Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

Report from the Canadian Chronic Disease Surveillance System: Hypertension in Canada, 2010

[Previous page] [Table of Contents] [Next page]

Canadian Chronic Disease Surveillance System (CCDSS)

The Canadian Chronic Disease Surveillance System (CCDSS) is a collaborative network of provincial and territorial surveillance systems, supported by the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC). In each province and territory, the health insurance registry database is linked to the physician billing and hospitalization databases. Started with diabetes surveillance and formerly known as the National Diabetes Surveillance System (NDSS), the CCDSS is currently expanding to include other chronic disease conditions. The CCDSS regularly seeks advice from Aboriginal groups, non-governmental organizations, and researchers in order to enhance and interpret the information from the system.

In 2009, PHAC expanded the CCDSS to track information on the prevalence and incidence of diagnosed hypertension in the Canadian population. Persons were considered cases of diagnosed hypertension if they met the following case criteria: two or more physician claims within two years, or one inpatient hospital separation abstract listing hypertension as a diagnosis with the International Classification of Diseases (ICD) 9th Edition hypertension codes (ICD-9 or ICD-9-CM: 401-405) or equivalent 10th Edition hypertension codes (ICD-10-CA: I10-I13 and I15). An expert group recommended the CCDSS case criteria based on recent validation studies conducted in Canada.Footnote 10 Footnote 11 Footnote 12 Footnote 13 The CCDSS case criteria exclude women with pregnancy induced hypertension to avoid including cases of hypertension that may resolve after delivery. In addition, the case criteria do not include individuals diagnosed with pulmonary hypertension (ICD-9 or ICD-9-CM code 416 or ICD-10-CA code I27). Full-time members of the Canadian Forces and individuals in the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and federal correctional facilities were not included as they are covered by federal jurisdiction as opposed to the publicly funded health registry administered by the provinces and territories.

Using administrative data for surveillance, as in the CCDSS, generally results in some misclassification of hypertension cases and non-cases. Therefore, the method of determining diagnosed hypertension requires a balance between the possibilities of not identifying people who have been diagnosed with hypertension (false-negatives) and identifying people who do not have hypertension (false-positives). A number of validation studies have indicated that the CCDSS case criteria minimize both false-negatives and false-positives and depict a relatively accurate picture of diagnosed hypertension in Canada.Footnote 10 Footnote 11 Footnote 12 Footnote 13

The CCDSS does not identify individuals who have hypertension but have not yet been diagnosed with the condition by a physician. Results based on blood pressure measurements from the Canadian Heart Health Surveys in 1986-1992 showed that 42% of the study participants were unaware of their hypertension (47% of men and 35% of women).Footnote 14 Likely as the result of intensive efforts to improve the detection and management of hypertension, this has changed. In the 2006 Ontario Survey on the Prevalence and Control of Hypertension a much lower proportion of individuals with hypertension (13.7%) were unaware of their condition.Footnote 15 Similarly, national estimates from Cycle 1 of the Canadian Health Measures Survey conducted between 2007 and 2009 indicated that 17% of Canadians with hypertension were unaware.Footnote 16 Thus, trends presented in this report might underestimate the true prevalence of hypertension in Canada.

This report features the most recent data available, fiscal year 2006/07, as well as trend data from 1998/99 onwards. Where data on both diagnosed hypertension and diabetes are presented, trend data from 2000/01 onwards are presented as data for diabetes were not available prior to this year. Data for Nunavut and Québec were unavailable for this report but will likely be available in future reports. However, as noted in the applicable data tables and figures, the number of cases for Québec was estimated by applying the Canadian age-specific rates of diagnosed hypertension weighted to the Québec population. The CCDSS case criteria have not been validated for adults younger than 20 years of age; therefore the data presented in this report are only for adults aged 20 years and older.



Footnote 10
Lix L, Yogendran M, Burchill C, Metge C, McKeen N, Moore D, Bond R. Defining and validating chronic diseases: an administrative data approach. Winnipeg, Manitoba Centre for Health Policy, July 2006.
Footnote 11
Quan H, Li B, Saunders LD, Parsons GA, Nilsson CI, Alibhai A, et al. Assessing validity of ICD-9-CM and ICD-10 administrative data in recording clinical conditions in a unique dually coded database. Health Serv Res. 2008 Aug; 43 (4):1424-41.
Footnote 12
Quan H, Khan N, Hemmelgarn BR, Tu K, Chen G, Campbell N, et al. Validation of a case definition to define hypertension using administrative data. Hypertension. 2009 Dec; 54 (6):1423-8.
Footnote 13
Tu K, Campbell NRC, Chen ZL, Cauch-Dudek KJ, McAlister FA. Accuracy of administrative databases in identifying patients with hypertension. Open Med. 2007 Apr 14;1 (1): E3-5.
Footnote 14
Joffres MR, Ghadirian P, Fodor JG, Petrasovits A, Chockalingam A, Hamet P. Awareness, treatment, and control of hypertension in Canada. Am J Hypertens. 1997 Oct; 10 (10 Pt 1): 1097-102.
Footnote 15
Leenen FH, Dumais J, McInnis NH, Turton P, Stratychuk L, Nemeth K, et al. Results of the Ontario Survey on the prevalence and control of hypertension. CMAJ. 2008 May 20; 178 (11): 1441-9.
Footnote 16
Wilkins K, Campbell NRC, Joffres MR, McAlister FA, Nichol M, Quach S, et al. Blood pressure in Canadian adults. Health Reports [Internet] 2010 Feb 17 [cited 2010 Feb 17]; 21(1).

[Previous page] [Table of Contents] [Next page]

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada
Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web! Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Partagez cette page

Rapport du Système national de surveillance des maladies chroniques : L'hypertension au Canada, 2010

[Page précédente] [Table des matières] [Page suivante]

Le Système national de surveillance des maladies chroniques

Le Système national de surveillance des maladies chroniques (SNSMC ou le système) forme un réseau de collaboration de systèmes provinciaux et territoriaux de surveillance, financé par l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC). Dans chaque province et territoire, la base de données du registre de l'assurance maladie est jumelée au fichier de facturation des médecins ainsi qu'à celui des hospitalisations. Au départ, le système ne portait que sur le diabète; il était alors nommé Système national de surveillance du diabète (SNSD). Aujourd'hui, il englobe d'autres maladies chroniques. Afin d'améliorer le système et pour en interpréter les renseignements, l'aide des groupes autochtones, des organisations non gouvernementales et des chercheurs est régulièrement sollicitée.

En 2009, l'ASPC a développé le système de façon à ce qu'il puisse recueillir des renseignements sur la prévalence et l'incidence des cas d'hypertension dans la population canadienne. Pour qu'une personne soit considérée comme atteinte d'hypertension, elle doit répondre à la définition de cas suivante : au moins deux factures du médecin en deux ans ou un congé de l'hôpital, avec un diagnostic d'hypertension noté en fonction des codes d'hypertension de la Classification internationale des maladies (CIM), soit ceux de la 9e édition (codes 401 à 405 de la CIM-9 ou de la CIM-9-CM) ou encore des équivalents de la 10e édition (codes I10-I13 et I15 de la CIM-10-CA). Ce sont de récentes études de validation effectuées au Canada qui ont mené un groupe d'experts à proposer cette définition de cas.Note de bas de page 10 Note de bas de page 11 Note de bas de page 12  Note de bas de page 13 Cette dernière exclut toutefois les femmes qui souffrent d'hypertension gestationnelle, de façon à ne pas inclure des femmes dont la tension artérielle peut revenir à des niveaux de base après l'accouchement. De plus, la définition de cas n'inclut pas les personnes souffrant d'hypertension pulmonaire (code 416 de la CIM-9 ou de la CIM-9-CM; code I27 de la CIM-10-CA). Les membres à temps plein des Forces canadiennes, tout comme ceux de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada et des services correctionnels fédéraux, n'ont pas été inclus puisqu'ils relèvent de l'autorité fédérale et non du registre de santé public géré par les provinces et les territoires.

L'utilisation de données administratives à des fins de surveillance, comme c'est le cas avec le système, entraîne parfois des erreurs de classification lorsqu'il s'agit de recenser les personnes atteintes d'hypertension. Par conséquent, il faut contrebalancer la probabilité de désigner à tort une personne comme étant atteinte d'hypertension alors qu'elle ne l'est pas (faux positif), avec la probabilité de ne pas inclure dans le système une personne qui a réellement été diagnostiquée (faux négatif). Des études de validation ont indiqué que la définition de cas utilisée par le système permet de réduire au minimum à la fois le nombre de faux négatifs et de faux positifs afin de brosser un tableau relativement fiable de l'hypertension au Canada.Note de bas de page 10 Note de bas de page 11 Note de bas de page 12 Note de bas de page 13

Le système ne tient pas compte des personnes atteintes d'hypertension mais qui n'ont pas encore été diagnostiquées comme tel. Les résultats fondés sur des mesures physiques directes de la pression artérielle de l'Enquête canadienne sur la santé cardiovasculaire (1986-92) ont révélé que 42 % des participants ne savaient pas qu'ils souffraient d'hypertension (47 % des hommes et 35 % des femmes).Note de bas de page 14 Depuis, la situation a changé, probablement en raison des efforts intensifs qui ont été investis dans la détection et le traitement de l'hypertension. Selon l'Enquête ontarienne sur la prévalence et le contrôle de l'hypertension, menée en 2006, seulement 13,7 % des hypertendus ne connaissaient pas leur condition.Note de bas de page 15 De même, selon les estimations nationales fondées sur le Cycle 1 de l'Enquête canadienne sur les mesures de la santé réalisée entre 2007 et 2009, 17 % des Canadiens et des Canadiennes hypertendus ne connaissaient pas leur condition.Note de bas de page 16 Par conséquent, les tendances révélées dans ce rapport sont peut-être en deçà de la réelle prévalence de l'hypertension au Canada.

Le présent rapport comprend les plus récentes données disponibles, soit celles de l'année financière 2006-07, ainsi que certaines données de tendance temporelle pour la période 1998-99 à 2006-07. Lorsque des données relatives aux cas d'hypertension et de diabète diagnostiqués sont présentées, les données sur les tendances datent de 2000-01 à 2006-07, puisque les données sur le diabète avant cette année n'étaient pas disponibles. Les données pour le Nunavut et le Québec n'étaient pas disponibles pour les fins du présent rapport, mais elles le seront probablement pour de futurs documents. Toutefois, tel que le montrent les tableaux et les figures de données pertinents, le nombre de cas au Québec a été estimé en appliquant le taux canadien de diagnostics d'hypertension par groupes d'âge à la population québécoise. La définition de cas du système n'a pas été validée pour les personnes de moins de 20 ans; par conséquent, les données présentées dans ce rapport sont celles pour les adultes âgés de 20 ans et plus.



Note de bas de page 10
Lix L, Yogendran M, Burchill C, Metge C, McKeen N, Moore D, et Bond R. Defining and validating chronic diseases: an administrative data approach. Winnipeg, Manitoba Center for Health Policy, July 2006.
Note de bas de page 11
Quan H, Li B, Saunders LD, Parsons GA, Nilsson CI, Alibhai A, et al. Assessing validity of ICD-9-CM and ICD-10 administrative data in recording clinical conditions in a unique dually coded database. Health Serv Res. 2008 Aug; 43 (4): 1424-41.
Note de bas de page 12
Quan H, Khan N, Hemmelgarn BR, Tu, Karen, Chen, G, Campbell, N, et al. Validation of a case definition to define hypertension using administrative data. Hypertension. 2009 Dec; 54 (6): 1423-8.
Note de bas de page 13
Tu K, Campbell, NRC, Chen ZL, Cauch-Dudek KJ, McAlister FA. Accuracy of administrative databases in identifying patients with hypertension. Open Med 2007 Apr 14; 1 (1): E3-5.
Note de bas de page 14
Joffres MR, Ghadirian P, Fodor JG, Petrasovits A, Chockalingam A, Hamet P. Awareness, treatment, and control of hypertension in Canada. Am J Hypertens. 1997 Oct; 10 (10 Pt 1): 1097-102.
Note de bas de page 15
Leenen FH, Dumais J, McInnis NH, Turton P, Stratychuk L, Nemeth K, et al. Results of the Ontario Survey on the prevalence and control of hypertension. JAMC. 2008 May 20; 178 (11): 1441-9.
Note de bas de page 16
Wilkins K, Campbell NRC, Joffres MR, McAlister FA, Nichol M, Quach S, et al. Tension artérielle des adultes au Canada. Rapports sur la santé (en ligne) 17 février 2010 (cité le 17 février 2010); 21 (1).

[Page précédente] [Table des matières] [Page suivante]