Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

Canada Communicable Disease Report
CCDR Weekly

ARCHIVED - Infectious Diseases News Brief - March 11, 2011

Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of CanadaExternal link, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

[Current Issue - Table of contents]

Variant Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease in a Canadian resident

Canadian Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease Surveillance System, National Microbiology Laboratory, Public Health Agency of Canada

Working closely with Canadian clinical specialists, the Public Health Agency of Canada’s Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease Surveillance System (CJDSS) has identified a probable case of variant Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease (variant CJD, also called vCJD) in a Canadian resident. The diagnosis is supported by several lines of clinical, paraclinical and laboratory evidence, in keeping with internationally accepted surveillance case definitions for human prion disease.(Footnote 1, Footnote 2) This is the second case of variant CJD reported in Canada to date. The first such case occurred in 2002, in an individual who is believed to have contracted the disease outside of Canada.(Footnote 3) As explained in more detail below, evidence to date strongly indicates that (i) the risk exposure in the second case also occurred outside Canada; (ii) there are no negative implications for the safety of the Canadian food supply; and (iii) the case poses no secondary risks to the health of Canadians.

Variant CJD belongs to a group of rare, fatal degenerative brain disorders called prion diseases that affect humans and animals and can arise sporadically, genetically, or through infectious transmission.(Footnote 4) Prion diseases are marked by brain tissue vacuolation (spongiform change), neuronal loss, and presence of a pathologically altered form of a host-encoded glycoprotein, PrP, that is considered to constitute the transmissible agent, or prion.(Footnote 5) Among classic types of human prion disease, the most common and widespread is sporadic CJD, which occurs without an apparent infectious or genetic cause mostly in persons 50+ years of age and accounts for 80–90% of the remarkably uniform annual prion disease mortality of ~1–2 per million population.(Footnote 6) Most of the remaining 10–20% of classic human prion diseases are caused by mutations in the PRNP gene that encodes PrP.(Footnote 7) Fewer than 1% of classic cases of CJD are attributed to accidental transmission through surgical and medical procedures such as dura mater grafts, and use of therapeutic hormone preparations that were derived from prion-contaminated cadaveric pituitary tissue.(Footnote 8)

Variant CJD is the only known zoonotic human prion disease, resulting from dietary exposure to a feedborne prion disease of cattle, bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE, also known as “mad cow disease”), that emerged internationally in the 1980s and 1990s.(Footnote 9) Most human exposure to BSE is thought to have occurred before regulatory controls were implemented to control BSE in animals and to eliminate the inclusion of high-risk bovine tissues in human food.(Footnote 10) A small number of secondary cases of variant CJD have also been linked to transfusion of fresh blood components (erythrocytes) from pre-symptomatic donors who later developed the disease.(Footnote 11) By October 2010, a total of 222 definite and probable variant CJD cases had been reported worldwide in residents of 12 countries.(Footnote 12) The total numbers of clinical cases of variant CJD that will ultimately emerge remains uncertain, as does the frequency of long-term asymptomatic carriage during which apparently healthy individuals could transmit infection for example through blood donation or invasive medical procedures.(Footnote 13)

Importantly, based on extensive interviews with family members there is no indication that the current patient was ever a blood donor, received a blood transfusion, or underwent a surgical procedure that was not managed to prevent prion transmission as per the Public Health Agency of Canada’s CJD Infection Control Guidelines.(Footnote 14) This indicates the absence of secondary risks to the health of Canadians as a result of this case. Health Canada issued directives to Canadian blood operators in 1999, 2000, 2001 and 2005, requiring deferral of blood donors with a history of residence and/or travel in the United Kingdom (UK), France and Western Europe in the period 1980-1996, as well as other criteria including receipt of blood transfusion in the UK, and has committed to review these deferral policies if new scientific information becomes available. Canada has also reported a small number of cases of BSE,(Footnote 15) and Health Canada and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency have implemented regulations to prevent both the transmission of BSE in animal populations and human exposure to it. Given (i) these protective measures, (ii) the observation that acquired prion diseases have long incubation periods (years to often a decade or more), and (iii) the fact that the current patient experienced onset of symptoms just prior to immigrating to Canada in early 2010, the possibility of BSE exposure in this country can essentially be ruled out as the cause of illness. The patient was born in the Middle East, and also resided in several other countries before arriving in Canada. Apart from a few visits totalling less than three months in duration, there was no history of travel to the UK or Europe.

In Canada, all human prion diseases are both legally reportable at the provincial/territorial level and nationally notifiable, and despite their rarity the public health importance and economic impacts of these diseases have maintained a need for timely diagnosis, reporting, and surveillance. To help meet these requirements the CJDSS has conducted prospective national surveillance of human prion diseases continuously since 1998, and working collaboratively with a network of health professionals sponsors detailed diagnostic and epidemiologic investigation of any suspected case of human prion disease in Canada. Supporting laboratory services are provided for autopsy, neuropathologic examination, molecular genetics, and biochemical testing for 14-3-3 protein in cerebrospinal fluid. Test results are reported directly to referring health professionals, with CJDSS case files maintained centrally to facilitate diagnostic assessment and final case classification. Full patient enrolment with the CJDSS takes place with written informed consent. The CJDSS surveillance protocol has been approved by the Health Canada Research Ethics Board (Certificate REB-2009-0036), and by numerous REBs at collaborating healthcare institutions. For further information on human prion diseases, available services and how to access them, interested health professionals are invited to contact the CJDSS toll-free, at 1-888-489-2999.

References

Footnote 1
World Health Organization (WHO). WHO manual for surveillance of human transmissible spongiform encephalopathies including variant Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease. 2003. (PDF document)External Link
Footnote 2
Heath CA, Cooper SA, Murray K et al. Validation of diagnostic criteria for variant Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease. Ann Neurol 2010;67(6):761-770.
Footnote 3
Jansen GH, Voll CL, Robinson CA et al. First case of variant Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease in Canada. Can Commun Dis Rep 2003;29(13):117-120.
Footnote 4
Aguzzi A, Calella AM. Prions: protein aggregation and infectious diseases. Physiol Rev 2009;89(4):1105-1152.
Footnote 5
Prusiner SB. Prions. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA 1998;95(23):13363-13383.
Footnote 6
Ladogana A, Puopolo M, Croes EA et al. Mortality from Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease and related disorders in Europe, Australia, and Canada. Neurology 2005;64(9):1586-1591.
Footnote 7
Kovacs GG, Puopolo M, Ladogana A et al. Genetic prion disease: the EUROCJD experience. Hum Genet 2005;118(2):166-174.
Footnote 8
Brown P, Brandel JP, Preece M et al. Iatrogenic Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease: The waning of an era. Neurology 2006;67(3):389-393.
Footnote 9
Bradley R, Collee JG, Liberski PP. Variant CJD (vCJD) and bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE): 10 and 20 years on: Part 1. Folia Neuropathol 2006;44(2):93-101.
Footnote 10
Collee JG, Bradley R, Liberski PP. Variant CJD (vCJD) and bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE): 10 and 20 years on: Part 2. Folia Neuropathol 2006;44(2):102-110.
Footnote 11
Lefrere JJ, Hewitt P. From mad cows to sensible blood transfusion: the risk of prion transmission by labile blood components in the United Kingdom and in France. Transfusion 2009;49(4):797-812.
Footnote 12
European Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease Surveillance Network. vCJD cases worldwide.External Link
Footnote 13
de Marco MF, Linehan J, Gill ON et al. Large-scale immunohistochemical examination for lymphoreticular prion protein in tonsil specimens collected in Britain. J Pathol 2010;222(4):380-387.
Footnote 14
Public Health Agency of Canada. Infection control guidelines: classic Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease in Canada. Can Commun Dis Rep 2002;28S5:1-110.
Footnote 15
Canadian Food Inspection Agency. BSE in North America.External Link

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Partagez cette page

Relevé des maladies transmissibles au Canada
RMTC Hebdomadaire

ARCHIVÉ - Actualités en bref pour maladies infectieuses - le 11 mars 2011

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du CanadaLien externe, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

[Édition actuelle - Table des matières]

Variante de la maladie de Creutzfeldt-Jakob chez un résident canadien

Système de surveillance de la maladie de Creutzfeldt-Jakob, Laboratoire national de microbiologie, Agence de la santé publique du Canada

En étroite collaboration avec des spécialistes canadiens, le Système de surveillance de la maladie de Creutzfeldt-Jakob (SSMCJ) de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada a identifié un cas probable de la variante de la maladie de Creutzfeldt-Jakob (variante de la MCJ ou vMCJ) chez un résident canadien. Le diagnostic s’appuie sur des données obtenues dans le cadre d’examens cliniques, d’examens paracliniques et d’analyses de laboratoire, en conformité avec les définitions de cas reconnues à l’échelle internationale pour la surveillance des maladies à prions humaines(Note de bas de page 1, Note de bas de page 2). Il s’agit du second cas de variante de la MCJ signalé au Canada, le premier étant survenu en 2002 chez une personne dont on croit qu’elle aurait contracté la maladie à l’étranger(Note de bas de page 3). Comme nous l’expliquerons en plus grands détails ci-dessous, les données dont nous disposons jusqu’ici indiquent fortement i) que l’exposition est également survenue à l’étranger dans ce second cas; ii) qu’il n’y a aucune implication négative pour ce qui concerne la salubrité de la filière alimentaire canadienne; et iii) que ce cas ne représente aucun risque secondaire pour la santé des Canadiens.

La variante de la MCJ fait partie d’un rare groupe d’affections cérébrales dégénératives et mortelles touchant les humains et les animaux, les maladies à prions. Ces maladies peuvent apparaitre de façon sporadique ou par un mécanisme génétique ou infectieux(Note de bas de page 4). Les maladies à prions sont caractérisées par une vacuolisation du tissu cérébral (modification spongiforme), par une perte neuronale et par l’altération pathologique d’une glycoprotéine présente chez l’hôte, la PrP, que l’on considère être l’agent transmissible de la maladie, le prion(Note de bas de page 5). La plus courante des maladies à prions humaines classiques, la MCJ sporadique, survient sans cause infectieuse ou génétique apparente, principalement chez des personnes âgées de 50 ans ou plus, et est responsable de 80 % à 90 % des 1 à 2 décès pour 1 000 000 d’habitants que l’on attribue annuellement aux maladies à prions humaines(Note de bas de page 6). Les 10 % à 20 % restants sont majoritairement des cas de maladie à prions humaine classique causés par une mutation du gène PRNP, qui code la protéine PrP(Note de bas de page 7). Moins de 1 % des cas de MCJ classique sont dus à une transmission accidentelle survenant lors d’une intervention chirurgicale ou médicale, comme une greffe de dure‑mère et l’utilisation à des fins thérapeutiques de préparations hormonales produites à partir de tissu hypophysaire cadavérique contaminé par des prions(Note de bas de page 8).

La variante de la MCJ, qui résulte de l’exposition par voie alimentaire à l’encéphalopathie spongiforme bovine (ESB ou « maladie de la vache folle »), une maladie à prions transmise aux bovins par leur alimentation qui a sévi dans divers pays dans les années 1980 et 1990, est la seule maladie à prions humaine connue qui est également une zoonose(Note de bas de page 9). On croit que la majorité des cas d’exposition humaine à l’ESB sont survenus avant la mise en œuvre de contrôles règlementaires visant à lutter contre l’ESB chez les animaux et à éliminer l’inclusion de tissus bovins à risque élevé dans l’alimentation humaine(10). Un faible nombre de cas secondaires de la variante de la MCJ ont également été associés à des transfusions de composants de sang frais (érythrocytes) provenant de donneurs présymptomatiques, c’est-à-dire chez qui les symptômes de la maladie sont apparus plus tard(Note de bas de page 11). En octobre 2010, le nombre de cas confirmés et de cas probables de la variante de la MCJ s’élevait à 222, et le nombre de pays touchés, à 12(Note de bas de page 12). On ignore combien de cas cliniques de la variante de la MCJ apparaitront au total, tout comme la fréquence des cas de portage asymptomatique pendant une longue période, au cours de laquelle période des personnes en apparence saines pourraient transmettre l’infection en donnant du sang ou en subissant une intervention médicale effractive, par exemple(Note de bas de page 13).

Fait important, à la lumière d’un entretien exhaustif avec les membres de la famille du cas actuel de variante de la MCJ, il n’y a aucune indication selon laquelle le patient aurait déjà donné du sang, reçu une transfusion sanguine ou subi une intervention chirurgicale au cours de laquelle on n’aurait pas pris les mesures énoncées dans le Guide de prévention des infections : La maladie de Creutzfeldt-Jakob classique au Canada de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada pour prévenir la transmission de prions(Note de bas de page 14). Ainsi, il n’y a aucun risque secondaire pour la santé des Canadiens. Santé Canada a émis des directives aux fournisseurs de sang en 1999, en 2000, en 2001 et en 2005, précisant qu’il fallait exclure les donneurs de sang potentiels ayant résidé ou voyagé au Royaume-Uni (R.-U.), en France et ailleurs en Europe de l’Ouest entre 1980 et 1996, de même que ceux qui ont reçu une transfusion sanguine au R.-U. Santé Canada s’est également engagé à revoir ces politiques d’exclusion si de nouvelles données scientifiques devenaient disponibles. Le Canada a également signalé un faible nombre de cas d’ESB(Note de bas de page 15), et tant Santé Canada que l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments ont mis en œuvre des règlements visant à prévenir à la fois la transmission de l’ESB chez les animaux et l’exposition humaine à la maladie. Étant donné i) ces mesures de protection, ii) la longue période d’incubation qui est associée aux maladies à prions (laquelle dure des années et bien souvent plus de dix ans) et iii) le fait que le patient actuel a présenté des symptômes juste avant d’immigrer au Canada au début de 2010, la possibilité qu’une exposition à l’ESB au Canada ait causé la maladie est essentiellement nulle. Le patient est né au Moyen-Orient et a vécu dans plusieurs autres pays avant d’arriver au Canada. À part quelques séjours totalisant moins de trois mois, le patient n’a aucun antécédent de voyage au R.-U. ou en Europe.

Au Canada, la loi prévoit que toutes les maladies à prions humaines sont à déclaration obligatoire, tant à l’échelle provinciale/territoriale qu’à l’échelle nationale; malgré la rareté de ces maladies, il demeure essentiel que le diagnostic, la déclaration des cas et la surveillance se fassent en temps utile en raison de l’importance de ces maladies sur le plan sanitaire et sur le plan économique. Afin de faciliter le respect de ces exigences, le SSMCJ effectue une surveillance prospective à l’échelle nationale des maladies à prions humaines depuis 1998 et, en collaboration avec un réseau de professionnels de la santé, soutient la réalisation d’enquêtes diagnostiques et épidémiologiques détaillées pour tous les cas soupçonnés de maladie à prions humaine au Canada. Des services de laboratoire sont offerts pour les autopsies, les examens neuropathologiques, les analyses génétiques moléculaires et l’analyse biochimique de la protéine 14-3-3 dans le liquide céphalorachidien. Les résultats des analyses sont transmis directement aux professionnels de la santé concernés, et les dossiers du SSMCJ sont tenus à jour dans un lieu centralisé pour faciliter l’évaluation des diagnostics et la classification définitive des cas. La participation des patients au SSMCJ se fait par la signature d’un formulaire de consentement éclairé. Le protocole de surveillance du SSMCJ a été approuvé par le Comité d’éthique de la recherche de Santé Canada (certificat REB-2009-0036) et par de nombreux autres comités d’éthique de la recherche dans les établissements de santé participants. Nous invitons les médecins qui désirent obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les maladies à prions humaines, sur les services offerts et sur la façon de s’en prévaloir à communiquer avec le SSMCJ, sans frais, au 1-888-489-2999.

Références

Note de bas de page 1
World Health Organization (WHO). WHO manual for surveillance of human transmissible spongiform encephalopathies including variant Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease. 2003.Lien externe (disponible en anglais seulement)
Note de bas de page 2
Heath CA, Cooper SA, Murray K et al. Validation of diagnostic criteria for variant Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease. Ann Neurol 2010;67(6):761-770.
Note de bas de page 3
Jansen GH, Voll CL, Robinson CA et al. First case of variant Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease in Canada. Can Commun Dis Rep 2003;29(13):117-120.
Note de bas de page 4
Aguzzi A, Calella AM. Prions: protein aggregation and infectious diseases. Physiol Rev 2009;89(4):1105-1152.
Note de bas de page 5
Prusiner SB. Prions. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA 1998;95(23):13363-13383.
Note de bas de page 6
Ladogana A, Puopolo M, Croes EA et al. Mortality from Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease and related disorders in Europe, Australia, and Canada. Neurology 2005;64(9):1586-1591.
Note de bas de page 7
Kovacs GG, Puopolo M, Ladogana A et al. Genetic prion disease: the EUROCJD experience. Hum Genet 2005;118(2):166-174.
Note de bas de page 8
Brown P, Brandel JP, Preece M et al. Iatrogenic Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease : The waning of an era. Neurology 2006;67(3):389-393.
Note de bas de page 9
Bradley R, Collee JG, Liberski PP. Variant CJD (vCJD) and bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) : 10 and 20 years on: Part 1. Folia Neuropathol 2006;44(2):93-101.
Note de bas de page 10
Collee JG, Bradley R, Liberski PP. Variant CJD (vCJD) and bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) : 10 and 20 years on : Part 2. Folia Neuropathol 2006;44(2):102-110.
Note de bas de page 11
Lefrere JJ, Hewitt P. From mad cows to sensible blood transfusion: the risk of prion transmission by labile blood components in the United Kingdom and in France. Transfusion 2009;49(4):797-812.
Note de bas de page 12
European Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease Surveillance Network. vCJD cases worldwide.Lien externe (disponible en anglais seulement)
Note de bas de page 13
de Marco MF, Linehan J, Gill ON et al. Large-scale immunohistochemical examination for lymphoreticular prion protein in tonsil specimens collected in Britain. J Pathol 2010;222(4):380-387.
Note de bas de page 14
Public Health Agency of Canada. Infection control guidelines: classic Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease in Canada. Can Commun Dis Rep 2002;28S5:1-110.
Note de bas de page 15
Canadian Food Inspection Agency. BSE in North America.Lien externe