Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

Stroke prevention

Stroke is one of the most preventable of all life-threatening health problems. Here are steps you can take to reduce your risk of a stroke.

Control your blood pressure

High blood pressure is the single most important stroke risk factor that you can control. A 10 point drop in blood pressure can give you a 40% less chance of having a stroke. 

Quit smoking

Smoking increases your risk of stroke two to three times. If you stop, your risk for a stroke diminishes quickly within the first year. After five years, you are at the same risk as someone who has never smoked. Exposure to second-hand smoke puts you at twice the risk for a stroke.

Read more about Why Should I Stop Smoking

Control your cholesterol

The link between high levels of bad cholesterol, LDL, and heart disease are stronger than the connection between bad cholesterol levels and stroke. However, LDL causes atherosclerosis (hardening of the arteries) which increases your risk of stroke. Keep your cholesterol levels in a good range. This could be achieved, depending on your current situation, by being physically active, maintaining a healthy weight, and/or following a course of medication prescribed by your physician.

Learn more about cholesterol


Exercise is a major factor in reducing the risk of a stroke. You can cut your chances of having a stroke in half with the right type and amount of exercise. Exercising regularly leads to additional healthy lifestyle choices and can help prevent other chronic diseases such as cancer, diabetes, lung disease and cardiovascular disease.

Learn more about the importance of physical activity

Maintain a Healthy Weight

Healthy eating can help to lower body weight and the size of your waist. Your Body Mass Index (BMI)External link level is a good indication of whether or not you are at your ideal body weight. High BMI levels put women at risk of a stroke.

Keep blood sugar levels within normal limits

Almost 20 per cent of people who have a stroke are living with diabetes. One reason why individuals living with diabetes have an increased risk of a stroke is because, over time, high levels of blood sugar can damage the blood vessels leading to the brain. Managing the disease well if you have diabetes can substantially reduce your risk of a stroke.

Treat atrial fibrillation

Atrial fibrillation is a heart rhythm disorder that in many people increases the chance of blood clots forming, which can lead to a stroke. If you are prescribed blood thinning medications for atrial fibrillation, take them as prescribed.

Learn how to control atrial fibrillation.

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

Prévention de l’AVC

Parmi les problèmes de santé qui peuvent entraîner la mort, l’AVC est l’un des plus faciles à prévenir. Voici quelques mesures que vous pouvez prendre pour réduire votre risque de subir un AVC.

Maîtrise de la tension artérielle

L’hypertension est le plus important facteur de risque d’AVC sur lequel vous pouvez agir. Une réduction de dix points votre tension artérielle peut diminuer de 40 % vos risques de subir un AVC.

Abandon du tabagisme

Le tabagisme augmente de deux à trois fois le risque d’AVC. Si vous cessez de fumer, le risque d’avoir un AVC diminue rapidement au cours de la première année. Après cinq ans, vos risques sont identiques à ceux d’une personne n’ayant jamais fumé. Fait notable, l’exposition à la fumée secondaire double les risques d’AVC.

Consultez Pourquoi devrais-je cesser de fumer?

Maîtrise du cholestérol sanguin

La corrélation entre un taux élevé de mauvais cholestérol (cholestérol LDL) et les maladies cardiaques est plus forte que la corrélation entre un taux élevé de mauvais cholestérol et l’AVC. Cependant, le cholestérol LDL cause l’athérosclérose (durcissement des artères), qui augmente le risque d’AVC. Gardez votre taux de cholestérol dans la fourchette recommandée. Pour y arriver, vous pouvez faire de l’exercice, conserver un poids santé ou prendre les médicaments prescrits par votre médecin, selon la situation dans laquelle vous vous trouvez.

Renseignez-vous sur le cholestérol.

Exercice

L’exercice est un facteur important dans la réduction du risque d’AVC. Vous pouvez réduire de moitié vos risques de subir un AVC en choisissant judicieusement le type et la durée de vos exercices. La pratique régulière d’exercice va souvent de pair avec d’autres modes de vie sains et peut aider à prévenir d’autres maladies chroniques comme le cancer, le diabète ainsi que les maladies pulmonaires et cardiaques.

Renseignez-vous sur l’importance de l’activité physique.

Maintien d’un poids santé

Une saine alimentation peut vous aider à perdre du poids et à réduire votre tour de taille. Votre indice de masse corporelle (IMC)Lien externe est un bon indicateur pour savoir si vous avez atteint ou non votre poids idéal. Les femmes ayant un IMC élevé sont à risque de subir un AVC.

Maintien d’une glycémie normale

Près de 20 % des personnes qui ont un AVC sont diabétiques. L’une des raisons pour lesquelles les diabétiques sont plus à risque de subir un AVC est qu’à la longue, un taux élevé de sucre dans le sang peut endommager les vaisseaux sanguins qui mènent au cerveau. Une bonne prise en charge de votre diabète peut réduire de beaucoup vos risques de subir un AVC.

Traitement de la fibrillation auriculaire

La fibrillation auriculaire est un trouble du rythme cardiaque qui augmente le risque de formation de caillots, qui peuvent causer un AVC. Si vous prenez des médicaments anticoagulants contre la fibrillation auriculaire, suivez exactement la prescription.

Renseignez-vous sur comment maîtriser la fibrillation auriculaire.