canada's Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Control contributes through surveillance activities.

Mental Illness Links

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

Maladie mentale

Les maladies mentales sont caractérisées par des altérations de la pensée, de l'humeur ou du comportement associées à un état de détresse et de dysfonctionnement marqués.

Exemples de maladies mentales :

  • Troubles de l'humeur : dépression majeure et trouble bipolaire
  • Schizophrénie
  • Trouble anxieux
  • Troubles de la personnalité
  • Troubles de l'alimentation
  • Jeux de hasard et jeu pathologique
  • Consommation problématique de substances

Pour obtenir de l'information sur chacun de ces troubles, veuillez consulter le rapport de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada, Aspect humain de la santé mentale et de la maladie mentale au Canada 2006.

Facteurs de risque

Les maladies mentales tiennent à une interaction complexe entre des facteurs liés à la génétique, à la biologie, à la personnalité et à l'environnement. Les maladies mentales touchent diverses personnes, peu importe leur âge, leur niveau de scolarité, leur revenu et leur culture. Les facteurs de risque précis comprennent les suivants :

  • antécédents familiaux de maladies mentales;
  • âge;
  • sexe;
  • consommation de substances;
  • maladies chroniques;
  • famille, milieu de travail, stress lié à certains événements de la vie.

L'effet relatif de chacun de ces facteurs de risque varie selon les troubles mentaux. Par exemple, les femmes sont plus à risque que les hommes de souffrir de certains troubles (et vice versa), et certains troubles se manifestent généralement au début de l'âge adulte (de 18 à 30 ans) tandis que d'autres sont plus susceptibles de se manifester plus tard, soit entre 40 et 60 ans.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les facteurs qui ont une incidence sur la maladie mentale, veuillez consulter la page 8 du rapport de l'Agence de la santé publique, Aspect humain de la santé mentale et de la maladie mentale au Canada 2006.

Réduction des risques

La détection précoce de la maladie mentale et l'intervention appropriée peuvent réduire les conséquences de la maladie. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les risques qui ont une incidence sur la santé mentale et les facteurs qui réduisent le risque de maladie mentale, veuillez consulter les pages 8 à 28 du rapport de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada, Aspect humain de la santé mentale et de la maladie mentale au Canada 2006.

Des facteurs, tels que le rôle de parent, le soutien social, un emploi et des rôles sociaux satisfaisants, le revenu adéquat, l'activité physique et un locus de contrôle interne, contribuent à une meilleure santé mentale et peuvent aider au rétablissement à la suite d'une maladie mentale.

Contrôler les maladies mentales

Faits et chiffres

Développement et échange des connaissances

Initiatives, stratégies, systèmes et programmes

Dans son budget de mars 2007, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé la création de la Commission de la santé mentale du Canada. La Commission a été créée dans le but d'accroître l'attention nationale accordée aux questions de santé mentale et d'améliorer la santé et l'aspect social des personnes souffrant d'une maladie mentale.

Depuis l'annonce de mars 2007, un conseil d'administration et huit comités consultatifs ont été créés afin de guider le travail de la Commission de la santé mentale du Canada.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la Commission de la santé mentale du Canada Lien externe.

Au Canada, la planification et la prestation des services de santé mentale est un domaine dont les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux ont la principale responsabilité. Le gouvernement fédéral (principalement par l'entremise de Santé Canada) collabore avec les provinces et les territoires de diverses façons dans le but d'élaborer des systèmes de services de santé mentale sensibles, coordonnés et efficaces. Le Centre de prévention et de contrôle des maladies chroniques de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada contribue par l'entremise d'activités de surveillance.

Liens

Liens sur les maladies mentales