Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

The Canadian Diabetes Strategy: History, Evolution, Moving Forward

Diabetes is a chronic condition that affects almost 2 and a half million Canadians. There are three main types of diabetes: Type 2, Type 1, and gestational diabetes.

  • Type 2 diabetes is the most common form, accounting for 90 to 95 percent of all diabetes in Canada. Preventing Type 2 diabetes is a public health priority that relies on supporting Canadians in adopting and maintaining healthy lifestyles, particularly healthy weights. In Canada, two in three adults and one in three children are overweight or obese, and this is driving the increasing rates of type 2 diabetes across the country.
  • Type 1 diabetes (also called juvenile diabetes) accounts for 5 to 10 percent of all cases of diabetes in Canada. It is not preventable and there is no cure.
  • Gestational diabetes is a temporary condition affecting about 4 percent of all pregnancies, which carries an increased risk of future diabetes for both mother and child.

The First Phase of the Canadian Diabetes Strategy: 1999 to 2005

In 1999, the Government of Canada committed $115 million over five years to develop a national diabetes strategy. At that time, the Aboriginal Diabetes Initiative was included in the Canadian Diabetes Strategy (CDS), which focused on increasing awareness of diabetes among First Nations, Inuit and Metis in order to reduce the prevalence and incidence of diabetes in these high-risk communities.

During the first phase of the CDS, stakeholders worked together to build a framework that would guide priorities -Building a national diabetes strategy: a strategic framework - PDF documentExternal Link.

This phase also saw the development of the National Diabetes Surveillance System, which became the basis for the Chronic Disease Surveillance System (CDSS). The CDSS now provides provincial, territorial, and national data on trends in diabetes.

In 2005, the CDS became part of a new federal Integrated Strategy on Healthy Living and Chronic Disease. The Aboriginal Diabetes Initiative was subsequently funded separately from the CDS, but the two strategies remained complementary in their approaches.

The Integrated Strategy focuses on three areas:

  • Promoting health for all Canadians;
  • Preventing chronic disease by reducing risks for Canadians who are at high risk; and
  • Supporting early detection and management of chronic diseases for those Canadians who are living with chronic diseases.

Building on the Foundation: 2006 to 2013

Since 2006, the landscape for chronic disease prevention has evolved based on new research evidence, the public health dialogue in Canada and around the worldExternal Link, and the recognition of the need for new and different types of partnerships in order to make a difference in chronic disease prevention.

The key elements of the Canadian Diabetes Strategy - surveillance, public education, and community-based programs - remain; however, we are working differently and, in particular, are focusing on common risk factors for major chronic diseases, including diabetes.

Program Accomplishments:

Self-management prevents diabetes complications

Through partnerships, we are providing tools to Canadians for self-management of diabetes. Complications of diabetes are severe and can result in lower limb amputation, vision loss and blindness, kidney disease, and cardiovascular disease.

The Canadian Diabetes Strategy supports a range of community-based programs through federal grants and contributions. For example:

Putting evidence into action: The Canadian Best Practices Portal

The Canadian Best Practices Portal provides access to evaluated community and population health interventions related to chronic disease prevention and health promotion. It is designed to help Canadian public health practitioners and decision-makers identify appropriate interventions that they can adapt and replicate to meet their needs.

The federal Diabetes Partnership

In 2009, the Public Health Agency of Canada, Health Canada and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research formed a partnership with the Canadian Diabetes Association, Diabète Quebec and the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation. The Diabetes Partnership’s objective is to facilitate joint work on common priorities to advance diabetes prevention and management, along with the research needed to support these areas.

Bringing more data to our stakeholders

Diabetes surveillance is a cornerstone of our program. It provides the information needed to design policies and programs and to evaluate their impacts. The Agency releases diabetes surveillance highlights and, periodically, more in-depth analyses are provided to better understand trends and surveillance findings.

For the latest in-depth national diabetes report, please see: http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/cd-mc/publications/diabetes-diabete/facts-figures-faits-chiffres-2011/

We now provide direct access to diabetes surveillance data through the Chronic Disease Infobase. The Infobase was developed to allow users to create their own tables and graphs using interactive databases. For example, data from the Survey on Living with Chronic Diseases in Canada (2011) includes a subsection on Living with Diabetes.

Type 1 diabetes: Research is a priority

The Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR)External Link, funds researchers in universities, research institutes and teaching hospitals across the country who are working to understand prevention, find better treatments and ultimately a cure for type 1 or juvenile diabetes. Over the last 6 years, CIHR has invested $210 million in diabetes-related research.

Launched in 2011, the Clinical Trial NetworkExternal Link for Diabetes Research is a partnership between the Government of Canada, through the federal Economic Development Agency of Southern Ontario, and the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation. The federal investment of $20 million over two years combined with JDRF’s $13.9 million investment brings together Canada’s top physicians, scientists, researchers and innovators to evaluate new treatments and technologies for type 1 diabetes and its complications.

Healthy Weights: A priority for type 2 diabetes prevention and for managing all forms of diabetes

National and international focus on chronic disease prevention has grown. Chronic diseases are the most common, costly and preventable of all health challenges we face. The four major chronic diseases - cancer, diabetes, cardiovascular disease and respiratory disease - share common risk factors: unhealthy eating, physical inactivity, unhealthy weights, smoking and harmful use of alcohol. Reducing these risks will prevent chronic diseases or delay their onset.

In Canada, governments are working together to put a priority on prevention. In 2010, Canada’s Declaration on Prevention and Promotion was endorsed by federal, provincial and territorial health ministers. Soon after, health ministers endorsed Curbing Childhood Obesity: A Federal, Provincial, and Territorial Framework for Action to Promote Healthy Weights. These initiatives are essential to diabetes prevention and management because overweight and obesity are the main drivers of Type 2 diabetes.

The establishment of these priorities in prevention set the stage for a new federal approach to partnerships that seeks to engage sectors beyond health.

Early detection of diabetes and pre-diabetes: CANRISK
The Agency has also invested in the development of CANRISK, a diabetes risk questionnaire which helps Canadians identify their risk of having pre-diabetes or diabetes - the first step toward taking appropriate measures to avert or delay the onset of the disease.

Partnerships with pharmaciesExternal Link, provincial governmentsExternal Link and local public health units have allowed this resource to be used in a wide variety of settings. By expanding access of a risk assessment tool such as CANRISK to pharmaciesExternal Link and other "non-traditional" public health venues across the country, Canadians are more aware of type 2 diabetes and its risk factors, and pharmacists and other health professionals have increased knowledge of and capacity to support diabetes prevention.

Your Guide to Diabetes provides a diabetes prevention checklist and information on living with diabetes. The importance of maintaining a healthy weight is highlighted.

In order to meet the needs of Canadians who are at higher risk for diabetes and the health professionals who serve them, CANRISK and Your Guide to Diabetes have been translated into 11 alternate languages:

  • Chinese simplified
  • Chinese Traditional
  • Vietnamese
  • Korean
  • Punjabi
  • Tagalog
  • Tamil
  • Urdu
  • Guajarati
  • Spanish
  • Persian

To receive electronic copies of these translations, please email the Partnerships and Strategies Division and indicate which language(s) you wish to receive.

Opportunities for future work include expanding access to CANRISK among high-risk groups, promoting the CANRISK mobile applicationExternal Link, and exploring how to improve linkages to community-based diabetes prevention programs for populations identified with pre-diabetes.

Where we are going from here

Our Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention: Strategic Plan 2016–2019 is the roadmap we will follow to build on what has been done to date. It reinforces our core businesses of surveillance, building the evidence on what works in chronic disease prevention, and, working with our partners to put what works into practice and to develop and test innovations that address complex health issues.

Funding

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

La Stratégie canadienne du diabète : historique, évolution et avenir

Le diabète est une maladie chronique qui touche près de deux millions et demi de Canadiens.  Il y a 3 types de diabète : type 2, type 1 et le diabète de grossesse.

  • Le diabète de type 2 est la forme de diabète la plus répandue, comptant pour 90 à 95 % de tous les diagnostics. La prévention du diabète de type 2 est une priorité en santé publique qui se fonde sur la nécessité de donner aux Canadiens les moyens d’adopter et de conserver de saines habitudes de vie, en particulier un poids santé. Deux adultes canadiens sur trois et un enfant sur trois souffrent d’embonpoint ou d’obésité, conditions qui contribuent à l’augmentation du taux de diabète de type 2 au Canada.
  • Le diabète de type 1 (aussi appelé diabète juvénile) compte pour 5 à 10 % de tous les diagnostics de cette maladie au Canada. On ne peut le prévenir ni, pour l’instant, le guérir.
  • Le diabète de grossesse est une condition temporaire qui touche environ 4 % de toutes les femmes enceintes et qui augmente les risques de développer le diabète pour la mère et l’enfant.

La première étape de la Stratégie canadienne du diabète – de 1999 à 2005

En 1999, le gouvernement du Canada a investi 115 millions de dollars sur cinq ans à l’élaboration d’une stratégie nationale sur le diabète. À l’époque, l’Initiative sur le diabète chez les Autochtones faisait partie de la Stratégie canadienne du diabète (SCD) et elle visait à mieux faire connaître le diabète dans le but de réduire la prévalence et l’incidence de cette maladie chez les Premières nations, les Inuits et les Métis.

Dans le cadre de la première étape de la Stratégie, des intervenants ont uni leurs efforts pour mettre au point un cadre d’orientation des priorités – Pour bâtir une stratégie nationale sur le diabète – un cadre stratégique (Document PDF)Lien externe.

C’est également au cours de cette étape que le Système national de surveillance du diabète a vu le jour, système à l’origine du Système national de surveillance des maladies chroniques actuel, qui fournit des données provinciales, territoriales et nationales sur les tendances relatives au diabète.

En 2005, la SCD a été incorporée dans une nouvelle Stratégie intégrée en matière de modes de vie sains et de maladies chroniques. À partir de ce moment, l’Initiative sur le diabète chez les Autochtones et la SCD étaient financées de façon distincte, mais complémentaire.

La Stratégie intégrée comprend trois grands volets :

  • Promouvoir la santé pour tous les Canadiens;
  • Prévenir la maladie chronique par la réduction des risques pour plusieurs Canadiens à risque élevé; et
  • Appuyer la détection précoce et au contrôle de la maladie chronique pour les Canadiens qui vivent avec des maladies chroniques.

À partir de là (depuis 2006)

Depuis 2006, la prévention des maladies chroniques a beaucoup changé grâce à la recherche, au dialogue sur la santé publique établi au Canada et à l'échelle internationaleLien externe et à la reconnaissance de la nécessité de créer de nouveaux et différents types de partenariats pour changer les choses dans le domaine de la prévention des maladies chroniques.

Les éléments de la Stratégie canadienne du diabète, à savoir la surveillance, l’éducation du public et les programmes communautaires, demeurent; mais la façon de travailler est différente et les efforts portent plus particulièrement sur les facteurs de risque communs des principales maladies chroniques, incluant le diabète.

Réalisations accomplies du programme :

L’auto-prise en charge de la maladie prévient les complications

Grâce à des partenariats, nous offrons des outils d’auto-prise en charge du diabète. Le diabète entraîne de graves complications qui peuvent mener à l’amputation de membres inférieurs, à une perte de vision et à la cécité, à une maladie du rein et à des maladies cardiovasculaires.

Les fonds accordés dans le cadre du Programme de financement de la Stratégie canadienne du diabète rendent possible un éventail de projets :  Par exemple :

  • Association canadienne du diabète : transformation du matériel à l’intention des personnes diabétiques
Mettre en pratique les connaissances issues de la recherche – Le portail canadien des pratiques exemplaires

Le Portail canadien des pratiques exemplaires regroupe en un seul endroit des renseignements sur des programmes efficaces de promotion de la santé et de prévention des maladies chroniques. Il donne aux professionnels de la santé publique un moyen de choisir les programmes à mettre en œuvre dans leur communauté. Le portail prend la forme d’une base de données interrogeable.

Partenariat sur le diabète

En 2009, l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada, Santé Canada et les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada ont établi un partenariat avec l’Association canadienne du diabète, Diabète Québec et la Fondation de la recherche sur le diabète juvénile. L’objectif du Partenariat sur le diabète est de favoriser la collaboration au chapitre des priorités communes dans le but de renforcer la prévention et la prise en charge du diabète, ainsi que la recherche nécessaire dans ces domaines.

Plus de données aux intervenants

La surveillance du diabète constitue un élément essentiel de notre programme. Elle fournit l’information nécessaire pour concevoir des politiques et des programmes et en évaluer les répercussions. L’Agence publie les faits saillants de la surveillance du diabète et, périodiquement, des analyses approfondies qui permettent de mieux comprendre les tendances et les résultats de la surveillance.

Le plus récent rapport national détaillé sur le diabète se trouve à l’adresse suivante : http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/cd-mc/publications/diabetes-diabete/facts-figures-faits-chiffres-2011/index-fra.php

Il est maintenant possible d’accéder directement aux données de surveillance du diabète en consultant l’Infobase Maladies chroniques. Cet outil a été mis au point pour aider les utilisateurs à créer leurs propres tableaux et graphiques au moyen de bases de données interactives. Par exemple, l’Enquête sur les personnes ayant une maladie chronique au Canada (2011) comprend des données sur les personnes atteintes de diabète.

Diabète de type 1 :  la recherche est une priorité

Les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) Lien externeaccordent du financement à des chercheurs universitaires, à des instituts de recherche ainsi qu’à des hôpitaux d’enseignement dans tout le pays qui tentent de trouver un moyen de prévenir le diabète de type 1, ou diabète juvénile, de meilleurs traitements et un moyen de guérir la maladie. Au cours des six dernières années, les IRSC ont investi 210 millions de dollars en recherche liée au diabète.

Lancé en 2011, le Clinical Trial NetworkLien externe for Diabetes Research est un partenariat entre le gouvernement du Canada, par l’entremise de l’Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l’Ontario, et la Fondation de la recherche sur le diabète juvénile (FRDJ). Ensemble, l’investissement de 20 millions de dollars sur deux ans du gouvernement fédéral et l’investissement de 13,9 millions de dollars de la FRDJ permettent aux meilleurs médecins, scientifiques, chercheurs et innovateurs du pays d’unir leurs efforts afin d’évaluer de nouveaux traitements et technologies pour lutter contre le diabète de type 1 et ses complications.
La prévention du diabète de type 2 et la prise en charge de toutes les formes de diabète passent par l’atteinte d’un poids santé

L’importance accordée à la prévention des maladies chroniques tant au pays qu’à l’étranger a pris de l’ampleur. De tous les problèmes de santé, les maladies chroniques sont les plus courantes, les plus coûteuses et les plus faciles à prévenir. Les quatre principales maladies chroniques – le cancer, le diabète, les maladies cardiovasculaires et les maladies respiratoires – ont des facteurs de risque communs – mauvaise alimentation, sédentarité, surplus de poids, tabagisme et consommation abusive d’alcool. Le fait de réduire ces risques permettra de prévenir les maladies chroniques ou d’en retarder l’apparition.

Au Canada, les gouvernements travaillent ensemble pour donner la priorité à la prévention. En 2010, les ministres fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux de la Santé ont adopté la Déclaration sur la prévention et la promotion. Peu de temps après, ils ont adopté l’initiative Freiner l'obésité juvénile : Cadre d'action fédéral, provincial et territorial pour la promotion du poids santé. Ces initiatives sont essentielles à la prévention et à la prise en charge du diabète puisque l’embonpoint et l’obésité sont les principales causes du diabète de type 2.

L’établissement de ces priorités dans le domaine de la prévention ouvre la voie à une nouvelle approche fédérale axée sur la création de partenariats faisant intervenir des secteurs autres que celui de la santé.

Détection précoce du diabète et du prédiabète – CANRISK

L’Agence a également investi dans l’élaboration de CANRISK, un questionnaire sur le risque de diabète conçu pour aider les Canadiens à déterminer leur risque de développer le prédiabète ou le diabète – la première étape à franchir pour pouvoir prendre les mesures appropriées afin de prévenir la maladie ou d’en retarder l’apparition.

Des partenariats avec des pharmaciesLien externe, des gouvernements provinciauxLien externe et des bureaux de santé publique locaux ont favorisé l’utilisation de cette ressource dans différents milieux. Le fait d’élargir l’accès à un outil d’évaluation des risques comme CANRISK à des pharmacies commercialesLien externe et à d’autres établissements de santé publique « non traditionnels » sensibilise davantage les Canadiens au diabète de type 2 et à ses facteurs de risque, et les professionnels de la santé, comme les pharmaciens, ont approfondi leurs connaissances et renforcer leurs capacités en ce qui concerne la prévention du diabète.

Votre guide sur le diabète comprend un aide-mémoire pour la prévention et donne des conseils sur la façon de vivre avec le diabète. Il met l’accent sur l’importance de conserver un poids santé.

Dans le but de répondre aux besoins des Canadiens les plus à risque de développer le diabète et des professionnels de la santé qui les aident, le questionnaire CANRISK et le Guide ont été traduits dans 11 langues :

  • Chinois (simplifié)
  • Chinois (traditionnel)
  • Vietnamien
  • Coréen
  • Punjabi
  • Tagal
  • Tamoul
  • Urdu
  • Gujarati
  • Espagnol
  • Persan

Pour obtenir une traduction de ces documents en version électronique, veuillez envoyer un courriel à la Division des partenariats et des stratégies et indiquez la langue de votre choix.

Dans le futur, on pourrait élargir l’accès de CANRISK aux groupes à risque élevé, faire la promotion de l’application mobile CANRISKLien externe et chercher des moyens d’améliorer les liens vers les programmes communautaires de prévention du diabète pour les personnes atteintes de prédiabète.

Où nous allons maintenant

Le Centre de prévention des maladies chroniques : Plan stratégique 2016-2019 est la feuille de route que nous suivrons pour tirer parti de tout ce qui a été fait jusqu’à maintenant. Il renforce nos activités de base que sont la surveillance, la consolidation de données probantes sur les moyens efficaces de prévenir les maladies chroniques ainsi que la collaboration avec nos partenaires afin d’appliquer ce qui fonctionne dans la pratique et d’élaborer et de mettre à l’essai des approches novatrices qui s’attaquent à des problèmes de santé complexes.

Financement