Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Share this page

Cancer - About Us

Every year, millions of Canadians are affected by cancer, either through personal struggle, or by supporting a family member, friend or neighbour who suffers from this devastating disease. The Government’s commitment [is] to keep Canadians and their families healthy, to help doctors detect cancer sooner and give health-care workers, support groups and survivors the help they need to fight back.
Prime Minister Stephen Harper - March 10, 2011

Every hour an average of 20 Canadians will be diagnosed with cancer and eight will die from it. Cancer is now the leading cause of death in Canada and an estimated 177,800 new cases will be diagnosed in 2011.

Many cancers can be prevented or controlled through early detection, diet and physical activity, reduction of smoking and use of alcohol, and other healthy behaviours.

Recognizing the growing burden of cancer, the Government of Canada, with provincial and territorial partners and over 700 cancer experts and survivors developed the Canadian Strategy for Cancer Control. The Strategy addresses eight areas regarding cancer:

  • primary prevention
  • screening/early detection
  • standards
  • cancer guidelines
  • cancer journey
  • health human resources
  • research
  • surveillance.

To implement this Strategy, the Government of Canada created the Canadian Partnership Against Cancer, an independent not-for-profit organization which in 2006 received federal funding in the amount of $250 million over 5 years.  In March 2011, the Prime Minister announced plans to renew funding for another 5 years beyond 2012. The expected benefit is to prevent 1.2 million new cases of cancer and almost half a million deaths due to cancer over a 30- year period and to improve the quality of life of Canadians currently living with cancer.

The Government of Canada, through the Public Health Agency of Canada, also works with stakeholders through its role in:

  • providing leadership in cancer prevention, early detection, and surveillance, with a particular focus on underserved and at risk communities
  • the Integrated Strategy for Healthy Living and Chronic Disease, a $300 million investment that was launched in 2005 to provide federal leadership across a range of public health actions
  • the Canadian Breast Cancer Initiative, a program that supports national standards for breast cancer screening and community participation in breast cancer information and support to people affected by breast cancer.

Health Canada focuses include:

The Government of Canada has invested $159 million in cancer research through the Canadian Institute of Cancer Research of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research. External link

For more information:

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

Cancer – À propos de nous

À chaque heure cette année, environ 23 Canadiens recevront un diagnostic de cancer. Le cancer est maintenant la principale cause de décès au Canada et on estime qu’environ 202 400 nouveaux cas seront diagnostiqués en 2016.

De nombreux cancers peuvent être prévenus ou contrôlés par le dépistage rapide, l'alimentation et l'activité physique, la réduction du tabagisme et de la consommation d'alcool ainsi que par d'autres comportements sains.

Conscient du fardeau grandissant du cancer, le gouvernement du Canada, avec l’aide de ses partenaires provinciaux et territoriaux et plus de 700 experts en cancer et survivants de cette maladie, a élaboré la Stratégie canadienne de lutte contre le cancer (SCLC). Cette stratégie comprend huit thèmes liés au cancer :

  • prévention primaire;
  • dépistage ou détection précoce;
  • initiatives sur la qualité et le rendement du système;
  • lignes directrices contre le cancer;
  • expérience globale du cancer;
  • ressources humaines en santé;
  • recherche;
  • surveillance.

Pour mettre en œuvre la SCLC, le gouvernement du Canada a créé le Partenariat canadien contre le cancer, organisme indépendant sans but lucratif qui a bénéficié, en 2006, d'un investissement quinquennal de 250 millions de dollars. En mars 2011, le premier ministre a annoncé l'intention du gouvernement de renouveler ce financement pour cinq ans en 2012. L'objectif de ce financement est de prévenir 1,2 million de nouveaux cas de cancer et près d'un demi million de décès attribuables au cancer sur une période de 30 ans et d'améliorer la qualité de vie des Canadiens aux prises avec le cancer.

Le gouvernement du Canada, par l’intermédiaire de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada, collabore également avec des intervenants dans le cadre de son rôle :

  • de chef de file dans la prévention, le dépistage précoce et la surveillance du cancer, notamment en ce qui a trait aux communautés mal servies et à risque;
  • dans la Stratégie intégrée en matière de modes de vie sains et de maladies chroniques, initiative de 300 millions de dollars lancée en 2005 afin d’assurer un leadership fédéral relativement à une vaste gamme de mesures de santé publique;
  • dans l’Initiative canadienne sur le cancer du sein, programme visant à favoriser des normes nationales en matière de dépistage du cancer du sein ainsi que la participation de la communauté pour ce qui est de diffuser de l’information sur le cancer du sein et soutenir les personnes touchées par le cancer du sein.

Santé Canada concentre ses efforts sur les éléments suivants :

Le gouvernement du Canada a investi 159 millions de dollars dans la recherche sur le cancer par l’intermédiaire de l’Institut du cancer des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada.

Pour plus de renseignements :